Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of YUP Hotel 3 stars

Thonissenlaan 52, 3500 Hasselt, Belgium

#29 of 31 hotels in Hasselt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1147 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Space for suitcase. And muesli without sugar. Besides a great place to stay for a couple of days. Original rooms. Young feeling with nice quotes around.

    Great location original design.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast could have been better with some small adaptations: muesli without sugar. make sure enough fruit every day.

    Great location an original design.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are ridiculously small! It's so small, there's not even separate toilet. Since it's a double-room, the other person has to enjoy the show, when one goes to toilet. No table, nowhere to put luggage or your clothes. Stayed for 2 days, and the room wasn't made after the first night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amenities in the room weren't great and not much space. Some of the amenities were really old (an iron from the 80s,with the old hotel name)

    The staff were amongst the friendliest and most helpful I have ever come across!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I tried to check in at midnight after long day of business. Then the staff seemed a bit annoyed that I came at midnight. He said I shouldn't do that. He explained some kind of their system that why I shouldn't come around midnight. After long day of business, it was so awful. What was worse, no warm water was available when I tried to take a shower.

    It was not a pleasant experience while I was staying in Belgium. I liked its location and room design though. What else? Not much. I won't recommend this hotel to anyone. What else? Nothing much to say.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I like the food and the room was ok. But it is too dark in the room and there was terrible bad light for reading while lying in the bed. It is rare that it was so difficult to put the bill (while two of us had a glass of read wine) on two different rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The AC was problematic. You can not turn it on or off yourself. The night I was there it spread the odors form the kitchen. In the evening this was fumes of Chinese food, and in the morning eggs and bacon. It was so much, I wanted to vomit. The AC was also very very cold. The room was freezing (it was 6 degrees outside, so I would have liked some heating). There was a man downstairs "working on it" - but it wasn't fixed during my stay, and it polluted the whole experience.

    I just love the design rooms of this hotel. They are so pretty and well made. Great spaces! I keep on coming back to this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are very small, if you travel business there is no space in the room to work properly. Staff was very friendly but the night staff forgot the wake up call, and I missed my appointment? no time for breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a bit cold in the room, the shower tray was leaking. Overpriced breakfast.

    Attractive design. Small, but cosy, clean room in acceptable condition. Good qual. wifi, comfortable large bed. Plenty of towels. Very quiet (4th floor, facing side street).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an additional tourist tax (2,5 per person), and 5 euro service fee included. This was not mentioned beforehand!

    Very beautiful hotel, with the most convenient lay out in the rooms. I loved every single thing about it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt like I was in prison No proper wardrobe No place to seat except on the bed I had to check out due to an unexpected issue after staying one night and asked for the refund but they did not refund it back They charged two nights which they did not deserve They got my money for nothing

    Restaurant and location were good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have loved the welcoming drink on arrival not after we have been to the room first. But for the rest, all was good.

    It was marvellous to visit such a creative space! Something different and fresh. The food in the restaurant was excellent!! The staff were very friendly and helpful. Location is FANTASTIC!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the Air Conditioning in the room was always on even if you switched it off and it was extremely cold. Also the rooms are very small and if you wish to work in the room there is just no space. Also there was no hair conditioner and no tooth brush & toothpaste that you normally get in any hotel of this category.

    Nice restaurant and good food. Personnel is lovely and very helpful. The hotel is central to city centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I like a toilet that's properly closed off from a bedroom. You see it more and more in these kind of hotels and I keep wondering why

    The bed was good, an ideal place to crash after the Pukkelpop festival. The rooms are really nice and well designed. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The fashion museum was really nearby, which was a nice bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I can complain about (only minor) was the way the ensuite was positioned in our room. There was no door on the ensuite which I felt a little awkward about as I was with my boyfriend 🙈. Even though you could not see into the toilet from the room I still felt a sliding door or blind would be a great addition.

    I fell in love with the style of this hotel which is very similar to a five star boutique hotel we have in Dublin,Ireland. The staff were lovely,the bed was one of comfiest I have ever slept in. I cannot talk enough about the breakfast . From fruit bowls to fry ups and pancakes to fabulous coffee,I could have sat there all day. It was a beautiful hotel I hope to return to in one of my upcoming visits to Belgium.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very much smaller than I expected. A toilet in the room would not be my preference. I would consider a toilet should be separate to a bedroom.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee facilities and refrigirator in the room. Tiny room. As a back patiënt (Maybe a better bed)

    Car Park behind the hotel: just €10/night, and we left our car untill 17u (the next day) without extra charge. Right in the city center. I was here for a performance with my music band "de Spikes". Free music concerts every Sundayevening (in summer)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would good to be able to hang up curtains in the bathroom. The toilet is in the room (but we knew that before we booked, so not really a shortcoming but something to consider before you book).

    Large and very comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very small room, there was fungus in the bathroom, there is no bathroom door to separate the bathroom from the bedroom, the entry towards the hotel rooms is next to the kitchen entry so full of jnwashed dishes and empty bottles, there was no minibar and the list can go on. Not a 3 star hotel!!!

    We liked the extra large bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean but there was a lot of dust everywhere.

    Staff was super helping & kind.Hotel is superb,really good looking.Room is small but quite enough for a short stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you want big rooms this isn´t the location for you. Very small rooms, but for me was not a problem, I was travelling alone for business.

    Great location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price of rooms ends up to double the cost once you add breakfast and taxes, so overall the pricing is quite misleading. Breakfast is poor considering what they charge for, had to ask for hot milk and there was not even hot water to prepare tea. Personnel not very helpful. In my room the windows blinds were not working properly and once told, the receptionist said they could not do anything because the repair person was not there. A colleague of mine complained because he had a stain in the sheet and they did not do anything, he had the same sheet for the second night as well.

    Location and rooms recently furbished

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we found the rooms to be extremely small and not really clean, we kept finding long hairs in the bed, on the floor and in the bathroom for example, and we are two short haired guys, so really sure it wasn't ours. there was no door between the toilet and the room, that was quite uncomfortable.

    staff was very friendly, location is great. I think it might be a good hotel if you are in your twenties and traveling alone

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could use a bit more privacy between bedroom and bathroom; a vending machine for midnight snacks would be interesting. Also, there is no point doing the online checkin if you are gonna be in the same queue as everyone else and wait the same amount of time you would anyway.

    Very clean, bed very comfortable, excellent location, very nice style and decoration.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were quite small.

    It's a very-well located cozy hotel. Small rooms and very little space to move around the bed, but overall a clean and welcoming hotel. Loved the mottos spread around the premises.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't think there was a phone in the room... which you wouldn't think was really needed in this day and age, *but* a friend called the front desk and left a message for me, which there was no way for the staff to give to me (short of knocking on my door, which I'm glad they didn't). Later, when I went downstairs to check out, I see the message for me written on a little post-it note stuck to the front desk. :P Maybe... if they got an email address from each guest they could just send info via email. (I didn't have a working cell phone with me this trip, fyi.)

    Great room for being so small! Hotel is very close to center of Hasselt.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are indeed quite small.

    Great location, friendly staff, very interesting concept with super-compact rooms - still, I didn't feel crammed in. Big flatscreen tv, quiet rooms, broad selection of food/drinks at breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff doensn't like to work there I guess. Every time I go there the guest reception is really poor (you don't feel welcome) and almost never there's somebody present...

    Nice design hotel for good pricing range if you go for a quick one night stay only (small rooms)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are very small. The room wasn't cleaned when we arrived (not even the bed). But we got an other room straight away.

    The bed was great. The staff very friendly. Very close to the station. Breakfast bags.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room were bit too small and lacked a few facilities as telephone, fridge, kettle etc.

    The staff were great! Hana especially was very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms are a little small at first. But once you find a way to open your suitcase it is big enough.

    Great location and original design.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could be cleaner though...

    Friendly staff. Excellent restaurant. Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single rooms are small but don’t lack for comfort, very cosy and I slept well

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very small room ( cabin ) and dusty.

    The room was quiet .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    food at the hotel's restaurant was delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No privacy in bathroom. No tea coffee facilities.

    Comfy bed but struggle to get in and out of bed as it was against wall.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alles was tiptop in orde !!! De lounge beneden was zalig.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    desk/table and chair in the room, since I was planning to do some additional work

    location, good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That my visit was short I should’ve stayed one more day

    EVERYTHING I simply love this hotel and they made the best Gin and Tonics I ever tasted

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly overpriced

    Very clean and modern . Staff were lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proper kamer

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    outlets next to the bed would be handy

    Small room but everything was there

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No door on the toilet / bathroom !

    No door on the bathroom/toilet. Disgusting !!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ligging

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    .

    Very small room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too cramped.

    No reading light. TV remote control did not work.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms way too small. Had a feeling I was staying in a train compartment.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very short

    Thé place

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was impossible to regulate the temperature of the shower: too hot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent breakfast, very comfortable bed, fast wifi, great staff, close to train station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fashion place

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive for a day with meals ....

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy

    Very cozy

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little water from the shower

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size

    Clean hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Concept design original

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff at night

    + great choices during breakfast + modern room up to date perfect for 1 person + great location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very smal room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No idea

    Great smile friendly people

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    best staffs and vohy place to visit

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit small, no scrambled eggs or anything like that...

    Loved the interior design of the restaurant/entrance and the rooms.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the prices at the bar were slightly too high.

    very clean and friendly environment, easy to reach and the rooms are unique and pretty.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very small

    great location , good staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the breakfast was a bit pricy considering there wasn't much choice

    Very nice hotel. Love the concept . Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for a short stay, friendly staff!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too small for two people but fun.

    The concept is nice and very central

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean and very small rooms

    Great location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather expensive

    Super matras! Nice design.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice rooms and a great location, close to the city center.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Low light conditions. Not enough space in room. Lack of storage options.

    Good design.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet without wall was in the room. It is a little bit weird for me...

    Convenient location, nice breakfast, kind concierges. I enjoyed staying.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dame aan de receptie kon precies niet lachen of glimlachen.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was basic, little choice.

    Quite special interior design, never seen before;

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast

    Price/quality

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Too cold, without the possibility to set the temperature - Fan made loud noise

    - Close to City center and to Train station - Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse YUP Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: