Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Althea Hotel 3 stars

Albena Resort, 9620 Albena, Bulgaria

#28 of 28 hotels in Albena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 384 hotel reviews

6.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.2

  • Comfort

    5.8

  • Location

    6.2

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    6.4

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    4.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    3.3
    The food was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room ( 2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location is not so good relative to the beach. It's a 15 mins walk. The room is not so nice. It needs a renovation. The furniture is old. The staff is a little slow. I had to tell 3 times to reception to bring towels and toilet paper.

    The food was good. Also I like the pool. The city Albena is nice, you have a lot of things to do like water park, karting, boat cruising, etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice stay, satisfied with Althea offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was a smell at the entrance in the room, a smell which never dissapeared. No idea what it could have been. Very small bathroom with no window and small shower tray. They clearly did not change what they used to wash the floor, because the smell was horrible after they did so in the hotel. Also, during our stay, there was a whole football camp of children, who made terrible noise and a terrible mess. I could have appreciated more diversity of food, especially on breakfast when absolutely nothing changed. Eating the same thing for 7 mornings was not fun. In Albena, there is no more shuttle bus to the beach so Althea is very far from it. There is an escalator, which sometimes works, sometimes not... One last thing, I did not appreciate the 40 minutes queue to check-in..not a nice way to start my holidays!

    The hotel is ok for the price paid. Very friendly staff and eager to help. Nice food, home-cooked, excellent vegetables. A clean room, they changed the sheets during our stay. Also clean beach. Over all, satisfied with the choice. I can recommend Althea Hotel for a stay in Albena. The Bulgarians do know how to do tourism, low prices, great hospitality, clean places, very pleasant beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.3
    You get what you pay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room ( 2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom of our room (it was smelling awful), the men at the bar (in the hotel)- they were rude, and the way the cleaning woman use to do their job (part of the problem might be the fact that the cleaning products have no smell=their quality is bad).

    The food, the room, and the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    3.3
    Althea, a place to avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During the three days stay there was no cleaning in the room. We asked for the toilet paper from the cleaning lady wandering on the hall and also we gave here personally the garbage. She didn't want to enter the room. She only asked when we leave! The bathroom was small and shabby. No room for the shower. The old curtain of the shower was sticking to my back. The restaurant food had no taste and was the same every day. The snack bar consisted of six plastic tables near the pool. Every drink was served in small plastic thin glasses of 100 ml. When grabbed, the plastic was bending and the drinks went out. Take care with the hot drinks. You risk spilling them all on the floor! The reception manager asked for the payment before admitting us in the hotel room. I asked her to let me accommodate into the room and transfer some money into the current account. She did not accept that. I had to do the banking operations into the hotel lobby. That was rude, unpleasant and inappropriate. She said that this is the Bulgarian law!

    Don"t go in this hotel! You will have a very unpleasant experience either in the hotel room or restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    2.5
    1. Free wi-fi? Yes, they have.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 11 nights

    1. Free wi-fi? Yes, they have........on the reception only. No any wi-fi in the rooms; 2. Dirty, old and full of cockroaches. Broken toilet, thin walls, thin old and insecure wooden doors which was painted last time maybe in the 80's. 3. The personnel - useless, never seen them smile. When we asked to repair the toilet it took them 3 days. The room was not cleaned for our entire stay. 4. The all-inclusive wasn't really including all. The food wasn't good and fresh, and only at fixed times. For example, if they have sausages left from the breakfast you may see them in the dinner, baked with potatoes and yellow cheese.......but the same sausages. The promised food on the lobby bar was pizza, pizza, and of course pizza. Plus some fruits and 3-day old sandwiches. No salads (as promised). 5. Packing of food for the beach - it was promised but taking out food of the restaurant was strictly forbidden. There was also many other forbidden things. 6. The rooms were smaller than the requirement for the three-star standard. The beds too. In conclusion this hotel barely deserves one star. How they got three is mystery. Or maybe not - they probably bribed someone.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.3
    Just if you don't have alternatives
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room ( 2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's old, very old. It's dirty. The food it's very bad. Only breakfast it's good. It looks like in 1983, Eforie Sud. I was in many hotels in Albena and this is only one with such kind of review.

    Location, the beach, swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    5.0
    Albena is a great place, the hotel could do a better service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room ( 2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Minuses: During reservation process I couldn't get any answer to my questions from the hotel. Upon coming we found some problems in both rooms: in one the balcony was not oppening, and was full of trash, in other - the water in the sink was not going. A guy from the staff couldn't open the balcony and just left, I oppened it myself, but the trash wasn't cleaned till the end of our stay, even if we asked several times. In fact from the 2 rooms we had only one was cleaned once during the 7 days stay. Almost everything what's happening in the hallway you can hear as if it's inside the room.

    Albena is a great location for summer holiday! The beach and the sea are great - this was the most important. We were 4 adults and 2 kids and booked 2 rooms at Althea. What we liked: - Big choice of food in the restaurant! - Free umbrela and sunbeds - Free bus to the beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    7.5
    Overall, we would give the rating of 3 out of 4.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room ( 2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The cleaning could be better and sound isolation in rooms is very poor - you could hear your neighbour sigh.

    The place is quiet and nice, the food is great and abundant, the reception staff are helpful and nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    7.1
    Good price-quality balance, you get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Food could have been better; Bathrooms could have been more renovated When you reserve it tells you that the hotel has free umbrellas at the beach but when you get to the beach the guys there said, yes free umbrella, but you have to pay for the sezlongs under the umbrella. They are very rude, they do not speak nice, we are from Romania, and when they heard us speaking Romanian the boss there on the beach said Romanians and Bulgarians have no culture and started screaming, a xenofobic kind of guy. Very rude.

    - Nice room, even if it was a little small, but nice. - Air conditioning and TV set worked fine - Bed matress was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on, very very good - Good food, although it could have been more diversified; - The young blonde lady at the reception (I think she is the leader at the reception and hotel) knows very good ENGLISH and is very RESPONSIVE, good attitude and smile;

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.9
    The staff was very friendly, spoke English, gave us all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No internet connection in the room.

    The staff was very friendly, spoke English, gave us all the requested information. The hotel is clean. The food was OK. The beach is 15 minutes away (by foot).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    7.9
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff was not so polite as two years ago. I suggest them learning more greatings and a little bit more english. The worst thing at the beach was that we had only a small umbrella included.

    The location is wonderfull. So is the hotel, pool and food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    3.3
    POOR, food not good , everything poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very, very dirty. no customer service at all we had to go to the hospital with my son because of a stomach bug from the food we left with 2 nights earlier

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    4.2
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room ( 2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - Unfriendly staff -Rude cleaners who enter your room without knocking. Once, they came to our room while I was still sleeping. They changed the towels only once - Far from the beach. It's on the hill so you have to climb steep stairs to get to the hotel -Very small rooms - The extra bed didn't have a mattress. They wanted us sleep on it like that. Eventually, after a whole day they managed to find a mattress.

    +Nice pool +Cheap +Large variety of food +Good A/C

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    5.4
    The quality equals the price you pay....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room ( 2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not very clean, a part of the roof in the bathroom fell down because of the humidity. The snacking were until 4 pm, not very nice for the kids because dinner started at 7pm. The girls from the reception didn.t know English very well.The pool was closing at 6pm.for cleaning. Very annoying.... The man who did this made everyone leave the pool area.

    The pool was ok for the kids.The food was also enough and ok.The personnel from the reception was nice. Not the same about part of the bartenders although we are not much of drinkers....

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    3.3
    Bad quality of services
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room ( 2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I will never come back here because of the bad quality of services, food and drinks. And also if you love insects and myriapods, choose Hotel Althea.

    The sea and the beach are clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    2.9
    Disgusting.Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room ( 2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is runned down and disgusting.Reception girls and manager are rude and unprofessional.

    Swimming pool was ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    6.3
    We got what we paid..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They refused to give me a refund, after I checked out earlier because my partner got sick

    Air conditioner

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    4.6
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room ( 2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms and rooms dirty !!!

    reception was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    6.7
    Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room ( 2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean

    Food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    2.5
    Hotel Althea sucks
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Miserie in camera, personal nepoliticos

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.3
    comunycation end cllining
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room ( 2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 5 nights

    comunycation end cllining

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.9
    finally, was ok!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room ( 2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 7 nights

    cleaning room - so bad distance to sea - so long (20 minutes)

    Food and drinks - excellent! Pool - so clean!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.8
    Staff
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room ( 2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture, old doors, small bathroom.

    Staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.5
    May be
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Sometimes the food wasn't quite fresh

    Very nice area in the mountains

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    6.7
    Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room ( 2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Booking. com says that hotel accepts American Express, but AE is NOT working there.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room ( 2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to like

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    2.5
    Arriving at the hotel to find it closed down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Arriving at the hotel to find it closed down. Not knowing what to do or where to go. Absolute horrific start to our holiday.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: