Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Bansko 4 stars

5 Glazne Str., 2770 Bansko, Bulgaria

#50 of 93 hotels in Bansko

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 833 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inconsistent housekeeping staff: the toiletries & coffee/ tea weren't replaced, so we had to ask for them. When we told the guest relations lady, she sent the housekeeper who spoke no English to our room. Instead, she should have told her our request & got the items replaced. Eventually, after going back & forth, the matter was resolved with satisfaction.

    The comfort & value for money, because it was a very good price! The complimentary fruit basket was a nice touch. The helpful & friendly receptionists. The location was perfect too & it's just in front of the bus station!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we rented apartment with two bedrooms - TV had no signal in both bedrooms - some of the personal weren't very nice and were rude

    - good spa - good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff behavior. The gaming room equipment was not in a good condition.

    The restaurant, the spa center, the room, the big parking, the lobby bar

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa area was the most crowed I have ever seen in my life. That is enough reason not to repeat the visit it as a spa destination. And there was only 1 working elevataor at the hotel.

    Functional bathroom and very good breakfast. The room was with great mountain view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 1-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You are the best

    The hotel was perfect,staff exellent,great service,comgortable rooms,spa center perfect,location excellent,food tasty always warm and varied rooms were clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    For three days they had only set up the bed, had not changed sheets and towels, had not cleaned the used glasses, had not added any soaps. On the fourth day they did not clean at all, they only took the towels and left me without towels, only when I complained they gave me towels and did not clean the room Only on the fifth day , they clean the room properly because I was angry with them and complained

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel's location is at the entrance of the town, far away from the city center and the ski lift, so you need to use the hotel's shuttle bus or take your car.

    The Breakfast buffet was very good and plentiful! The Hotel Spa Center is excellent with warm water pools, saunas and steam rooms! There is a small Casino next to the bar for those who wish to play. The room was clean, warm and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had great holidays with very good food in the hotel's restaurant and Lounge Bar with fireplace during the cold winter days. Excellent staff serving and responding immediatly as expected for the hotel rate. Transfer to mountain gondola lift and 5 min walking from historical town centre of Bansko with.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service, service, service Adriana at the front desk very rude, unprofessional... Service at the lounge bar nice, fun and very good but manager of lounge bar doesn’t do nothing that he should do, no need for him, unprofessional

    Spa, food...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It is a bit of a walk into town if you want to go when the shuttle bus isn't running. We could hear the TV in the room next door. There was just one jacuzzi which was always busy.

    A good range of food - we went during a national holiday and traditional food was made accordingly. The spa was great - a good range of facilities. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The shuttle bus into town was very useful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Customer service nonexistent. Staff is rude, barely speaks English and has no experience in the hospitality sector. WiFi never worked as they have a home router that can handle minimal use of fewer than 4 devices. But the most negative thing was that they have double charged me for my room and tried to trick me to avoid a refund. Initially, they acknowledged their mistake after i spotted it, but then started a game of hide and seek with managers disappearing after telling me that they are going to call me back in 5 minutes and other fake promises. In the end, they refused to refund me with no valid excuse. Had to escalate with booking to get my money back, two months later. Extremely unprofessional behavior from a so called 4-star hotel. If there was a negative review, I would have given it to this property. I rarely write reviews but my frustration was such that I had to warn future guests. Definitely, a must avoid!

    The Spa is decent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Music with a lot of monotonous rhythms, loud music that is transmitted to the upper floors

    Wonderful SPA center, diversity of content, magnificent LOUNGE BAR where smoking is allowed,rooms are comfortable and clean ,kind staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were supposed to wait for towels and bathrobes until 6pm in order for the cleaning ladies to bring them up. There are two parking lots in the hotel one in front which you pay additionally and one in the back (free of charge) where is dark and although not very safe, but in front there are only few parking spaces which were usually taken.

    Very good and delicious food in the restaurant, kind and nice reception stuff, fitness center was perfect and the rooms were comfortable and warm. Spa center was fully operational.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room must be ready in time for our accommodation. The shower cabin is so steady that the floor of the bathroom and the toilet are always wet. You should wear a towel from the room in the gym and spa area. The 5 star gym needs to invest in towels for the convenience of visitors.

    We were greeted very politely and even offered a drink while waiting for our room to be cleaned. All the time the staff were very polite. The food is varied and well prepared. The spa area is excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    worst bathroom ever - could not shower without the water running in the room, not so pleasant smells in the spa and no towels, quite far from the center and gondola

    very good breakfast, friendly staff, very nice spa but poorly maintained

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was generally cold, luke warm at best! For a 4 Star hotel this was very poor. I saw vegetable soup coming out one night and went straight for it, it was cold!

    The room was fine and the staff friendly generally. Nelly and Marina in the restaurant were helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We have been booked an apartment with balcony, but we did not get one. Instead, they put us in the dark, dirty room, and when we complained, they give us another bad room without balcony. Tomorrow, they gave us third room this time with balcony, but without kitchen - remember - we booked apartment. Our price was 135 Euro per day, for two of us, BB. At the end of our stay at the hotel, they offer to us 13,5o Euro as compensation for the first night, when we have not been at the propriety room!!! They were very unpleasent, they told us that is mistake at the booking.com because they did not wrote that every room has a balcony, that we did not seen as well, etc., etc. We have paper of our reservation and it is very clear that there is a balcony. And, in the hotel have not the room which is at the photo on the booking.com. We change three rooms, no one has a bathroom as well, only shower and water should getting out directly from the floor. It is the shame, hotel has 4 stars, but every pictures at their sight is fake. We travel a lot, but something like that, did not seen (expect the Mistral at the Lefkas, Greece) in the past three years and over the ten different places. Our recommendation is that this hotel should be off the booking.com, because they gave the very fake information and their accommodation is not as they show it on the booking.com. We have very bad experience also about the clean of the rooms, because you can see all kind of dirty everywhere. We will put some photo with this letter, so You can see what is really is in that "Hotel". With all my respect, Bora Jovanovic-Dzaril

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning services. They really need to improve this. Swimming pool Slippery floor in spa area The same food every day (breakfast and dinner) The view we had from a room in block B was very sad No wifi signal in the room

    Restaurant staff Sauna

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1-Bedroom Apartment (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much vegetables for the dinner although good variety of meat and fish

    Variety of activities is possible, Spa after skiing feels wonderful, good gym, nice and causy lobby

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi signal was not great

    The property was perfect. The rooms were confortable and clean. The spa is amazing. The food is great. The staff is friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They are the smelliest rooms I've ever stayed in. We had to leave the window open all the time during the day. Our friends who stayed at the same hotel had a similar problem. The rooms are very small. In a standard room, there is no chair, nor desk. For a 4-star hotel, this is not acceptable.

    I enjoyed the breakfast which offers lots of choices. Same story for the dinner. The staff was nice, trying to be helpful, but everything stops when it comes about that "extra mile". Also, the hotel has a large free parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    WiFi connection was poor. I didn't like so many chefs in the dinning area. I believe it is the job of the waitresses to refill and restock buffet.

    Spa was fantastic!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rudeness and incompetence of staff, terrible food, broken down amenities, spiders in our hotel room

    there was a bath in the middle of the room, which was unexpected.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms - cold, Bathrooms - nice but very cold, Stuff - in general very rude and unprofessional with a very few exceptions. Except the spa and the gym, the hotel does not have the standards of a 5 star hotel, it has a small play room for kids but overall (rooms, restaurant...) definitely not child friendly.

    Spa - great, Breakfast & dinner - great, lobby bar - interesting, game room & play room (for kids) - nice gym - excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don’t give additional towels at the spa center. The pool is very small and crowded.

    Whole spa center, except the pool. Cold pool was fantastic. Food, restourant, parking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was served the same meat for two days but cooked in a different way... disliked it .. the bus to the gondola could do more trips .. a hotel like that should have more trips per day to the center since the hotel is far way ..

    Room was nice and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an apartment it was very disappointing the bathroom lock didn’t work the doors didn’t close and the bathrooms were awful.The beds were terrible

    The lobby was very good so is the spa so does the breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all, we booked an amount and they withdraw another 300eur in plus for the New Years dinner even if it wasn’t written on booking about this or what it contains. The big surprise was that it was a normal dinner that we were supposed to have included and extra only one bottle of wine for 4 persons. We ask reception for 2 more bathroom robes since we had only 2 in an apartment of 4 people and one empty glass of water. We haven’t received anything till the end of the trip. Nobody came to clean the room, we had to call them in the second night and they just came to take the garbage and to bring us toilet paper...no other cleaning. In the New Years dinner, the waiters were drinking and eating from the tables. Only few people from the staff knows English and are very unpolite and not smiling at all. The lady from the spa even accused us for stealing the robes when we requested them 2 because we didn’t had in the room. Unfortunately, they ask for a lot of money and they give 2 stars (max 3) services. We really don’t recommend and for sure we will not return. Pay attention before booking to this hotel because if you claim something they will tel you that it was written on the website, but even the English version of it, it is in Bulgarian!!

    Spa zone

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airconditioning wasn't working and the radiator as well. It was a bit cold. The pool in the spa center looks like it is pretty dirty, it had oilish look, with a layer of dirt on top.

    Nice room and nice spa center

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionists were not very polite and cooperative. The people in the restaurant were non stop asking to take the dirty dishes and this is a bit annoying. The good point is that there is more than enough clean plates and forks. :)

    The SPA is wonderful. Clean and comfortable rooms. The cleaning lady is helpful and nice.The food is perfect-delicious and different every day and quite big variety of dishes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overly aggressive personnel during meals. If you dont pay attention, your plate is gone in blink of an eye, regardless if you are in the middle of the meal, they dont care. The same personnel speaks ONLY Bulgarian. They dont understand word of English so take care when you order beer or water.

    Food, SPA, Lounge, all excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For five days the room has not been cleaned once furthermore it had been already dirty at check in. Shower cabin was damaged (missing front door), siphon in the bathroom was not working properly and very weak lights in the rooms. The traffic noise in the bedroom. Lack of swimming pool. Almost none wi-fi connection in the rooms.

    Excellent SPA and fitness facilities. A very good breakfast. Friendly staff at reception.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smaller than expected. Shower was not working properly. Low light in the bathroom.

    Very good gym and SPA. Excellent food. Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The massages we got in the paid Spa zone.

    Great hotel, renovated since the last time we were there. Our room was great, big bathroom, really good food, great free Spa - maybe the biggest in Bansko. Overall we liked everything, except the massages we got in the paid Spa zone.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Despite I made my reservations using booking.com, I was asked to transfer the money for the booking in advance. This somehow not fit in the idea the reservation to be fast and simple; - The parking is not big enough. When the hotel is full, there isn't enough places; - The indoor pool is too small, I think even half of the hotel is full, the pool will be overcrowded. When the hotel is completely full, the inside pool is not usable; - There are a lot of steps and stairs around and inside the hotel. When travelling with baby stroller, it is very uncomfortable; - The hot water comes after a couple of minutes especially in the night; - The bathroom/WC in the apartment is incredible small; - The Coca Cola products are not included in the All-Inclusive offer;

    + The apartment was quite clean; + The variety and quality of food; + Big TVs with great channel selection, including paid movie and sports channels; + Huge variety of SPA facilities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is far from the center and ski lifts, everything else is perfect!

    The breakfast is great, the beds are so comfort and the SPA is amazing! I recommend this hotel for everyone, especially for young couples.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Reception was poor like we bother them. 2. In First room there was toilet leakage after 1 hour to move to another room (As said: we upgrade you to a room with view -only by bending through the window there was a view) we got a room without a phone and they did not wanted to give and connect a phone although it is in room facilities,so no wake up call and no phone in case of emergency- another 1 to 1 and a half hours of arguing-so night came and we could not rest or go to spa or pool. 3. no pen/pencil or note book 4. At the shower no door or curtain so all water gone to the all floor .The floor was slippery,no towel for the floor and it was very dangerous to stand in water and activate the hair dryer. 5. water were worm but not hot 6. No tissue in room 7. Heating at the shower did not work 8. Reception team is nice only to Bulgarian guests

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff are not professional, no smile at all, they dont know any language but Bulgarian. The rooms are very dark. The heating in the room and bathroom doesnt working. Parking? There is no parking. If you want to park you car in front of hotel you mast pay 5e, thats ridiculous. This is not hotel with 4 stars.

    SPA is the best in this Hotel. The food is great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there at september for a weekend. I asked for a baby crib the moment we made a reservation, but when we arrived - we had to wait for 2 hours to get the crib to the room. And then it didn’t fit through the door of the bedroom! The sheets at the bedroom had holes. We booked a one bedroom apartment and there was no balcony! We had to pass through the stairs to make it to the elevator-with a baby stroller! When I asked the girl on the reception about that-she said that I can leave the stroller at the reception. And then I should carry the baby and the stuff to the third floor?! I booked an apartment to make it more comfortable for us since it’ s our first time there with the baby so I can prepare his food, but in the kitchen there was apsolutly-NOTHING! No dish, no spoon, no fork, no glass-nothing! Completly empty! The outdoor pool is at the other side of the street. We couldn’ t pay at the end with a card! Non sense!

    The food was great and we really liked the spa!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All inclusive is allmost half inclusive. You have restricted time for it like happy hour and restricted area (you can not drink for free in the lobby), and it was until 21:30 local time. So if you whant to drink something after 21:30 you are paing it :) how poor is that. Second thing is: when we booked, we were asked by booking how old are the children, we answerd and the whole reservation was 304 euro, free for the children. So, when we arrived they told us to pay for one of the kids - verry unprofesional!

    The spa was very good, probobly the best in Bansko. The food was good all so.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No rules enforced in the wellness area (kids allowed, no towels provided). AC in the room not working. One TV channel in English only. Room service insufficient (beds not done). Not suitable for relaxing due to small kids everywhere.

    Great wellness area. Perfect for families with small kids.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unprofessional staff, many employees did not speak English. The outdoor pool is only accessible by crossing a very busy street. Annoying very loud club music in the lobby and breakfast hall.

    Very good spa and gym

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults +1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures of the rooms on the booking.com site do not match the reality when you arrive there, Nobody change my towels or bedshits for the all 6 days.

    The room is not exactly 4 stars. The food was excellent some nights. A bit repetitive i ve have to say.The drinks are all inclusive only on the restaurant snd lounge bar. The outdoor swimming pool which you have to cross a busy street to go there , do not give you any all inclusive drinks. Only the entrance is free, but is amazing for the comfort and the view. The spa is indeed a 4 star location but the swiming pool is a bit too small for the amount of people there. For children lots of breakfast choices.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is poorly trained, they speak very little English, most of them don't smile or interact at all with the customers. Several mistakes were made and instead of apolagising they lie about it and act as if the customer is to blame. They cannot garantee a room with airco (a must in summer!). When many people have breakfast at the same time they cannot keep up with washing the glasses and the cutlery, so there is a shortage.

    I liked the location and the facilities (small indoor pool, larger outdoor pool, a sauna, a gym). Some rooms had great airco, others an airco that worked poorly or no airco at all. A bath robe for each person in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room i check was deluxe, but it was not. Very slippery floor at spa area. Be careful. All the meals are not so good.

    Spa facilities were very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit hot and the flush in the toilet stopped working so we had to have them repair it twice.

    Really spacious room and big double bed. Make sure you read you have AC in the room because it is hot in the summer . They breakfast is one of the top 1% breakfast I have ever had in any hotel . Huge variety and everything is fresh . Very helpful friendly and helpful staff. The bus station and train station are 5 minutes walk from the hotel and 20 minutes walk to the center. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we booked the hotel it listed everything that was included in the room (balcony, air-conditioning...etc.) when we got there it turned out that our room was without a balcony! I asked the receptionist why we didn't have a balcony and he explained that when we made the reservation we had to ask for one (nowhere did it say that I have to specifically ask for a balcony!!!) Anyways, I told him that I want a room with a balcony and he explained that I had to choose...a room with a balcony or a room with air-conditioning... I CAN'T have both! We ended up picking the room with the balcony and WITHOUT the air-conditioning...regardless of the fact that we didn't have air-conditioning...we still had the outside part of the air-conditioning on our balcony...it turns out that it belonged to the room next door!!! We had the pleasure of listening to the loud noises it made and the hot air it blew out ALL night!!! I also don't recommend this hotel for families with babies (with strollers) there are stairs everywhere! At the entrance of the hotel...you can't go in unless you climb 5-6 steps, in order to get to the elevator you have to go through stairs...there are stairs EVERYWHERE!!! Another thing...nobody cleans the room or changes the sheets, no matter how long your stay is! Overall we are very disappointed!

    The food was ok.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First of all, the food is very low quality. I barely could choose one thing over lunch and one thing over dinner to eat. They offer the lowest possible quality of products there is on the market. And the food is not tasty at all. Also, SPA was very noisy and full of children, although there are signs that children under the age of 12 should not be in the jacuzzi and pool. I understand parents are paying for themselves, but since their children stay at the hotel for free, I assume they should not overcrowd the relax zones and SPA. I chose it because of the nice SPA, and this time I could not relax. You cannot spend 5 minutes without hearing loud talking, laughter and noise. Absolutely horrific. Room--this time the room's size was okay, but there were very strong lights outside, looking at our room, so we could not sleep. There were no towels, and when we asked- they left us only two towels! No seperate one for hands, no seperate one for feet.... In the bathroom, there was no soup holder under the shower, the bathroom looks very basic, not a 4 star one. I get it that they want to target the budget travellers, coming from the villages in Macedonia, so we will definitely not going to book with them ever again.

    We visit this hotel quite often, and I may say this was our last time. Nothing was okay, and I wonder how come so many people visit it. Maybe it is because those are travellers on a budget.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ac was very noisy and requir maintenance The guy from reception was very excited to inform me about the extra charge for my kids even forget to say welcome !! I booked 1 bed room apt. With sofa bed .

    Its ok . They have very nice Spa

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sheets on the bed were old an used, and had holes in them. The Air-conditioner worked poorly we were unable to cool off the room with it. Lucky it was cold outside so we opened the windows at night. You can only pay with Euro's or Lev(Bulgarian Money), they didn't accept dollars.

    The room was big, and the bathroom was really nice. They only have one Jacuzzi and it can fit maybe 4-6 people. But overall it's a nice place to stay to relax for a day or 2. Their breakfast was amazing, they had a ton of choice, and it was all you can eat.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fruits at breakfast are served not washed Bathroom in our room flooded when trying to take a shower.

    The hotel is very close to the old centre - max 10 min walking distance. The outside swimming pool was not yet ready - it is under construction.The SPA centre is very well organised- a lot of facilities and excellent variety. Stay there could be excellent if the air was clean and fresh - but the ventilation or air conditioning is not enough strong . Unfortunately after our stay there for 2 hours we came our with head ache. Massage was excellent. Breakfast - sufficient variety - fruits should be offered washed and clean. Room was big and comfortable. But there was a a problem with the bathroom- we could not take a shower as the floor was immediately flooded- clogged drain perhaps.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is too small.. water seemed to be not clean. Our shower in the room was broken. Also there was no other light than the bedroom lights. I think the main lamp was defect simply not working.

    We really loved the SPA center. Rooms were really warm. Actually we really like the hotel and the staff. Recommended!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Darkness and too little light in corridors ++ 2. I could have free beer but my wife could not get free Koka-Kola or other soft drink Shit !! this is not ALL inclussive it is full board for full board it is ok for all inclussive to ones not drinking alcohol - it is lousy not ok

    spa

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1-Bedroom Apartment (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their is a constantly smell of smoke. In the lobby area and even in our room the smell got stocked to the sheets and clothes. We were staying in c zone maybe if we were in other zone it would different... I think that the reason for the smoking smell comes from the casino which located in the lobby floor

    The food was nice, all inclusive.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1) No enterance to ski room in the hotel and Skii room is not enough for hotel capacity 2) Room smells too bad. 3) The capinet door wasn't working. 4) Room was dark because light was not 5) Minibar wasn't refreshed Daily. 6) Reception staff must be smile a bit.PLEASE ! 7) There wasn't any sheet for 3rd person.(We made reservation for 3 people) 8) There wasn't any bathrobe.Called the reception for it two times but they brought it 2 hours later.

    1) Spa 2) Hotel price

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am a airline staff who is traveling a lot and could easily say that Grand Bansko Hotel is the worst place I have ever stayed . From the first day to check out, in every manner hotel staff was so rude and did every effort to make us uncomfortable. After a long drive to the hotel, what I was looking for was a warm welcome and helpful staff to make us feel at a peaceful place which might be a good start to our holiday. But unfortunately against all my expectations reception staff was so rude, and instead of welcoming, the first words of the receptionist was asking me if I came with my own car and where did I parked it, because the parking place in front of hotel was subject to a fee of 10BGN. Although I am a genious booking.com member and eligible for a free parking we couldn't agree on this issue and since the receptionist threatened me that the free parking at the back side of the hotel is not safe. I left my car in front of the hotel on cost of 10BGN/day After getting the room key I was looking for someone to take our luggages to room but since the Bellboy was not so willing to help us, I had to carry all the stuff by myself. I was thinking that the only problem might be with the front desk staff but it was not like that; About our room, although I requested for a silent room the room reserved for us was just next to a group of teenager who were always noisy and running around. Since there was no shower curtain or other means of protection in the bathroom, taking shower was a real problem, after shower all the ground was becoming wet and it was not possible to get in for other need without getting wet while walking around. After first experience of wet ground I call for house keeper to clean up the place, but as her other colleagues she was again rude. And since I didn't like to meet up with same attitude, I just kept one extra towel to clean up the ground for the rest of the stay.

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Firstly arriving at the hotel was fine, the place looks nice check in easy and was very happy, Checking into room, looked small, no balcony and no view(Not what we paid for) They moved us to a new room the day after. Friends also had to change their room due to standard and what we paid. (Still happy at this point and pleased didn't take notice of bad reviews) Then I started to realise the hotel is not as it seems on arrival. Lift didn't work to change rooms, so had to struggle luggage's up to third floor from first New room was bigger, but no hot water, we complained and they sent a guy up to check, he didn't speak English and just stood there running the water for 10 minutes. (2 days in a row this happened) We complained and we asked to speak with manager (They lied and said not available, later to find out he was there) Shower floods the bathroom and the shower head is directly facing the toilet :S Finally hot water. TV doesn't work the following day. However this seems nothing compared to the disgusting cold food, green mould on the croutons. We chose hotel due to spa and as we were all skiing really wanted a nice place to relax, and we saw all positive reviews for this hotel - We Did not get to use it once!!!!! Packed with people and kids. (open for locals it seems) No room for me and my partner to even sit in the pool at all. Finally leaving the hotel. Left luggage in lock up as we needed to check out room 4 hours before leaving. Just before taxi arrived, I realised my small hand luggage had disappeared. I start panicking and demanding the staff to look at the cameras and find my case- Taxi was waiting outside at this point. The staff and manager all speaking in Bulgarian whilst I am panicking and shouting, they all seem to know something,.

    close enough to walk to ski lifts, although taxis are super cheap.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking area insufficient, same more furniture in the room could be better (room 313) . Balcony door need some improvement. Take care in the city streets , lots of holes.

    The room was good , special the bathroom; food was just amazing haw good can be. Excellent Wi-Fi. All indoor facilities. Very clean everywhere.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wifi was horrible. Food was cold. Kettle in room did not work. Sofa bed was broken. Stupidly designed shower makes a mess every time someone washes.

    Nice Decor. Some of the staff was very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    LAST YEAR WE CAME AND IT WAS GREAT,THIS WHY WE CAME AND THIS YEAR,TOO,BUT FOOD IN HALF-BOARD WAS NOT GOOD FOR 4 STAR HOTEL,LAST YEAR WAS A LOT BETTER AND MORE FOOD OPTIONS FOR VEGETARIANS AND IN GENERAL,so food this year is like 2 star hoteL,except fruits I didn't have what to eat :( And all drinks are paying,so AquaPanna was 4€ 750ml each time we had breakfast or dinner,coffee in the morning was TERRIBLE,some old machine with powder milk and something that has just colour of coffee! Not coming again here,unfortunately .... NOT good value for money! Seems like 3 star hotel and for groups,not for real EU standards of 4star hotel

    Good if u r coming with car(has paid and not paid parking) Has mini bus to gondola Spa is ok,specially after skiing

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't offer ski pass and only few of their people speak poor english. One of our room have very big problem with the evacuation of the water from the shower so we announce the reception but they don't fix it. We have to use a towel for manual water evacuation from our bathroom every time when we make shower.

    Overall the facilities offer for our money was good, ski room and SPA especially.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food assortment was very poor and didn't change for the whole week. We had changed three rooms within 24hrs because the toilet didnt work and there was cigarettes smell. Poor wifi connection in rooms.

    I pretty much liked the spa.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The cleaning ladies are bellow every level for four star hotel. No replacement of towels, toilet paper, free toiletries, tea, coffee, etc...everything which comes with the room. This is unacceptable and must be improved. One must ask everything additionally and it comes by request...Sometimes room is very late cleaned and get ready.. It ruins the overall good impression for the hotel.

    Good value for the money. Excellent hotel, very well maintained.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location: Far from the center of the town and the ski lifts. Room: Uncomfortable bed and pillows, the bath cabin was leaking from everywhere you can imagine. SPA: Never seen a dirtier pool than this one, we didn't dare getting in. Some of the showers were broken. Children are allowed in the sauna and steam bath and it tends to get very noisy. The SPA area was overcrowded as the hotel is very big. If you are trying to relax this is NOT your place! Restaurant: although breakfast and dinner buffet seem big, the quality is very bad. The food is tasteless and you see right away you are offered only extremely low quality and cheap products. The waiters have not received any training at all, they are not familiar with the menu and come every 5 minutes to ask if they can take your plate away.

    Spacious room, parking possibilities

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - The floor was not clean at all. Full of hair. - The shower was not working very good. - 3 lifts in our block. None of them worked when we arrived. - Very crowded and noisy in the lobby and in the restaurant, no private space when taking breakfast and dinner. - far from the Ski Resort. About 2.2 km or half an hour walking.

    - Spa - Free bus to the Ski resort. Howether, it was running just on some specific hours. - Comfortable bed

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was extremely unhelpful during the booking process, and again at checkout. Before arriving I had to contact the hotel multiple times to provide credit card information after being threatened with a room cancellation, despite having already provided all needed credit card and booking information through booking.com over 1 month prior. While at the hotel, we had an emergency and had to cut our trip short to return to the UK, and leave 2 nights early. The hotel front desk staff initially agreed to refund one night of our stay. However upon checkout the next morning, they refused to honor that refund and I had to spend 30 minutes escalating the problem to the management. The manager initially said it would be 'impossible to refund money', and then finally relented after lengthy discussion, and gave a partial refund for the last night. Furthermore, the hotel is not Grand by any stretch...the rooms are cold and housekeeping had not cleaned the room by 5pm, and the lobby and bar was full of people in bathrobes and cheesy photographers trying to sell pictures to the guests. Not walking distance to the ski lift, and the first shuttle was not until 8:30, so we took taxis to the lift.

    The breakfast buffet was nice. The front desk taxi hailing service was great, as it made it easy to leave the hotel. We used this a lot...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overcrowded spa facilities, full of misbehaved kids. no relaxation really possible there. breakfast buffet as well as dinner buffet were to be ashamed of!! really disgusting and drinks are extra with 4euros the bottle of water!! we stayed there on the christmas weekend, the buffet were no better, not a little effort for christmas eve!! we will never go back there again!! it is not the cheapest hotel in bansko, yet the services and facilities are really cheap. we were expected what we had paid for. really disappointing...

    the transfer from the hotel to the ski lift is ok. the hotel is far from the ski lift.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's been a long time since I had such bad service in a hotel. It was purely amazing how nobody cared about a client. It felt like the hotel was run by kids w/o adult supervision. We came around 1.30 and they refused to check us in until 2. Ok, fair enough but seriously? At 2 they told us the room wasn't ready! So we finally got in at 2.30 (mind we had two little kids). When we got in the room it didn't have any towels/bathrobes whatsoever. We had to find a room service lady to bring those items. Stuff at the restaurant was just ridiculous pretending they couldn't understand our requests (for extra bottle of gas water). It was like we spoke dead language where in reality we explained it in three including their native Bulgarian. The restaurant itself was big with a variety of..umm...not fresh food that just migrated from breakfast to dinner and to breakfast again. One night I asked a waiter for a cup of tea and he responded that they didn't have it. He suggested that I go to the lobby and buy it there. It takes me a lot of effort not to swear right now but, what the what? The whole ignorance thing continued throughout the next two days. The room wasn't cleaned, the towels weren't replaced. We got sick of asking and demanded to speak to the manager. Guess what? The manager didn't show up. At all. (S)he was out the whole time. This hotel is a fraud spending its money on massive advertisement instead of hiring and training its personnel and a manager! I would never recommend this place to anybody and make sure my friends don't end up in that place.

    SPA was the only good thing about the hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not stroller friendly...the AC/Heat system seems a little off...some of the play stuff advertised on the site for kids wasn't available Parking

    friendly staff...clean big rooms, decent buffet, WARM pool and an EXCELLENT spa

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Inside pool not enough big as the capacity of the hotel. No hot water in the room all the time ( you should ask the reception). Restaurant wasn't enough for the guests, you should wait for free table.

    The room was quite big, clean and warm. The spa was exellent. Inside pool hot enough. The food was good , various, delicious but to much cold meals.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking inside the hotel , cold food every day and every time , no outdoor pool ( 2 years now ) not enough tables at the dinner and lunch must wait every time to get one !

    The room !

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the food was cold in the evening. we stayed 3 nights and didnt see any smile from staff including receptionists and waiters. they are bored and didnt enjoy working there. slippery floor in spa. you need to cross street in a bathrobe to go to outdoor pool.

    the hotel is new with very big spa center. i did full body massage 45 min 25 euros and it was very good. walking distance to the city center. you need to pay the parking in front of the hotel but there is free parking on the other side.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food - the food is diverse - there is variety of salads, meals, desserts, breakfasts, if they run out of sth it is instantly repalced, but the food prepared there is not very delicious. However salads, cheese, etc. are fine.

    SPA. Just perfect. Spa center is really large with several saunas, steam baths, jakuzi, cold pool, etc. You have the feeling of real relax, it is not one of those tiny spa that you feel squeezed inside. Cleanliness Staff is very polite and responsive.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Food was always cold and not much variation day on day, except the milk for breakfast cereal which was hot?? Room was a little tired compared to the photos but was large enough. Not many english speakers

    We stayed in a 2 bed apartment half board for a week in Aug 2016. went over to attend the Jazz festival. Overall nice hotel with good spa facilities, on lower edge of town which was fine out of Ski season.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the first impressions were really bad - parking is completely disorganized and you can park on all four sides of hotel but there were no available spots when we arrived (and many other guests)... furthermore, one elevator was not working (no notification on the doors or something), and our room card was not working either... these seems like small issues, but they show whether Hotel cares about guests or not. sauna and indoor pool are excellent but overcrowded due to free entrance. There are lot of loud kids and adults that dont have sauna manners - some girls were taking selfies in the quiet room!!! I know that hotel can not be responsible for all the guests, but can at least try to educate them or to impose some minimal rules. restaurant room is not that big, but hotel made it worst because they use really big chairs that occupy so much space and it is almost impossible to walk around (and it is buffet dinner...) + hotel uses largest table cloths I have seen in my life, and they constantly end up on the floor and being stepped on by guests... sanitary? all of this is upsetting because hotel could be 10 times better with these small improvements and with better management... and not forget that you have to wait at check out for cleaning lady confirmation that room is OK - meaning that you did not steal bathrobe or maybe TV. I have not seen that since my high school excursions....

    value for money without any doubt but it can be so much better wit little effort.... Very large spa area, very large outside pool area (across the street from the hotel). Breakfast is very good, dinner was OK but it can be better. Do not try ice cream from the machine, its awful! rooms are small, but sufficient. Rooms have balconies, but our had two air condition outside units so we could not use it... and without chairs as well. Bansko center is lovely and only 10 minutes walk from hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: