Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Avion Hotel 3 stars

15 Han Pressijan St., 4003 Plovdiv, Bulgaria

#7 of 68 hotels in Plovdiv

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 373 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Woman running the restaurant was not very friendly, didn’t give us orange juice with our breakfast and looked surprised when we asked for another coffee.

    Rooms 1 & 2 (Garden Rooms). We had one of these last time we stayed. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful with advice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was sure we booked one double bed but they insisted I booked 2 single ones. it's not confortable and for some reason they charge way more for that. breakfast was horrible: it was menu cold meal since what's else on the menu wasn't available because of some problem with the gas stove. menu breakfast is never good, they should make a buffet like a normal hotel.

    Good location to walk to all the sites. it was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    could of had more information about breakfast on the website i:e if Continental or self serve, there was a lack of understanding and there did not seem to be much of a chose. I was expecting to see more kitchen equipment as there was a kitchenette in our studio.

    size of the studio, size of the shower, quiet location, friendly reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Big rooms, nice furniture, beds are comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff. Convenient parking place just next to the hotel entrance I will be back again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit far from the city center (next to the International Fair) and not such a pleasant walk, particularly at night.

    Deluxe room is actually a small apartment, with a small kitchen and living room. Very spacious and clean. New bathroom! Helpful staff. Nice breakfast. You could choose between 5 options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If I have to mention one thing, it's the fact that it's across from a buildingsite. But strangely enough, we were there for 3 days during the week and we never saw anyone working there.

    Staff is very friendly. The young man at the reception kept standing up as we entered and left the hotel and was always asking how are day was. Big plus for him! Breakfast is basic but very good. The room is amazing, very big!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had one lady to do breakfast and she was clearly struggling. Everything had to he ordered as there's no buffet items and the menu is basically eggs ,omelette , or pancake! It took forever to get served as she had to attend to everyone else and when we asked for a 2nd cup of coffee she stormed off in a huff to go and make it! We ended up skipping breakfast on our last day and eating out elsewhere.

    Our suite was incredible. Spotlessly clean. Had everything we needed. Comfortable bed. Air con. Huge bathroom. Mini bar. Loads of space. Absolutely superb. The location is about 20 mins walk from the old town and it's in a very built up area. It felt relatively safe though . Parking is on the road which we didn't have a problem with .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is small, modest family run hotel about 15 minutes walk from the centre of the city. It is very efficiently and courteously run and super-clean. I would back the comment elsewhere that the taxi driver from the airport got confused about the location. It seems that there is another hotel with a similar name, so double-check this to avoid a detour!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -It's difficult to take a shower without having water outside the bathtube -some more hooks/towel holders would be great -the last point is not for the hotel but for booking.com : this was supposed to be a good deal because of a price reduction, but I discovered at the hotel that this actually was the normal price for the room. It's no problem to pay the standard price, it was worth it. Just don't tell people otherwise, please.

    -Our room was actually a flat, it was huge! -Some tableware were in the kitchen, great! -downtown is at walking distance

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was dissapointing with only 3 options to choose from and one person serving everyone. Also the showers might need a little reconstruction.

    The staff is nice, the room's design and its ambience reminded me of a little homelike mountain hut. Terrace was a pleasant surprise with its separation from other people's balconies.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom should be re-adapted. All the water from the shower part was leaking to the bath entrance. Breakfast was poor

    The room was nice, spacious, with traditional design. A comfort, intimate patio was available with the room. WiFi was ok Short walk to the city centre

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Further than we would have like from the centre. The area of the hotel looks rough and is right next to a main road. We upgraded our room for a night and were told it would be 6 or 7 lev more which turned out to be 14 lev when we paid.

    Very clean and comfortable with loads of space. The breakfasts were good although the standard varied between days. The staff were quite nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking as stated online. Weak internet. Breakfast of poor quality, despite raves on bookings reviews. NOT REALLY IN OLD TOWN as filtered on booking.com. Basically much mis representation of the property.

    Roomy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is perfect if you need to visit the fair, it's 10 minutes far away from downtown but quite far from the north bus station (almost 2km) although the taxi is very cheap and the hotel can help to book one.

    The room was amazing, furnished in a colonial style with a private courtyard. Is very clear, quite and large. Also the bathroom was very modern and big. Breakfast included served in the restaurant. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Kind and friendly staff. Comfortable and spotlessly clean room with all amenities, coffee and tea as a compliment. Very good location, near to the city center, main streets and Old town. Actually the hotel is just about in front of the International Fair Center. Very good breakfast with perfect coffee. We will be back again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    According to street signs it was a parking fee zone. Staff told me I don't have to consider, it is free. I trusted them and really nothing happened but it was a bit strange :)

    Very spacious and comfortable room. Shop, restaurant nearby. Perfect breakfast. Quiet surrounding. Close to downtown.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The waitress/cook from the breakfast was extremely not nice. We went down 15 min before closing and she was pissed off because we were so late, then she just gave us a couple of options and with the face of madness she was annoyed because we didn't eat all, the place is nice but avoid the breakfast.

    The recepcionist was helpful, and nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside is them not having local beer. Tuborg is nasty

    Everything. The breakfast was amazing, the people were very friendly and the place was exceptionally clean. Coupled with its great location, we loved our stay here

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not great...

    Great location in a beautiful city. The hotel would've had a great view to the Plovdiv Fair main building if it weren't for the unfortunate (abandoned?) construction site right in front of it. But the building is nice, the room was comfortable and spacious. The staff is friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is scarce, and not clearly explained by the staff. We had no wi-fi in the room. The worse is the light in the room: above your bed is a tiny window with no black out. The room was not cleaned at all during our 2 nights stay.

    We stayed at the room with kitchnete on the 5th floor. The room wss Large. The offered amenities were good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a great budget Hotel,a perfect choice for a visit to the fantastic ancient city of Plovdiv. The room was so comfortable,clean and spacious,with a little balcony to sit out on. It is located across the river from the old town,but an easy 10/15 minute away, You can cross either on the pedestrian footbridge which will bring you out near the Kapana area,which is great for cafes,bars & restaraunts or you can cross the larger bridge and come out closer to the od town itself. Either way a pleasant walk. The staff here really couldnt have been more friendly and helpful. The breakfast which was included in the price was really good,the Armenian lady in the hotel makes great French toast and pancakes. A highly recommended experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location - 15 minutes walk to the main walking center of Plovdiv. Good breakfast and very friendly staff - would stay there again in the future!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi ver weak and vey unstable as of matter of fact useless.The bed not comfortable.Toilet su-standard. Breakfact choices very poor.

    Location from the fair.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    guests in the room next door had a dog which seemed to upset another dog in the neighbourhood....late at night on my 2nd night also on my second night there seem to have been other new arrivals that didn't understand the concept of closing doors quietly after 11pm both of the above meant I kept getting woken up

    very helpful at reception - figured out what bus station I needed to go to and sorted out a taxi to collect me they gave me one of the garden rooms which meant I had a private terrace = mid-afternoon sun trap :-) good air-conditioning a few minutes walk to some bars and restaurants walking distance to the Old Town and the main pedestrianised street first night I got a very good night's sleep

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit small.. cupboard space was tiny . And having no restaurant made it inconvenient.

    The room was quiet and beds were comfy.Breakfast was well prepared but limited choice..The cook was very nice and kindly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Power plugs were too far from the bed so I couldn't charge my phone overnight and have it in reach from the bed.

    Not sure if I got lucky with my room, but it was decorated really nice and cozy with framed old rifle replicas. Nice outdoor area as part of the room too.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would prefer a buffet for breakfast, though cook was very polite and helpful.

    Very clean and cozy. Though I had a single room reservation they gave me an apartment that was great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious rooms. Lovely staff. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The coffee.

    Extremely friendly, pleasant and cozy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast ok but could be better

    Installations, cozy decor, location within walking distance from the old town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super place to stay: quiet and not far from the old city center. The old city can be easily reached via a walking-bridge over the river.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not one thing I didn’t like.

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great lace. Friendly staff and was very positively surprised with the big room and the look of the place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful reception

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, staff and property.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was rather simpel but ok

    Friendly and super helpfull staff. Cosy and clean rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly staff!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single blankets on a double bed

    Friendly and helpful reception. Big rooms, nice furniture, beds are good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was just PERFECT

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Location and friendly staff! I would recommend it to my friends.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no parking. You have to park on the street. No rerserved places

    It is close for the national fair

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was a bit old and dated

    Good hotel. Big rooms. A bit dated but overall a good comfortable place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Understanding and helpful staff, large rooms, great location, calm street with places to park

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large room, had pleasant breakfast, bus nearby

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On street parking but the staff could see our vehicle from the reception

    Very spacious room. Great staff and only ten minutes walk to the centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extraordinary stuff! Very kind and walked an extra mile to meet our needs!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location, friendly and supportive staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely breakfast and excellent staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lights in the room are not bright enough.

    GOOD!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fantastic. Hotel is near city centar and old town ....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor wifi throughout hotel, non existent past the second floor

    The rooms were spacious

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was nice and very accommodating. Great helpful staff, quick to react. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was about a ten min walk from the downtown area, the rooms where very spacious and clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was comfortable, could use more hangers in closet. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was huge. It was actually like two rooms and a bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent room with garden area. Great breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unconfortable bed Limited brekfast but tasty

    Very big rooms Nice and helpful staff Big and clean bathroom

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Opposite a building site!

    Friendly staff and lovely room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exellent stay, people and Exellent breakfast! 5 stars!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bad wi fi

    .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Very nice gardens, friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi signal very weak (2nd floor apartment )

    Didn't have breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally was s very nice choice...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super clean rooms! Nice bed, super wifi! You can find parking for the car outside of the hotel! 10min. far away from down town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really clean. The hotel is close to the city center and the old town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect

    Stylish and spacious room, huge and clean bathroom, big terrace, very nice staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed was very hard en we couldn't sleep.

    The breakfast was very simple but tasty.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    location, amazing place, affordable and okay breakfasr

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con was only in main room of our apartment and didn't cool down the bedroom very easily

    Spacious, staff were helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have learned not have high expectations of Bulgarian breakfasts. The Avion needs to offer more variety.

    Convenient location for Fairs centre & ten minutes walk from Plovdiv centre. High standard of room furnishings.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is far from the Old Town and center of the city. There is however a bus approx. 100 meters from the hotel that will take you near the center. Also, taxis cost only 4 lev to the center.

    Enormous rooms, wonderful a/c, many amenities in bathroom and kitchen, good shower, very quiet. Karneek and other staff were extremely kind and helpful. Restaurant owner was also very gracious. The price was ridiculously low.

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Avion Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: