Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Amelia Hotel 3 stars

Albena Resort, 9620 Albena, Bulgaria

#18 of 28 hotels in Albena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 267 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    4.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.1
    Satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small with no place to put the baggage, the bathroom is dark because of the tiles colour and there is a urine odour close to the toilet

    Very good location close to the beach and next to the waking street, quiet place, very good meals with an wide variety selection, clean bed sheets

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.3
    Stay in Albena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities of the room can be improved, the towels need to be renewed, the bathroom needs to be more cleaned and there is no minibar in the room. The picture of the double room in Booking shows clear view to the sea but you are able to spot the sea just in a corner, the reception staff said that the picture was taken from 6th floor but i have a doubt it is really like this

    Location is brilliant 3 minutes to the beach, you can see in a corner of the balcony the sea which gives you a soothing state of mind , i really enjoyed the 2 nights stay in this hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.1
    Location beyond expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Room and bathroom cleaning couid be improved. Linen change was only once for 11 nights. Restaurant staff was too noisy when collecting dishes. Considerable part of Russian tourists were taking food /and even bottles with mineral water / out of the restaurant, despite the written ban and no reaction or measures from the staff on duty. Just watchers.

    Location beyond expectations. Reception and management staff friendly and helpful. Restaurant and meal wonderful. Perfect close and clean beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.7
    Its ok overall at the price payed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is very old and not so clean. The sofa for child was broken and no space in room.

    I like the location and the design of the reception. The restaurant, food and drink is ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice journey in Albena. Modest budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property consists of two buildings, one recently built and one old, unrestored, with degraded furniture. This old part of the hotel could be OK if you stay only 3-4 days and if you can make a confort compromise due to the quality-price ratio. We were accommodated in the old hotel body and, to be honest, it is not for exigent people. Comfort is somewhat desirable, but it compensates by location, kind staff, quietness and nature. The food is somewhat repetitive. I could give a maximum of 2 stars to this part of the hotel.

    The staff is very kind, the cleanliness is done properly and the hotel is well located to the points of interest, right in the center of the resort, near the promenade street. There are many restaurants and entertainment places nearby, the beach is a 3-minute walk and the sea can be seen only from the upper floors.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    3.3
    Non refurbished rooms not a good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are too dated and only half of the hotel is refurbished. Old rooms are not a good value for money. During our stay hotel was almost empty but we were still asked to pay extra to stay in the nicer rooms.

    Albans in September is a nice place to visit as a lot quieter and temperatures perfect for a beach holiday.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.4
    I like the location of the hotel and the sea view from my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the taste of the foods, and the bad smells in the closed part of the restaurant.

    I like the location of the hotel and the sea view from my balkony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    A great experience in a lovely resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, great food, kind staff and a lovely resort in general. We enjoyed the wide sandy beach lane, not so overcrowded. Would definitely visit again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.9
    Very nice stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    A bit repetitive food. If you came for the dinner or breakfest a bit late the vast swarms of tourist locusts cleaned all the pots especially sweets (wasting food of corse) but thats not the hotels issue. I can imagine that the rooms can get a bit noisier during the season peak. The parking issues were a bit of complicated, but thats the whole resort rule. You have two choices to park on a blue places (10 leva for the first ramp entry then 2 for each other) that are really limited and in this case a bit far from the hotel or you can have a prepaid parking for 10 leva a day no matter how many times you go outside the resort. So if you come by a car and want to save some money use the big blue paking lots.

    Very nice place, great resort, and an awesome hotel location. The beach was really close. The foaye was nice, loved the Amelia Earhart style, with an airplane engine inside the entry hall. Nice hotel rooms with two types of accomodation (3 and 4 star). We have stayed in the 3 star one which will shortly need a reconstruction at least for the bathrooms and some balconys. We were able to turn the hotel room into an small office for few days. The food was nice although a bit repetitive (after 9 days).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    3.8
    Doesn't worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not clean, there was hair on the floor. No fridge in the room. The furniture was very old with the specific smell. The hotel seems to have better rooms (what you see from the sideway), but the rooms offered to booking reservations are in a different wing. If you read the reviews regarding the food you will see very good, but we were not pleased. In the evening the food was oily, not too much variety to choose from.

    We had 2 sundbeds included in the room, but 5 min away. The beach with sunbeds is not in front of the hotel. The beds were confortable. Pancakes at the breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant enough for a weekend away but wouldn't want to stay longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Standard rooms needed upgrading. No fridge in room. Restaurant was not attached to the hotel. No swimming pool (although close to beach and sunbeds & parasol included in price)

    Welcoming reception area. Located centrally to the resort. Close to beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Great food, comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can hear water pipes from neighbouring rooms. The bedding had a slightly off smell.

    Excellent location. Right around the corner from the beach. The staff were helpful. The room fairly nice. Bathroom comfortable. The food they serve at the Amelia restaurant was top quality, great variety, fresh, delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.1
    An excellent location, near the beach and in the center of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom - poor renovation and the smell from the room next to us was coming in our room. VERY UNPLEASANT especially when they use the toillette.

    An excellent location, near the beach and in the center of the Albena commercial street, full of restaurants and boutiques. Free umbrellas and sunbeds nearby, however you need about 10 minutes as the beach in front belongs to Blue Paradise. Excellent breakfast and dinner. Bravo! We had fish, sea food, traditional Bulgarian evening. Excellent cuisine!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Our stay was good, confortable, relaxing. I would go again :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We choose the standard room which was a little bit small for 3 person (1 child + 2 adults). The bathroom smelled sometimes, but it was clean.

    It was close to the beach, the staff was friendly, they cleaned our room every day. The towels were changed regularly. The food was ok. The restaurant was close. The coffee in the lobby was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    3.3
    Nice restaurant, shame about the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very basic and like a sauna (air conditioning was useless). Staff not interested in people's concerns and were at times rude and antagonistic.

    Restaurant had a good selection of food. Reasonably close to main street and beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.2
    Central and nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could benefit from a makeover and the cleaning could be more thourough. The wifi signal was inexistant. Even mobile network is very bad.

    The hotel was near the beach. The food was ok with various types.I think it s a good report for the price. Very close to restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    Nice and clean. Great managers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No Internet Connection in the room. There is a so called "Free Albena HotSpot" for the whole resort but I was able to connect to this only near the Reception and sometimes in the street.

    Great food with plenty of varieties to choose (soups, salads, meats, vegetables, fruits, cakes, wine, juice etc.) Very close to the beach. Every room has a free umbrella and 2 sunbeds (but you need to pay extra for the mattresses) On Albena main walking street with plenty of souvenirs shops and restaurants around the hotel. Quiet atmosphere after 00:00 at night, music stops and could get a good sleep Nice view from the 7th floor Clean and comfortable room Great managers: Mrs.Boeva who helped us get a double-bed room (although a young receptionist wasn't very flexible), Delyana from the Hotel who helped us with the final check-out, and the grey hair gentleman in charge of the restaurant - who got us a glass of milk late at night. You can rely on the experienced and polite managers for any issue.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    3.8
    Location is great to the main street and beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff couldnt even say Good afternoon, let alone wish you a pleasant stay or smile. They were chasing me to pay as soon as we arrived although I have never paid in my life for a hotel upon arrival!!!:( Very unpleasant treatment by staff! Rooms need urgent refurbushment, toilet and baths are really old and couldnt flushing properly :(

    Location is great to the main street and beach. Excellent restaurant and food.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    I Would like to go there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I Would like to go there again! Please send me your best offers for summer 2019! Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    Is very close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is a little old.

    Is very close to the beach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    as nice as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    good rate quality/ price the wish expressed while booking was taken into account

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay at Amelia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to pay extra to get a fridge in the room.

    The bed was very comfortable. The food.in the restaurant and the location of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.0
    Close to the beach
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very old with old furniture, the bathroom superficialy cleaned, no fridge, just AC and a small tv, no private pool

    Close to the beach

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.7
    i was there was 1 night, it was OK but hotel very old and outdated, pictures not accurate
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    old and very outdated facilities, internet was not working

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    İ hope you will have a nice holiday in there
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    İts a little bit noisy but not a big problem.

    Hotels position is guite well and it has a nice berakfast..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    price 50 euro
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no internet at level 6.

    price 50 euro

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    good meal plan
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    wifi without internet aces in rooms

    good meal plan

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.1
    Great food with many of varieties to choose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is not a refrigerator in the room.

    Great food with many of varieties to choose. Very close to the beach

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable 2 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms in need of upgrading, had a musky smell in room-no pool and parking was very poor.

    Location was good and part of the hotel has been decorated

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    The food was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't the fridge in the room

    The food was great. The beach was awesome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Restorant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restorant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.9
    Good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture

    Clearness, parking, close to the beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff's attitude and service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.1
    style of the property - it is very old furnishings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    style of the property - it is very old furnishings

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Close to beautiful and clean beach, big room with excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to beautiful and clean beach, big room with excellent bathroom, nice food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    7.5
    Silent and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The smell in the lobby was irritating. So was the smell in the breakfast hall. The receptionists were numb. The hotel looked new but the rooms must have been decorated about fourty years ago. No fridge in the room. No water, no hair dryer.

    Silent and clean

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    8.8
    ok for the money spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    there is a guy among personnel speaking Romanian. As the last year too, he is too insisting to help with luggages and then asking for money

    ok for the money spent

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    8.3
    Very spacious room, fresh look, renovated hotel, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The Albena resort seems a little bit outdated, some renovations are needed, the wifi is so poor and so complicated to use, no drinks for all inclusive and poor sweets.

    Very spacious room, fresh look, renovated hotel, excellent location in the center of Albena resort, close to the beach, the all inclusive was excellent, good and diversified food.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    8.3
    We loved the food, the restaurant is very good and even if...
    • Family with young children

    The personal pf the reception not kind and friendly enough.

    We loved the food, the restaurant is very good and even if is not all-inclusive is the same style, so you pay an amount and you can eat tens of vegetables, two kinds of soup, healty food, and unhealty food, fish, salads, vegetarian and not. Close to everything, you can rent bicycle in the near, etc. Suitable for everybody.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    8.8
    Amplasarea hotelului, mancarea, linistea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Internetul prost caci am folosit un wi-fi free care acoperea toata statiunea dar pe langa faptul ca te conectezi greu la el merge si foarte prost. Hotelul nu are wi-fi propriu dar poti gasi ceva mai satisfacator la terasele din zona. I didn't liked the bad Wi-Fi connection. It's hard to connect to the wi-fi provided and it's very slow.

    Amplasarea hotelului, mancarea, linistea. E perfect pentru o familie cu copii mici. I liked the location of the hotel, the food, the peace of the zone. It's perfect for a family with small children.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    4.6
    Front desk agent Doroteya was talking to us in a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Front desk agent Doroteya was talking to us in a very unprofessional manner upon check in. Apart from that, her and her colleague made us wait for almost 15 minutes before we can be shown the room, because of handover between shifts! That means handover between shifts is more important than walk- in guests? Front desk agent Tatyana was rude on the other morning when we interrupted her reading a newspaper at the reception. That was the second time we tried to inform someone that our minibar was not complete upon check in. Nobody seemed to care. It is very unprofessional for staff to hang out at the lobby bar after finishing their shift. The superiour rooms have a nice design and a good size, however our room was dirty when we checked in. Especially the bathroom seemed as if it hasn't been cleaned in a month. The bathrooms next to the Amelia restaurant were renovated but extremely dirty. The breakfast at Flamingo grand was really bad. The restaurant was DIRTY, all buffets were really messy and DIRTY, food was cold, even ice cold and the lowest quality you could get. We are not happy with our stay in Amelia and we would definitely not visit this place again.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    6.3
    The hotel is very close to the private beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There are 3 important aspects to be noted on the negative side: 1- The staff attitude: one of the employees from the reception seemed almost disturbed by our presence while we were waiting to check-in; the same thing happened when we left. Poor english knowledge: they almost didn't understand what we were saying... 2- The room needs full renovation; a mini-fridge would also be mandatory for a 3-star hotel at the beach! 3- The WiFi was practically unavailable

    The hotel is very close to the private beach. The hotel lobby and some of the rooms (only the deluxe ones) are completely renovated and probably compensate for the rest.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    7.9
    The food whas exelent, Staf and beach aswell ,lovely nature...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I think the see ,or beach has some issu with bacteria ,because i have cach ear infection, This need to be addressed seriously!

    The food whas exelent, Staf and beach aswell ,lovely nature day ,night Good for couple with children

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.9
    The design of the room, the restaurant - very good and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    poor wi-fi, towels replacement and cleaning the rooms were not regularly made

    The design of the room, the restaurant - very good and various food, closed to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    5.0
    The facade of the building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact that the hotel facade and the front desk look very modern and you look impresed when you enter the hotel, but the rooms are very old and basic. The fact that we were asked to pay at the checkin instead of the checkout

    The facade of the building

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    The superior rooms are equipped very well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Finding a place to park your car at Albena is really hard. There aren't enough parkings and I was amazed that 2/3 of the biggest one was ceded to an amusement park. Although it is forbidden to book chairs on the beach by leaving a towel or something else there from the previous night or early in the morning, this was a common practice and we had to use the last rows of chairs despite the fact there were a few people on the beach.

    The superior rooms are equipped very well. The room is big, the bed is very comfortable. There are a lot of wardrobes where you can fit a lot of clothes and other stuff. There is a big balcony with a table and chairs where you can sit and relax in the evenings. Even though it isn't located on the beach it is very close to it.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    3.8
    -one part of the hothel was renovatet with tast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Starding with the checin why hade a problem, we paid the rooms before from booking and the staff from the hotel checked tre times because they said thai aor rooms are not paid. After that the bell boy insisted to take aor baghege and when we give hime a leva tips (coinds) he haide that is not inaf, he whants paper money. The rooms ware clan but very smoll and tre furnithure very olld. The bathroom not very clean and with a very ugly smell( you dont have to go with your children). You dont find a parking place.

    -one part of the hothel was renovatet with tast -we hade aer condishioning in the room -clod oather on the shooer

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    6.3
    The location is really great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -There are two types of chambers, as one can see in their photos. Unfortunately we got one of those which are not refurbished and everything inside was old and used. -If your neighbour wakes up early in the morning and goes to the bathroom, the sound of the water in his cabinet awakes you for sure. -Breakfast is good and offers many types of food, but no one cleans the tables after somebody ate there. You have to clean it by yourself.

    The location is really great.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    5.0
    The only advantage of Amelia hotel is being 50m away from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No WiFi in the rooms whatsoever - just in the Reception area. The room was too small with very limited storage space. The hotel is located in the middle of the high street that makes all rooms very noisy before 23:00.

    The only advantage of Amelia hotel is being 50m away from the beach.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.6
    It is 5 minutes away from the beach and it is lacated in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It dorsn't have a pool. Sometimes you lose the wi-fi signal

    It is 5 minutes away from the beach and it is lacated in the centre - you are close to everything

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.9
    Room arhitecture
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Sintetyc bed linen; lenght of beds; noise from the street

    Room arhitecture

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    Excellent service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent service! Thx

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    2.9
    the lobby was clean, new and modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room was basic, bathroom old and toilet leaking, reception staff not welcoming actually quite rude

    the lobby was clean, new and modern

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very old furniture everywhere. Early 80's style bathroom. Broken shower. Horrible smell on the ground flour.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location. Very nice hotel with an interesting theme. Very large rooms, modern, clean. We had a great time.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: