Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ego 3 stars

2, Eliezer Kalev Str., Plovdiv Center, 4000 Plovdiv, Bulgaria

#10 of 78 hotels in Plovdiv

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 796 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist called me 12:00 and let me know that i should free up the room. It really bothered me as i tend to sleep till late because I am a DJ. So they should tolerate more and ask beforehand if I am to opt for late check out.

    Excellent mattress

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    Large rooms, extra big double bed, very clean and nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are very thin and you could hear almost everything from your room neighbours. :)

    Large rooms, extra big double bed, very clean and nice bathroom, good location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.2
    near farmers' market which has fruits, jams, honey at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little walk to Vitosha boulevard.

    near farmers' market which has fruits, jams, honey at very reasonable prices. Next door to restaurant, supermarket and pharmacy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.9
    A clean hotel close to the town center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't manage to switch on the TV (an old one with separate decoder). Medium breakfast (honey was not a real one, but some kind of syrup). Although there was a free parking bonus, we parked the car at the road in front of the hotel.

    Our second time at Hotel Ego! We chose it for the location and the cleanliness. In the room there were cotton swabs, shower caps and shoe polish, as well as laundry bag! Possibility for massage, manicure or dentist at normal prices. The one page newspaper at the breakfast table and the poster at the elevator including what's going on in Plovdiv was a really smart idea... and really helpful!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location with Parking and great start
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was quite limited but that would be my only complaint.

    Girl at the front desk when we arrived was great and our room was ready early so we were able to check in early also. Room was spacious and bathroom was great. Parking was handy and available which was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Clean, spacious rooms & convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No major remarks. Breakfast was not bad but could be improved in terms of variety of food offered. Dedicated parking space is limited. We were lucky to get a spot on the street right in front of the hotel but this could potentially be a challenge in a busier period.

    Friendly staff, they also speak English. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Everything was clean. The bathroom had a hair dryer which was a pleasant surprise. Another pleasant surprise was the little kitchenette - we did not use it but it could be great for a longer stay. Convenient location, less than 10 min on foot from the pedestrian street.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Historic Plovdid but accomodated in a modern Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some more sweet options for breakfast would help imporving it and noise coming from fridge motor in our room was particularly loud during all day (and at night may be little annoing)

    Nice hotel not so far from city center (approx. 15 minutes walking), our room was big, very clean and beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and comfortable with courtesy set and we appreciated the big shower. Breakfast buffet with limited choice but food was fresh and tasteful. Private car park with limited places but we found a place for our car just opposite the entrance to the hotel. There is a restaurant just in front of the hotel offering Bulgarian food (but we did not tried it) and several fast foods and kiosks in the street leading to the city center.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Liked it very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Part of the parking area was under repair and finding a parking spot was sometimes a challenge but the staff came to the rescue.

    Staff was great and just a 10 minute walk from the pedestrian area and the Old Town. Breakfast buffet was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location, uncomfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is not comfortable: very hard mattress. The shower do not close properly (the bathroom floor get flowed) Poor breakfast

    Great location, near to the historical center (10-15 minutes walk) Very clean and quiet Very helpful and polite staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Plovdiv ego hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bed was massive and comfy ,room was big and airy ,shower was lovely ,very clean everywhere ,staff wonderful , great location for museums and old town etc. I stay in a lot of hotels with work and this is the best for the money I've been in. Plovdiv is a brilliant city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in Plovdiv
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is strategically located near the the pedestrian area and all the main attractions. The personnel at the reception is professional, courteous and speak English fluently. The rooms are very cozy and clean. Breakfast is not lavish but enough to get you started. Free parking is available on site. Excellent good valued for money. It will be my first choice in Plovdiv.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Perfect stay for Plovdiv
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The maximum of the shower was 1.8 m height. The breakfast was okay and simple.

    High hygiene Perfect location, 15-20 minute walk to Kapana/Old Town Great bed Airconditioning was perfect Staff was very friendly Lift available

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed that the room was really quiet and had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was good but at peak times there can be a queue.

    We really enjoyed that the room was really quiet and had good quality air-con which was exactly what we needed when it was 35C outside.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Stayed in a suite with kitchenette, it was very roomy and comfortable. Only a 10 min walk to old town. Parking space for car. Decent options for breakfast including good coffee. Excellent English speaking reception staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    Spacious room, comfy bed, lift, helpful staff, air-con,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room looked out onto a building site but luckily we never heard anybody working on it and it was a quiet place to stay. It was a walk into the town and there are probably more atmospheric places to stay in the old town but I thought this was a great value option for Plovdiv and would totally recommend it.

    Spacious room, comfy bed, lift, helpful staff, air-con, plenty of options for breakfast, good shower. It's a 10 minute walk to Kapana from the hotel and 15-20 to the Old Town. There's a restaurant directly opposite the hotel which is handy if you want eat without going into town (the restaurant isn't anything to write home about but it's there).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice 3 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed is noisy (squeaking). In the bathroom there was a small window in the shower. A curtain is necessary.

    Almost everything was perfect. The breakfast was fine for 3 star hotel and you can order any kind of coffee. In the room there was a coffee maker. 7 minutes walk from city center. Nice restaurant right next to hotel. 24hours open mini market in 50 meters. Next time visit Plovdiv I'll stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.7
    Stopover in Plovdiv
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor with heavy dark wood walls, whilst newish, gave a depressing feel to the hotel interior. Car parking space was limited to a few off road places though our reserved space was kept. Bed linen was average to poor quality. Breakfast choice was ok but not inspiring.

    Excellent receptionist greeted us - most helpful as indeed all staff were. Modern clean shower facility. Spacious room with A/ C. Walking distance to main shopping areas and the old town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Girl on reception spoke excellent English, very easy to deal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Girl on reception spoke excellent English, very easy to deal with and quick check in. Room was bigger than expected and everything was very clean. Walking distance to the old town with lots going on in the pedestrian only areas.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    It was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall stay was great, but would not recommend using booking, as the price is not the cheapest through them, contrary to advertised, and some details were wrong.

    Overall stay was great, but would not recommend using booking, as the price is not the cheapest through them, contrary to advertised, and some details were wrong.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Definetly my hotel for future stays in Plovdiv :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel exceeded my expectations .. The location is 5 min walk from city center .. Every thing was clean clean clean .. The breakfast has every thing I wanted .. We changed the room though at first because there was a building site just next to it .. The second room view was on a small Park with big trees so it was great as view and for privacy .. The staff was polite, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    A ok place to stay in Plovdiv.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was monotonous, the hotel layout a bit confusing, and all a bit pricey as a whole.

    The staff was great, Wi-Fi beyond expectation good, room functional for the space.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    A nice boutique hotel reasonably close to the action
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As stated above

    The shower was amazing, the breakfast was fabulous and the staff were extremely helpful. On the other hand, the lingering smell of tobacco in the room and the fact that neither the fridge or TV worked was annoying though.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.3
    Good option outside the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, it's a tiny bit far from the main interesting areas in Plovdiv but not by much. The Kapana neighborhood is about 10-15 min walking and the main fare - about 20 min. Admittedly, against all the pretty houses and hotels in central Plovdiv, Ego feels a little simple, but that's really up to perception. All in all, nothing negative!

    Ego is a very competent no-frills hotel that would be perfect for a business stay. It is slightly off the main center area but it compensates by having a leafy small park in front with a very nice and affordable restaurant. The rooms are wide and comfy. The breakfast is varied and ample and we liked it. Our foreign guests really enjoyed the hotel. The staff is also very welcoming!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    3.3
    Complete disappointment because they refused to accommodate our reservation for a non-smoking room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a non- smoking room and were assigned to a room which reeked of cigarette smoke and had an ashtray on the coffee table. Management said it was the last available room even though the smoke remnants were stinging our eyes. They offered to use an odor treatment which we declined because it would have only created a chemical smell on top of the smoke and offered to discount our rate on our next stay, which was completely unhelpful. Their response was totally inadequate and for this reason we are giving the lowest rating to this unhelpful hotel.

    The fact that we were forced to take a smoking room by an unresponsive staff overshadowed any positive features.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Quality hotel in Plovdiv
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a working building site next to the hotel so early morning noise was a bit of an issue and we couldn't have the blinds open as the workers could see straight into our room. However, we didn't spend much time in our room so not a huge problem. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss but there was good coffee and the cherry pie was delicious.

    The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff were generous with their help and information. The location of the hotel is a 5 minute walk from the centre of Plovdiv so very convenient. There is parking available should you need it. The room was quite large and the bathroom was very modern with a large walk in shower which had hot water no matter what time of day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Good stay in Plovdiv
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise from the surroundings. Small breakfast rooms.

    Very friendly staff, good location - the old town pietontal alley is 5 min walk away. A lof of places to est & drink nearby. Parking places available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Modern hotel in the center of Plovdiv
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in the construction process

    The hotel located near old town, memorial “Alyosha”, mall, restaurant. We get studio with a dining corner, big bed nice bathroom. The room and all hotel just renovated. Good breakfast: big choice of cheese, sausages. Good coffee.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel, a walkable distance from the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just a minor comment: Though the room was spacious and comfy, it lacked bedside tables, at least one, would be appreciated.

    Very nice hotel, a walkable distance from the old town. Safe and easy parking, helpful staff. The breakfast was good, and constantly refilled. A big plus the great restaurant just outside the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Only 1 day stay ...3 days should be better. Plovdiv is a very relaxing town you must see!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast buffet not big enough for many people and tables not fast enough cleaned no restaurant and difficult to find a free table in other restaurant. By the way the restaurant next door is closed!!!! But taxi very cheap to go in the town

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    My perfect Easter :)
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything :)

    The staff was sooo nice, the accomodation was very good and also the location - a perfect price/quality ratio. For me and my dog the park in front was perfect for a stroll. Recommended 100%!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is additional fee for pets.

    Very friendly and helpful staff and spacious rooms. Location within a walking distance to the city center. Few restaurants near the hotel. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Comfortable friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There isn't anything I don't like about this hotel

    Rooms are a great size, comfortable and clean. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast is good. Great location. Wifi good. Hotel is clean Always stay here when in Plovdiv. Can highly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.9
    For one night is okay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark room: most of furnishings were black colour. Very poor breakfast.

    Good Lavazza coffee at breakfast and friendly staff. Good price for this level of hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    7.5
    Nice place close to the center of Plovdiv
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a few dedicated parking spots for the hotel so finding a proper parking spot took some time and hesitation around the building. The GPS coordinates in Google Maps were not 100% accurate so we didn't make it from the first time. TVs need to be upgraded. Receptionists weren't educated on using Booking.com interface so had troubles confirming the payment method and almost double-charged us.

    It is a very nice hotel, top location in Plovdiv, near to the center of the city and the popular old town. Rooms are spacious and relatively clean with nice design features typical for the city of Plovdiv. Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location and good room for reasonable price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location and good room for reasonable price! I definitely recommend the hotel for tourists. Close to city center, available parking and nice Bulgarian restaurant (19th century) just near the hotel. Nice view from the window to Al`osha monument.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    3.3
    Unprofessional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was rude and unprofessional. We were there at 14:30 and the receptionist told us that our room is not ready (the check in is at 14:00). When we asked for another room, because we were late for an event,she told us that there are no available rooms. When we told her that in this case we will look for another hotel, they found an available room. This attitude and the lie were really unprofessional. Also the room was really dark and the prices were really high for what they actually offer. I wouldn't recommended to anyone!

    The breakfast is really nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    Hotel Ego was comfrotable and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is near busy street so sometimes the traffic was loud, but that didn't disrupt our stay in any way and can't be helped.

    The staff were helpful and the beds were comfortable. The daily breakfast was an added treat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Great hotel in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mugs or kettle to make a tea or coffee in room but there was hot water at reception.

    Very clean hotel in a great location. Close to shops, restaurants and plovdiv centre is just a short walk away. The staff were lovely and I found them very helpful, especially at reception. Comfortable bed and the shutters were great for keeping early light out. Very quiet area so no trouble sleeping. Will be staying here again when I go back to Plovdiv.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Incredible value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. For the price it was really excellent

    Good location, friendly staff, comfortable beds, great shower, decent enough breakfast, excellent price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Probably the best hotel in Plovdiv
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is immaculate - it looks as if it is less than a year old but the reception said it was around 10 years old. Everything is clean and the bathroom is spotless. Every time we were in the reception we were welcomed. There is free parking on the road outside if the carpark beside the hotel is full. The breakfast had healthy and organic options as well as good coffee and tea. Additionally, it is easily accessible for cars and about 15 minutes walk to the old centre. It is in a quiet neighbourhood. I recommend the location as the centre can be a bit noisy with racing cars and loud music.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable room with good clean facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Very comfortable room with good clean facilities. Local restaurants and bars in easy reach with the city centre a short walk away. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Very good value for money!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice place to spend a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet in the whole room seemed a bit old.

    Simple and clean room with everything you could need. Modern and new bathroom with big shower. Large size bed. Very spacious room with mini bar and large window. Quiet neighborhood. Private parking available right in front of the hotel. Very kind staff. Nice breakfast with eggs and bacon! There is also a sauna and gym inside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Stylish and affordable hotel- top marks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    Smart and stylish hotel that had a welcoming feel and wasn't too big. Very comfortable large double bed and spacious room with relaxing decor. Great bathroom with modern fittings. Friendly and helpful staff and excellent breakfast. Beauty salon on the premises where I had my nails done! Close to old town and easy, friendly restaurant opposite. All in all an excellent stay and I fully recommended a visit!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.8
    Breakfest was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly they gave us a dirty room. After we reject they gave a better room. There is a noise due to build across the otel. Breakfeast area small and noisy.

    Breakfest was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    The room was spacious, clean and beautifully decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was delicious, amazing espresso. The location of the hotel is very good, wi-fi working perfectly. Very quiet room and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    A good value hotel and frindly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You should be aware that the car park is now a building site and only limited parking is available. When we came to leave, we found ourselves blocked in and although the staff tried very hard to find the owners of the cars that were blocking us, it was not possible. Eventually, we were able to get out but be careful if you need to get away quickly for any reason.

    The hotel staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The room was spacious with air conditioners and there was a refrigerator available which was very useful. The bathroom was new and the shower was very powerful with lots of hot water. The location is only a short walk to the centre. This hotel is great value for money and many of my friends have stayed here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.3
    Large room with air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had some problems with finding place to park our car next to the hotel. Breakfast was not very good.

    Large room with air conditioning. Comfortable bed (not soft).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel, great location, great price! Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel environment is undergoing renovations

    Great hotel with a great location - right in the city center and opposite an amusement park and restaurants

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    casual place ideal for wandering the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is of good quality, but little choice.

    Room is basic, but clean and of big size, bathroom as well. Location is perfect, 10 minutes walking to the city center. Staff is nice. Comfortable parking. We will book it again if we need a hotel in Plovdiv. Coffee at breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.5
    Goof stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower tiles were slippery and shower leaked. Rooms too dark. Fridge was noisy.

    Hotel was OK for one night stay. Close to old town. The rooms were clean. Breakfast was simple and sufficient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    This hotel was the perfect home base for watching a rowing competition. Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel Ego is a great way to experience Plovdiv--avoiding the fully westernized "fancy" hotels but still having the reassurances of an English-speaking staff. The room was spacious and clean, the staff was friendly and the breakfast was pleasant. The location was within walking distance to both Old Town and the rowing venue (but bring your best walking shoes). Parking was limited, but we were always able to find a spot, and there is a great modern bakery/coffee shop just across Ruski Boulevard. If we ever visit Plovdiv again, we will definitely stay here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Staff was very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very welcoming. Probably since the room was free, we were allowed to check in earlier. Breakfast was good. Room and bathroom were very clean. Close to the city center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    This is one of the best hotels I have been so far!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I highly recommend this hotel to everyone! Everywhere was extremely clean, the atmoshere was very modern and the personnel was very friendly, polite and helpful. Many thanks to the great staff who made our stay very comfortable and pleasant!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.8
    The location was very good, a short walk through the park ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, as was a most enjoyable stay....

    The location was very good, a short walk through the park , and you are by the main area, breakfast was good...overall very pleased....

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    We had a wonderful two night stay at Hotel Ego and would recommend to any friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning was not quite cool enough for us but it was rather hot while we were in Plovdiv

    All in all just a lovely hotel, friendly staff and close to the centre of Plovdiv. Excellent restaurant across from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, actually the color of the furniture..

    It is so close the main streets but also so quite to sleep. There is a nice moderate restaurant in front of it so you can taste some traditional food. Staff is helpful and good at English. Breakfast is good enough.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel in good location for visiting Plovdiv.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit dark, stronger lighting needed..

    Great location and friendly staff. Good restaurant/bar right outside the hotel. Decent breakfast included.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel with clean and spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms tend to be a bit noisy due to the big boulevard close to the hotel.

    Nice hotel with clean and spacious rooms. The staff is very professional and friendly. All of them English speaking. Overall very pleasant experience!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    Perfectly located, tastefully decorated hotel with affordable prices. Helpful staff, excellent breakfast...It was a real pleasure to stay there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    There was some loud music from the restaurant across the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some loud music from the restaurant across the street. However the music stops later in the evening at about 11pm so we always had a good sleep.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    7.1
    Failed in the Details
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning is not individually adjustable so you get whatever temperature they have decided to cool (or in our case, heat) the whole building. We found it stifling and oppressively hot. Opening the window was the only way to cool the room down, but this let in a very intrusive level of noise from traffic and a nearby bar and/or club. The bed was a designer fail: excessively projecting base ensured stubbed toes and scraped ankles while manoeuvring in the dark. The shower drain was not up to the job and made water gather across the bathroom floor to the toilet and washbasin area, which was unfortunate for anyone entering after that.

    Quite conveniently located maybe 20 mins walk from the central square. New and squeaky clean. Tastefully designed and decorated (though rather dark for our personal tastes). Good self-select breakfast menu in cheerful dining room with a layout to suit all guests. Helpful staff. Good lift.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    I keep coming back to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot think of anything.

    I am a frequent visitor to Plovdiv and this was my fourth visit to Ego hotel and it won't be my last one. The hotel is very well located - walking distance from the pedestrian street, yet quiet and not in a place bustling with people. It's perfectly furbished, the beds are comfy, the bathrooms are great, the staff is helpful. It's also a great choice if you come by car. It's great as a business hotel and also if you're visiting for a trip to this great city. My friend tried the salon at the hotel and she was quite happy with it. This time I forgot a coat in the room and within just a few hours the hotel had already arranged to have it sent back to my home. I don't think there's much more that needs to be said about the great service the hotel provides and the helpfulness of the staff :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.6
    Happy expierence at Ego Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a large and comfortable room, just outside the center of the city. A pleasant 10-12 minute walk brought us to the main pedestrian street. We really enjoyed the feeling of the hotel, and all facilities were fine. And after full days exploring this fascinating and vibrant city, it's good to retreat to a more quiet residential neighbourhood in the evening. There is a good Bulgarian restaurant just across the street, where we enjoyed a pleasant dinner.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.2
    Great location with tasty breakfast and friendly staff and easy parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled of smoke and was rather dark. We did check with the reception but you cannot set the aircon to a temperature as it's on a general setting so it was rather stuffy at night for us but may suit others who like a warm room.

    The hotel is in a good location and directly opposite a good place to eat for dinner. Breakfast was great and a great variety of food - all fresh and tasty. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Wi fi was fast and free parking was a big bonus.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.6
    GOOD CHOICE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE MATTRESS WAS TO SOFT FOR ME. THE PARKING MUST BE ASPHALTED AND SECURED. THE AIRCONDITION DID NOT WORK VERY GOOD.

    EVERYTHING WAS FINE, IT IS THE SECOND TIME THAT I VISIT THIS HOTEL.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.5
    Very nice except one detail
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the love of god, change the carpet. It looks dirty and old, it ruined the impression for the whole room.

    The breakfast was great. The room was big and spacey. The bathroom was very clean and modern. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smelled pretty strongly of mould, as if the drains had been sitting moist for the whole winter. It started to clear up throughout our one night stay after using the bathroom for showers etc.

    Great breakfast, helpful staff with very good English. Close to city centre and activities

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    7.5
    Clean but staff lets it down!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in the man had lovebites/hickeys all over his neck which was offputting there was nothing personal. Breakfast was ok but nothing special. Again staff were civil but standoffish

    Room was really spacious and clean . Good location, quite central

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    Totally the best value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally the best value for money! We stayed for one night and the location is perfect to enjoy Plovdiv by foot. The rooms are very clean and cozy and the whole atmosphere in the hotel was stylish and relaxed. My partner noticed that the hotel is very quiet and nothing disturbed our stay. Friendly staff, helped us a lot with directions and travel arrangements! Will come again soon!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.2
    The location is just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that made me bad impression was the shower as it is static and didn't work quite well.

    The location is just perfect. The hotel was very clean. The rooms were spacious and the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    9.6
    Great Hotel and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. I called to ask if there was a room available directly and they said no, but when using bookings.com there was a room for the night. 2. They need to supply coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms.

    Great friendly and helpful staff. Large, clean and comfortable rooms. Free parking.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful, friendly staff. Clean, warm, comfortable room. Very quiet at night so easy to sleep. Proper non smoking room. WiFi was very good and free in the rooms. 20 mins walk from train station and 10 mins to pedestrian town centre and entrance to Old Town. Lovely restaurant across the street and others nearby. Sauna and hairdresser in the building. We would stay again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful room, few downsides
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good, but could have had more variety; shower was stuck in the wall, uncomfortable because you could not direct it to one place or another; no outside coat hanger, just closet with hangers;

    Free Parking space next to hotel; friendly staff; very cute room, Japanese style; big bed; big room; close to centre; had elevator; kept breakfast available half an hour more than scheduled; nice view to park

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    7.1
    An OK stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very limited, although what was there was nice.

    The room was big, with a lovely shower room. The surrounding area and location was decent, there is an excellent traditional Bulgarian restaurant across the road.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    10
    Nice hotel with rather big parking space.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Actually nothing to regret for this price

    Very good location, especially if you are treveling with a car. Spacious parking. Breakfast is much better than in other Bulgarian hotels in such price category. Room was reasonbly big with a nice bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: