Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Opera 3 stars

36 Liuben Karavelov St., 8000 Burgas City, Bulgaria

#26 of 41 hotels in Burgas City

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 250 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    3.8
    Find a better hotel - there are many in Bourgas
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is too small to receive all cars and is too tight and narrow, too. It is also not possible to park in the vicinity. The rooms are small, the beds are not lonf enough to fit an ordinary man (182 cm tall)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    So location of the Hotel is great, also Staff is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The problem is that I had a room on the 4th floor (last) and when I entered it it was stinking also the smell from the bathroom was not nice. The bathroom was like only shower and no cabin - which I didn't see on the pictures from the Hotel - it is for sure not a 4 start standard.

    So location of the Hotel is great, also Staff is very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    A very nice quiet boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A quiet location up a leafy side road, only 200m walk to the top of the pedestrian centre of town. We found on-street parking immediately right outside the hotel. Clean room, efficient reception. As a small boutique hotel we couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Cute small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is wonderful and the place is very good for it's value. :) I recommend it for a short visit of Burgas or business trip.

    It's a cute small clean hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location at a reasonable price!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room could have been a little cleaner for my liking, as small details had been missed, and could have been aired out a little before our arrival - the air smelled very stale. Some maintenance issues could also be easily rectified, such as a chip in the shower, and some stains on the floor. This would have left the room feeling a little more comfortable.

    Fantastic location, close to the centre of the city. The room was spacious enough for two twin beds, and was checked over every day and new towels were left. The underground parking was also a good quality, as the street that the hotel is located on doesn't have enough parking spaces. Staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, despite our late arrival and departure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable and clean room, good localisation - hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very small elevator is really everything you can complain about.

    Very comfortable and clean room, good localisation - hotel basically in the town centre, park 2 minutes, about 20 minutes on foot to the beach, friendly staff helped us finding everything we wanted, they speak English and Russian. Very good WiFi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    A top place, fantastic value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Eveything super! The room was super tidy, warm, and nicely furnished; very good WiFi, clean sheets and very comfy bed. Staff really helpful and friendly – they also speak both English and German. Their free underground garage is a big plus if you arrive by car, since it's very hard to park in the neighbourhood. 100% recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    2.9
    Nightmare/worst place to stay in bourgas
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mould in the bathroom ,clorine/green sink tap ,I stayed 3 days no oneclean the room .staff appoling (exept the boy I met first night ).asked for the top floor room ,got the first floor over reception area .Aldo next to police station not much street light so unsafe feel to it all .Drunken people passing all night and we just couldn't sleep .worst hotel stay EVER.

    I did not like anything exept the free wifi but then there is a lot of other places that I could of used the free wifi

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    2.9
    her is the picture of the beddings that they used. My wife and I is not happy at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some of the picture that they post on the net is not true at all. No restaurant at all , no balcony , the balcony we have you can't even standing up outside. the towel is very dirty, the cleaning lady they always gave us the old towel , they don't clean the room very well. I asked the extra towel and they don't need to clean the room everyday the cleaning lady she is very rude. The beddings is very old the bed is not good to lay down. The small fridge in our room is not working after few days they change the small fridge in our room with out telling us after we left the hotel room that's the time they change it ,they went in our room to change with out telling us , The people who working in this hotel most of them they can not speak English. I asked the cleaning lady to change the beddings she only change one bed because its been a few days they don't change the beddings. After I wrote to the receptionist that she will tell the cleaning lady they will not give us the old towel and she need to change the beddings that's the time we get the new towel . The owner of that Hotel they should not post the nice picture of restaurant and some of the other picture that is not true that they posted about the hotel they should erase it because I feel like they are fooling people. There is a lot of information that is not true in this hotel. I asked the receptionist of new glass because the cleaning lady they don't give us the new drinking glass everyday. OH men the lady was very angry.

    All I can say is close to the center that's it

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    5.0
    Think about it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Underground private parking lot was way too small and hazardous, staff doesn't speak English at all, lot of moisture in the bathroom, elevator too small

    Localisation in the Centre, close to everything, vault for precious goods

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.1
    Unpretentious hotel which I grew to like over the few days I was there - I would return :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Towels a bit thin

    Unpretentious hotel but somewhat appealing - on a quiet side street but only 2 mins walk to the main square. Small quirky bathroom and large balcony as big as the room. Old fashioned key to room which means you can leave A/C on and electrical items charging.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    5.8
    Very good location, just a few minutes walking distance from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are short. For people over 1.85 will be unconfortable. Wasn't hot water one of the days.

    Very good location, just a few minutes walking distance from main street.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.8
    Enjoyable Relaxing time'
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was no Tea & Coffee making Facilities in the Rooms' Certain Staff! were a little Serious' and Inquisitive especially at Breakfast time' Think because we Couldn't Speak Bulgarian only a Little i am afraid' Enough to get by! We took our Daughter as it was in her Birthday week'

    The Rooms were Lovely' Beds were So Comfortable & in a Nice Quieter Area on a Side Street not far from the City Center ' Our Daughter had her own room' and was Lovely Too' :) and this hotel had a lift :) :) We would Recommend this Hotel!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    4.2
    Not a great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small rooms. Smaller than described on booking.com. Poor and very difficult underground parking. Very bad risotto with sea food at the hotel's restaurant, actually no sea food except for frozen sourimi. No coffee for free.

    The only thing to appreciate was the two bottles of cool water in the fridge which were not charged.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    6.3
    Quite disappointing to arrive and instead of greeting to be told that the apartment for which you have a CONFIRMED...
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment wasn't cleaned properly. No face towels; even when we called and asked for it. The explanation from the hotel staff: 'It's company policy for that type of apartment! We only provide one bath towel per person. We only clean ones every 5days and you only have 2 days!' The remote control of theAC unit in the bedroom was without batteries. Which means the AC couldn't be used! Still, even though we informed the hotel staff, no one was sent!

    Offered another apartment but in a residential building. That was the 'compensation' ( as the receptionist said). Good location in the central part of the city.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast, I paid extra but it was so good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no otopark

    Breakfast, I paid extra but it was so good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful place
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great staff. Wonderful restaurant on the ground floor. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Really great place! Would stay there again!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean. Excellent little restaurant on the ground floor. Wonderful staff!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.8
    Burgas opera
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a background sizzling voice from Ac even it is off. Dushtub is liking water

    Location and staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit small for us. They should consider bigger rooms for families.

    Nice staff, good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Free Parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle no coffee no breakfast and no bar other that ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    Clean rooms each day and changed towels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t breakfast in the hotel.

    Clean rooms each day and changed towels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice, calm and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice, calm and comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    Quiet and comfortable place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very difficult to find the location using GPS; Cigarettes smell in the room;

    Free private parking; Warm room;

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.9
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is under reconstruction

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    I liked everything
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I liked everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.7
    Got what I paid for it was cheap
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got what I paid for it was cheap

    Got what I paid for it was cheap

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.1
    Dimitria at front desk was very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location/street

    Dimitria at front desk was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent place close to the city center, but yet quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The balcony (actually terrace) on put 4:th floor apartment was excellent!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    I like old house Stile with modern renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit far to the beach

    I like old house Stile with modern renovation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    If I need to book a hotel in Burgas again, hotel Opera would definitely be the one.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved the staff and everything about hotel. Great value for money!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.1
    The receptionist we talked during our first day, should be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist we talked during our first day, should be more polite or a good English speaking person to avoid misunderstandings..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    5.8
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    2.9
    Room was neat & clean but room are small compare to...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was neat & clean but room are small compare to balcony.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.4
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely unresponsive, non-communicative and unfriendly staff! The towels in the bathroom are of dubious purity!

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    Location, great business hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are too short

    Location, great business hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.2
    Nice hotel, good location, excellant staff, great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much really.

    This was a nice hotel, being Irish breakfast did not suit us, not used to continental breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    7.9
    Cleanliness, price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Cleanliness, price

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    7.9
    Problem with small parking for that size of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Problem with small parking for that size of hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    8.3
    The best hotel in a 10 days travel in eastern europe. Book it now.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficulty to find the building of the hotel. No signs at more than 5 meters.

    Location in the center of town. Breakfast excelent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    8.3
    The location, the price, the quirky style of the hotel, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff were poorly trained (check in took ages after we had telephoned the hotel as it was locked and staffless) The breakfast was basic and I'm being kind.

    The location, the price, the quirky style of the hotel, the cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.2
    I really enjoyed staying at California hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    On one of the nights there was an unpleasant smell from the sewage.

    I really enjoyed staying at California hotel. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, the facilities are great for a three-star hotel, the room even had a safe box and two small balconies. The bathroom was entirely new and the room far from basic as we expected. Definitely a good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.6
    Location, staff's friendliness, parking, wifi,breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower cabin was missing a bolt on one of the doors, which made for clunsy opening and closing. Toilet seat was loose, needs tightening of bolts.

    Location, staff's friendliness, parking, wifi,breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    7.1
    My room got two balconies.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant wasn´t open at all. Only breakfasta was served.

    My room got two balconies. Shower was modern. Beds were soft, almost too soft. Room was clean and big enough.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    7.5
    Quiet location close to the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was prepared a couple of hours in advance and it was old particularly the vegetables. No choice of breakfast and what it was offered wasn't something that my husband or I would eat in for breakfast.

    Quiet location close to the city centre

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    10
    The balcony was amazing, I could have stayed there all day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    The balcony was amazing, I could have stayed there all day...the rooms were great and the air conditioning unit was needed, it got really hot...and the air conditioning worked a treat.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    7.5
    The location is just perfect - one street away from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The fantastic bar was not open. It is such a great space and we would have loved to have a drink there. The pillows need to be renewed - they are flatter than pancakes. The directions to the hotel were dreadful. The breakfast was too basic. I would suggest that they offer no breakfast or give the very nice waitress more scope with it. Frankly airline meals are better, but I got the impression that the waitress would like a better budget.

    The location is just perfect - one street away from the centre. The rooms are big with lovely balconies. The staff are polite and helpful. The beds are fantastic- very good quality mattresses. The parking facility was fab

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    10
    staff organized and kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    staff organized and kind superior quality of rooms

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    7.9
    Staff, very center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Difficult to find Breakfast Bed

    Staff, very center

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    6.3
    Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast. Dirty floor in the garage.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    7.1
    The nice ladies at the reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The street, not the hotel itself, is almost a slum area.

    The nice ladies at the reception.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    8.3
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    living room size when the sofa was extended

    location

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    6.7
    I saw few cockroaches in my room :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I saw few cockroaches in my room :(

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    7.9
    Very comfortable location close to the city center
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel needs renovation

    Very comfortable location close to the city center

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    4.6
    It's cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We stayed at the top floor. The room had a bathroom stench. Towels were dirty. Bathroom door opened to public terrace.

    It's cheap.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    7.5
    Close to main street by walk through the garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast

    Close to main street by walk through the garden

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    5.0
    Location is ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a terrible smell probably coming from the toilet, breakfast was very poor and the receptionist was seems like unhappy.

    Location is ok.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    3.3
    Easy walk to town centre.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Dirty rooms. Not as advertised. Staff with poor command of the English langauge.

    Easy walk to town centre.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    7.5
    Normal nothing interesting
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The girl on reseption for 1 bgn change 50 bgn

    Normal nothing interesting

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    5.4
    Not much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lights not working , restaurant closed, poor breakfast, reception staff having multiple friends with them

    Not much

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: