Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Golden Tulip Varna 4 stars

3A Hristo Botev Blvd., 9000 Varna City, Bulgaria

#30 of 70 hotels in Varna City

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 284 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very kind, freindly and helpfull staff. Romm was very clean and comforable. Bathromm was very good as well as teh location. For breakfast was ok as well too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No slippers. No kettle(water heater).Hard bed but no big deal.Breakfast so so.Machine coffee at the breakfast.

    Clean well-decorated room.Very polite smiling staff.Nice bathroom.Room service and mini bar not so expensive.Beef burger was delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception emploies are snobbish and not polite %50. Even we asked not touristic restaurants for eat and we like mostly restaurants what locals are going, Reception person send us very touristic and dangerous area . Final result we robbed and many things stolen from our car. Probably reception should be more carefull and warn the hotel client when they are forwading their customer to restaurant and places

    We also have stayed Golden Tulip in Romania several times and it was very nice so we decided to stay in same chain hotel name in Varna. Hotel is clean .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing. Hotel ticks all the boxes for me.

    Professionalism, including English skills, and politeness and efficiency of the staff. Good breakfast, and very convenient location for accessing Varna centre and its beaches. Wi-Fi is reliable and they have a good selection of TV channels in various languages. Room was ready even before the official check-in time which is always a big plus for me.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattresses were pretty hard and my room apparently still had one of the older locks (round door-knob), besides that everything was fine!

    The reception desk staff was very friendly and welcoming, helping me twice with some issues my room's door had. The room (double room, single occupancy) had a nice soft carpet across the entire floor, a minibar, lots of lights (though they didn't really light up the room too much) and big (unfortunately pretty dirty) windows. Bathroom was very clean and the rainforest-type shower was a very welcome addition. Mattresses were pretty hard, but all in all I'd give this hotel a solid 8 out of 10. Breakfast was great because they had quite a respectable buffet, including pancakes, brownies, muffins, tons of warm vegetables, scrambled eggs, etc. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would also stay again in case I come back to Varna (I should, you should...great beaches!)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In general, the hotel is good, but one thing made me mad! The blocked the amount on my credit card, but at the front desk they asked me to pay with cash. Moreover, they didn't unblock the amount on my credit card even after my checkout. Pathetic service! I had to call them 2 times to ask about this issue. Every time they told: "yes, we will unblock it now". One week passed and nothing happened. Impossible! To be honest, I have to add that the view is nice and the rooms are big.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Short list of TV channels available.

    Breakfast is with good variety, maybe more quality on coffee and juice can be added. The room is new with nice neat design. Bathroom is very spacious and clean. Improvements are obvious! Try the small sushi place on the back street. Very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would offer no complaints about this hotel.

    On arrival parking was made very easy with help from the staff, receptionists very friendly and approachable(speak excellent English). Room very comfortable, toilets and bathroom very clean. Breakfast very good and variable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dirty. From the sheets to carpet and bathroom. From a very long time I didn't so such a dirty room. I was at 11th floor and I had an executive room. The only good thing was the size of the room, very big.

    The location is just on the main street. Easy to reach by car. But impossible to find a parking place. The parking have room only for 10 cars.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is getting old, and even though there is a revitalization going on on some of the floors small issues in the room I have stayed, like not working TV remote control, railing of the curtains of the bath tab (bandaged with duct tape) etc. makes difference. The towels are also very old and worn out, need to be renewed. For 3 days I have stayed there, the main entrance sliding door was out of order, and one of the days the elevator was not working, I had to take the stairs from the 7th floor.

    Hotel location, staff is caring and friendly, car parking free of charge, good Wi-Fi in the room, general cleanliness is good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Veche e pozanemaren hotela. Triabva mu ne samo osvejitelen remont kakuvto mi kazaha che shte zapochnat skoro, a i podmianana na chast ot obzavejdaneto. Inache e chisto :-)

    Lokatsiata e dobra, personala e na nivo.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old, they need renovations and it shouldn't cost much. Start by proving new towels, hair dryers, mattresses, etc. then please improve breakfast ambience and food. And when a customer asks for a coffee at breakfast, don't charge it on the room!

    Staff at the reception is helpful and smily

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not that important but still - the hair dryer was a bit old- fashioned

    Friendly and efficient staff Spacious, air-conditioned and sound proof room Convenience of having a parking lot right behind the hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of liked a pool or other outdoor facilities.. Mini fridges were not cold enough to store my baby's food.

    Comfy bed large room and good breakfast for a good price

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like it because they let random people to come in ,, and it happen to me one guy came to my room and when I asked the reception they said that they don't know who how and why he came up

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    All answers above

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was excellant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WATER!!!

    Clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was too hard

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was clean and the breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything was fine

    i would like to visit one more time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We love the location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no cotton buds and slippers

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big rooms, very modern facilities, super comfortable, nice bathroom, fluffy carpet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shelf in shower to hold soap, shampoo. No coffee in room.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive

    Friendly closento center

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was not what was actually advertised.

    The bed and the bathroom were fine. The room was clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not that close to the pedestrian street and sea garden

    Top class business hotel, nice staff, clean, quite.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was closed and I chose this hotel because it offered this facility, if I had known I would have chosen elsewhere

    The location and staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    Great staff, comfort and food. Also good location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception-staff very friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor for a 4star rated hotel.

    The location is great and the rooms are clean. The staff is friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent place to stay for a night or commercial purposes.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location and the service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thank you for all Anton. all was good. cleen.breakfast was okay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    AC not very powerful, someone tried to hack my computer through wifi!!

    size of the room, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too much time to check out

    great room, great bathroom

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows were not that great, but adequate. Lighting in the room was a little dim, making it difficult to apply make up satisfactorily. Air conditioning not available - but was resolved by staff - see the resolution in the + section. Shower curtain rail was placed too high so water spilled on the floor. Elevator size was a bit small

    Unfortunately the weather had turned warm and the air conditioning was not due to be on until 1st May and the room was very hot. So they found us a fan and that made all the difference! Staff were very helpful and polite. Breakfast was good - great choices and plenty. Downstairs restaurant was open till very late, perfect for our delayed and somewhat late arrival. Menu was good. The semifreddo on the desert menu was surprisingly very delicious. The view from the window was good - beautiful blue sea. We had to check out at 5:30am and they made some packed lunches for us - such a bonus and very useful. We booked a spacious room and it had a good size bathroom with a deep tub. Shower worked really well too. Didn't have time to try out the fitness and sauna.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The cot provided was very torn, I had to fix it myself with a blanket so my son won't jump out of it.

    I loved the apartment we stayed in! It seemed very clean, cosy and spacious. The bathroom had everything needed!

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Internet was very poor , breakfast poor, carpet in the room not vacuumed , advertised services not available ,double bed with a single bed quilt .Typicle 2 star Varna hotel

    Location, staff

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    The staff are friendly and efficient and best of all, the room was spacious and quiet. the restaurant was great for dinner and the breakfast excellent too. A good hotel!

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room had the smell of smoke. I am not sure if they allow smoking in the hotel?

    The staff were great, friendly and and very helpful. They arranged for a taxi back to the airport and you can prepay this at reception. Breakfast selection very good.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the breakfast selection was not very good, it didn't match the rest of the services - the restaurant was fantastic, so I don't know whats wrong with breakfast - after 5 days we couldn't face it anymore so we went out for breakfast...

    excellent restaurant and open late, friendly staff good sized rooms good location

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was not a single thing bad during our stay.

    Extremely helpful staff, very comfortable bed, soft towels, retaurant for breakfast was very comfortable, not snobby or pretentious, was made to feel at home. Room service and the food was extremely good, worth every penny. Have stayed in much higher class hotels but not as comfortable as this one.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience at all but would have liked a chest of drawers in the bedroom and the cupboard doors were really hard to open. The leather sofas in the lobby were very uncomfortable and could do with renewing! Also some (silk) flowers here and there would be welcoming despite it being a business hotel.. Many hotels in W. Europe have a ( little )glass case in which to put some local crafts, gifts, postcards etc,) which again is welcoming. The 2 dinners we had in the hotel bar were ok but not exactly exciting compared to so many meals we had out.

    Very clean, staff exceptionally helpful!

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    It is an old room facilities

    Location

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We Check out at 1 PM however staff prepared snacks for us which is rare for other hotels

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Executive room is not very executive, I had to ask for extar towel ...not even the miniumum was available

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor breakfast.

    Nice people, speaking good English. Comfortable beds, and clean room. Thankyou.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good hotel

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    colder fridge

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Weather !!?!

    Friendly and helpfulstaff, great food and value for. Money.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Car parking. Was blocked in the car park around the back.

    Good location. Clean, efficient hotel.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Believe me when I tell you that have stayed in many hotels in Bulgaria but this us the best for the staff

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only good thing about it is the room!!!

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast

    Very center Clean

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No English chanel in Tv .the Gym was out of order.poor breakfast with little variety of fruits.

    Nice rooms. comfortable bed.huge bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast

    Staff was very kind. Roms was quiet and clean.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor wi-fi

    Good location, excellent service, comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast buffet was not refilled when something was gone, so you had to get up early to enjoy breakfast

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    clean,internet, staff

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice rooms, very clean and the staff are extremely professional.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was amazing, especially the customer service!

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Solo traveller

    I had to ask for the slippers! There was no slippers in the room. Food was average.

There are also 47 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Guests also reviewed these properties: