Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Prima Hotel 3 stars

5, Tzar Samuil Str., 9000 Varna City, Bulgaria

#18 of 70 hotels in Varna City

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 252 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were not particularly friendly. Not unfriendly either, but somewhat indifferent to guests' presence.

    The location is very good - across the street from the Sea Garden and very close to the pedestrian area, but still quiet. It would probably be difficult to park during the week. The rooms are spacious enough, the bed is comfortable. The shower is powerful and the bathroom clean and convenient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great hotel. Close to the main street with a lot of restaurants there. The room is very clean, comfortable. Very good Wi-Fi connection. The personnel very nice. Great value for money :) Thank you

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Very close to Primorski Park- perfect place for jogging, relaxing and just taking rest. 2. Very close to wide choice of various restaurants and pubs. 3. Very close to old town center which is packed with very good museums and atractions. Opera house 10 min walk away. Old Rome therms as well. 4. Breakfast tasty and sufficient 5. Night shop with wide good choice of good beer just in front of the entrance to hotel. 6. Peaceful surrounding.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stuff was great and internet connection for daily business tasks were great. Also, stuff from reception gave me everything I needed for prepare my self for meetings.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our flight was quite early in the morning missing the breakfast. We were not offered a sandwich or a bottle of water to take away with us in the morning.

    The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -We got apparently a room that was not renovated and did NOT look like those in the photos. Looked pretty old -My friend's room was in the basement and smelled like cigarettes. She complained but did not get another one, as they were booked up -POS terminal did not work and needed to withdraw money from ATM and pay charges! -Breakfast, some of the "pies" or "banitsa" were burnt (black) and overcooked. Did not look healthy...Coffee was horrible but they brought us a normal one from behind the reception. In general they can work on the presentation of the breakfast, a lot of room for improvement

    Location is great, OK price, Varna is amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They double charged me, as I was walking out of the door they said I hadn't paid, l told them I. Paid 4 months ago. They said they had no record. I was in a hurry to catch my bus so I paid AGAIN. I asked why are you telling me this now as I'm walking out the door. I was there 3 days. When I got to my next hotel I found my original receipt & now waiting for my money back, very unprofessional & what if I didn't keep my receipt.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice, well managed hotel in the heart of Varna fulfulling all international hotel standards for a pleasant stay and providing great value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was 4 minutes walking from the beach and 5 minutes from the center. The location was perfect. Friendly staff. The breakfast was ok, not so much food but suficient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Suggest that they don't let guests coming back at 1.30 am talk loudly in the lobby as the noise echoes. Otherwise nice and quiet.

    Location, variety of breakfast on different days, staff helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist was a bit unpolite. Breakfast doesn't have much choices, although you may have chance to try Bulgarina pie.

    I liket the location, very close to Sea Garden. Restaurant just around the corner. Breakfast is served in the lobby. Complimentary water in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is very great! Only 12 levas with taxi to airport and public transportation is very close. You can walk to the city center , museums, parks, beachclubs ... it was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You must be ok to use stairs as there is no lift - However there is a ground floor room.

    The property is located just into the resort of Balchik close to the lovely bars, restaurant and promenade. The beautiful botanical gardens and Castle are within easy reach of Hotel Alex and are well worth a visit ! The rooms are a good size very clean and comfortable with shower room, fridge, tv, aircon and wifi everything we needed during our stay. The traditional restaurant was very welcoming the staff most friendly ! Lovely people !! Fabulous service !! And the food was delicious most enjoyable, Bulgarian cuisine at its best. Great value for money, Would definitely go back ! See you in the future Thank You xx

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Specifically requested a bathtub during the initial online booking but only got a shower. No safe in the room so had to pay for safe at reception.

    Their Coffee. Easy access to pc and printer to print boarding pass. 5 minutes walk to beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was low season at Varna, some sites were closed. The lady at reception in the morning

    The concierge (not the lady next morning) was absolutely kind, helpful and nice. Breakfast had bulgarian typical dishes

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Some of the furnishings and fittings are nearing the end of their useful life, but everything is clean and functional. The lift woke me up a couple times, but most guests did not use it excessively.

    It is in a perfect location for exploring the city center, sea garden and beach, at a great price. The staff were friendly and helpful and a couple spoke very good English. The nice breakfast makes it an even better value. Many expats I have spoken with have stayed in and recommend this hotel to their visitors.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold in the room and air conditioner get warmly after 2 hours of works. Specially cold in the bathroom! Not some heater in the bathroom! And bathtub is leaking!

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Booking geniuses have to receive welcome drink on arrival? We didn't have it, but it isn't a big issue. The door in the bathroom is very difficult to be opened and closed. Some noise from the street due to a small shop in front. But if you close the window everything is OK.

    7-8 minutes away from the beach by foot. Comfortable big bed, useful AC, change of towels every day, smiling and friendly staff, free fast Wi-Fi. The breakfast was perfect for us, many salted options, fruits, muesli. Free big bottle of water in the room. Tea and coffee amenities in room. Our room was next to the elevator, but wasn't any noise. We definitely would stay again!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no place for everyone to get breakfast.

    very good location in centre of city. Big,Comfortable and clean room with all facilities.friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked in Jan and it was cancelled (not by me). When I was notified I rebooked immediately only to find that the price had been hiked up?????. (I travelled in June)

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast not very good but normal for Bulgaria.

    Was pleased that the food in the restaurant in the evening was good and a simple menu.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice location, clean and comfort rooms. There is very nice restaurant next to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Noise from street.

    All good, except location. Hotel is nearby very busy street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was fine.

    Location was perfect, very good value for the price. Nice stuff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no parking available, need to park on the street

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was at level 0. Just in front of the street. No good views and a litle noise

    Comfortable bed and desk.Excellent shower

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls, very run down. Could use a renovation.

    Nice location; tucked away but close to the water front and the main pedestrian area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have had a few more options.

    The location was great; really close to the beach and the pedestrian mall.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A small, comfortable and quiet hotel in the heart of the city, next to the beach. We loved it and had a very romantic stay there!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking, poor breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    Very good hotel, excellent location, good breakfast. Staff were polite and helpfull. We really enjoyed staying in this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So central yet so quiet Good facilities and breakfast Business centre with computer connected to internet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No parking place.

    Perfect locatio, just near the main park entrance. Friendly staff, nice room, good wifi.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    * Good food * Good location * Glean * Restaurants near the property * City center near the property * Beach 2 min

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    * Good food * Good location * Glean * Restaurants near the property * City center near the property * Beach 2 min

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location and spacious room. Breakfast with several options, computers for the clients.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ground floor room very smallexcell

    Breakfast value for money grad

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful and friendly staff, who let me stay in a bigger room than I had booked. Location is very close to the beach and main restaurant area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room Was on the first floor and it was way too noisy.

    Great location!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very friendly. Hotel was close to the beach and the town centre .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very beautiful and correct Very good brekfast Close to the center

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good

    Very close to the sea garden

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were small things that need fixing.

    Very good location, friendly staff, good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location friendly staff polite and trustworthy good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the location, there were bugs in the room...

    Actually we didn't like anything.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful staff. Clean place to stay!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    juste a little problem to pay with AMEX card

    Regarding the price of our stay room, breakfast and facikities very good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    staff friendliness and support

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken sidewalks

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent location, 2-3min walk from the city center and 10min walk from the city beach. Very polite and helpful staff. Good restaurant next door.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fridge, kettle, complementary coffee, climate control, perfect silent location off the main boulevard, but only 5 min walk to all sights

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very good Hotel. I'm stay here on the 2 time.Evrehting is good!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor breakfast

    Nice hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location. Small but clean and comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, close to the beach and a city centre. Big bottle of mineral water in a room. Quite clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The hotel enjoys a great location, near the beach and the city center, so you cannot ask for more :) The conditions are excellent and staff is wonderful, always willing to help and ready to meet your needs. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking for a great stay in Varna.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    parking difficult outside the hotel its self.

    Was made welcome by all staff members The room was larger than many double rooms I have ever stayed in before. and spotlessly clean. The breakfast selection good Buffet style and cooked available. will certainly stay again. Very central to shops bars and restaurants being 5/10 minutes walk. 5 minutes walk through the park and onto the beaches. there is secure 24 hr parking near by so for peace of mind and no worries of finding parking space in streets each time you return to hotel. This is easier to use and pay small fee.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Couple

    nothing at all!

    Excellent room very spacious, location is close to the beach and the high street, Staff were super helpful, both for breakfast, sights and other information!

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    -- I could smell cigarettes in my room a few times. -- I had a double bed but the blanket was for a single bed. -- The keyring is too bulky to carry around.

    Good location, friendly staff, nice breakfast. Super close to the beach, the Sea Garden, and city center. Overall, I'm happy with my stay and would consider staying there again.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No balcony or open area.

    The breakfast was great,there was something new and fresh every morning,including local food such as 'mekici' and Bulgarian yoghurt. The location is great, the hotel is positioned between the Sea Garden and Centre of Varna where you can find a lot of shops and restaurants. The staff helped us a lot by keeping our luggage on our last day,calling a taxi for us and checking different things online. We were very tired on the first day so it was nice to find the coffee and tea making facilities as well as mineral water in the room.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    None.

    Great location, very friendly staff and... I was given the biggest room in the whole property even though I had booked it as a single one. Perhaps because of the number of days and time of the season I was staying. Really, very happy with the value for money. Breakfast comes included but please, just walk around - tons of yummy, cheap food in central Varna!

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing. Everything was brilliant.

    The location was fantastic, price great and the staff friendly and accommodating. We stayed for 10 days, and could not find a single complaint.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast can be improved, butter is smelling very bad, some cold products (like yogurt) are waiting outside since a while.

    Close too city center, clean, helpful and smiley staff

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had an absolutely amazing stay, our room was perfect, the staff is very helpful. They went over their head to make our stay pleasant. Internet, air/con, everything working perfectly. The location is great, just a few minutes from the beach and sea garden with lots of clubs and restaurants. Very close to the shopping area. Nothing to complain about.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No parking. Tiny elevator & hallway. Stains throughout on carpet in room. Bathroom dimly lit. Currency exchange unavailable despite being offered. Breakfast area was a joke as well as bar.

    Location was ideal

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is on a small street in the city center, so it's not easy to find a parking space in the neighbourhood. - - Заради разположението си в центъра малките улички наоколо не са удобни за паркиране.

    Nice place and comfortable large studio. Very near to the Sea garden and the beach. - - Хубаво място и комфортно голямо студио. Много близо до Морската градина и плажа.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quite a bit of noise coming from the nearby road.

    Location is the best thing about this hotel. It is right next in the heart of Varna, very close to the main street, the sea and sea garden. The hotel itself is small but offers everything you need for an overnight sleep (as in my case). The breakfast was nothing spectacular but did have variety.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was not very tatsy, the products were low quality. It was noisy around the hotel when you open the window, in the morning there were a smell of cigars probably coming from the restaurant near by.

    Staff is very polite and helpful, place is clean and well meintain.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was clean and very big for european standard. This hotel is vrey well located, close to the sea, the main activities area. Most tourist visit location are an easy walking distance. The hotel is located on a quiet street not even 100 m from the main street. You don't hear the noise from bar or disco. They organized a shuttle transfert for me and someone was waiting for me at the airport.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing we didnt like.

    Room had everything you could need, hotel was close to the town centre and beach but was very quiet. Lovely stay where staff made you feel very welcome.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    there is no parking, you can park on the street but there are no reserved places for hotel guests either, the bed is too soft, the pillows are too big, and breakfast is just shameful...

    the sea garden and the city center are a block away, it's pet friendly (moket in the rooms though)

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The lighting is so sad and dim, you can barely look around. Gives you a very lonely and grey feeling. The pillows were tghe most uncomfortable pillows I could image. Could not sleep on them enough to go looking to buy some pillows as the staff did not have any different one.

    The very welcoming and lovely staff made it worth staying there. They were very helpful and respectful.The location makes it possible to walk around loads of local stores and the beach. Very clean.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No parking at all. No free parking, no pay parking. Onr lane street which is always blocked wiyh cars. We had to park 200 meters away and go on with all our luggage on feet.

    Park is few meters away

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location lovely clean hotel with great staff and excellent value for money

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: