Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casa Boyana Boutique Hotel 4 stars

23 Ivanitza Danchev Str., Vitosha District, 1616 Sofia, Bulgaria

#101 of 179 hotels in Sofia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 136 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Great stay, good for couples and business.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    But the old style lighting can be improved by adding some additional lighting for reading on the desk. Doing laundry is relatively expensive compared to Sofia's price level. The lighting on the gym level was always off so I didn't dare to try it.

    The room is very comfortable and tidy. The staff are very helpful and friendly. I was staying for my partner's birthday celebration and the staff helped to arrange a little surprise.That's lovely. Most important, food in the restaurant truly deserves its five stars!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive airport shuttle,and they didn't return us to the airport because the driver was off that day...

    Friendly staff, very clean,nice breakfast beautiful scenery , surrounding mountain and trees

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel at beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was surprising that we had to pay at leaving for the instant coffee provided in the room, at 4,star hotels it is usually included in the price of the room.

    It was simple nice and perfect hotel at the beautiful Vitosa.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Impeccable hotel. With a few small exceptions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the reception we were welcomed by an employee who insisted on taking our luggage into the room. when he arrived with the luggage, I gave him 3 € tips. I seem to have upset him with modest tips, because in the morning instead of saluting, he turned our backs. Morning at breakfast: they do not have a Swedish buffet, but an a la carte breakfast, absolutely inappropriate. Few preparations, from a low menu, probably to minimize costs. These few products are served in one person's restaurant, so wait for at least 20 minutes to get the food. Unfortunately, this economy at breakfast has created an absolutely unfavorable picture of a civilized location. That is why in the future we will choose another location for accommodation in Sofia.

    Classic design, well-positioned, implaceable. Salitable staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.4
    Later check in was possible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We reserved a room with 1 double bed, but when we came there was no such room available, only single beds Smoking in the reception hall is allowed

    Later check in was possible

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Rally nice room but really bad personal and atttitude
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had some party in The resturant at 1/04 so we didn’t sleep good because it was really noise and nobody worrn us about that !!!!!!We had payid to sleep and relax not to hear all night music and drunk people. Next morning 02/04 we went for breakfast and the restaurant wasn’t clean after the party ... the waiter was drunk and we good a cold food, when we ask the waiter that is not nice to get English breakfast cold and not done he start to argu and be totally unprofesion . In the lobby bar is written that is not allowed to SMOKE but they was a lot Af people that they smoke all the time in the lobby and it smell really bad !!!!!!!!!!!

    Really Nice hotel room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.2
    Awesome. Recommended. A++.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wireless Connection. The internet speed is awesome only if you manage to connect at certain spots of the room.

    Love the room. The bed was comfy. The stuff is awesome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    Quiet, Classy, Secluded, Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I left a key in the room, I called twice to have someone check the room. They never called me back as promised. I was then told it wasn't found. I had a Bulgarian friend call. After the second call, the key was found exactly where I said it was. This was frustrating. To me, it appeared as though they were attentive only when I was a guest. This is the ONLY reason I give the staff less than five stars. Parking across the street is less than optimal in a country where cars don't always stop for pedestrians. I recommend running when you see a good break.

    I wanted to be more secluded and I got what I wanted here. The staff was PHENOMENAL in an unforeseen circumstance. They helped me get my cell phone back when I left it in the cab. The room was quiet with a lovely balcony. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. Close to Boyana Church and the absolutely wonderful local cafe "Da Posednem".

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    8.3
    the breakfast was fine, you can choose from several options...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smoking hotel, in the loby and in the restourant.

    the breakfast was fine, you can choose from several options and also ask somthing alse but they you need to say the exact time you want it. very good WIFI. nice staff music in the bathroom (when work)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    STYLISH
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    The restaurant, the ambience and of course the room!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Really Nice view for whole Sofia
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really Nice view for whole Sofia Really nice Hotel with really good restaurant and bar open till late I would definitely recumbent to friend

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room haven't balcony

    Clean, confortably, quitely Good position, easy to find Excelent for a night in tranzit

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything! Free parking in front of the property. Very nice and helpful staff at the reception. Tasty breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we couldn't pay by master card. he had to pay cash 🙄

    location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Very nice staff girls. Thank you
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chic hotel in a valuable price. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You had to order the breakfast. wasn't anything ready. Lost of time.

    Nice rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Location near mountain not far from boyana church
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location near mountain not far from boyana church

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Superb hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb hotel. I thimk that it fills its star rating

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pleasant and relaxing environment offered by Garden restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    A****
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Lovely view and excellent hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Very good food in the restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Great value for money I paid!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice location!just 3-4 euros to city centre but in a quiet and green environment near the mountain!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    A must visit hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Style. Cleanliness. Extremely nice staff. Value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Еxcellent location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Еxcellent location! Private parking! Friendly staff! Excellent breakfast! My favorite hotel in Sofia!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    - very quiet room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - very quiet room - excellent restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.9
    Great and comfortable experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was good.

    Overall good experience. The guy at the door was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.7
    The view to the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping improvements needed Cigarette smoke in the lobby and smell in the room

    The view to the city The room was quiet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    This hotel is a 20 minute walk from the boyana church.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a 20 minute walk from the boyana church.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value for money at this luxury boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath was small.

    Excellent breakfast. Comfortable spacious rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    3.8
    The doorman and cleaner were friendly and polite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't like this hotel at all and really wish we had left on the first day. The hotel is a smoking hotel regardless of any smoking legislation in Bulgaria. The lobby, the restaurant and the rooms are all smoking areas for people who choose this hotel to come and smoke. I am asthmatic and became very ill and ended up in hospital. The reception staff seem to run the hotel along with one cleaner and doorman we never met any management but no one cared about our complaints anyway. Breakfast was a shambles, when it did arrive it was cold or not what we ordered and again there was smoking all around us so a very bad start to the day. We could go on but really don't want to dwell on such a bad experience. Don't go to this hotel unless you are a heavy smoker.

    The doorman and cleaner were friendly and polite

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    10
    Great location up in the hills of Sofia so a bit cooler.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location up in the hills of Sofia so a bit cooler. Lots of great activities nearby with restaurants in walking distance. Food at hotel was amazing and it has great views over the city

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    7.9
    The hotel was very nice and the room was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi that was supposed to work in the room did not.

    The hotel was very nice and the room was comfortable. It is located in an attractive suburb of Sofia.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    10
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff. Check in was fast and easy. Great value.

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: