Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Bansko Sofia 2 stars

6 Bela Dona Str., Dragalevtzi, Vitosha District, 1000 Sofia, Bulgaria

#113 of 179 hotels in Sofia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 270 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was told on arrival that breakfast was included and been paid for. In the morning another man said there wasn't any breakfast. Bar closed at 9pm. Not good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast pretty average ( - evening meal not tried) Room lighting poor, & don't like 'wet room' bathrooms, as a shower renders it unusable for the next several hours.

    Proprietor, Ivan, extremely friendly & helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really enjoyed my stay here at this hotel. Was very comfortable and the room was a nice size. The bathroom was good size. The hotel was in a quiet area so that is great for sleeping peacefully. You are only a few minutes away from the city center and the beautiful buildings. You need to see Alexander Nevsky Cathedral if you visit Sofia. It is 100% stunning. The other thing I like about the hotel is it is family owned so your money is not going to a huge corporation. I met the Father, Mother, and son that run the place and they are great people. Very nice. The restaurant/bar area is very nice with good decorations and a beautiful fireplace which is great in the winter like when I was there. The mother made us a great Bulgarian breakfast in the morning and we were on our way with full stomachs, well rested, and very happy. I would for sure stay here in the future and would recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast starts 8.30, which was too late for me. Anyway, for car travelers it's excellent deal for money.

    Family type of hotel with national restaurant. Staff is very kind, felt like home. Tasty meal. It was very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative thing I could say is that it was a little bit too cold in the room for the first two days as the weather wasn't great

    The hotel decor is lovely and the food amazingly tasty. I loved not knowing what we were going to be having for breakfast and dinner - we were always given a tasty traditional meal. The language barrier wasn't a problem for me as I don't expect people to speak my language when I go to a foreign country! The young guy that others have mentioned - he's very friendly and helpful and also speaks very good English! Would definitely recommend this hotel, fantastic value for money. I'll be back when it's warmer!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are very welcoming and are very helpful and friendly. The evening meal is enormous! I arrived as a guest and left with the feeling that I made friends there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower need a cabin, the whole bathroom is wet after showering and this destroy the room walls as well.

    Friendly staff, clean, fresh breakfast. They were willing to help, offering with no extra costs baby cot and extra bread at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for bed and breakfast. We were going to a conference and asked if we could have breakfast half and hr earlier. They said NO. We were not the only ones there who had this problem. So every day we had no breakfast. Not good at all. Very unhelpful.

    It was quiet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Understaffed and complaining about it. Restaurant was out of boundaries reserved for the owner's friends. Breakfast was the most basic I've seen, almost just to thick the box. Don't try the coffee.

    A nice pizzeria/restaurant nearby called "Chichovci"

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed that when we arrived the restaurant was shut...as that was the main reason we booked this hotel. We saw from the reviews that restaurant was excellent and staff very friendly. This wasn't our initial impression...hardly saw any staff..not really made to feel welcome and had to find food elsewhere...bar not even open. Only as we were leaving the hotel did we meet the son of the owners...who seemed very pleasant and helpful.

    Tidy..clean accommodation.. .good location near mount Vitosha

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You reserve one room and on site you get another one, and you have to pay extra for it. They show one room on the web site, and after that they say that that wasn't the room you reserved. Charging for 1 year old baby? Who does that? Not satisfied at all

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    I would like to thank the hotel staff for their hospitality and affability. In particular, Ivan for his patience and his mother for a delicious soup. Pleasant interior of the restaurant in the national style - each corner is arranged with love to the Bulgarian culture and also the fervent music will not leave any traveler indifferent and will settle down to a pleasant pastime.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying half board was great....plenty of local food at dinner all cooked fresh. The owner and his family made us extremely welcome and couldn't do enough for you. The son does all the translation for the family

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a wonderful stay in Hotel Bansko Sofia. At the foot of mount Vitoscha en just 15-20 minutes from downtown Sofia. Nice clean room and bathroom and nice balcony. Special Thanks to Ivan, the verry nice en young host, who helped me out with everything. He even brought me to the airport on my way back. Thank you Ivan.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The owners were very friendly and spoke good English. The rooms have a small balcony. Food was excellent. Just a tip if you like to have a coffee or tea in your room, take a travel kettle, cups and spoons and your own tea, coffee and milk. This goes for all hotels we stayed at in Bulgaria.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit trashy - The door of the closet (1.5m X1m) dropped when I tried to open it!! Seriously??!How dangerous it can be for children! And Wifi is not working well. I won't recommend people come here with public transport, especially for non-Bulgarian speakers. It is accessible but very less information you could found in the internet. The host tried to help, but besides the bus number, he knew nothing about the duration, frequency, etc. .He promised to check for us in the morning, but we couldn't reach him the entire morning except another personal who couldn't communicate with us in English at all.

    Clean toilet

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The owner is gorgeous! Extremely kind and helpful, he introduced me to the Bulgarian rakia and food. They were surprisingly amazing! I definitely will come back to Hotel Bansko Sofia and enjoy Bulgaria at its best!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls are a bit thin, could be noisy in case of loud neighbours.

    Very nice family hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean, dishes at the restaurant were tasty. Located in the quiet place outside of the city.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no view. Some small insects were annoying. There is no aircondition in the room.

    Spacious room. Good breakfast. Fully equipped room. Super value for money choice. Safe parking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast wasn't tasty. Had to pay for the second cup of my morning coffee. The sheets on the bed have to be changed. They're freslhy washed, but have some older stains.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hosts speak Bulgarian, Russian, English, Ukranian.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far away from the centre

    The friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean basic and low cost.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything good, nice interior

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was brilliant. This was our 2nd stay and will not be the last. Ivan and his wife are great hosts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclean room unclean bathroom no room service.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    FANTASTIC FANTASTIC GREAT FOOD OWNERS FANTASTIC HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not shower cabin.

    Clean, value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious and clean room. Quiet neighbourhood.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant and bar closed, ate here before and was part of the reason for booking

    Comfortable and clean, lovely staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold rooms, not so good breakfasts.

    Good location, good price

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is good. Reception and all stuff is so polite.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very attentive staff and comfy rooms

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    old hotel.

    Nice hotel in vitosha moutain. can look over the city in the hotel.Nice boss.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big room, nice yard and location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family and staff made us very welcome. The food was fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find a supermarket in the area. No balcony in the room.

    A very large room, nice backyard and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel with very friendly owned by Ivan and all staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great.

    Very nice, friendly and traditional revival style hotel on the outskirts of Sofia and close to Vitosha, perfect for us

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant closed so had to eat out when would have been nice to relax and eat in the bar. Bed sheet was very old and had quite a few holes. No balcony in the room as stated in the room description.

    Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bad smell coming from the sewage. No bathtub in the bathroom and water flows directly down on the drain located on the floor. Very far from the city center. Nothing to visit within a walking distance.

    Large Room. Parking in front of the hotel. Excellent breakfast! The older staff is great! The young ones are completely out of the picture. The hotel restaurant is very nice.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We phoned the owner to be late, but when we arrived nobody was at the desk. We had to wait almost 30 min (at midnight) until someone came to check us in.

    Nice view of Sofia from balcony. Big room. Good breakfast. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only one person as a staff who did the whole work (from reception to restaurant serving and, probably, cooking?) and didn't speak English! I haven't seen any owner, waiter, cleaning staff or anybody... Very few customers and a nice lady who have tried to help us with the English translation (even she knew a very poor English). Poor breakfast (two baked sandwiches with salami and kashcaval-cheese and a cold coffee or a tea). No tub in the bathroom, only a shower on the wall! No bar/fridge in the room, even they said the hotel is ranked 3 stars!!!

    Fresh and clean air (mountain area), very nice restaurant. Nice view over Sofia.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Shover without cabin or curtain was a little strange for us, but seems to be common in Bulgaria.

    Near Vitosa mountain, clean and friendly. Staff speaks well English. Wifi was awesome. We were really difficult customers, arrived very late (unexpectedly at 3am) and then woke up too late, but could check in and got breakfast, and everyone were really kind and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Couple

    little extras in the room , like rugs on floor , vases of albeit artificial flowers and plants made it less like a chain hotel "been in one been in them all " type of thing .Just a nice relaxing place that we certainly would return to

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast and secured parking. Very nice stuff.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast could be better. Room smells

    Peacefull

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The size of the bed sheet used as a blanket was too small so we were a little cold in the night.

    As always the hospitality was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice place, not in the city (that what we needed), very welcoming staff

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very nice hotel with friendly staff and owner, they do everything for your comfort, nice place for families with children!

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very clean and comfortable hotel, it was pleasure for us to stay there! I totally recommend it and will come back for sure! Thank you!

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very friendly owners. Big clean room. Low prices at the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice hotel, big and clean room, city of Sofia.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant is great! Staff is very friendly! Location great for a stop in Sofia

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Старо обзавеждане, миризма в банята, закуската е за пропускане.

    Удобно легло, непретенциозен хотел само за нощувка.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Leaving.

    A great quiet location with spacious room and local hospitality. A taste of real Bulgaria but within minutes of a European capital city.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    they did not clean the room..after one nights stay..just put towels in the room

    nothing

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: