Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Plus Expo Hotel 4 stars

149 Tsarigradsko Shosse Blvd., 1784 Sofia, Bulgaria

#86 of 179 hotels in Sofia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 850 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inconsiderate guests making a lot of noise so not a good sleep which was not good

    The Staff were so polite helpful and lovely . The rooms were so comfortable and clean beautiful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The scrambled eggs at breakfast are the worst ever. I am not sure whether those are really eggs or some semi-fabricate egg powder. CHANGE IT!

    Rest was ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Third time at BW EXPO. Three nights. Last one with a checkout at six o'clock doesn't count. Why they didn't set up the room the first two? It's unacceptable for a four stars! Moreover, deficient lighting in the room 301.

    Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not cleaned up on the fist day with 'Make up the room' hanging on the door's knob during the whole day - evening call to reception ended in after half an hour delivery of two small clean towels and a 'compensation' complimentory bottle of mineral water costing 30 eurcents! No written safe use manuel and mini bar price/stock lists, one has to ask reception for toilet paper...Hotel staff does not understand what its all about and in email undescribing reply gen manager lectured us about immense efforts they are doing to keep superior standarts of service in the hotel.By the way they expressed a hope to welcome us again -NEVER! Would not recommend to anyone!

    Nothing to comment as the whole stay was one negative experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't like to give change and the rate of exchange was extortionate. Had to have room service because a function was on and the kitchen couldn't cope (more expensive) was offered to exchange the vegetables as I couldn't eat the ones that came with the meal then was charged for it!!! In all I felt filled off which ruined the stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You can not open windows in the room !!!! noisy airconditioning also during night , not possible to switch off

    good cofee, comfy bed, very nice staff, however room was rather dark in the evening - probelm if you like to read in bed , nice garden along with restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a junior suite for 4 persons but upon arrival that room was not available. Instead we were offered 2 Executive rooms next to each other for the price of 1 witch turned out great as our 16 year old (who needed a break from his sister) could sleep alone in his room and our 8 year old slept on the large sofa in our room. Will be staying there our next time in Sofia. I do recommend taking a room with breakfast as the breakfast buffet is awesome. Location is great for shopping, very close to The Outlet Center and The Mall and only a 5 minute drive from the airport. Staff is very friendly and helpful, we were greeted in the parking lot and the concierge assisted with all our luggage from the car to our room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outside the city so you need metro or taxi. But metro connection is frequent and close to the hotel (200 meters) and original taxis are cheap (be careful of "fake" or private taxis! Always take the official ones). The hotel may need a revamp after a few years, but it is holding up ok.

    The room was quite spacious with nice view, a lot of plugs and good internet. The bathroom was also very good, although the shower telephone was leaking. The price was also very good as I booked last minute. The hotel is also located close to the metro (walking distance - around 4 stops from the airport and around 20 minutes to downtown Cerbika) The breakfast was also very good with fresh salads, fresh fruits, yoghurt and honey (from bee comb!). The conference facilities were quite good. I liked that they changed towels every day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the sauna the light insight doesn’t work, out of sauna is no bed for relaxing just (only!) one chair, the showers badly smell and lockers has no keys for locks.

    Excelent location near airport and metro station, just next the exhibition center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really negative caught my eye. The only thing I didn’t find is paper tissues in the room or bathroom.

    Very helpful and efficient staff Clean comfortable rooms Close to the airport Beautiful view from my room Nice cuisine in the restaurant of the hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady at the restaurant during the breakfast was always with an angry face and voice. Maybe she has her reasons, but this wasn’t a proper behavior for this lovely place at all.

    The staff. Friendly and helpful people, always with a smile and quick solution. Our apartment was a little cold the first evening, they gave us asap a small stove and pushed the aircondition to the maximum. Great staff at the front desk. We were really pleased.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Distant relationship from receptionist. It was our 2nd time in this hotel and receptionist was not very friendly.

    Room is well equiped. Especially a smartphone that we could use.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    2 areas for improvement: bed lights not strong enough; curtains do not fully close, therefore outside light enters the room; the same for the room entrance door, corridor light enters the room, and it gets quite bothering when trying to get to sleep

    nice and very large room, bathroom very large as well, confortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't change temperature in the room. So hot and dry air. Can't change air flow. So much noise in the morning from house keeping when open and close the doors and talking during cleaning. Not quite room what they write before booking...disappointed. . Booking.com offer FREE transfer from airport, but hotel have different rules. Booking.com offer invalid information. They offer only 1 time transfer when you check out if this is between 6-10am. Otherwise you need to pay more than double regulate taxi price..

    Clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold and uncomfortable. Uncomfortable beds. There was a tray with leftovers of a clent's dinner on the floor of the corridor that was left there for the whole night without someone of the staff collecting it. The smell was horrible.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being kept awake because of load drumming/music. We asked to be moved and they moved us. Unfortunately although it was slightly quieter, the noise kept us up all night. The music subsided at 04.05am. We were told the noise came from the building next door? Unsure which building but sadly it has put us off in the future in staying there in the future.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To read you have to sit in the toilet because the lighting in the main rooms is really non- existent, very poor lighting. The shower rod holding the shower head collapsed whilst I showered, I reported this and the lighting problem at reception and was informed that the hotel is due for re-furbishing soon.

    Breakfast is substantial always

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It took quite a lot of time, until the warm water came up to the 5th floor, which is a minor flaw. I would recommend this hotel.

    I was upgraded to a business room, which was quite modern and spacious. Staff was nice, although not the fastest. 2-minute walk to the IEC (Inter Expo Center). Airport is near-by. Price was ok. Parking was empty at the time, which might be otherwise on weekdays.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a bit of misunderstanding with the airport shuttle, and I had to wait at the airport. Best to double check with staff on the phone to clarify the arrangement.

    Room meeting all expectations

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed one night but as the room was large, we could have been very comfortable for a longer stay. The curtains blocked the city lights perfectly, meaning we got a restful night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The information given said room service was 24/7 but when we asked about getting food after a long flight we were told tha at 10-45pm we couldn’t get any food or drink and had to take the children into Sofia centre to get food. I am also 32 weeks pregnant with gestational diabetes so desperately needed food to keep my sugar levels in check.

    The hotel was lovely. The room was very nice with lots of space

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not like location of the bed, it was in the same line as entrance door. The air was passing under the door and going directly to the bed. I would prefer a bed on the opposite wall, away from the entrance. The bed was kind size but the mattress was not very comfortable.

    Usefull and kind staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very rude. They were unprepared and they had to move me within the first 5 mins as they curtains were hanging off the rails. The rooms are not well lit.

    It’s across the road from my office

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Both 2 bathrooms of the room were damaged (shower head). No window can be opened. Lack of choice in the restaurant. Relatively high price for what you get..

    Good location for events in Inter Expo Center. Close to metro station. Quiet room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed quilt could have been bigger.

    The staff at reception were very efficient and courteous, Sash(concierge) was very polite and helpful. All spoke great English. The breakfast was great and varied. Our stay was so good we have already rebooked. Complimentary tea, coffee, water, wine and chocolates in the room a bonus.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not much lights in rooms.

    Good choice of food for breakfast, as well as in the restaurant. Best location for expo center, poor for tourism. Large parking. Great, helpful staff. Beautifull view to mountains.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was very poor lighting in the room, very discrete. The breakfast was not freshly prepared, especially the pancakes were 'older' than a day and the nutella was open for so long it had a crust on top of it. Internet wifi was free, but very poor: slow and got disconnected every 5 minutes, even though the signal was showing strong.

    The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location. It was ideal for us next to the airport Staff were friendly and talkative. Generally speaking the facilities were clean and it had all of the necessary amenities. Delitcious dinner, served late at night , plated by polite waiter, but price, was a little bit expensive for bulgarian rates.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A pool would have been very welcome! There were no bars nearby open in evening

    Good location near Metro and airport and a few stops to city centre. Staff friendly and helpful, nice terrace and bar and room was clean, spacious and comfy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water from the shower went all over the floor due to only 1/3 of a shower door and the shower head was spaying sideways. Room smelled like an old person home.

    Plenty of space in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was not close to airport as claimed and taxi has to all around to reach there. The check in staff was not friendly at all and didn't guide us properly about airport shuttle as we released they had limited places and we were'nt told from begining

    Good view, clean and value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was rather weak, even though the variety of it was not that bad. Prices of mini-bar & the Restaurant are pretty high. TV channels don't include almost any stations in English - at least something like BBC or CNN would help.

    Quite a nice, modern Hotel on the outskirts of Sofia. Probably the best Option if you travel by plane and will be hanging out around the industrial Zone(s) and especially if you're visiting the Expo Fair. Bed was comfortable, I had a room with a view (7th Floor), room was spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was rather dark, not much choice for breakfast, nothing interesting in the area.

    Location close to the airport, other than that nothing special...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The airport pick-up was late, leaving me stranded at the airport for 20 minutes. There was an issue regarding security checks, but it would have been good to have been informed instead of having to chase them up.

    The staff were very kind and accommodating - for example, the restaurant stayed open a little late so I could have supper straight off the plane and the guy at reception lent me a plug adapter so I could charge my phone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    maybe the tv size, for the size of the room is very small :) considering the fact that we were out in the city, for the time spent in the room wasn't really an issue.

    All was ok, nothing to complain. Subway is not far, around 8 stops till city center. There was a wedding at the hotel by the time we arrived however this didn't affect us. They stopped at 24.00 which was nice. Sound isolation is ok so the noise was barely perceptible.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, in the next room there were refurbishing works going on and a lot of noise in the morning. Also, there is no possibility to open a window - that is a big minus from my side.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice personal. Large room with a great view to the Vitosha mountain. Comfortable bed. Tasty breakfast. It is a little bit far away from the center, but just besides the Metro station Expo Center which allows you to get to the center in 10 min.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was something to remember, and unfortunately not in a good way. There really ought to be some eggs in the omelet, the only thing that was fresh there were the vegetables so if you're not sure stick to those :)

    Good location if you're passing by, out of the city center in an area looking more like a business park so not much to see around but close to the highway.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff should be friendly, not leaving the impression that they're busy and unavailable and cannot understand English. Reception staff at the reception desk were really excellent. The hotel is beautifully planned and decorated. The rooms were wonderfully quiet, but the bed had ridiculous small cover which hardly covered one person, let alone two. Only one cushion per person. Not a good idea. Please change that. All the other Best Western hotels which we booked had wonderful bed linens and duvets, and super mattresses. Slept like babies after very busy days. We will definitely book these hotels again.

    Croissants were excellent. Facilities great. Staff not so friendly, the food expensive and not so great. Staff need more English skills, but reception was excellent. We loved the outdoor sitting area with the internet wall plugs for computers. Lovely cool garden.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems with aircon, bedding not enough, restaurant wasn't too great.

    Excellent location if you want a convenient place near the airport. Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location. The hotel was too far from shopping centres.

    We enjoyed the breakfast. Be careful not to eat the 'complimentary' content of the mini bar.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointing factors were the very weak AC in the room, which didn't cool the room at all and the breakfast not being included for the relatively high price for this hotel.

    Close to public transport and airport.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was nothing like the photos shown on the website. The lighting was poor,so no bedtime reading, The kettle had to be moved to a socket that worked. When it boiled the steam came out of the handle and made it scalding hot so could not be picked up until it cooled off. The food in the restaurant was very poor choice both for lunch and breakfast. We ate dinner out in town.

    Not very much

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No possibility to drink something at the bar. ( closed). hotel has a nice terras but when we wanted to go outside they just shut the door and locked it. No service nothing at all!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel. We had lovely, quiet rooms and an excellent evening meal in the restaurant. We had booked this hotel for ease of access to the airport (10 minutes drive) and also for the Metro system (adjacent to the hotel). We had an early morning flight and the hotel staff kindly arranged wake-up calls and a breakfast at 4am. All very professional. There also appears to be a regular airport shuttle service, but we did not need to use it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water temperature in the shower was not constant. There is only one coffee machine at breakfast - it easily creates a queue because most people want to have a coffee for breakfast...

    Excellent hotel directly on the metro line between the airport and city centre. Nice staff, comfortable rooms (I got a free upgrade), good quality breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Where do I start. I chose this hotel because years ago my managers from Turkey used to stay there and were satisfied. I think from that time the hotel went down in quality. When I entered the room and checked the tea cups and the tea spoons - these were used! And you could see clearly the stains from food on them! Next morning I had to fly to France on a business trip for 2 days and I asked the personnel to give me a wake-up call at 4 AM just in case I wasn't awake. Nobody called at that time - luckily I was up and ready. When I went down to the reception waiting for the hotel shuttle bus to the airport - there was nobody there. I waited for maybe 10 minutes while calling "Hello!". Suddenly the phone at the reception rang and after a while a guy appeared who was looking like he just woke up and was fixing his shirt. His name was Petko from what I managed to see from his name tag. I was very pissed at that point. Maybe because the night before there was a wedding in the restaurant below which was very noisy and playing some awful gypsy like music and thank God I was on the 7th floor. I went trying out the gym after I came back from France - disaster! Most of the machines there were non-functional, old and broken. I wouldn't repeat staying there.

    The hotel is situated quite close to the subway station and thus it's fast and easy to get to the center of the city. The room was spacious and clean. Quiet as well with big windows and lots of light coming in. Most of the personnel were kind and helpful people. There is free parking (not secured) just outside the hotel which we used.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for the continental breakfast is too expensive compared to the restaurants in general in Sofia.

    Close too the metro station, a nice and spacy room( we got free of charge room upgrate). A nice travel cot was prepared in the room for our daughter. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To begin with, I have never stayed at a Best Western hotel and after this one I don't think I ever will. To begin with the elevators are a bit slow and small. The room smelled like it hasn't been aired out and later we figured out why, the air conditioning system was not working and the windows were not made to be opened. While I am at the windows, the curtains smelled bad and looked like they haven't been washed in years. Also, you would think that just maybe there is at least a tiny window in the bathroom, but no, after taking a bath it would get all steamy and there was no exhaust fan. Since the air conditioning was not working, we called the reception twice, and the first response was that if they turned it on, the hotel would get really cold and if they get two more calls from other rooms they will turn it on. There was an off and on option for it, so this wasn't really clear to me. The second day it got really hot and we called again, while we were on the phone, they turned it on and after no less than 5 min they switched it off again. The bath robe was dirty, luckily the towels were clean, but there was no where to hang the hand towels by the sink, except on the bathroom door. Further on, as we opened the closet to put our clothes inside it smelled like cigarette smoke, which was weird since the roomed we stayed in was non-smoking. There were no outlets by the bed and the mattress was really old and uncomfortable. The carpet was dirty and the lightning in the room was poor. Also, the prices for the mini bar war insanely high. One more thing that was not okay, is that on the first night of our stay there was a music event next to the hotel at the Expo Center, which lasted until the morning hours. Something around 9/10am. Knowing this, they could have at least notify us that we would hear the music if they couldn't given us a room that is on the other side.

    The room and the bathroom were spacious. The staff was really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to declare!

    The bed was comfortable like the whole room. Also the breakfast was realy good, you could find everything for a good start in the day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were cold (19°C) in our three night stay and it wasn't a heating problem. Our friends in other rooms also complained about the temperature. When we reported the issue to the reception, all we got was confused gazes instead of a solution.

    The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My door didn't close well and I saw that the formal guest also complained about this. The toilet kept runing and the drain in the bathroom was plugged.

    Normally it's a nice hotel, good room and good facilities

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whit two words " gas chamber". Nice comfortable rooms but unfortunately with no fresh air. The air-condition of the room was turn off, the fan in the bathroom didn’t work and as a result all condensation went in the room, the windows weren’t designed to be opened . So can you imagine what was the air in the room. We complained to the personal and the respond was all rooms are the same, no air.con for economical purpose. From health and safety issue the hotel should be closed down

    Nice looking hotel from outside, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would like to have more light for the workdesk in executive room. At the moment the lighting in entire room is very ambient - that's great for relax but not too comfortable when you need to work - would like to have some bright extra lamp (desktop one maybe?) for a workdesk

    Simply excellent location for business trips in that area - only few metro stations from the airport or railway station, only 15-20 mins by metro to the city center. The hotel is well maintained, room was simple but very clean, quiet and comfortable. The breakfast is nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that there were no power outlets in the restroom; that was VERY disappointing!! The room carpet was extremely rough; I kept slippers on to walk around in the room. And I didn't necessarily like the half glass to the shower.

    The shower water Temperature and pressure were good. The room upgrade was nice. The mochacinno was pretty good!! The streak was awesome, then the hambuger!! The sauna was also nice & for the staff to turn it on prior to my use.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should be stretched till at least 10:30am with some more items to choose from.

    Close to city center, this very clean hotel was a great stay! Great cuisine at the hotel's restaurant. Staff can speak English and are very helpful. Taxi service is cheap and very reliable. It was a great stay!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -no extra covers in the room -the room was freezing and the air-conditioner apparently out of order -there is supposedly a free of charge sauna, but we could not use it because we ordered it twice and faced the same funny answer at the reception desk: "sorry, we have switched the electricity on, but someone in the meantime has switched it off, so please wait another hour..." -the windows are fixed in the wall and there is no possibility to get any outdoor air -the fitness and sauna area was literally freezing

    -comfortable beds -quiet and spacious room (we got a welcoming upgrade, which was great) -free parking which seems to be very safe

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No exchange office for money nearby

    Very spacious room. Comfortable bed. Great location ( subway station, outlet center, mall and 24 market very near ). Free parking and free wifi in room. Staff very helpfull

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    In general, the room was old. In a hotel, at least the bed should be good, but it wasn't. The mattress was old and worn out. The type you can count the springs with your back. That's just not acceptable especially when you call a room "executive suite"

    The staff is friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The music in the restaurant/breakfast room is a playlist played in loop. It is a bit annoying after 5 days...

    Very nice room, great breakfast, a lot of brandy's choice and very friendly personnel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi only worked in certain areas of the room, no duvet on the bed only single blanket in cupboard. Room lighting dark and dingy.

    Close to the airport and free transfer.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor heating ,room was cold and did not heat up even after 2 hours. Hotel technician was called but it did not help a lot (it was under zero temperatures outside). Poor hot water, hardly available in the morning. Poor elevator service. These are very basic amenities that should be available in any type and rank of Hotel.

    Large room, good king size bed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water. When complained was told that they were busy. Room lighting very poor and dark. Asked for more lamps, told they had none . Breakfast room full, staff slow to clear tables.

    Clean large rooms, check in quick and easy. Free car parking

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the airconditioner wasnt really working and it was just 20 degrees in the room (outside was -3 ). They solve the problem when they bring to the room a small heater after our 3rd call to the reception.

    nice location on the entrance of the city. shuttle to the airport. we get free upgrade to the room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Broken shower. Limited water pressure to 8th floor. Nevertheless heating was working to maximum complete night temperature was close to 21 C.

    Good and big bed . Nice furniture.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms have no adequate lighting all down lighters and no lights in the ceiling. I had to sit on the toilet to read my book! Not what I expect from an International hotel chain. A substantial varied breakfast selection spoiled by loud blaring music (Not for the guests enjoyment but, for the very young unsupervised waiters).

    Location is perfect for Airport, excellent drop off and pick up from airport, Reception Staff are very good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was big, cosy and very clean with a kingsize bed! There were even complimentary tea, coffee and water. We were traveling to Inter Expo Center and this hotel was the best choice, it's just next to it. Recommended! :)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The minibar prices are just unbelievable. With prices 500% higher than regular shops they are insulting. And the rooms could use a bit more lights. And the Wi-Fi is terrible and 90% signal.

    Very simple and fast procedure to get to your room and later sign off too.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Heating system in room 910 was not working properly, complained about it twice but it was not fixed. Menu in ForEgo restaurant was quite limited.

    Staff was friendly. Hotel and room was very neat and clean. Beef steak from restaurant ForEgo was excellent. Free parking was available outside the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One floor lounge seating area was taken over by a film crew, no access, i would have like to have been notified in good time to allow choice of cancellation & option of rebooking another hotel before arrival.

    The rooms were very comfortable, breakfast was excellent & the staff were helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is poorly lit The bed is in the lower percentiles in matters of confort The safe is very very small The blanket is very very small

    The staff is very kind and helpful, willing to address your needs and requirements, finding solutions and leaving you with the problems solved.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mini bar was not fully loaded on our check in, but at our check out it was reported several things were consumed even though they were never loaded. The front office staff was kind enough to deduct the extra things off the bill but still this left me disappointed.

    The location is very good - nice view and close to all important parts of Sofia you can have business meeting at. The room was quiet large and comfortable, the staff was kind and helpful. The breakfast was very good. Enough parking spaces in hotel parking.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's not much like the rest of the Best western hotels I've seen honestly. A club with extremely loud music right next to the reception that makes not possible to hear what you have been told. Old carpet in the room and the bathroom wasn't best (poor water pressure and broken hangers) 4****?, no thanks.

    Fits my needs, spacious enough room, connection to airport and dowtown, good access, stable wifi, really polite and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattress was awful. You only can have few drinks in Executive lounge without any finger foods or biscuits... actually it's only small room (about 12 m2) with one computer, table and a small fridge on M level. -.-;;;;;;;;;

    Location to airport.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - bad or no wifi - bad tv signal

    + very good reception and service + good location and metro access to city and airport + free shuttle to airport on every hour

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Best Western Plus Expo Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: