Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Barceló Royal Beach 5 stars

Sunny Beach, 8240 Sunny Beach, Bulgaria

#143 of 404 hotels in Sunny Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 191 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    - Location: 3 mins walk to Sunny Beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - No luggage service. - No beach access but around 4 mins walk. - No tissue box in the room. - Very basic standard of furniture

    - Location: 3 mins walk to Sunny Beach. - Connected to shopping mall. - Indoor and outdoor swimming pools. - Great Spa service in the hotel. - Underground parking slots, cost: 25 L.V. - Good Gym. - Free wifi - Entertainment activities in the pool area

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.1
    It was pleasant, but we won't return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You get a ton of cards for each stuff. We were 2 people and we had 7 cards: 2 for room, 2 for breakfast, 2 for towels and one for the parking. The bedding at the pool smelled horrible and had developed fungus. You were not allowed to go at dinner if the men didn't have long pants... The breakfast was poor in quality and choices...The coffee that was at breakfast was horrible, but the paid one at the bar was lovely.

    Bed was comfortable, room and bathroom were big. Personnel at the bar really polite and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Luxurious hotel and room with very big balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very hard bed and pillows. The food was not great and some of the staff didn't speak well enough English.

    Luxurious hotel and room with very big balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Great staff and costumer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The indoor pool was cold. The food is ok, but could definitely improve

    Great staff and costumer service. Hotel looks great, feels very comfortable and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    The best hotel by far in sunny beach
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I find it quite odd that you cannot turn on your balcony light.

    I've been to over 10 hotels in sunny beach, and this one is hands down the best hotel you can possibly find. We were upgraded to a deluxe room free of charge at the day of check in. Staff were incredibly professional and the cleaning ladies in particular were the best in the game. I can truly recommend this place with all my experience. Thanks for a great stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.8
    Meh. Not horrible, barely satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid a lot of money and breakfast was not included for us, but was included for everyone else in the hotel. It was $32 for two people, so it made our overall cost to stay expensive.

    The shower was very powerful and hot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Good value, big rooms well equipped
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    floor it self was dirty, and not once in seven days stay been cleaned.

    Great location, big comfortable rooms. Clean sheets and towels. Everything yiu need is provided.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location for a relaxing couple break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I wouldn't class the property as a 4.5 star hotel and the room as the room was not to that spec. There was dust in the room and the shower area was slightly grimy.

    Kitchenette facilities in the room was very helpful. The pool area was outstanding-lots of space and choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    4.2
    I booked for 7 nights and moved out after 1 night.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception attitude was dismissive.

    I have stayed there before and the room was fabulous. This time the room was dirty, dark and small. I checked out after one night. I will never book the Barcelo again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    4.2
    Definetly not a 5 star location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room: the drapery was dropped from the support, sheets not exactly white and too small for bed size and were not changed during the stay (6 nights). We did not have bathrobes, slippers and a minibar. Insufficient light - only 2 bulbs out of 4. Bathroom: mold smell, dropping utilities, lack of shower support, lack of support for cosmetics. Dirty indoor pool.

    Breakfast and the location where it served

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    3.3
    Waste of money and time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty rooms and common areas. No maintenance overall for the bulding Staff capabilities to handle needs under average Fitness rooms dirty and with not mantained machines

    Central Area Good WiFi

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an incident where at the hotel my passport was stolen, the staff went overboard to help us and made sure everything was okay. Our room was damaged when it was stolen, they didn't charge us for any damages and gave me a new upgraded room free of charge for two days for me and my mum to stay in. This was done by someone I knew and is absolutely no fault of the hotels, they had a key and were able to gain access but the hotel is fully safe and secure. Absolutely excellent staff and the best nice caring people there

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Housekeeping - they dont clean, sand in the rooms is not picked up. Towels - Poor quality . Same for the bed sheets. Bathroom - has nothing to do with the bathroom shown on the pics!!!! Very very small, dirty shower, dirty sink, very poor.

    The hotel as a whole is nice, pools are great, location is ok. Stuff is friendly, professional.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Pleasent stay Royal Beach Barcelo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the reception was not pleasent. Although we had made the reservation on booking.com and had the confirmation, the staff at the hotel told us they had no free rooms. The problem was solved after contacting booking.com

    Exclusivist location. Very confortable rooms, nice pools

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.3
    Paying for parking at the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for parking at the hotel Too many cards on arrival, room key cards, pool cards, discount card for shopping, dinner cards. Almost had a deck of cards! Put it all on one!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    6.7
    This hotel is NOT 5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only basic english knowledge, bathroom never properly cleaned, during the daily room service not even the bed was prepared accordingly, service in the restaurant is slow but never seen the waiters to move quicker, tables are cleaned up slowly and forgot the serve coffee, one night we got dirty wine glass.... The hotel is NOT 5* !

    Location was excellent, great variation of food in the restaurant, quick check in, nice pool, tasty wines.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    All in all Royal Beach was a very good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All in all Royal Beach was a very good choice. It isn't the best place for young couples, more for young families and older folk but the experience was good because of a good location, good breakfast (keep reading) and excellent rooms. Breakfast was good. I t had a wide range of things to choose from but seemed like quality of products could have been better. Overall good experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    6.3
    try to avoid this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    this is not a 5 star hotel unfortunately he more like 3 stars Torn curtains, twin beds despite a double bed booked, problematic parking after 11 pm and poor service in the spa and expensive.

    location,big room ,balcony

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    3.3
    3 basic star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All Rooms need uplift, broken furniture in all rooms. uncomfortable beds. Bathroom looks tired bath sink drain full of hair... Generally very dirty, including restaurant, foyer, stairs etc... Smoking allowed in swimming pool areas.

    Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.3
    place with a great potential, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - poor cleaners; bedding sets and towels was a little disappointing for a 5 star hotel - poor wi-fi

    - staff were great - hotel is in a great location - the room was very nice and spacious

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Everything is top!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is top!!! Best hotel on Sunny Beach!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Nice place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Drinks (water,coke) are not included in dinner unless you are all inclusive.

    Wonderful terrace overlooking the sea. Location. Big swimming pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Rooms are very big and have a nice porch
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water in the pool is freezing in August .

    Rooms are very big and have a nice porch

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.3
    All
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Great location, very friendly service. The food needs to be improved. Recommended overall!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at the restaurant.

    Great looking, wonderful location. very good service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.0
    Fab Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were 2x single

    Great location very friendly staff fab pools

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    7.1
    the design is wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The water in the pool is freezing. The food in the dinning room often cold. At the dinner; the same drinks that were free at the breakfast cost money...

    the design is wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    7.5
    The room was very nice and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We checked in late at 7:30 and asked if we could check out a little later but the staff were very strict about the checkout time. We also wanted to change our room booking as we had booked for a room for 3 including our 4 year old child, but decided not to take him on our holiday that day. They refused to change as they wanted to take the higher amount (100 leva difference ) Previously it states that a child under six is free but this isn't the case.

    The room was very nice and spacious. The overall cleanliness of the hotel was great.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    9.6
    The hotel was fabulous from the minute we stepped into it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was fabulous from the minute we stepped into it the decor the staff the food the facilities overall the best thing about sunny beach was this hotel !!!!

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    6.7
    The xxxx restaurant was fabulous and theories sensational as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very built up area of Sunny Beach - needs to be an adult only pool area way too busy

    The xxxx restaurant was fabulous and theories sensational as was the spa , the main restaurant less so Concierges very customer focused t

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.3
    The clean environment and staff care and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The king bed was actually two joint single bed The location is not directly on the beach The food quality was not good

    The clean environment and staff care and helpful

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    4.6
    Lifeguards, Security and reception staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi nonexistent. Toilet didn't flush. Shower overflowed - water all over. Electricity stopped to work. Cleaning staff insisting on cleaning when it's suitable for them, or not cleaning at all (before 10 o'clock they would come 3-5 times). Not friendly. Didn't clean, no toilet paper or bathfoam, always a conflict.

    Lifeguards, Security and reception staff was very friendly. Location was very central. Good parking.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    7.9
    The hotel was spotless, it was kept really clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I wouldn't really say the items I am going to mention are a deal breaker but worth mentioning: Bed sheets only changed once in ten nights: The sun beds needed two lots of cushions as very uncomfortable, I do not envy anyone staying there in peak season as can imagine that there would be a fight for a sunbed but also uncomfortable with only one cushion. Breakfast service - there were always dirty tables and would have to keep walking around to find a clean table. There were often items missing such as milk jugs, cups and waiting around to find tea and coffee. A small improvement here could make a huge difference to the service. I love the fact that the hotel is energy efficient with their energy saving lights but the block we stayed in felt a little unsafe as you were walking around in the dark a lot. The same said for the pool toilets, going under ground into a dark room and even having to sit on the toilet and keep swaying to make sure the lights stayed on. Also it was a shared toilet - I didn't feel safe going under ground and having to share with men. It wasn't until our last day that I noticed a guy who I believe was the concierge, it would be good if this service had been pointed out, as the questions we asked the staff on reception had no idea and to be honest this is the only time I found staff unhelpful. One other note, the wifi is a pain. If you are going to offer a service then it needs to work properly, I spent ages trying to get on every day. I would rather pay towards a service that works, rather than pay nothing and have an endless pain trying to log on. Just a note on the resort itself and I write this since I couldn't find enough information on sunny beach before I arrive. If you are a foody DO NOT go to sunny beach, the restaurants are all the same and I couldn't wait to get home to a decent meal. The resort is very chavy and not a lot to do there. It is full of market stalls, pubs and clubs.

    The hotel was spotless, it was kept really clean. I had read a number of reviews about the friendliness of the staff which concerned me as when we stayed in the Barceló in Dominican the staff were extremely rude. The stay in Sunny beach I was pleasantly surprised with, the staff were very welcoming and friendly. I really liked the room that we stayed in, a bargain for the price that we paid.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    9.6
    Great location, friendly staff and nice big room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    All inclusive alcohol wasn't great. Had to pay more for coffee and decent ice cream by the pool. Food was average.

    Great location, friendly staff and nice big room.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    10
    good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    one problem- we got 2 little beds connected to one bed - for a couple really unconvinient.

    good breakfast nice room &view from the balcony great location

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    10
    Rooms excellent, spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms excellent, spacious and comfortable.Staff excellent as were facilities.Food good and would return and go all inclusive as very good value for money.lovely pool area and spa

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    6.7
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the price was too high

    location

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.6
    Great location and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi was a bit unreliable, a small quibble

    Great location and facilities

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    9.2
    Crew is awesome:) best regards for girls ;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wi-fi was terrible in my room...

    Crew is awesome:) best regards for girls ;)

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    10
    Experienced and competent staff at the reception which was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Experienced and competent staff at the reception which was a great help during my stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    2.9
    Nothing at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing at all

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    8.3
    Food 5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Evrything was lovely

    Food 5*

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    7.1
    Nice pool area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor wifi. Wifi didn't work in rooms and we had a lot of work to do.

    Nice pool area

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    9.2
    The hotel is super in every aspect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel is super in every aspect.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: