Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dallas Residence 5 stars

33, Sveti Nikola, 9010 Varna City, Bulgaria

#12 of 70 hotels in Varna City

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 95 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is hard to rate as 5* hotel. It's designed as retro noble hotel, but it's also looking a bit old... Breakfast is also very poor for a 5*, the buffet is really small and is not even local (you won't get stuff like banitsa, mekitsi, etc.).

    Nice hotel, especially the garden, the facilities. Professional staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    Loved this hotel from the moment we arrived, very attentive staff, great breakfast, and very comfortable accommodation. Will definitely be staying there again. We will highly recommend this place to all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel needs maintanance. i was tere 7 yers ago an the hotel become wors. dogs dogs dogs everywhere. i love dogs but not wen they are jumping on you. start to look at the mees at the reception. owners are old and the staff is tehere for years. they don recognise the problems anymore.

    friently staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom could have been a bit bigger and high level of shower cubicle over bath could have been a problem for the less able.

    Fabulous ambiance, like going back into the past with wonderful things to see all over the hotel and gardens. Super friendly and efficient staff from the moment you are greeted at reception, laid back, relaxing, beautiful room, restaurant was great for breakfast and evening meals although you could order food and drinks at any time during the day and night. Not for those who like modern, soulless establishments.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally welcomed on arrival and shown to my very spacious and comfortable room. 5 minute walk down to the beach, delicious evening meal in the gardens of the hotel. Had a nice swim in the pool before a great breakfast... fantastic value and looking forward to returning here on my next trip to Varna.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is really unique. It feels like home. Large, comfortable, luxury rooms, wonderful garden where you can enjoy the silence and relax. The food in the restaurant was also good. There is a free parking and it`s 5 min drive from the city center. Great value for money! I will recommend it to all my friends who visit Varna.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the food at the restaurant, although you had a variety of choices, was not tasty. However they try to improve, if you tell them something is not at your liking they try to change it. The games area has an old pool table and a soccer table, but quite old and used heavily

    Great staff, very helpful, aiming to please. Whatever the problem is they try to fix it on the spot. The garden is very nice, the location is quiet, far from the noise, yet a 10 min walk to the beach which is quite small, but cozy. Could not use the swimming pool as the water was too cold, however enjoyed the Jacuzzi hot tub. The kids could run around in the gardens and enjoyed the tennis court. A great place for families with kids.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    All of Varna beaches are too far away for a reasonable walking distance in the summer heat. The closest beach is located 350 meters down a very steep road and offers no service or sunbeds and is basically a 90 meters long path of unmaintained sand frequently covered in sea weed. The master bed in the apartment had a nice matress, however the whole bed frame was extremely squeaky and one coudl not make a move without making the bed extremely loud noises that wake one up. The extra bed was useless as it was so weared out that a person dropped 15 centimeters into a hole in the matress. The Wifi worked half the time and was generally quite slow, limited NETFLIX connection. The breakfast had a strange feel for a 5* hotel. As a frequent traveler for both business and leisure I have experienced far superior offer in establishments with 4* or even 3*. The hotel is classified as a non smoking one - many guests were smoking on the premises without the interference of the staff. The owners three or four dogs were running freely all along the general area, often barking at children or sitting persons.

    The whole accomodation is located in a well maintained garden, well away from any nearby city or traffic noises - not counting the usuall friday night disco in the hotel behind Dallas, which can be quite noisy until 23:30. The staff is definetely the best part of the experience - extremely polite with a sincere feel of service and general interest into your needs. The hot tub in the indoor pool area as well as the small outside pool is accesible at almost any time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would say its 3star hotel max. Furniture quite old, breakfast were quite poor. Bed was not super comfortable. Shower head was broken. Dont want to leave negative review just because of very nice staff there, but hotel needs refurbishment very badly. Center was 45min walk.

    The staff and people were the nicest I ever met. Very helpful, very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a really quirky hotel. Its full of the owners memorabilia ornaments and taxidermy, so is of a very personal taste. The rooms could do with being updated as with the jacuzzI and the bedroom windows could have done with being cleaned.

    We loved the gardens to sit and sunbathe in and you could orderfood all day. The breafast was a small buffet of chesse meats and cereals and we had a very tasty omelette every morning. The poodles were very endearing and the staff were attentive but not intrusive. We asked if we could have late check out and it wasn't a problem.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Although the rooms were large and comfortable, the french style furniture (which was very good quality) was not to my taste and there was a little too much of it in the room. The dining room / bar closed a little early - I like to have a night cap after returning from a night out.

    The property was fully self contained and secluded from the roads and general traffic / pedestrians making it quiet and peaceful. The grounds, pool and gardens were very well kept and looked after. There was plenty of areas to sit in the shade if needed plus a good range of sun beds round the pool. The staff were were very friendly, helpful and always available. I was actually meant to stay in a different hotel but that was cancelled by the travel agent however I am very pleased it was as the Dallas Residence was a much better place all together. Really enjoyed the stay there and would recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could not find a useable beach within 300 m as advertised. Straight down from the hotel was just a pile of rocks by the waterside. The real beach was significantly farther, but we left it alone in any event, because it was too noisy and too crowded. The swimming pool in the hotel garden was the far better alternative for sun bathing and relaxation. The furniture looks exquisite, but the construction is of surprisingly low quality. The shower goes hot and cold depending on the usage patterns of the rest of the building - sometimes there was no hot water at all. This would be the main reason for not giving full points.

    The most outstanding feature is probably the friendliness and personal care by all of the staff. This sets new standards for Eastern Europe. Second would be the huge lovely garden with its plethora of flowers. Third would be the boutique atmosphere, meaning a highly individual experience as opposed to mass tourism. Fourth would be the excellent restaurant with its exquisite foods and fine wines. Fifths would be the Archeological Museum, not belonging to the hotel, but not far away. Don't miss it!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sea road along the beach to the hotel is dangerous to walk with a stroller - best to go through the parks. The air conditioning was a bit sluggish.

    The staff were superb - very attentive, friendly and welcoming. It felt like you were staying with friends rather than at a hotel. The gardens were beautiful; my little girl was mesmerised - lots of things to discover and see - just like a magic garden! We loved the memorabilia as it gave character to the hotel. Breakfast was hearty, lots of choice and we liked the fact that we could eat fruit picked from their gardens. The pool was great for us as a family being both shaded and in the sun. We also enjoyed the two Jacuzzis. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Firstly, we were very disappointed, the hotel is not more than a quite nice three star, it's very understaffed, though the staff there are, are lovely and hard work working. The general feel of the place is that it's run on a shoe string and is in serious need of some renovation and maintenance. There is no reception as such, just a very untidy office near the gate which is mostly unattended. The restaurant is poorly attended and not very good, in the time we were there we never saw it busy and it's expensive. The rooms look good, being suites with sitting room and bedroom. But there is just one old fashioned wardrobe with very limited storage. The curtains are show only and cant be closed the, the blinds are old and don't move so are closed all the time. The shower is over the bath, the bath is very high and anyone with any movement problems would not be able to climb in, there was no aid to getting in the bath and no bath mat so gets very slippy. The shower itself was terrible, it was becoming blocked with lime and barely trickled. You couldn't help noticing that the towels were not of hotel quality and obviously home washed and the bedding, although clean also looked poor quality and creased. There are coffee making facilities, a tiny plastic coffee machine that barely made one cup and tasted weird, we took a a travel kettle and I'd advise anyone else to. The bed was not comfortable and creaked so loud it woke us up. Our daughter and family had the executive suite, she complained that it smelled damp and had boxes of dehumidifier crystals on top of the wardrobes. Housekeeping was ok but not consistent, some times toilet rolls were replaced and sometimes not and same with towels. The pool area was very poorly maintained. tiles missing round the pool itself and inappropriate plastic trim around the pool and jacuzzi was loose and dangerous. The hotel is not 5 star, not nearly 4 star, its charm gives it 3 stars but absolutely no...

    The gardens are lovely and there are little seating and dining areas all around which are charming. Breakfast in the garden was great. The bathroom was well stocked with toothbrushes, shampoo etc. Packed breakfast was provided for early travel. Although we found a great deal to criticise we still found we liked the place.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pool area could be slightly better kept

    Very Homely and recommended to stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was weak

    The staff were friendly and welcoming. Room was very clean and good service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in the jacuzzi could have been warmer. Also, the temperature in the jacuzzi area was pretty low.

    The services were excellent Great breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location. Everything was delightful and staff was amazing. Best hotel in Varna

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bad smell in room.

    The garden is wow :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location is beautiful and the staff were incredibly nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel.Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better and clearning room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice hotel. Well maintained. Staff was very helpful. Very nice garden and pool area. Breakfast was very good and fresh.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Amazing hotel with unique atmosphere and most important wonderfull staff attitude. In addition delicious food and great garden where you can relax and enjoy your time thanks to the well organised and welcoming employees :)

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool is closed in the winter.

    Very good guest house with lovely people. Cozy atmosphere. Beautiful garden. Many thanks to the two beautiful lady owners for their hospitality. Highly recommend. Cute royal poodles. The house was created with love and great taste.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Amazing design all the features were set so well and well kept plants of all kinds. Great people and lovely staff. Very helpful too. The kids loved it.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was a little unreliable at times but this is common in the region.

    This hotel was a recommendation from a Bulgarian friend who clearly knew the quality of both the accommodation and the welcome. The service and staff were quite unbeatable and went to great lengths to ensure our stay was outstanding. An incredibly personal service all round with beautiful gardens and wonderful facilities. If we'd had to stay in the hotel, not leaving at all, we would have found plenty to do. Discreet areas in gardens to work and relax; table tennis, pool table, tennis courts, indoor and outdoor pool and jacuzzi to name but a few. Food was excellent and cooked fresh. I am excited about another visit next year. Varna is a wonderful city with much history, great shopping and fabulous restaurants and beaches. The people are so friendly and very keen to help. Dallas hotel is the jewel in the crown! Thank you so much.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing,even though there are small points they never let you feel uncomfortable

    Built by a Bulgarian lady who live in dallas for 30 years who is still living there and watering the flowers by herself.The hotel is just like your home,very nice and luxurious decorated rooms with high class furniture, paintings and decoration objects.SPA area and the pool area is very nice and there is avery nice garden andthe brakfast is very nice.Lazarina Simova is the manager and the nephew who is taking care of the guests very politely she seems as if she is one of the elegant and noble lady of the recent century.The residence is calming and resting an a special atmosphere to see.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beautiful garden, calm and friendly atmosphere, cosy suite and last but not least free of charge early check in and late check out based on availability.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The gym. One of the two reasons I booked that hotel. Very disappointed.

    Staff was very friendly, even the night security, great service and manners. The location is great, 5 minutes to town centre, yet very quiet, plenty of parking.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nonevent

    Character and very friendly service

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    quiet, green, very friendly hosts, pool and spa, tennis court

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Group

    Very friendly staff, good facilities

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    BadWIFI, crowded room and artificial flowers.

    Service staff very helpful,great atmosphere,beautiful yard

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The whole aspect of the Dallas was fantastic. Beautiful gardens and facilities great.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the rooms, the gardens, and last but definitely not least, the wonderful staff (along with the incredible, positively, manager-ess)

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Everything, Exactly what I hopes it would be.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: