Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gloria Palace Hotel 3 stars

20, Maria Louisa Blvd., Centrum, 1000 Sofia, Bulgaria

#128 of 179 hotels in Sofia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1415 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.0
    Staff was not organized at all.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not organized at all. Cleaners entering the room multple times in the morning with out knocking. One of the days we needed taxi and they ordered taxi for the following day so we had to take one from the road. 1 of the receptionist was very blunt didnt care about anything. We asked for extension on the previous day to our checkout and they said yes. Next morning they inform us that there are no rooms available and we had to go out in the streets looking for hotels to stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    3.3
    NASTIEST, DIRTIEST WORST HOTEL IN THE WORLD!!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all the hotel looks old and beat up. When I first moved into my room most of the furniture was full of dust. I found pubic hair inside the bathtub. On my second night I found thicks on top of my bed sheet. I killed some of them which were full of blood. I even got bitten by some of these thicks. I attached two photos which it shows the thicks and the blood on the bed sheet from killing them. This hotel has been by far the most dirtiest, nastiest and worst hotel I have ever visited. The hotel management seem to not give a crap about the complains from other people that have stayed in the hotel before. One of my colleagues even found a use condom inside his room. The breaksfast was very poor. The scramble eggs were full of water. Supposely this is a 3 star hotel which in my opinion don't even deserve a one star. AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ALL COST. DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL PLEASE!!!

    The only good thing about the hotel is the location. Nothing else.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    3.8
    Gloria Palace Hotel Review
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed bugs in the beds Hard and uncomfortable beds Used condom left in room from previous guest Smelly towels Dilapidated doors in bathroom Heck, my stay was terrible

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Loved Gloria Palace Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not complaining at all. Staff bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable.

    Everything, great people, nice older style service with a personal touch. Wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    The location is everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double room, it was nice but it was two single beds together. There was a broken caoch in our room . There is a little bit old environment in the hotel.

    The stuff was super helpful, lots of thanks. The room was clean, the breakfast was good, and the location is amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.3
    Bad experience with room not being ready after we arrived at 8.30pm after such a long flight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was not ready for us when we arrived at 8.30pm-wet towels still lying around, bed not made and still had old linen on it, Someone elses tee shirt on bedside table. Expect some reduction in our bill.

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.7
    Worth the stay if you want to be central but not pay a fortune and you're not too picky
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is really old and grundgy - hard to tell if it was clean. The furniture was way too big for the room and the couch was so old and dirty looking I didn't want to sit down on it. The bed wasn't put together properly.

    Central location, fridge in the room, working air conditioner, pretty quiet, good bed - although it's two small beds shoved together and when you sit down on one end, the other end lifts up.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    3.3
    It is a trap, the elevstor is very old and u can get trapped...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a trap, the elevstor is very old and u can get trapped inside, the electric eires fron the bsthroom snd room were not isolated. It is a two star hotel with a good location. We hve booked a three bad room and get a two one with a smal sofa with no sheets, it was horible. In front of the hotel your car can be picked up at any moment by a strange company of the city hall, fantastic city to avoid. Never come back

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    3.3
    Not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Did not allow to check in early (even not just 2 hours before) Did not allow to extend check out (not even for one hour) Beds are really old, uncomfortable No Iron for pressing clothes Very poor room services and staff is not friendly

    Location is somewhat good, close to Mosque and metro.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    3.3
    This hotel is the worst hotel I have ever been in my life!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was rude, didn’t care at all about customers. The toilet did smell VERY BAD and consequently the entire room. Also the bed was dirty, hair and little “breadcrumbs” kept me awake thinking about what diseases I was catching! The breakfast was ridiculous as well as the noisy customers at every single time of the night!

    Absolutely NOTHING good about the hotel, the staff and the whole experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    It was in the main city area, close to the city sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the weekend there is a disco in its basement with thumping music all night to the wee hours of the morning. When your on the first floor it's hard to sleep. Also for some reason they wouldn't accept credit card payment, I had to produce cash.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.0
    Sophie is a lovely place to visit, Hotel is in a good location. but not to stay in this one
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reservation stated payment would be made in local currency cash or card.We were told on arrival it was cash only, and immediate payment required. Reservation stated mini bar in each room. Each room had a mini bar which was not working. On arrival had blinds and curtains missing. After complaining curtain was put up. On the second day the room was not cleaned at all. Spoke to reception who supplied 2 hand towels and a toilet roll given .Shower took over 10 minutes to go from cold to warm Our friends had a separate room and found wardrobe thick in dust, no hairdryer, no mini bar and a cockroach in the room. Complaint made to hotel prior to leaving

    Previous reviews stated staff were not nice. My friends and I found the opposite All the staff were pleasant and very helpful. It was no problem to have taxis booked and advice given on the maximum cost per journey. Breakfast was varied and good and again staff were very plesant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.0
    ** shabby hotel, with some reminiscences of better days.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hotel is probably ** rather than *** (though they even demonstrate **** at the reception). Old, worn, though with some reminiscences of better days, and some renovations. Even the sliding entrance glass door is broken! The main of the two lifts was not working for all 7 days of my stay. They asked for the advance payment, but did not accept card - there is even the printed announcement - something like "Sorry, today we can't accept ..." Guess, if it was fixed in 7 days? :) I do not know reasons for that - probably some hidden taxes - but finally I had to pay in cash. The room was never cleaned during my stay, just they used to make the bed somehow. Once I wanted to leave later, but the room maid appeared at about 10, and when I told her that I will be leaving at about 12, the answer was short, convincing and clear "NO!". She handled me the amenities and left!!! Couple of times I had to ask for the bath amenities, as they were forgotten. The carpet floor of the room was probably not cleaned for a long time, as one could find some small gravel particles, etc., everywhere. The bathroom is equipped with low quality plastic amenities, which were dirty and browny from their age. There is no shower cabin, just the curtain around it, which is very inconvenient. The shower tray is the smallest one, though there is enough place around to install the more spacious one. There was a built-in safe in the shelf, but it was not working.

    Good location close to city center and metro. Breakfast is normal, just no variations from day to day. Good coffee from the machine for the breakfast. AC is working silently. Room was spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    4.6
    I would not recommand this hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light on the room didn't work No handle on the door of the bathroom Yellow sticky, dirty spots on the carpet Staff wasn't friendly Breakfast was quite small It wasn't what we expected it to be

    Locatie is heel goed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place looks nice from outside and the lobby, but the rooms need makeover. Feels like you return to the 90’s. Also, the cleanliness is of the bathroom was really bad. Hair from previous guests on the floor, dirty stains all over the walls, around door handle and floor. Medicin pills in one of the bed side drawers. Used toothpicks and dust behind and under the beds, and in general dust everywhere in the room. I don’t recommend this hotel for dust allergic people.

    The location is perfect. It takes around 30-40 mins by metro (one way ticket 1,60 Leva which is about 0,80€ in may 2018) and the station (Serdika) is just a few hundred meters from the hotel. AC worked well. Some staff members were really nice, friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    3.8
    I booked a room for my colleague and asked for a late...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked a room for my colleague and asked for a late check-in. When she arrived, she was informed that a staff member made a mistake and they have to send her away, because they were overbooked. The receptionist helped her find a new hotel, but anyway...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    3.3
    Well I will suggest this hotel to be 2 stars instead of 3 stars!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived in the hotel there was very bad smell. The stuff wasn’t professional. They did few mistakes with the invoice. We booked number of rooms and they said that they have one less in their system. For 3 stars hotel the semis really bad. It is more 3 stars then 3 stars. You could hear the noise from outside - “ very old windows “ the toilets was broken, the shower was from 1990, the floor wasn’t clean. The bed was very uncomfortable. Breakfast OMG - just too cheap for what they charged!!!! Regarding the “ FITNESS “ - hahaha forget it!!!! Well I will suggest this hotel to be 2 stars instead of 3 stars!!!! .

    The only good things is the position of the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    4.6
    Location only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vary poor hotel. We stayed for 4 nights, on the fifth floor. The elevator was broken for all our staying, broken lamps, no air conditioning and one day they bring us only one towel.

    Location only

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    3.8
    Worst Experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not welcoming staff, room space is small, old furnishing, bad smell inside room and bath room, no view at all from room window, i.e. close to next building, bathroom door open towards room, bathroom level is above bed room, noisy bathroom from next and above rooms, breakfast buffet is very poor and space is small, no fresh juce, no fresh fruits, no choices at breakfast, even hot milk is very limited and mixed with hot water

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    3.3
    The only thing going for the hotel was it’s central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were rude and unwelcoming and our room so dirty we had to empty fridge out ourselves as previous occupants had left old food in it. Toilet cistern in bathroom was cracked and lifted upwards every time it was flushed. Shower rail was broken and we had to tie shower head upright to have a shower. At least water was hot! When we reported issues with room it was met with an indifferent shrug. Restaurant and Winter Cafe were closed indefinitely

    The only thing going for the hotel was it’s central location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    4.6
    This time was delusional
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am a regular client in this hotel but the rude and arrogant receptionist that mistreated our tour guide is a big NO!

    The location and value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Very good hotel
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best location frond to the old market and next to ul. Pirotska street with the best shops for shoping. Very close to the center. There 24hr resepsion, cable tv in the room and wi-fi internet, clean room and warm, the shower whith very good soaps.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Spacious room and free breakfast for extremely low price,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff didn't speak English well, which made it a bit hard to communicate, but we managed

    Spacious room and free breakfast for extremely low price, what else can one ask? :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.8
    It was definitely worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sometimes on the floors there was smell of smoke even though it was forbidden inside the structure. The breakfast was a bit poor but it was compensated by a very pleasant staff and a relaxing atmosphere.

    The structure is located in the very heart of the city, really close to the train, bus and metro station. The staff is very kind and they can easily speak English, Spanish and Italian. They are really open to offer you information and suggestions about either what to do or what to avoid. You can change currency and visit an amazing Roman site right next to the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    3.8
    The ubication was the only good thing,.
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was dirty. The bathroom was really dirty. I don't like the shower with a buth curtain very dirty. They should to have a min of hygiene.

    The ubication was the only good thing,.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.1
    Expensive because of the location! Nothing more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid for deluxe double room and i took the standard. Too small for such a high price in Sofia. The breakfast was not something special, especially for a 4 star hotel!

    The location is the big advantage!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.5
    Renewed room and close to the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Difficult access to the toilet for cleaning service. They should pay attention because there was stink from the toilet.

    Renewed room and close to the center. Of course this hotel deserve to be consider a choise if you travel to Sofia.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.5
    Good Hotel, located few minutes away from Serdika Metro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good Hotel, located few minutes away from Serdika Metro Station, the staff was very helpful and polite, also the cleaning of the room was very good, breakfast assorted and really good. No complaints at all, surely will come back

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    5.0
    Would not recommend to anyone, would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -They do not believe in duvet covers, they place duvet in between 2 bed sheets, during the night obviously these sheets do roll down and you are exposed to the duvet which was used by hundreds of people most probably. Extremely not hygienic! -Though mini bar has light inside it doesn't work. We put a salad overnight and found it went bad the next morning. No indication that it is broken, as light works fine the moment you open it.... -No remote control to the TV -Sofa that was advertised, was actually extremely old (as everything else in the room) and visibly broken. -Beds are very old, not comfortable, both my wife and I had a sore lower back after sleeping on it -Shower: water drainage was not working, so you end up standing in dirty water almost at your ankle lever -Toilet bowl, so old that certain stains do not come off, so it does look disgusting, though we understand it was cleaned. -They do not have city maps as well (hotel in the city center)

    Location, nice reception area and sound proof room, which is very warm as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    5.4
    I have booked via Booking and received confirmation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have booked via Booking and received confirmation When I arrive they say there is no available room. I said but I have booked. answer was "yes we know but we don't have room", that's it. They mention that they can book hotel for me on other hotels if I am interested. Believe me I can do that too :))))))

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast & location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked early check in at 11:00 but they told us that was full. We came back at 14:00 and wait until 15:00 to get to our room 😞😞😞 because of cleaning??? When we get in there was a really bad smell. The POS was out of order many days and i paid on cash. From that time until next day at 14:00 the wifi wasnt work for technical reasons 😵😵😵. The elevetor two times stucked. Also our bath hadnt hot water just a little warm.

    Breakfast & location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    4.2
    In short, a mistake!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very narrow beds even though my booking with Booking.com stipulated it was to be a full sized bed. This is not the first time this has happened. It is realy annoying. Beds in awkward locations - you have to shimmy around the edges all the time. Decor is dour. Cracks and gaps evident. Breakfast presentation is poor. Nothing laid out nice, a little effort would go along way. Uninterested staff, but sadly this is typical in some Bulgarian hotels. I live here so dear BG friends, I feel I am qualified to comment! But oh, the beds were awful!!

    Receptionist was ok with English. Easy to find

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    4.6
    The location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean properly (there was dust everywhere and hair from the cleaning personal). There were bags with clothes from the previous guests inside, the drain was not draining on time, the balcony looked like it wasn't clean from very long time, there was a very loud noise from the disco next to the hotel all night till 5-6 in the morning!

    The location of the hotel. Very close to all museums and government buildings!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location. We asked for one double bed on booking resavation and paid more, but we got 2 singles attached. The room was smelly and over hited, if you want to open a window the noise from the street is bad! The shower was leaking and there was a big big puddle every time we took one. the cleaner forgot to put a toilet papier so we came to the front desk to ask for it. The lady was so stressed out and told us that we have to wait for someone else to come later (and then the enswer was that they don't know where it is) we took one from the public restroom . At night we found out that we have only one small blanket on the bad. It was late and wanted to sleep but the guy at the front desk could not find one.... my husband went down and had to make the guy open another room and took the blanket by himself. in booking it said that this hotel serves brakfast but the hotel charge 5eru per person. We tried it the first day but it was very poor. I'm sure I will not be back here .

    Good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    4.2
    Some of the stuff was so rude, as they asked us to leave...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the stuff was so rude, as they asked us to leave this hotel and go to another with the double price. When we asked them what was the problem they told us that there is a problem with a bathroom and they cannot fix it. They also told us that there is not any oher room for us. After half an hour that the receptionist tried to fnd another hotel for us, when we told her that we are travelling using booking for our reservations and they are a four star hotel, not a simple hostel she said i will find you a solution and she suddenly found a room for us. The only thing that worthed was the breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was helpful but they didn't smile at all. I arrived for the breakfast 30 min before to close and the hot food was not being replaced anymore.

    Location. Big room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.0
    Perfect Location. Really bad accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dirty room. The shower didn't work properly. No hot water. Rude staff. They tried to charge us two bottles of water from the mini-bar. Could have been a mistake but 90% of the guests had the same marked on the sheet she showed us.

    Location. Just a couple of minutes away from the main street.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    4.2
    Don’t believe that it’s 4 stars!! It’s only 1 star
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s very old! Poor breakfast !

    They call it 4 stars hotel but it’s maximum 1 stat due to the service , the furniture is very old! I don’t understand who give it 4 stars!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.8
    Good value of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception girl was bit rude and I guess cause of her poor English language she wasn't willing to answer much.

    The hotel is fairly in good condition and clean, it's in the centre and nearby famous touristic locations.the man at reception desk was helpful and he let me early checkin at 5am for little extra cost.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    5.0
    Not excellent for sure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar available! I couldn't even get a coffee in the afternoon! There was no shower box in the toilet but simply a curtain with the result of having the floor wet after a shower. It looks like a 3 star hotel rather than 4.

    Very good location, near everything you may need.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    2.5
    Disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I booked a room with breakfast, but they charged me extra for it. Breakfast was normal, not something special. They were not looking every day for my room. They even charged me for a small bottle of water there was in the room. I had a big problem at check in, because they did not want to charge my credit card, even though that was mentioned in the booking they accept credit cards. They even billed me for a visit I received in my room and they did not give me any proof of what kind of supremacy they offered for it. It's the first time i'm disappointed because I chose a hotel that is recommended by: boocking.com

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    4.2
    hostels are better than this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed there for two nights. After the first night we highlighted with the receptionist that - the mattress was really uncomfortable , as we could feel the springs into it pushing out(really old mattress); - there were cold air drafts from the windows and because of that, the room was also really noise at night (as implicitly there was no insulation from the outside); - there was no duvet(a single duvet was placed on a double bed, which was obviously too small). We asked to change room but that has been denied (they just placed another single duvet next to the one already there). After the second sleepless night we stressed out how all of that wasn’t normal for an hotel and asked to talk to the manager. The manager refused to talk to us, and only after insisting she turned up, and without even listening she came out saying “this is not a five star hotel”. After that she even told off the staff (made of nice people by the way) because they didn’t follow her instructions: “if someone asks to talk to the manager, they have to say that the manager is not there”. Eventually, really annoyed (and just to shut us up), she offered a 10% discount. Also they have a notice at the front desk, stating that the credit card reader is broken and only cash payment are accepted. That is not true.

    Good breakfast, ideal location, nice staff (aside from the manager)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    The place was so great, best location, next to central hall,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was so great, best location, next to central hall, near to historical places. The staff was so friendly, expecially at the restaurant. Very good place for you to stay in Sofia.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.1
    We've paid for a breakfast and asked for takeaway pack...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We've paid for a breakfast and asked for takeaway pack due to early checkout. Despite The fact The hotel mentoined this as an option we couldn't get it. We were said there is No Lady to make it

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    6.7
    good option for just sleeping option (over a night)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was a stuffy smell from the carpets.there was no hot water in the shower and the heating was not working properly. no parking as indicated on their adds.

    good and central location, good money value.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    Good value - perfect city location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in lasted to much for the usual duration. The rest was ok.

    The room was big and comfortable, the view from the room was great. The location was perfect to visit the city by foot, extremely close to the shops, restaurants and cafes. The parking was at the property and was great to have it, in the city center is difficult to find a parking space. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.2
    Brilliant stay would recommend for a short city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It does have a nightclub attached and you can hear the music all night. No kettle in room.

    Great location, staff very helpful and room was great as we had a suite with two rooms which was good for our 10 month old to stay in one room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    5.4
    Overall not good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is not a 4 star hotel!!!! We arrived on the early hours of the morning due to our flight landing time. The gentleman who was manning reception was not informed that we had paid for our booking and requested payment. It was fortuitous that I had a copy of the confirmation email with me. The hotel décor is dated. That didn't bother us so much but it is worth a mention. On arrival to our room we realised that the window was completely ajar and the radiators off. Our room was freezing and the air-conditioning did not work to heat the room. After contacting reception we were offered a portable heater for the night and some extra duvets. Our room was a reasonable size. Again the décor is dated. The room was clean enough but the bathroom didn't meet my cleanliness standards. The bathroom also smelt of urine since there was clearly a leak in the toilet. There was nothing that could be done to repair it during our stay so instead we used perfume to make the bathroom smell better. The shower was basic but ok. The only problem was that you could not access hot water at all times of the day( for example during rush hours we got warm water).

    The hotel is very close to the city centre of Sofia - 5 minutes walk. It is also very close to the metro station from which you can take the train to the airport which is approximately a 20 minute ride. The hotel is easy to access at all times of day since the doors are not locked overnight and the reception is manned. There is a safe in the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    Very relaxing and had a really enjoyable time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is a club right next door that plays loud music til quite late.

    Staff very helpful and friendly. The location is fantastic, very close to lots of tourist attractions. There was no lack of hot clean water.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    2.5
    to say that it was unpleasant would be understatement.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely unpleasent experience. Unclean toilet, extremely poor wi-fi, very modest breakfast and very unprofessional staff. I highly recommend everyone to just skip this hotel. 4 stars? More likely 2.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    5.4
    Location and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Indifferent staff, and one person very rude in the staff (Ilika, male evening manager). Lots of noises at midnight, people arrives and shout, and staff does not act. American Express CC is NOT accepted, no matter they put in Booking website

    Location and price

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.9
    Excellent value for great price I paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could use some fresh grout.

    Location. Great for access to metro for airport. Close to all the main attractions. Variety of food choices close by. Large room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    3.8
    We are trying to forget it !!..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything.Everything was about to collapse and dirty... The most disgustng was the brush for the toilette. From white was turned into brown !!..Most possible they haven't replace it since the last renovation , some 20 years before..

    Really nothing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    2.9
    WORSE EVER
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There's nothing to like. worse place and service EVER!!

    The worse hotel I've ever seen. We paid for 3 nights and left after one. The place is not appropriate for staying! No hot water, broken showers, no hitting and got one single blanket for 2 people!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    2.5
    Hmm, not a lot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm just going to bullet point the negatives because if I explained them all we would be hear for days . Receptionist was stoned upon arrival . Make you wait when you check out whilst they "survey" your room .beds are rock solid and basically on the floor . Mini fridge is old, loud, unstocked and dirty .Unclean floors .Rude cleaners .Cold shower .lift breaks down with you in it . Two single beds pushed together to make a "double" Waste of time waste of money, beautiful city - enjoy it from another hotel

    Hmm, not a lot

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    6.3
    Center have many dinning options
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad wifi , not warm water

    Breakfast was ok staff was very helpful location was very good but the room didn't have warm water and very bad wifi . Come on for 4 stars hotel must have warm water all day long . The water was brown so the tubes are old and rusty . If the staff was not so good I would never recommend to anyone this hotel . If you want few days and need in center it's ok hotel just make them clear about warm water and let the tube open for 2 min to come clean water . From Greece

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyed the City of Sofia and the Hotel was ideally placed for this purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Lack of opportunities to have a snack in the evening when you were retiring for the night. Nothing else really as I was out most of the time.

    It was located right in the centre of Sofia. It was very close to very historical monuments, churches, ruins etc. Only 10 minutes walk from Central Railway Station. Quite a number of good Restaurants around.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    2.5
    A bad hotel experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was really dirty and there was no hot water. Moreover, the service was terrible and they couldn't do anything to improve all this mess. They do not also provide parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast quite rich including fried eggs, sausages, bacon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a double room with double bed however was provided a three-single-bed-room, hotel couldn't find any solution. No hot water for shower in the evening which is totally unacceptable. Hotel on one of the main streets so extremely noisy in the evening with cars and trams passing by, closed windows couldn't help at all.

    Breakfast quite rich including fried eggs, sausages, bacon. Loation close to one metro station and supermarket called Lidl which opens till 10pm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    3.8
    the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was quite old and the shower is very small. We booked through booking.com with a special rate 164€ for 3 nights but we felt bad because this is not special rate at all. As we saw the rate for double room is 55 euro per night per room. Please do not advert as a special price.

    the location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.8
    Great location, mediocre quality, fairly cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you're looking for an upper class hotel this is not it. Tiny showers in a single room, quite noisy rooms facing the main street and an unipmressive breakfast (and staff). If all of the above are not important book it now - central and good value for money.

    Excellent location in the center next to the market

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    5.0
    Location is perfect, very close to the city attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard of the hotel is definitly not as a 4 star hotel. Equipment in the room have ca. 30 years. Everything is old and dusty. Breakfest is poor and limited. They don't refill products. 1h before end of the breakfest it was almost nothing to eat. Price is as a 3 star hotel but cammon, standard is as a 2 star hotel.

    Location is perfect, very close to the city attractions. One of the receptionist was helpful. That's all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Situated very close to the touristic area in a building that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Situated very close to the touristic area in a building that has more than 100 years but nicely decorated. Good access to restaurants, shops, museums in 1 km range you can see all the Sophia's landmarks. Has a parking inside a courtyard.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.9
    Central and cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Points of improving: new furniture and no moquette; hot water taking too much time to come (at least in our rooms, 34 and 55), a better cleaning service on the rooms (very common problems in many hotels all over Europe); anyway nanny case our stay in the hotel was good.

    The hotel is located just in the city centre (unbeatable situation) with many of the sightseeing places as well as public means (tramways and metro station Serdika) within walking distance. Unhappily the structure looks a bit neglected from the outside and the rooms, though rather comfortable, have obsolete furniture and moquette. I have to say this is a common problem with many 4-stars-hotels in Sofia. Breakfast is very good, providing Bulgarian yoghurt, cereals, plenty of jams, croissants, sweets, two kind of juices, cheese, ham, scrambled eggs and so on. Staff is also nice and helpful both at the desk and at breakfast service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.5
    1. Central Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the Main Street and not quiet, although I requested quiet room.

    1. Central Location 2. Very helpful and friendly English speaking staff 3. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    3.3
    BE CAREFUL FOR DOUBLE PAYMENT!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I hate this hotel and would never recommend. I had a serious trouble with the hotel about payment. I prepaid the stay fee via the Booking.com, but the reception and the manager of the hotel said "it is impossible to pre-pay the fee." What they negatively impressed me the most was that, even though I provided some robust evidences for the payment (e.g. bank transfer record and the proof by the Booking.com), they persistently asked me to pay again WITHOUT confirming the fact with the Booking.com. The manager was so lazy to do so, even though I asked. I was super frustrated with the experience especially their laziness to confirm and their attitude to a customer. Be careful for unnecessary double payment if you prepay via the Booking.com (in my case, I used the SOFORT money transfer). Ah, I also felt as if there is no wall surrounding the room. It was super noisy.

    A lady at the reception was kind.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location with good prices for a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could be renewed and better cleaned.

    Location is central at 20 minutes and 15lev by taxi from the airport and also 3 minutes walk from the nearest metro station. Breakfast was very good with a lot of choices and the lady at the restaurant was kind and helpful. The young guy at the hotel lobby was also very gentle. He recommended us and booked a table for us at a really nice and local restaurant called MoMa, a must do. Although rooms were a bit outdated with a weird smell in the bathroom, they were big with anything required to spend a couple of nights. A good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    Nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice staff. I arrived very early. No breakfast at that moment and the receptionist bought me a bread!!! Very good location and you can walk to anywhere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.1
    not really 4-star
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seems "overstarred", not really like 4-star hotel. Furniture in rooms is old, do not take street-view room as the windows do not properly isolate the noise.

    Excellent location, walking distance to the very center of the Sofia. Very helpful stuff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.4
    Terrible bed. Very unprofessional staff. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was HORRIBLE. The blankets did not fit on the bed, they were far too small. You can feel all the springs in the bed. The bed itself was very hard. Both of us had terrible nights sleep. The breakfast lady was ridiculous. She was yelling on both mornings we were there. On the first, she was yelling and talking loudly and every person in the room could hear her. She was obviously stressed out and I don't blame her, but she was entirely unprofessional. On the 2nd she had cut her hand. Her hand was bleeding, and she didn't leave the room! She kept yelling and talking loudly and walking around. This went on for 20mins!

    The location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.8
    I believe it is not good that cancelation policy is one moth...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I believe it is not good that cancelation policy is one moth before the trip starts. When I booked the hotel I paid more to ensure that if I would change my mind I could cancel it, I realized then that the cancellation policy was too strict.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.1
    Jó elhelyezkedés, rugalmatlanság.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We left in the room some food and important documents, one hour later I went back to the hotel and it was not there anymore, the receptionist said the cleaning lady thrown it out and she went home. After that I saw her(the cleaning lady) and in the cleaning bag our unopened beer and foods. It was very awkward. In other hotels they shipped me the things I left there, and I think this would be the normal way(of course not the food but the documents).

    Location is great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.7
    Sophia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No reference was made to the cost of the coffee in the room was 'in addition' rather than included in the room price. Also breakfast was bread based and I am gluten intolerant and its not really a very good indication of the food in Sophia also coffee is poor! The Bulgarians are reserved, albeit understandable when we consider their history, they have little to say although, we had no problems making ourselves understood as most appeared to at least, understand what we wanted.

    Don't get me wrong, the room was fine, but then it was also rather old fashioned and dull. The food was really very good and extremely good value in Sophia. We loved 'Happy Bar and Grill'. Try the traditional tomato, Cucumber and Bulgarian cheese salad. Delicious! I had it every time. We took an excursion to Plovdiv with a great guide. It appeared to be a lovely city with great history.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complimentary tea/coffee or even a bottle of water in the room everything was charged for.

    The location of the hotel was the biggest asset...the breakfast excellent and the room was spacious and comfortable. I would definitely come back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    6.7
    Hotel for one night only
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very old and smelled like it. We were discussed by the shower and sheets had lipstick on them

    Great location, nice breakfast, nice stuff Free wifi

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Gloria Palace Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: