Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Melia Grand Hermitage All Inclusive 5 stars

1 Melia Alley, 9007 Golden Sands, Bulgaria

#23 of 70 hotels in Golden Sands

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 117 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    3.3
    Nothing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived, we got a different room than what we paid for and extremely dirty bathroom. We asked for a different room, no apologies offered and told to come the next day as the manager was no longer on duty. Front desk staff useless. The new room we got in the morning, I started cleaning the bathroom myself. Beds are uncomfortable, the entire room looks old, used, not maintained. No one called to follow up until I posted a bad review on trip advisor. The only thing they care is their reviews. Food is terrible, my son who is not a picky eater, was not able to eat anything but cereals with milk. We eat outside everyday. There is only one pool for everyone, just guests from Level have their own pool and nice area in the garden. Regular guest only stay on concrete. If you wanna go to the beach, this is not included. You have to pay extra 10€ for a lounge, another 10€ for an umbrella and 3€ for a mattress/ day. Mini bar is not included in All inclusive package. Parking is 10€/day. Overall, it was terrible!!! To consider twice your choice on going there.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    3.8
    Not 5 stars ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The LEVEL Junior Suite – 4 Adults
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cleaning not professional , no service after 23:00.. Far resturants ..few far bars coffe' machines..bad food .. Slow service . No real sea view .. far Spa .. Diesn't deserve 5 stars ...3 is ok

    Spa, pool , sauna

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Very good deal for all inclusive packages.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach access is paid.

    Very good deal for all inclusive packages. The variety of food is generous and it’s changing every day. The rooms are bright and clean and the housekeeping staff comes every day to clean them. The entertainment is rich and the staff organize activities on a daily schedule. It’s a very kids friendly hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Good for family vacations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium THE LEVEL Double Room with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The meals were not 5 star. Food was either over or under cooked, in general it was meh. We ended up eating out at other local places for lunch and dinner. We were booked as level guests and expected a decent dress code for dinner. This standard was not enforced and kids were allowed to ride up and down the restaurant with skate boards. Very disappointing. I'd stay here again but wouldn't take all inclusive if that's an option. Also, several times drinks from the bar or restaurant came with other people's lipstick on the glass. Waitstaff in the restaurant were slow, often we would be done with our meals before someone approached us for drinks. Check out was extra painful

    The property was in a good location. The YHI SPA was fantastic with the staff very accommodating. There is lots of entertainment. Drinks are not bad.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    Less than you pay for and that you expect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor and incomplete information related to hotel facilities received from reception..the girls there have a slightly unfriendly tone and speak a lot in their mother language looking at your travel documents, which is rude, in my oppinion. Pool closes at 20:30 but you can only take and return towels until 19:00.. absolutly confusing. And you only find that out when you get there! The stair for entering in the pool is partially broken-it misses the first step! You can easily harm your foot if you are not attentive. Credit card data is very carefully copied in their system each time you pay for anything, including parking, which, by the way..in not free at a hotel that states in has 5 stars. Reservation for "italian" restaurant has to be made until 16:00, although you only find out later when you want to reserve..The nice girls at the reception couldn't care less that they did not mention earlier, but a more kind guy at the reception called the restaurant and found a solution. Medium quality food for a 5 star hotel.. low quality soft drinks, children menu with oily fried frosen food and some pasta! Rooms not refurbished since 10 years ago when I went there for the first time! The area is half in construction. In the left side of the hotel you can see a schelet of unfinnished hotel, a depressing wreck.

    Italian restaurant staff and chef very friendly Large rooms and large swimming pool with good water temperature Golden Sands is nicer than other places in Bulgaria, for example Sunny Beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice place to stay in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - in the restaurants should be set some rules and somebody should take care that those rules are respected. ex. I saw a lot of people taking tons of food and throw half of it, washing their hands in the water vending machines, filling empty bottles with water/juice/etc. - the beer is very light - sauna could be free or included in the room price - rooms needs minor but important repairs - there is a construction site nearby, quite noisy in the mornings and evenings

    - good food - food variety - swimming pool - big room - friendly employees - lot of facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.3
    It could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Boring menu that rarely change, not so many green places to rest, no own beach, not enough number of sunbeds that are all busy just after breakfast, lack of animation activities for both adults and children

    Huge rooms, big inner pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Wood reebok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights

    I only drink orange juice for breakfast and glass of wine for dinner, but it was of low quality, I did not enjoy it at all. I would expect that 5 stars would do repainting, upholstery or other maintenance work during the winter, but it doesn't look like this is done, so it feels worn out.

    Staff is the best part of this hotel! It is amazing how sincerely dedicated they are. I am in the hotel business and the staff was beautiful experience to have every day. Food is great, fresh, vast choice. Rooms are spacious, but, hotel needs better maintenance. I nevertheless enjoyed my stay thoroughly and will remember the best Melia's staff, location, facilities and great food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.3
    if you are lazy go for it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It's too bug, too many people, a little crazy sometimes. Despite of versatility and huge quantities, the food is not great- not like Bulgarian home-made or restaurant quality, not the most fresh or ripe fruit, which we experienced staying on our own during the first week.

    All in-clusive makes your life easy, especially when with a baby. Quite big area, has it's own water slides, entertainment activities for all ages, spa, and locates literally 4 min from the sea.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.6
    All inclusive was really good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Children sleep in a sofa bed ,not very comfortable, my child was tired from it every morning.No separate bedroom for kids ,so no privacy .

    All inclusive was really good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Romance getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ventilation seems to be off ir working on a mininmum. So it's hot (no fresh air) in coridors, public areas and restaurant.

    Great infrustructure for a getaway or family holiday. Park and view are magic!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    4.2
    Overcharging & awful service - avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel overcharged, refused to refund. Front desk staff - arrogant, time wasters. Restaurant staff confrontational and money obsessed. Terrible wine & drinks Food in restaurant wrongly labelled, chicken was pork. Complete lack of customer care.

    The car park, it was empty. Good room size.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    5.8
    "thieves " they stole our jewellery from the safety box in my room and also my mother's room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    They stole our marriage rings from the safety box while the cashes had not been even touched from safety box. so when I backed home, my mother had same complain " her jewelleries were stolen!!!". they want to give you this thought that you've lost your jewellery yourself when the money still is there. thieves

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    7.1
    Ok Hotel, but needs slight updating to stay modern in today's time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1: Shower cubical is terrible, dirty and old. Needs updating ASAP. 2: Shower pressure on 9th floor is awful. If you like showers, this floor offers trickle water through the hose - literally. And the ceiling shower needs descaling as it is not functional. 3: Be careful when entering and sitting in the wrong breakfast area. You will be escorted out like you have committed a crime 4: Parking Charge is 20blv per day. For a 4Star hotel, this should be a free standard no matter what room one occupies.

    1. Size of room and bathroom were great. 2: Wifi pretty good being on the top floor 3: Great Concierge - evening staff (forget his name)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    7.5
    Always a great choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When I did the booking I was told it is not pet friendly, once I got there, ho surprise, pets are allowed. Misleading information.

    We try the spa with massage this time and that was...different a bit overprice but good overall. No worries if you did not pay the all inclusive pack with its full carbohydrates diet, few mins walking from the hotel you will find great dining options!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    5.4
    Five star price, three star vacation experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud noise from poolside bar until well past midnight. Breakfast poorly organized. Overall service quality is poor. I wrote a detailed review on Tripadvisor. Hotel offers no services at the beach. At every step you are encouraged to pay extra. Don't expect 5 star service, not even close.

    Front desk staff Leonid and Kristiana were very helpful. Location is good. Room was good. Room cleaning staff were good. Sea is mostly clean. Very close to Varna. Triumf taxi rides can be arranged online.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    The room and the Level pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium THE LEVEL Double Room with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food could be more tasty.

    The room and the Level pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    I upgraded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside hotel many service personnel could not speak english

    I upgraded.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.8
    reception staff needs training
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    reception staff needs training

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Exxxxxsellent days!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Exsellence hotel, nice personal, perfect occomndation, happy guests!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.9
    Interior pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    water temperature for outside pool

    Interior pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.9
    Interior pool- lărgește andreea Witherspoon warm water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet conection with many intrreruptions. Exteritor pool with cold wather

    Interior pool- lărgește andreea Witherspoon warm water

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.8
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    House-keeping

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Super
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We go almost every year everything is perfect!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel,i did eat very good and the room wow soo big...
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice hotel,i did eat very good and the room wow soo big and soo nice!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    6.3
    Large room;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom wasn't clean; Poor breakfast; Helpless personal.

    Large room; Great view; Underground parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    7.9
    Na
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Na

    Na

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    6.7
    Rooms are perfect, facilities and kids entertainment places...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff (except animators) was very rude, not hospitable at all, made us feel not welcome. Food on breakfast - absolutely low quality. Parking for guests of the hotel is paid, and it is more expensive than any parking in Golden Sands?!

    Rooms are perfect, facilities and kids entertainment places are excellent, location and surroundings of the hotel - superb. Animation team was very good.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    8.3
    Nice hotel, very clean, location is good, kind and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Sauna is not free for those who have not all inclusive status.

    Nice hotel, very clean, location is good, kind and helpful staff. The beach is downstairs in 2 minutes.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    8.3
    The room is wide and had a great view .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was really busy at breakfast very hard to find a table and it should be free sunbeds by the beach

    The room is wide and had a great view ... The hotel facilities are perfect for families... Animation team and housekeeping are fabulous

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    8.3
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A five star hotel should offer more than one choice of coffee for the all-inclusive clients, especially when it is the option is only instant. A regular coffee could be purchased but it is highly overpriced

    The location

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is one girl at the main bar, Svetoslava, she is always rolling her eyes when you ask for something. It is like she is doing you a favor... Everyone else is great.

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    6.7
    Location: Ok Room: Ok Garden view : Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location: Ok Room: Ok Garden view : Good. Is actualy a nice, big forest. Food: Ok Staff: under any standard. Not ok Golden Sands: very nice Bulgarian people: very nice Serices in Golden Sands : good to very good Prices: fair enough. Good. Again - Staf Melia g h : not very nice. Actually bad Elevators : nightmare . Do not book a room higher than 3 rd floor. You will be forced to use the stairs some times as the elevators are a total mess.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    5.4
    Very poor breakfast: chaotic organisation of the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Relatively comfortable rooms.

    Very poor breakfast: chaotic organisation of the breakfast area, overloaded, very basic quality of the food. The hotel is overloaded - too big for the existing elevators.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    10
    The place was immaculately clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The food was not great. You could always find something to eat but sometimes the "pickings were slim". The elevators had a "rush hour" time when it was difficult to get down to the dinning area, occasionally one of the elevators was not working properly and would stop on every floor even though no one was there to get on.

    The place was immaculately clean! The common areas were spotless and our room was always cleaned each day very well. The towels were large and plentiful and the bed was comfortable. The staff were very friendly. The waterslide was well maintained as were the grounds. The indoor pool is large and clean. My children had a good time swimming indoors and not worrying about sunburns.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    6.3
    The indoor facilities were adequate but the location of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff on reception need full training because some lacked manners and we wouldn't recommend anyone to stay there just because of their rudeness. Completely unacceptable behaviour from staff of a 5 star hotel.

    The indoor facilities were adequate but the location of the hotel was ideal. The rooms were large enough with a fantastic sea view.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    7.9
    Swimming pool is nice, location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed is little hard, pillows are not comfy no water boiler, coffee, tea and water botels at the rooms like other hotels Stayed at the 9th floor which got no Elivator Some of the stuff are little hard to deal with

    Swimming pool is nice, location is good Breakfast is good but needs more staff to be added Free wifi is food but bad at the lobby sometimes

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    5.8
    Location and cleaness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They said when we checked in we can have a late check out as per booking reservation but next day they said this is not possible. They also charged us when we checked in which is strange. Breakfast was crowded and food was mostly from cheap products.

    Location and cleaness

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    7.1
    I really liked the rooms, spacious, comfortable bed and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Management should invest in English courses for his staff. Is quite inadmissible for a 5 stars hotel not to have English speaking staff. Besides girls from reception all the other staff that we interacted with, couldn't talk in English, German or French. Although we went in May, so not in the season peak, a 5 star hotel should have all its restaurants open. We could eat only in buffet restaurant with not so many options to choose from and quite expensive for 2 persons. it would be nice that during extra season to have a heated outdoor pool. No visual directions on how to get to the hotel in Golden Sands. The hotel should invest in some outdoors that would facilitate the way to the hotel. Expensive parking if going there by car.

    I really liked the rooms, spacious, comfortable bed and pillows, nice furniture. Hotel was well maintained with nice gardens and nice staff. Location was fine. Nice spa services.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    10
    Everything, exept their clients.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Gr8 hotel, but the clients..they were so low quality, so cheap, so rude, so ..not 5 stars. To much yelling, no dress code at restaurant. The people walk in restaurant in bathrobe, playing with the elevator in an anoying way. I dont know how came the the hotel is still up and in function with this type of guets. Drunk ppl from so much all inclusive. Even more, people comming from home with their own 10 l bottle of wine and after all making like monkeys. Awfull! What a lost for the hotel!

    Everything, exept their clients.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    5.0
    The Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service no choice of restaurants

    The Location

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    7.5
    Nice and big room, decent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Located uphill

    Nice and big room, decent food

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    7.5
    Good location, very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was too crowded and disorganized.

    Good location, very nice hotel.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.6
    The staff was very professional and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Currency exchange office was not the best deal in the area.

    The staff was very professional and kind.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    7.5
    The animation team are wonderful people
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The animation team are wonderful people

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: