Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chateau Montagne Hotel Troyan 3 stars

34 , Stara Planina Str., 5600 Troyan, Bulgaria

#3 of 8 hotels in Troyan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 238 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Excellent stay as always at Chateau Montagne Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    As always I had a very pleasent stay at my favourite hotel in the beautiful little town Troyan. The hotel is very close to the centre. The staff members are professional and very helpful. Great pool area and restaurant. Great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    This is also one of the best hotels we stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only little thing I would say is the location, which in this town is difficult to know because there is not a real center (or at least we didn´t find it) but again this was a minor thing compare to the rest nice things this hotel offers.

    This is also one of the best hotels we stayed. Stuff was really nice, we had a corner room with view to the pool and a lot of light. Breakfast was quite Ok and we could enjoy it at the terrace by the pool. We stayed there for two nights and it was great after days of traveling, sightseeing and hiking to rest at the pool and enjoy the nice weather.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Awful, intrusive music in the restaurant and by the pool. To be fair, they changed it when I complained but I pity their neighbours! Nothing much else in the immediate vicinity but fortunately the hotel's restaurant is a winner. Some of the bar staff were a little tetchy, but others were great.

    Not huge but quite modern hotel. Nice restaurant with poolside seating. Dinner options are all good with a helpful English menu. Comfortable, spacious rooms with A/C. Secure parking. Nice pool with children's area, but water a little chilly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    We didn’t miss the sea-sise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking space a bit too small, but still available at any moment, some of the small blue tiles in the pool had sharp, cutting edges.

    Everything. Linen changed regularly, everything very clean, friendly and helpful staff, nice and clean pool with enough sun-beds at any time, amazing breakfast with additions of banitsa, pancakes and other breakfast rolls typical for Bulgaria. Very good food at the restaurant at reasonable prices.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    The best hotel in Troyan
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you look for problems you’ll find them. For me CM is perfect, my second home.

    Large room, quiet plaze, lobby bar with billiards, cheap food and drinks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    Tiny boutique hotel with a tinier spa/relax center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The SPA center is really tiny (consisting of a small pool and a sauna only - no other amenities) and that was the main deal breaker for us because we visited the hotel for a SPA weekend.

    We liked the fact that the hotel was not crowded. The rooms are nice and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.5
    Average place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfriendly reception staff. Very noisy A/C unit in the room. A little worn out interior of the room. Bathroom could be better.

    The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was very good offering Bulgarian breakfast also. Food at the restaurant was delicious and restaurant service - fast and efficient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.3
    The staff are very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My main negative is that I booked this hotel with a card and booking.com said the card would only validate the booking but this hotel takes your full amount before your stay. I always pay in cash so would not have booked this hotel. The hotel has this in their policy so the onus is on booking.com to tell you this. A small issue the shower was broken and not mended when asked. Male heavy gym and no balconys so winter ok,I wouldn't have been happy in the summer.

    The staff are very helpful. Food is excellent in the summer the pool outside looks great pool inside quite small but ok

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    Mostly good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower leaked water on the floor, sheets were too small for the bed and didn't stay tucked in around the mattress, room was cold, couldn't lock the door without a flashlight because the key is attached to a card that must be in a slot for the electricity to function.

    Very responsive staff, comfortable bed, good shower pressure and lots of hot water, nice breakfast, reasonably-priced restaurant for dinner, easy parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    People at the reception were really friendly, patient and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Orange juice at the breakfast is really awful, tastes totally artificial. Breakfast is otherwise ok although the choices are limited.

    People at the reception were really friendly, patient and flexible. We were able to book a massage and it was really worth it. We also enjoyed the billiard game and swimming pool. The room itself looks a little old and some small things needs to be fixed(like the wallpaper that doesn't stick to the wall at some corners) but that's ok and everything works properly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly hotel in the centre of Troyan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dark bread for breakfast would be very nice.

    A very nice hotel with a huge pool area in a beautiful mosaic garden. Englishspeaking and highly professional and friendly staff take care of you the best way. Safe parking, very good wifi and comfortable and peaceful sleep. 5 minutes walk from Troyan pedestrian area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.8
    The best hotel in Troyan
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I preferred the breakfast as it used to be when I could order an omelette or fried eggs. The Wi Fi did not work very will in my room, but I guess the reason was that my room was in a corner on the 3 rd floor.

    Great service from hotell staff. Very rich dinner menu in the restaurant. Excellent pool area and bar. Thans to Ivaylo for great service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    2.9
    Waste of time and money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside swimming pool was empty, although seasonal in offer it doesn't say when. This was a big disappointment for us with 2 children. It was 27 degrees and end of April. Hotel on outside looks nice but is deteriating on the inside. Poor maintenance and not to current standards. Toiletseat in our bathroom was torn and left a big painful mark on my wife's butcheak. When reported to staff nothing was done to compensate. Dinner was ok but nothing special. Breakfast was appalling, for example eggs were cold and dry as if they had been in fridge overnight. I can go on and on about everything that was wrong. Never again, this is supposed to be the best hotel in the area of Troyan. There is not much to do in Troyan or the rest of the area.

    Nature around Troyan and drive from Plovdiv to Troyan is beautiful. Pooltable in bar and inside swimming pool.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    5.8
    Poor
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we arrived late. Emailed the hotel and actually tried to call en route. Receptionist seemed very abrupt. Asked if we able to get a beer after our long trip. Seemed too much of an effort (at this point we didn't know there was a mini bar in the room) We decided not to ask for a 2nd beer People were in the bar but seemed more like someone's front room with tv on. Breakfast was interesting. 1st day. Omelettes cooked to order. Came with fries which I thought was odd but none the less ordered it. I got 8 chips in total. ! Pre plated continentnal breakfast was poor quality. That night. Again receptionist seemed very reluctant to serve us any beer. Went to leave the bar assuming he knew our room number as we were never asked to sign anything. He abruptly gestured to me "beers" ! I said excuse me. He repeated "beers" at this point as replied I'm assuming you knew my room number and showed him my keys and walked off. Breakfast the 2nd day for breakfast the cold continental buffet was laid out. Nobody greeted us. Offered us omelettes etc. Coffee machine we couldn't work out how to use. We had a cold juice out of chipped glass jug and left with nothing. We won't be returning anytime soon.

    Beer was cheap compared to th the UK

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    7.5
    Tasty breakfest, very nice paintings on the walls of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No heating in bathroom (it was really cold when outside there was -17C); air-conditioner was dirty and smelled mold.

    Tasty breakfest, very nice paintings on the walls of the restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    9.6
    Excellent stay in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not good enough for the level of the hotel. They dont have espresso and the options for the breakfast was not so different, like continental breakfast , English breakfast almost the same, and 3 option: yogurt with cornflakes...

    Excellent stay in this hotel. Clean and warm, comfortable place, friendly and helpful staff . Location is very nice , only 5 min by walking to the center .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    8.8
    Excellent will go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and clean and good value for money

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Luxurious and very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly, the evening meal on the terrace by the pool was excellent and the pool was lush.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift (elevator) and quite hard to park when the hotel is full.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. We really enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.1
    Small cosy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small cosy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.8
    Extremely relaxing, which was what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought We would have a balcony as advertised .

    Very comfortable beds

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Chateau Montagne Hotel, my first choice in Troyan
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, rich dinner menu in a great restaurant. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    Great value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, outdoor pool, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    The service very attentive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service very attentive

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    7.9
    Very friendly staff, good and spacious rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking lot too small

    Very friendly staff, good and spacious rooms

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    6.7
    Very friendly staff and a very good restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was very old and didn't have the clean look due to the very old textiles and flooring

    Very friendly staff and a very good restaurant

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    5.4
    The waitress in the restaurant, Dilyana,was a breath of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to find. Once there, the reception was distinctly underwhelming. The bedroom was dowdy, the bathroom was dire. And the cost of the room was outrageous compared with every other place we've stayed in on an extend tour of Bulgaria.

    The waitress in the restaurant, Dilyana,was a breath of fresh air in this otherwise undistinguished place.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    7.9
    Very kind and helpful personnel, comfortable beds, good...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Wi- fi was not strong enough, the bathroom was ice-cold and there was a bad smell coming out from the drain. The pictures on the site have been taken a long time ago. The interior needs renovation

    Very kind and helpful personnel, comfortable beds, good breakfast, the restaurant offers delicious food, the location is ok - a few min walk to the centre.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    7.9
    Hotel arranged a taxi to collect me from the train station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Hotel arranged a taxi to collect me from the train station as arrived late. Large clean comfortable room overlooking the pool very clean. Given a breakfast package as had to leave early. . Wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    7.1
    Friendly and polite staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was so so. The scrambled eggs was cold because they didn't keep them in the warmer but in the standard dish. The rooms need renovation. In my room the wallpapers were unstuck. And it was visible the rooms and furniture are aging and need refresh.

    Friendly and polite staff. Great location. Relatively close to the center and to the restaurants and pubs.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    7.1
    Clean, nice pool and good rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    all relax chairs at the pool were not directly available, the beds were too soft. personnel could be better prepared, trained and more to assistance. In Some rooms the shower cabin was not closing, therefore a lot of water in bathroom.

    Clean, nice pool and good rooms! Breakfast was good!

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    5.8
    The staff was nice and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The smallest portions ever in the restorant. Well prepared food but too small for the value you pay, and specially when served on a burned out from a cigarettes tablecloth. On my oppinion hotel need it a bit of maintenance (wall papers and tv cables hanging down e.t.c. ) Not much to do had to cancel the last night of our stay. В ресторанта порцийте, който ни сервираха бяха най-малките който някога съм виждал. The smallest portions ever in the restorant. Well prepared food but too small for the value you pay, and specially when served on a burned out from a cigarettes tablecloth. On my oppinion hotel need it a bit of maintenance (wall papers and tv cables hanging down e.t.c. ).Добре приготвена храна ,но твърде малко за цената която плащатеThe smallest portions ever in the restorant. Well prepared food but too small for the value you pay, and specially when served on a burned out from a cigarettes tablecloth. On my oppinion hotel need it a bit of maintenance (wall papers and tv cables hanging down e.t.c. )

    The staff was nice and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    10
    Hotel was comfortable no clean, good facilities staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel was comfortable no clean, good facilities staff friendly and helpful Outstanding Customer Service from our evening waitress at dinner, thank you you made the evening very special

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    8.8
    The rooms,the bed, decor, free pool game, bar and lounge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The rooms,the bed, decor, free pool game, bar and lounge.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room, not really a spa

    personnel, sauna, food, location, level 8 ingress portal modded for farm :)

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    9.6
    We enjoyed an excellent meal next to the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We enjoyed an excellent meal next to the pool. Breakfast was also delicious and our waitress was completely charming.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    7.9
    Very clean swiming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Poor Wi-Fi connection

    Very clean swiming pool Quite place Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    7.9
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I wish the Gym to be upgraded.

    Great value for money! Nice, clean rooms and friendly staff. Rich dinner menu in the restaurant. Great pool area.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    9.6
    Pool was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Missing the elevator

    Pool was great

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    9.6
    Relaxing,Staff very pleasant,excellent service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Relaxing,Staff very pleasant,excellent service!

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    9.6
    Location of hotel and friendliness of staff and good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Twin beds

    Location of hotel and friendliness of staff and good food

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: