Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Art Hostel and B&B 1 stars

Angel Kanchev 21 A, Centrum, 1000 Sofia, Bulgaria

Review score

Based on 467 hostel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.8
    Fasinating and creative abode and city love the vibe
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    Angel Kanchev is an amazing street somewhat like the Northen quarter in Manchester = Bespoke in an Artful way fab restaurants/bars a great club Quirky shops friendly+ helpful people -I shall be returning here next year for a week there's so much more to explore in the surrounding area from this great vantage point the Art Hostel and breakfast on the swinging table was Cool

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.7
    Location was good, relaxed vibe.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Completely thread-bare, this hostel needs some love! In my room, the mirror had apparently fallen off the wall and no one had bothered to put it back up, leaving you to stare at ugly big dark spots on the wall. The bed sheet had holes. The hostel is a bit run down by nature, but a little more attention to the rooms would make it a welcoming place.

    Location was good, relaxed vibe.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    We would go there again, for the low cost a creative encounter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blankets did not have extra sheets so we used our own towels as sheets as it was hot enough..

    It really is a building full of art and creativity. Staff very funky and helpful, always available and kind.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.3
    Cozy atmosphere with nice garden
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the two showers didn't have a showerhead. Kitchen appliances didn't work properly. The locks of the doors were sometimes very hard to open.

    Cozy atmosphere with nice garden

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Friendly, cool and on the pulse of Sofia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could use a lick of paint in places , though the spray painted bits were great - going back again in 2 weeks!

    Great vibe lovely garden and club down in the basement. fun and great value! Great communal breakfast too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.3
    Thanks but no thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a private single room but there were only dormitories which the very gentle receptionist btw showed me and 'offered me' for a special price which was the same price on the internet. I disliked very much that this happened, After all I had to sleep in a very expensive hotel around the corner as after midnight it s hardly impossible to find a room in Sofia. A big bummer for this hostel!

    They have a nice ruinbar downstairs and lots of travellers from all over the world for a chat

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    I would repeat because it's cheap, well located and with nice staff, but it's not for everybody.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in Multiple Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleaning in the bedroom left a lot to be desired. In the bathroom there was no light and it was quite shabby.

    The decoration, the bar, the breakfasts and the amability of the staff were great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.6
    We dont recommend to book this dirty accomodation, visit only the bar and garden!:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    DIRTY- obvious no regular cleaning- dirty floor in the room when we came, the same toothpaste mark on the sink for all the 3 days of our stay Bitten by BED BUGS on my leg that I have never experienced in any accomodation! Breakfast- not much of a variety if somebody does not like milk (see the photos please), we had to wash dishes ourselves in ice-cold water Not very friendly staff- except the lady in the bar Bathrooms that you see on pics are not even there! (see the photos) Card Terminal- in one review from two months ago it says it is broken- it still is! No maintenance- big light in the room didnt work, just the bed table ones. Pictures in general seem to be taken at the beggining of the hostel running while it looked really nice and MATCHED the description! Without a proper maintenance it doesnt look like that now. We booked a private room and it is not worth that price unfortunately.

    Great location in the centre Cool garden and bar with the alternative atmosphere- one free drink for hostel guests Check-in after midnight Possibility to leave the suitcase at the reception after check-out

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    the free sofia tours, bus up the mountain and walking down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Multiple Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bulgarians seem to be very unhappy people - and it shows in the service. Also finding a good Bulgarian restaurant is not easy.

    the free sofia tours, bus up the mountain and walking down.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Good backpacker location in Sofia
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some staff (not all) were often off handed. No towels provided in the room. I was allocated a room in another location with a very seedy off street courtyard access. Suspicious people congregated here. Reckon some were on drugs.

    Location was good in old city area. Most staff gave helpful advice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.0
    The hostel has a great location - ideal to visit Sofia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I believe the staff could make more of an effort to welcome guests - it seemed that we were disturbing them. And people should be aware that the hostel's bar is extremely loud - so if you're not there for a 24/24 party, it is not the place for you.

    The hostel has a great location - ideal to visit Sofia.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.3
    Okay for one night, if you are really on a tight budget and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Multiple Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Okay for one night, if you are really on a tight budget and could not find other options, otherwise there are better places in Sofia. They have good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Perfect.
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Multiple Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like the bar in the hostel, but sometimes you will sleep on time, and then you still hear the music. Its not a bad point, but for some guests it can be.

    Breakfast was good, and they have a lovely garden!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Basic, but friendly with good location
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Multiple Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have often stayed at the Art hostel but on this occasion I didn't like the room in the roof space. Buts not to say I wont stay at the art hostel again

    There is a good bar and a garden

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    The Staff is very very friendly and the place is brilliant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Staff is very very friendly and the place is brilliant if you want to meet people from all over the world. Its a perfect place to discover Sofia and you're interested in Street Art. We had a really good time there and can highly recommend Art Hostel :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.1
    Ok for a short visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Multiple Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed in 4-bed dorm room and the room was cold. On the checkout day, when I asked about the breakfast(which is already paid in advance during booking) according to the receptionist guy I was the only guest left in the hostel so that's why he(or whoever responsible) didn't prepare a breakfast for me but if I want it he could prepare something right away, that's what he said.After this attitude I didn't want the breakfast because I deserve this breakfast to be prepared in anyways, no matter what. I may eat or not, this is my decision. Moral of the story, don't be the only one who is left in the hostel otherwise you don't get a breakfast :)

    The hostel is center center. Main attractions are in walking distance. Cafes, bars and restaurants are nearby. The hostel has its own cosy bar downstairs and offers a welcome shot. Staff were friendly in general.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    6.7
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building itself is very old and could do with some maintenance work. One of the entrances to the hostel is at a point where people hang out and drink and smoke so it was a little intimidating when returning at night alone and getting through the crowd to unlock the gate.

    Friendly and helpful guy at reception. Checked the heating was working in my room. When I asked for a hairdryer he got me another plug in heater which I could use to dry my hair.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.3
    It could be better :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    when we arrived at the ART HOSTEL they told us (without any pre-warning) that our room is located in another building, 2 blocks away. the room was tiny with a small window, the bed sheets and the towels were not very clean and there wasn't hot water in the bathroom. they gave us a key from another room (in order to use the bathroom) until they fix ours. the breakfast was standard with some bread, jam, milk, coffee, yogurt and cereals

    the staff was really friendly and helpful, central location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.9
    excellent location and friendly staff - they have even paid...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we were located in Garibaldi, a different location, which was very noisy due to th other guests which were partying in the common areas.

    excellent location and friendly staff - they have even paid for us the parking fees, which we have reimbursed, f course

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.1
    Maybe consider a basic hotel for that price instead
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old building with rugged facilities. 4 nights there and room was not cleaned at all,shared bathroom only cleaned once. At the underground of the house there was a mini club for youngsters with quite a noise until 2am

    Centrally located, just few minutes walk from Vitosha walking streets and metro stations

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.3
    Rad hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    The personnel was nice and very helpful. The breakfast was great and featured yoghurt, fresh fruits and muesli, as well as bread, cheese, jam and coffee/tea. My room was clean and neat and the bar downstairs was really great. Sold several types of (local) beers and a large variety of teas. Although it was a bit cold this time of year, the garden was really nice too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    6.7
    room was clean, simple
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Shower(No Window)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast that I paid was from 9 am on , room was noisy (a disco till 6 am was open close by and subway closely), it was good value for money

    room was clean, simple

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    3.3
    So bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Multiple Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was lazy to serve the quest , he didnt move from reception , even the towel was problem. It was so cold , Breackfast desiter , there was no taxi to come waiting long , dog inside hostel all time , so bad experience

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    5.0
    Central but not clean and unfriendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was not clean. The lighting is poor - you go to the toilet in the dark and so there is mess on the floor.

    Location is great , very central.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    Cozy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    convenient location, nearby the shopping main street. Staff are friendly to offer travel advice and assistance, i.e. arrange tour booking. Great breakfast made the better with brilliant start!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.3
    Do pop in for a shot in their cellar pub, have a look at the funky art..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    tiny WC and single shower for all residing on ground floor, dodgy pluming, slighty dingy dorm was NOT featured in any of the booking sites fancy photos, thumping music from celkar pub to all hours just under me bed, kitchen not suirable for much food prep, nice range/oven was just for show (informed it was diconnected), no key/pass code at entry gate (had to often wait to be granted enty for too long), broken reading lights and outlets, seems slightly sketchy that the property is listed under various names, but the exact same address...

    kind of like the funky arty thing, Nice Street and central location, back garden

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    4.6
    The place is just Ok. Don't expect anything special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room didn't have any furniture. Small bathroom and shower without walls. Impossible to keep bathroom clean. Towels old and small. Not recomendable if you travel with friends and must share bathroom. Breakfast regular. There were no staff from the hotel helping us.

    The place is very well located.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.8
    Better book a Hotel for that price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was too expensive for Sofia's average price (for a private room). Private bathroom not inside the room. One of the staff guys (the one who showed me my room) was totally unfriendly and didn't want/know to speak english. Would be nice they tell you that the private rooms are in a separate building some minutes away with no reception. Quite poor breakfast.

    Location is very good. Grat bar downstairs

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.7
    Great backpacker experience !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could improve: Upgrade Beds on the floor and old duvets Shower and toilet with the kitchen inbetween. Also the top shower had access from a bedroom for some which meant they forgot to unlock it for the rests of the floor to use.

    Loved: Atmosphere WiFi Location Could improve: Bathroom and toilets Beds and duvets

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.5
    Staff were nice and reactive- the hostel has flaws but efforts are made (bar, breakfast, paints etc)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 5-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Many locked doors (and noisy), you get a total of 3 keys, but no keys for the main entrance.. you've to ring the belt everytime you want to get in, and when you're inside, if it's after 10pm, you have to ask a guy to get inside the rooms because they have problems of noise with neighboors so they lock all doors There is art there but they say "art hostel" so they don't have to renovate the bathroom and old walls haha Wifi stopped sometimes One bathroom - two tiny showers for 3 floors

    Next to the center - little garden and bar The ambiance is active and positive It's cool that there is a common breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.8
    Hostel with a feeling of being home with a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Art Hostel is a real cool accomodation. It was nice to sit outside behind the house or in the evening to spend the time in the basement bar. One night even a real good two man band had a gig. The staff was really nice and helpfull. We slept in the 4 bed room next to the reception. We had enough space. And yes, the mattress was a bit saggy, but well, it is a hostel. The bathroom was clean and for breakfast was a small buffet in the basement with toast, jams, nutella, cheese, butter, peaches, muesli, yoghurt, just a few things I remember. And of course the location was perfect for just walking around the city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.3
    Many guests under influence of alcohol
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Multiple Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night

    In an area with many bars and cafés. One of the side-effects: many guests under the influence of alcohol who get into the dorm late at night or early morning 4:00AM. Alarms that go off at 7:00AM and are repeated every 10 minutes; not turned off because the guest is in a comateuze condition. Shower did not really work well (floor got flooded).

    Central location Bed was comfortable. Sheets and towel were clean. Good breakfast included. Nice garden

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room with Private Bathroom(No Window)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a private, which was actually located in a different location. It is pretty closeby, but for for example the breakfast, you have to walk a bit in the morning, which we didn't like.

    Nice staff. Exceptionally good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Fun and warm place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in Multiple Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hostel was in the city center.There was a bar at downstairs and when we get there, there was a party.Really fun place.The breakfast was like how we breakfast in my country.Too much choice and really delicious.After my homesick, it was like a wonderful meal :) Also the reception guy was so helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.0
    We expected a nice hostel experience. It was not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked our two last nights at the Art hostel thinking it was supposed to be the best hostel in the city. When we arrived, right after registering, they explained us that we would actually be staying in an other building 5min away. Why not. But the place was quite creepy, located in the back of an alley. We were supposed to have a private bathroom, which was actually in the corridor. Bathroom clean but very small. No AC (thankfully it wasn't that hot at that time). Wasn't at all what we expected, very disappointed. Sofia could really benefit from a real choice of nice guesthouses.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    4.6
    Worst price/quality location ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed sheets were stained, no blankets, no toilet paper, the room was extremely dirty and not matching the photos, the kitchen did not have enough cups and plates for at least 5 people.

    Nice atmosphere in the main building.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.0
    Breakfast was great and it was nice to have a bar in the...
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty common areas and bathroom. Friend of mine was bitten by bedbugs!

    Breakfast was great and it was nice to have a bar in the hostel. I enjoyed garden too

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    Good location, retro furniture, fantastic shower.
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a room with a separate private bathroom but got one with a shared bathroom located opposite the entrance door of the b&b that had a frosted, fully glazed door. (?) On top of that, they had installed a regular convector electric heater in the bathroom that seemed to pose a serious safety hazard. Not sure if the heater was ever used in the winter, as I doubt anyone would get out of that bathroom alive.

    Good location, retro furniture, fantastic shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.5
    Cheap and Chill
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 5-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been a bit cleaner and the breakfast was not so good stuck in a warm room good was exposed for hours in 30+

    Super relaxed atmosphere and really nice location for access to the main city and main street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.8
    not what we expected, not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room with Private Bathroom(No Window)
    • Stayed 1 night

    we booked double room, the room wasn´t in art hostel but 5 min away (not mentioned anywhere), there was no window in room (we booked normal doulble room not without window), breakfast starts at 8:30 but when we came back for breakfast the receptionist told us that we have to wait because his colleage just went to shop and it will be ready in 10 minutes (even at 9:00 full breakfast wasn´t ready and we had to leave the hostel and go to airport not to miss our flight), so we just packed some food instead of having proper breakfast. and last but not least i am genius member of booking and should have got free welcome drink. the receptionist told us about the drink during half of the way the the room which wasn´t at hostel, so of cource we didn ´t go all the way back just to have a drink in night.

    we could check in even after midnight

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Great location, large room with airco, nice atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weird situation with one staff member.

    Great location, large room with airco, nice atmosphere. Only one problem with one weird staff member, hope they learned from that situation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.3
    Very very simple and basic room and without a decent breakfast, but in a good city center location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedden (beds). Parking (very limited parking places because this hostel is located in the historical city center, and very costly parking). Het ontbijt (the breakfast). You cannot call this a breakfast, to be honest.

    Behulpzaamheid van de beheerder/receptionist. Helpfulness of the manager/reception person.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location and relatively clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Multiple Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no bathroom on the floor I was on and it was painfully hot

    Great location and relatively clean. The bar downstairs was always lively but not too noisy to be able to sleep

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.8
    It is hostel not a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid 33 Euro for night (what is not a budget price for Sofia) therefore I will be more critical. - room has no air condition ( it gets pretty hot during the summer in Sofia - you have to have open windows during the night, but there are no nets on windows, so lit of mosquitos will fly in - we had a private bathroom, but on other side of floor. It was pretty unconfortable, especially during the night to wake up, dress up, take a key and walk to our private bathroom to use the toilet. - if you order private room, you'll get it in Garibaldi guest house, which is 3 minutes from the hostel. It has no reception, therefore whenever you need something, you have to walk to the hostel (at least for check in and check out) - the breakfast is also served in hostel, so every morning you have to walk to the hostel. Anyway breakfast is poor and you have to prepare your own one (the food like cheese, marmelade, apples, bread and tomatoes is offered on the table). After that you are suposed to wash your dishes. The breakfast is served in cellar, so it smell little bit stuffy inside. We booked this hotel because of the breakfast included in the price, but we were very disapointed and didn't eat there.

    -location - you are few minutes from main boulvar street

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    Not what I anticipated but still good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Shower(No Window)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel had a dependance building in which I stayed. I only learned about this after the booking and I was disappointed as it was 3-5min walk away and had no common room or reception. So you had to walk back and forth if you had a question or a problem. Plus: the Art hostel is advertising its artsy appearance; the other building is just practical and unexciting.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean. Free welcome drink and breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    3.8
    Terrible place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible hostel - never experienced anything like it. Very dirty, very unsafe (no way out in case of emergency or fire), extremely terrible matresses, unprofessional staff - a con wrapped as a "cool place to be".

    The bar could be cool if you feel like partying.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    6.7
    I very much liked the location as it is just in the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Shower(No Window)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no reception in the building I was, so needed to go to the other one to check in/out with all the luggage - not the best experience.

    I very much liked the location as it is just in the city center It was clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    Some dance to remember, some dance to forget
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The showers. They weren't horrible -- but definitely would have made this a 10 out of 10 type stay if the showers were maintained just a bit better.

    The staff. The staff are all incredible! The location is supreme, the building itself and all the artwork really makes this a rad spot. Whether you're staying for one night or longer you'll find what you're needing. Yes, it's no Taj Mahal, but you can't find a garden-pub-staff combo like this, anywhere!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money, nice helpful staff. Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Multiple Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower could've been better, but it was usable. That's about it.

    Staff were great, helped with bus times to Burgas, and also called me a taxi on my way home. Good aircon unit in the room, nice communal area and lockers to keep your stuff safe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.3
    Close to the heart of Sofia but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were moved to Garibaldi guesthouse, so it take some minutes walking to reach the reception and the bar for brakfast. Sheets and towel weren't very clean .

    The hostel is near Vitosha boulevard , the heart of Sofia. From here you can reach most of the attractions of the city. Staff was kind .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.7
    City trip sofia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room with Private Bathroom(No Window)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very basic. You get what you pay for. No hot water on the second day. Don't expect too much and you'll be fine.

    Location is great. All the sights, restaurants and shops are within walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.1
    The room is clean and basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room with Private Bathroom(No Window)
    • Stayed 1 night

    After we book, we received an email that we are 'upgraded' to a room in a building about 4 mins walk away. We have to walk back and forth between these locations to check-in and return our keys. So it's not so convenient.

    The room is clean and basic. We have a budget room which turns out to have no windows. The staff help us to store the luggage and guide us to the tram station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.5
    Cheap stay in the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Multiple Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi doesnt work good inside the dorm. Staff didn't try to explain anything on the map. Too many people for the bathroom and toilet.

    Breakfast is OK, nothing fancy. Garden is nice but it gets too loudy at night. Excellent location near the pedestrian street.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    4.6
    Wouldn't stay again unless there is not any other option in Km around
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 5-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed is probably the worst I have ever sleep in. The mattress is ultra thick and I had all the metal parts hurting my back. Bed is not big enough (I'm not NBA player, but 181 cm). Bathroom is dirty and not enough for the total of people that shares it. If the bathroom is old style and you cannot throw paper to it, is ok, but then you cannot share it for 8 people and clean once per day... it's crazy. The way they clean with water only and without any care makes the place looks even dirtier. The cleaner just drop some water to the floor and move it all around...

    The breakfast was not bad, there are a lot of products and you can eat enough to get good energy before discovering the city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    One of Sofia's most popular bars. Oh and there's beds too
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Multiple Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some a/c would have been nice. Beds and showers were a bit substandard. Breakfast is good for a hostel, but you won't likely miss it when you go.

    The bar! There's a full bar there and it's always full of cool people. The garden also has a great ambiance and even occasional free concerts on weekends. Really cool alt vibe there. Gets real loud downstairs after dark, but the rooms themselves are well insulated for early sleepers.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Art Hostel, more like Heart Hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The rooms were spacious and the beds were comfy. The facilities were clean as they could be but the art that was dotted around the building was definitely what made it all specially and aesthically stand out. Breakfast was good and nutritious. The garden was beautiful and serene specially in the morning when the sun was out. The staff were very friendly and most of all helpful and accommodating. Overall, will definitely recommend and stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    2.9
    Central location and that's all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was supposed to be a room with bathroom but the bathroom was outside the room, opposite to the entrance to the building. There was glass door so everyone entering the building could see you take a shower. Bathroom itself was terrible without any shower cabin. Breakfast was a joke. The only edible thing was an apple. Room was in different place some 10 minutes by walk from the hostel. Worst experience in my life.

    Central location and that's all.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    5.4
    Quirky hostel, suitable for a one/two night stay, cheaper to book elsewhere if your a group
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in any showers Stains on sheets and towels Lumpy beds and pillows

    Quirky hostel with lots of bespoke features and unique designs. Room was ensuite and building was clearly being renovated so should be better when completed. Free wifi, breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.1
    Great prices but lacking in a few areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The noise from the bar, reception, and kitchen area was troublesome if you wanted to sleep at all during the day (but I was in a room next to it all, so it may have been better elsewhere). There being only toilet and shower really wasn't great with the amount of people coming and going, and definitely buy some flip flops because the shower room gets like a small swamp very quickly. There are also two doors into the shower, so be sure to make sure both are locked before you do what you gotta do in there. The kitchen facilities are a little lacking too. The cooker didn't work (or if it did, you may have to wait up to half an hour for a hob to heat up) and the one hot plate they have limits what you can cook. The kettle comes and goes from the kitchen too, so you may have to go looking for it. There feels like there are lots of little fixes that could be made (longer shower curtain, coat hangers on doors fixed, a towel to dry your hands in the toilet, curtains in room fixed/washed) to make it that it that bit better.

    Easy going feel, with a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The free breakfast was most welcome (though it was just mostly bread, spreads and a limited supply of muesli), and the staff were really helpful upon checking in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    6.7
    Good night ambient, back pain in the morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom, there were a few problems and it wasn't working the first day. I would recommend to pick a room with an individual bath. Also the beds weren't very confortable as you could feel the springs while trying to get a good rest. We heard other rooms mattresses weren't like that but we weren't lucky enough.

    I liked the bar area, as at night they have a good ambient and the bar is very cool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Great value, sleep, breakfast, atmosphere
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Multiple Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous value for me. Warm efficient welcome from staff. I was on a 6-single- bed dorm. Highest floor, comfortable, quiet, with everything I needed (WiFi, clean bathrooms, towel, power sockets everywhere). Great breakfast in a cite socialising setting.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.1
    Is good but
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Multiple Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night

    However, the bed was not comfortable and the hot water was not working so I had to take a cold shower, ouch.

    The place is really cool. They have a lovely garden in the back, and a nice bar to hang out up there, they even over you a shot for every reservation, is cool. The staff is really nice and the breakfast is good. Enjoyed my stay!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    5.0
    I could not check out at a later, but on the other hand at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not check out at a later, but on the other hand at the checking I had to wait for half an hour. the room was "clean": they had just thrown a bucket of water on the ground. the whole room was flooded when I arrived the reception is 500m away from the room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    3.8
    The breakfast was basic but good, good coffee, location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 5-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the staff really rude and unfriendly except one guy on reception and the lady who did the breakfast. Rooms were cold, not that clean and really noisey, There was loud music from the bar until at least 1am. Only one toilet and one shower for multiple rooms and the kitchen was not stocked well. is ok for price but considering other hostels are similar probably wouldn't stay again.

    The breakfast was basic but good, good coffee, location was easy to get to from airport/metro and everything in the city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Nice, quirky, friendly, comfortable & relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We hired a car, the parking was stressful because we couldn't pay via SMS as not on a Bulgarian network. However as soon as we found out we could buy tickets at a kiosk it was ok.

    Friendly approachable and helpful staff. We had a family room a little walk away from the main hostel. It was a large room with comfortable beds. Very quiet and clean. Lovely hot shower.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    7.9
    More hippy, less hipster.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very few bathrooms, though to be fair I rarely had to wait for one to be free. The toilet on the entrance level was so dark, at all times--my biggest excitement in moving to a new place was that I could actually see while using the bathroom!

    Breakfast wasn't too bad, similar to any other hostel with the addition of a large block of feta cheese. The place where you eat breakfast is very.. Cozy.. Forcing interaction with the other guests which is both good and bad, depending!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.8
    Perfect option for Sofia
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 5-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The showers may need of some repairing

    An original and fanciful hostel, with a perfect central position, in a lovely quarter. In addition the hostel pub and the garden are a valid and quiet option for nightlife

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.1
    Perfect for young people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want to have a calm and relaxing stay .. it could be noisy for you !

    The staff are nice and friendly .. I forgot my camera in the room and they called me back ! This doesn't happen much these days ( thank you ) .. location is fantastic .. the courtyard is very nicely done and is super cute and you can meet people and party ! The party is on all the night .. and the bar is super cool

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.1
    price-performance-ratio was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Multiple Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lockers, mold on the wall and smelt bad. Shower and toilet were not clean enough.

    Breakfast was quite Bulgarian and good. The shopping street and most tourist attractions are not in walking distance. Restaurants, bars, supermarkets are easy to find in the vicinity.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    7.5
    The location, very close to everything you need to see in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were in a different building separated from the main hostel. The common area outside the rooms was a bit messy and the bed matress was quite hard.

    The location, very close to everything you need to see in Sofia. The breakfast was alright, given the cost of the room. Nice atmosphere at the Bar.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    5.0
    Shabby not chic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 5-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn't really bear resemblance to the images online, I stayed in the attic room (4 people) and it wasn't very convenient, was run down and uncomfortable. The toilet (just 1) and showers (2) were on the floor below, didn't have locks and were shared by more than 10 people. I'd recommend using the facilities near Reception but this meant three flights of stairs plus walking to the building next door each time - not great in your pyjamas!

    The location is nice and central plus it was cheap. The staff were kind and moved me to another room for my final night when I complained about my allocated room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    7.5
    Fine for a cheap hostel..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Multiple Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise from the bar of the hostel was disturbing until midnight. Also it would be nice if there were lockers.

    Staff was truly helpful. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.3
    It's a friendly environment, with helpful staff and cool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 5-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Weekend nights get a little loud with the bar, but the staff is very good at keeping people inside rather than on the street.

    It's a friendly environment, with helpful staff and cool amenities. Breakfast and the bar downstairs are great for those tha want to socialize. And the front desk has a lot of resources for free tours, calling taxis, activities around Sofia, and so on. Rooms/bathrooms are cleaned daily!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    3.8
    Stinks of cigarettes
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Multiple Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one told me what the deal was with breakfast, or where the kitchen was, no free drink was offered as it states there would be. In fact the guy in the reception was quite rude and unhelpful on my arrival. The whole place stunk of cigarette smoke on arrival. The noise was constant, she shower was awful and sprayed in all directions. There was a small hole between both showers where someone would be able to see in, the toilet door didn't shut, the toilet stunk of urine.

    The location was the only good thing about this property

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    6.7
    Twin Room in the Garibaldi Guest House
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Smell of tobacco in the room - Strange stains on the walls - Door lock impossible to open

    - Very central location - Reasonable price if you come from western countries - Nice breakfast included

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Art Hostel and B&B traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: