Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alekta Hotel 3 stars

28, Sv. Nikola area, Picadilly Park, 9006 Varna City, Bulgaria

#33 of 60 hotels in Varna City

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 248 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.8
    Huge disappointment -didn't get the room that we reserved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -We booked a studio with a see view but didn't get a see view at all, only a view to the pool outside. That was really disappointing, as the see view was twice written and promised when we booked the hotel: the name of the room was "a studio with a see view" and also in the description in the room it was written "see view", with no options of other kind of views. We complained, because actually one of the main reasons why I booked this hotel was the fact that I thought that there will be at least a little sea view, and also that's why I paid more than I would have paid otherwise (well, it was in August and the prices were quite high). The guy that received us in the evening said that it would me maybe possible to us to change the room the next day and that he would leave a note, but then the next day a girl in the reception said that no, it's not possible to change the room. And it turned out that there are three studios in the hotel, two with a see view and one with a pool view. They weren't even sorry or offered us any refund or compensation. I asked them at least to change the description online and I checked now that yes, at least they had done that. I don't like at all that they promise something that then doesn't exist, and that they really aren't even sorry about that. -The room smelled a little bit, maybe someone had smoked inside the room even it's forbidden

    + The hotel isn't very far from the sea, and there is also 24/7 supermarket nearby +The breakfast is quite simple but ok

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.5
    Overall it was a nice hotel. We liked the calm, the view, and the pool area is very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been helpful if there were a kettle in the room, we would have liked to prepare tea without having to go out of the room. Though when we asked the staff, they were nice enough to give us boiled water. It would have been more convenient though to have a kettle at our disposal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    4.6
    Only one in the hotel staff is nice and helpful, he agreed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is not as big as it seems in photos, the pool and the room are small, the room smells bad, there was no hair dryer, the towel hanger was not well fixed and it fell down. The location is far from the city center. It's not value for money and it may be acceptable for only one night.

    Only one in the hotel staff is nice and helpful, he agreed to arrange the breakfast at very early time as we requested, and this was the only good thing in the stay. The other guy is not helpful at all and he always seems upset and unwelcoming.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    Location - sea view, near Sea Garden - perfect place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    our room - maissonete wit kitchenete had no kitchenequipment , bedroom upstairs not good climatized , very hot in summerdays, big trafic during nights

    Location - sea view, near Sea Garden - perfect place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Excellent short holiday hotel to visit Varna City
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is basic and daily you will have almost same food. WiFi horrible, almost impossible to get in your room - try to chose rooms in the wing opposite to the road (all rooters are located there). For better comfort and silence chose rooms from opposite side of the road as in evenings the traffic from the seaside clubs is nosy.

    Excellent location, with onsite parking and swimming pool, very close to city park and sea. Very clean and well maintained facility, with comfortable beds and some rooms have kitchenette inside (no cutlery, plates and cooking staff). Almost all furniture is from IKEA (not a fact to like, but it is almost new). Please note this facility has no elevator (for those who looks for such). Close to good grocery shops, supermarket and restaurants. Friendly staff but with reduced experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.8
    Hotel accused me of stealing lamps! No joke!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged double the required amount at check in and the man behind the desk could not refund the money back to my card. Although he did give me cash. I would have over looked this but when I left I was accused of stealing lamps!!! There were not even any lamps in the room. I am also travelling just with a backpack so I’m not sure where they thought I put them! Pretty disappointing stay.

    The breakfast was adequate

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Location, cleanliness, colours.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning not efficient and it was too noisy to sleep at an open window. Breakfast at 8 which is late for a city hotel. Coffee machine not working at breakfast, staff repaired it but it was an inconvenience if you're in a hurry.

    Location, cleanliness, colours.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast was a little to simple, but considering the price...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no elevator.

    Breakfast was a little to simple, but considering the price it was ok. Otherwise it is a nice clean hotel, with a nice pool, in walking distance to the seaside. The view from the balcony in the third floor was also good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff.Our room was cleaned every day.The breakrast was satisfying. In general,the hotel is very nice and I will revisit it if i go to Varna again in the future!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    A very well ran Family orientated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 25 nights

    Going Home

    Me and my daughter stayed here for 4 weeks and enjoyed every minute of our stay. You can walk down to the beach in 5 minutes and 10 minutes will get you to restaurants, at the top of the road (3 minutes) you can jump a bus into town for 1 lev (half a euro) and within 6 minutes you are there, this is a huge park next to the hotel which has everything for children including a Fair ground, Petting Zoo and Museum. The hotel is very clean and breakfast is plentiful every morning, the lady who cleaned our room (Irena) was fantastic we never ran out of anything and the room was always spotless.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant and comfortable stay in relaxed, friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was limited in what was on offer. Air con was quite feeble and TV was only able to show one channel.

    Room very clean and a good size, staff helpful and spoke English, pool very clean. 10 minutes gentle walk to the beach. Shower facilities excellent and nice balcony with space to dry towel and swimming bits, and chairs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.1
    Great hotel stay in Varna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tell the young guy on reception that a smile would not kill him.

    What a great little hotel, there is a small but very nice swimming pool with sun terrace, with high quality loungers and chairs, the hotel itself is very clean and modern, there is a bar where you can buy beer and soft drinks. A short walk down the hill brings you onto Varna beach cost road, there are bars and places were you can fine all sorts of food, well worth a visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    5.0
    I love Bulgaria and the people but dissappointed in choice of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Arrived at the hotel late at night one of the first questions was about payment. Again we was asked this the following morning before breakfast despite the fact that they had all our card details as we had booked through booking.com. Having stayed in Bulgaria many times before and experienced many different hotels this was unusual and very off putting. The hotel was situated next to a very busy main road which was noisy throughout the day and night. The breakfast was basic with little choice and the Scrambled eggs which they served most days was stone cold.

    The Hotel was small very clean with good sea views from the bedrooms. Nice swimming pool. The rooms were cleaned daily.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.1
    I wouldn't want to stay there for a weeks holiday but for an overnight stay it's ideal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked an apartment with a double bed and a sofa bed, the sofa bed was in the lounge area with a small kitchen and a small bathroom/toilet. The double bed was on the next floor with a spiral staircase to access it and no hand rail, no wardrobes and no toilet facilities, very dangerous if like us you were having a big party gathering just down the road. In all fairness we were moved to a more satisfactory apartment when pointing out that the apartment firstly allocated to us was not suitable for old men like me

    Good value for money, good position, Darina on reception helpful and smiling Breakfast average but eat as much as you want, coffee could be hotter but that's being picky

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    Location, pool, clean and good room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payment in advance, limited parking, breakfast not great

    Location, pool, clean and good room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    Vertel nice stay. I will book this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is close to a busy road

    Nice and quiet hotel. Good swimmingpool. Spacious room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Short stay outside busy Varna area - great value hotel with pool and comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Spacious surroundings outside of room, pool a bonus. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful - suited us just fine. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    very good and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I think they need to put some pots/pans/crockery etc in the studio apt. A kettle as well.

    everything !!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location. Nice staff. Near to the city. Clean and cozy. Recomand for sort stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    A very enjoyable stay in Varna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast and the fact that the restaurant doesn't serve lunch or dinner.

    The tranquility that prevails in the property.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.5
    Short one night stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds soft and very noisy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.1
    Clean, comfortable room,friendly staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, stairs to the hotel ,that are uncomfortable for logage

    Clean, comfortable room,friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains were too thin and we're letting light in from very early hours.

    Smart and welcoming reception, well liked after garden. Rooms were clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    everything was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything was perfect

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.5
    Below average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny parking, late breakfast(starts at 8), broken shower hose

    Air

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    Hotel is quiet and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no elevator, but at the reception they helped carry the equipment

    Reasonable breakfast, staff helps every request, clean rooms, quiet place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far from the city center

    Good value for money, brand new rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.3
    Nice
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff dealt with the customers excellently

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    8.8
    vessi at reception was excellent the well kept gardens and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    can't think of anything

    vessi at reception was excellent the well kept gardens and swimming pool the No smoking policy in the rooms and indoor area's was great. vessi made a suggestion for a local restaurant and it was by far one of the nicest places to eat in bg food etc PARMY all in all excellent.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    6.7
    Location good, close to Piccidilly Park and not too far from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor breakfast and staff could be a lot better.i

    Location good, close to Piccidilly Park and not too far from the City. Lovely swimming pool but little else.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    8.3
    The location is great for leisure - close to the sea cost,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Especially for long-stay guests a varied breakfast could be offered.

    The location is great for leisure - close to the sea cost, and nice sea view from the terrace. The room was very comfortable and cool though the temperatures outside were too high. The outdoor pool was well-maintained.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    10
    Hotel is relatively new and well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is relatively new and well maintained. Very clean and bathroom very comfortable.Excellent water pressure. Very comfortable king size bed. Location in best part of town in the sea park, walking distance to a very pleasant and well maintained beach Rappongi. Picadilli shopping complex 3 min. walking dstance.All you need can be found there from excellent hair dressers to all kinds of shops.Many restaurants close by. Stanchov alley 5 min.walking distance from hotel,where you may stroll in comfort not disturbed by traffic. Take bus No 409 from the airport and for 1 lev (0.50 Euro) will reach hotel.Get off bus stop at Picadilli shopping centre and walk 2 min. to the hotel.Bus ticket is bought inside the bus.Will save 15 leva taxi fare. Use same bus stop and go to Golden sands resort where you may find a casino if that is what you like.Or go to city centre for more shopping or entertainment. If you like walking,may walk from the hotel to city centre through the Sea garden park-clean fresh air and no traffic! There is a small pool for kids. Bulgaria is a EU country now and it is improving.People's manners are pleasant, taxi easily available,reasonable prices and honest.Take yellow cab only,driver's ID displayed.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    7.9
    Clean bathroom.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was small variety of food at breakfast. But otherwise it was OK. Walls are a little bit thin.

    Clean bathroom. Comfortable beds. Nie view from balcony.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    9.2
    The location, it's not far from the center of the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I think the breakfast can be diversified.

    The location, it's not far from the center of the city and it's near the beach. It was quite. The room was clean and have a lovely furniture.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.6
    great location for the Varna promenade
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    great location for the Varna promenade

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.9
    Great location, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location, clean

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.5
    very romantic atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    no home shoes

    very romantic atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.6
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    For payment with Credit Cart, they like to charge with 5 % more !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The location is perfect. Breakfast was exelent :)

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    7.5
    Nice Pool
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Small room TV

    Nice Pool Quite ambiance Friendly staff Room with balcony

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: