Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of California Hotel 3 stars

30, Bigla St., Lozenets, 1407 Sofia, Bulgaria

#132 of 179 hotels in Sofia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 205 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice, big room at a great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights were a lot tricky, since there were 3 types of lights and too many switches.

    The room was big and the terrace was a nice surprise. The hotel is close to the subway station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    2.5
    We had to change our room 2 times , had an argument with the management , how dirty it was the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room , the management , the bed full of hair , and marks not cleaned at all

    It was very disappointing, dirty room they gave us , very rude manager not professional at all , it was the first and last time we stay their and I don’t recommend it to any one unless u have no place to sleep and stuck on the streets .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    5.0
    Ugly communication
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • De Luxe Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it is with old furniture, not working doors, I booked with breakfast they did not provided such. I wanted to pay with card they wanted me to pay in cash because for them was better! Also they made me invoice with looking me angry.

    Nothing sorry

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.7
    The name is nice and it is close to Metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold room, the AC wasn't working, blowing cold-ish air all the time, even it was set up for 30C. The front desk lady changed us the room, but still cold air blowing. There is very limited parking around the neighborhood. The worst was to wake up at 5am from a cigarette smell in the room-it was blowing from the AC I guess-most likely from the neighbours. Avoid this place if u r looking for a comfortable and warm night sleep.

    The name is nice and it is close to Metro station. Staff members are friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • De Luxe Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking in on street only.

    Small and quite hotel in the peaceful Lozenets neighbourhood in Sofia. Rooms are nice and specious, bed is large and comfortable. Breakfast is ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.3
    A huge thank you to the hotel staff for their kindness and...
    • Solo traveller
    • De Luxe Room 1
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking near the hotel is very difficult. The hotel entrance and the dark, semi-underground lobby are not exactly attractive. The rooms are still OK but they will soon need a serious refresh. Cleaning could be more thorough.

    A huge thank you to the hotel staff for their kindness and flexibility. A real 5* service! Conveniently located in a quiet street in the Lozenets residential district. Large room, standard equipment in this price category. Good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    3.8
    "You can check out any time you like" - DON'T CHECK IN!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • De Luxe Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not good for tourists. The room stank like an ash tray; décor and bedding is old and worn; spa bath was mouldy with broken jets; restaurant is dingy; breakfast not worth getting up for. Staff were polite, but had no idea of tourist attractions and had a 6 year old brochure at reception. I would not stay here again.

    It's cheap. Free WiFi.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    It is nice and quiet place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is nice and quiet place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    New place for us - nice surprise to find a decent small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • De Luxe Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking, but its free on the street if you can find a place.

    New place for us - nice surprise to find a decent small hotel in that neighbourhood.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room place and restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    It is calm and clean place to stay with a good location. 8min from the metro station and 30 min to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Traditional quirky decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traditional quirky decor. Comfortable room & reception & cleaning staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful and memorable. Hoping to visit some other day
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The electronic sockets were a bit outdated and couldn't recharge my phone and computer batteries

    The staff were extra nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights in the sleeping room could not be turned off

    Quiet hotel, good restaurant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It could be more clean.

    The rooms are large and comfortable with a lot of space and nice furniture

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.2
    The interior looked cozy enough.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not was not so diversified and the dinning room was not so comfortable. No juices also.

    The interior looked cozy enough.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    3.3
    ..still waiting for my invoice:(
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • De Luxe Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    ..still waiting for my invoice:(

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little old

    Quite

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    No parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nearly impossible to park your car nearby

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    4.2
    Don't waste your time and money for this hotel
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • De Luxe Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing is to be liked in this hotel in compare like how it was 9 years ago.... I dont recommend this property.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    3.3
    Staff and cleaning
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and cleaning

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    8.8
    the rooms are spacious enough for the price, very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - the locations is good but no perfect

    the rooms are spacious enough for the price, very friendly lady at the reception, furiture in the room - al least 3-4 mirrors, nice balcony and hot tube in our room number 55, would like to stay again there

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    8.3
    I`m really glad that I found this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast for 5EURO wasn`t so delicious - could be one fresh dish served for guest (not swedish table with not so good quality products). When I wanted to turn on jacuzzi - I smelled stink (the jacuzzi was unusable ).

    I`m really glad that I found this hotel. In this price I didn`t expect that comfort and I was suprised. There was subway station in 10minutes from hotel.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    6.3
    Spa bath
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We booked a private parking space at the hotel on the website because we knew it was very difficult to park in this area, when we arrived and asked where the parking was we were told by reception that they didn't have any parking and to 'park anywhere we could find'. We spent 20 minutes looking and then gave up and drove to a local mall for lunch and shopping. 2.5 hours later when we returned we were just lucky that someone was leaving a parking spot and we drove straight in but we were 2 hundred metres from the hotel with suitcases and bags to carry. The website should not advertise parking if it is not available and the hotel must have had people book parking before but have not removed the advert.

    Spa bath

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.3
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The whole street was under repairs and even a taxi couldn't get to the hotel (the metro station is at about 300m away). Torn sheets and pillow-slips. There was a hydromassage bathtub in the bathroom which didn't work. Broken mirror in the bathroom. Very scanty breakfast!

    Very friendly staff. Very clean room. Nice furniture and design.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    7.5
    Friendly and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    9.6
    The staff .
    • Couple

    The staff .were very friendly, The internet was perfect.

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: