Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Bulgaria hotel reviews
  3. Pazardzhik Province hotel reviews
  4. Velingrad hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Grand Hotel Velingrad

Reviews of Grand Hotel Velingrad This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

50, Saedinenie Blvd., 4600 Velingrad, Bulgaria

#2 of 37 hotels in Velingrad

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1251 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    10
    After the rework things are incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, everything was super.

    I have stayed at the Grand on numerous occasions and have always been very happy with everything but this is the first time after the re-work and it was excellent, the new steam rooms etc are wonderful. Staff in the restaurant were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    7.9
    Staff were very nice and helpful everywhere in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had higher expectations , it seemed like budged 5star hotel but for a lot of money. Rooms definitely need renovation in my opinion

    Staff were very nice and helpful everywhere in the hotel. Spa is nice although big pool is not so hot

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    5.0
    They have more to work for their stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When entering the lobby you don’t feel like you enter a 5*hotel. Low ceiling that makes you feel in a trap. The smell from the bathroom was not good and was extremely hot. One man is serving in the lobby and is both waiter and bartender - so delays are standard.

    The SPA and the amazing massage I had. Reception staff was very polite. Piano bar is really nice.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    9.2
    Great SPA, average food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant food was average, even below average in terms of quality. But at least the staff was nice and friendly.

    Great SPA center and swimming pools. The view from the balcony was lovely and the bed was super comfy. The bathroom was warm - which is something a lot of properties miss.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    9.2
    Thank you Grand Hotel Velingrad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    We had to cancel one of the 2 nights we booked, they understood our reason and canceled the second night without any penalties. They speak English

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    9.6
    This spa resort still maintains very high quality of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This spa resort still maintains very high quality of the service. The SPA center is renovated. The rooms are clean. All the staff is cheerful and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    9.2
    Good variety of breakfast, rooms were clean as always.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We knew that indoor pool was under construction, unfortunately the weather wasn't good enough for outdoor, so there wasn't much to do.

    Good variety of breakfast, rooms were clean as always.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    9.6
    comfortable, cozy, relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    indoor pools - jacuzzi didn't work in one of the pools water was cold in the pools outside (the weather was not so hot, in the middle of september so we preferred warmer water) dinner can be improved - would be nice to also add some spreads like lutenitza and cheese spreads (bulgarian traditional not bought triangles)

    the room was excellent and the view from the balcony fish spa is very nice the saunas were very diverse and nice the breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel, poor town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The indoor pool is closed for renovations. The town of Velingrad looks poor even compared to USSR 30 years ago, we went out once and stay in the hotel rest of vacation. The design adaptation is not always good for example the handles of door located to close to latch so you may get fingers injured. The hotel is a lit bit expensive. Not all personell speaks English, even in the restarant.

    The spa is excellent, the pools are great especially the view on mountains with trees. They have infinity pool. On the first day, it was raining and outside heated pool 36 deg was excellent. The breakfast is ok. Service great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    5.8
    If you want Spa, go elswhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Mineralwater pools stink horribly of Chlor, the temperature of the waters is max. 32 °C, kids with toys everywhere. Not the real spa experience. Except for the reception, the personal is mainly occupied with their mobile phones, especially around the pool and Spa area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect Perfect Perfect hotel✨✨✨✨✨
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nobody told us the inside swimming pool is not working, also the fitness and few thing in the spa’ anyway everything else was excellent

    Everything is more then perfect

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    7.9
    The room is spacious enough, big and clean bathroom, free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The spa center was partly open, the indoor swimming pool snd jakuzi didn’t work, the water outside wasn’t hot enough, not sure it was mineral, the coffee machine made cappuccino with water, strange, not for the first time there, there might be some problems going on

    The room is spacious enough, big and clean bathroom, free parking, nice breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    7.1
    During our visit, part of the spa area and indoor pools were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    During our visit, part of the spa area and indoor pools were closed, and nowhere on the hotel's website or on booking.com was information about this temporary inconvenience, so the stay did not meet our expectations!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is wonderful-comfy beds,ideal air conditioning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We did not choose the best possible weather,but it has nothing to do with the hotel.

    The hotel is wonderful-comfy beds,ideal air conditioning,good wifi.The Spa facilities were excellent for me,but the best was the fact that everyone working there was trying their best and they were so nice and accommodating.It's pricey,but worth it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    10
    Very recommended for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children up to 11.99 y.o.)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    I was in June, and the hotel is preparing itself for the summer season.

    Heated pools for children and parents Excellent spa, staff always happy to help, the room is large and suitable for 2 adults 2 children and a baby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    10
    Great location and good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect except the lunch we had. I don’t recommend the place for lunch or dinner.

    The location is great, the staff is very friendly, the room was big and very good, with very comfortable bed. The breakfast was delicious. SPA is Ok. Near to the hotel you can finde good restaurants. The view from the terrace was amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    6.3
    The hotel is nicely finished with big, comfortable rooms and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would not recommend a room with a bathtub. Unlike the rest of the finish in the bathroom, they are cheap plastic that breaks easily. I accidentally fell, the thing broke and I hurt my leg. An unpleasant end of an otherwise very nice stay.

    The hotel is nicely finished with big, comfortable rooms and an excellent SPA area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.2
    The store in the hotel has a misleading pricing policy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The store in the hotel has a misleading pricing policy. Cheap low-quality bathing suits are marked up and advertised as discounted luxury collection (original price 36leva, on top of which there is a red label with a price of 84 leva) - see photo. When the issue was addressed with the owner of the shop, she was extremely rude and insulting. According to her, if you are paying to stay at an expensive hotel, you should be able to pay top price for everything. I don’t mind the price, but I do mind the quality of the product and the attitude. While the store is independent from the hotel, it puts a stain on its otherwise excellent overall service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    9.2
    helpful staff,very nice room,big pool, good parking,very...
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff does not smile in the restaurant

    helpful staff,very nice room,big pool, good parking,very good view,there are some good restaurants only 300m away. Big park with a beautiful lake is located only 2 km away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing SPA vacancies
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is isolated from the town ( less or more) but as there is no much to do in the town it is not a big issue.

    SPA complex, the outdoor swimming pool, finish sauna and the steam room; the fish therapy ( very kind lady operates it),

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Most of the Staff couldn’t speak English and the food in the restaurant was average.

    It’s a very nice hotel with great spa facilities. It’s extremely clean and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    9.6
    Fully recommend this hotel. I really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit crowded

    Exceptionally comfortable bed, spacious and clean room, good breakfast. We had dinner in the restaurant as well and everything we tried was delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent as usual, highly recommend to families with small children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only minor area for improvement -- annoying lady offering Fisjh Spa services (really minor comparing ot positive sides).

    We are returning to Grand Hotel Velingrad for 5th or 6th time already and are happy as usual with the hotel and it's staff. it is worth to mention that during tis stay the hotel was fully booked due to national holiday long weekend -- the only place you could feel it is full was parking -- restaurant, swimming pool and spa areas operations were very smooth and there was no feeling you are in a big croud.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    6.7
    Spa, food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Usually i rate this hotel much higher. This time i was quite disappointed from a few things.. And as it is one of my favorite bg hotels I will be critical! 1. There was organized group of old ladies that was walking in the spa with clothes and shoes the whole weekend! I had to tell to the spa reception and lifeguard guy to make them a remark! It worked once and then all continued... 2. Room was not as good as usual - 119 is probably the sh1tiest room in the hotel! 3. Stupid newspaper Telegraph - its about time to change it! Good idea with the news but terrible choice! I will probably try other hotels for my weekend getaway next time before i come back to the grand hotel. Hope at least point 1 is corrected till then!

    Spa, food

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2018

    6.7
    Generally enjoyable stay, with very good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to wait in a long queue to pay, but only one person was on reception.

    It was possible to take advantage of late check-out for one of the two rooms in which we stayed. This meant we could use the day to enjoy the facilities/restaurants, etc. rather than having to leave after breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    9.6
    The room was very clean and it was really hot inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very clean and it was really hot inside.The facilities were great, especially the hot pool outside.We recommend to include not only breakfast in your stay but also a dinner.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    9.2
    The pools, room and breakfast made our night away a very pleasant experience. We will go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children up to 11.99 y.o.)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were all very kind and helpful. The pools met the needs of my young children and our room was very spacious. The breakfast had a great variety of food and all of the facilities were clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    6.3
    Great SPA really one of the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stuff - I felt like I am not a customer and guest at 5 start SPA hotel, but in bungalow 30 years ago! Not friendly, not accurate. The room was not cleaned as should be in 5 start hotel, but instead of that they took gowns and need to wait >30 minutes for new ones - no comment for 5 star SPA hotel. Restaurant - far below expectation for the money - short menu on very high prices. The breakfast was acceptable.

    Great SPA really one of the best. Cleanliness of the SPA on top level!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    10
    The hotel is very nice and clean, and the spa center and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lunch menu that we tried was not good.

    The hotel is very nice and clean, and the spa center and pools are in great condition and were not crowded - most of the times we were alone in the sauna and steam bath.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    9.2
    Weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit overpriced. We were told that we can get a late checkout, but when I went to the reception on our last day they told me that its not possible because of large group of people being expected. That left a little bitter taste..

    Spacious rooms. Clean pools. Good attitude

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel, perfect location, a little bit overpriced and a Spa center which can be better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Spa center didn't work on the 2nd day, the staff didn't notice it wasn't on. And after notifying them myself, they forgot to turn on the cold showers, so I had to ask again. More than half of the customers go in the different sauna's, without a towel, so all the sweat comes on the benches, but nobody of the staff notices this.

    The hotel is beautifully situated on top of a hill. The rooms are very spacious, with a large bed, tv, minibar and a bathroom. The breakfast is large and good, the rooms are cleaned fast and tidy. Internet is free of charge and available in the whole hotel. free parking in front on the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    10
    There were free parking lots, but they were “reserved” and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were free parking lots, but they were “reserved” and we should park almost in front of the other hotel which is near by(I was with my fimily and two children - 3 and 5 years old. Old double bed was more comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    9.2
    GRAND thermal water and spa facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Of course there is room for improvement...breakfast selection and variety. Also, staff could take more notice of their guests.

    The thermal water is as good as one can wish for, clean pools and amenities around the pools, lot of space, comfortable beds, huge rooms. What else when it comes to what matters most in one of most reputable spa towns in South East Europe?

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    8.8
    The room was really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children up to 11.99 y.o.)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to wait about 20 minutes for our room to be ready, although we were on time. We were offered a free drink at the bar though, which was something.

    The room was really comfortable. We were allowed to check out after 12 o’clock.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    10
    Will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Expected some more from the restaurant's dinner for the price.

    This is one of the best spa locations in Bulgaria. This hotel offers an excellent combination of spa treatments, luxury accommodation and very good breakfast. The outdoor hot pool is very nice during the autumn and winter.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    9.6
    I really like this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    set menu breakfast and not a buffet. not a real hot tub, only a bubbling part of the pool.

    well, this hotel was one of the best that we've been to in Bulgaria. The hotel has 2 indoor pools (swimming pool and hot small pool combined with spa pool), and 2 outside pool (swimming pool and REALLY HOT small pool). There are also

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    8.3
    A good family hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hygiene could have been bit better. The massage rooms smelled of cigarette smoke and the sauna area of stale air.

    Excellent location, ample parking and a big swimming pool. Breakfast choice was abundant and the quality was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    6.3
    good bed and good size rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not all staff speak english. Too crowded and noisy (good for kids I guess). Mediocre breakfast. Mediocre SPA area.

    good bed and good size rooms. Warm outdoor pool. No too expensive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable treat in Velingrad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children up to 11.99 y.o.)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mineral pools/sauna area close at 8pm. Far too early to enjoy if you arrive in the evening. There is a wonderful outdoor heated pool which we were looking forward to enjoying after a long drive- but we took advantage the next day.

    Comfortable room, pleasant staff, nice amenities, great breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    7.9
    Great SPA, staff is nice, good food in the restaurants!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant menu hasn't been changed for quite some time! Food is overpriced (i.e. Sandwich for 22bgn + 15% service). Kids area is already quite worn out! Also a good idea - providing a newspaper in the morning has been ruined by picking the worst possible (Telegraph)

    Great SPA, staff is nice, good food in the restaurants! Rooms are more than decent, beds really comfortable! Warm pool outside is fantastic!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    7.9
    I got good rest there: good sleep, delicious food and lots of exercise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The balcony was not well separated from the neighboring balconies and it smelled when somebody lit up a cigarette nearby. I could also hear neighbors' biological functions through the walls. The outdoors pool was soaked with disinfectants and smelled beyond tolerable. Veggie options in the restaurant could be more. And, the most disturbing thing was the light Velingrad smog in the morning that luckily dissipated before noon.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. Excellent hygiene everywhere. The breakfast block table was diverse and delicious. The bed was really large and comfortable. Also loved the big bathroom with the large bathtub.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    8.3
    Very good, but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just two-three small details that turned my 9.6+ review into a 8.3 one; 1. This is not a room with view, as per my standards (and I assume as per 5-star hotel standards) - see picture; 2. Stuff unwillingness to give us late check-out, althoutit is usual practice for that hotel; 3. No genius benefits at all - two bottles of water is "welcome drink" for everyone.

    Spacious clean rooms; excelent spa amenities; nice, divers, perfectly balanced breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    6.3
    This is what happens when a property is left without a good managerial control
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was not very helpful and careful. I have a bad experience with the man who performed a massage on my head: he smelled bad, with a cigarette breath, his hands were sweaty and after the massage I got a rush. Twice there was no hot water in our room, the wifi connection was week and dropped from time to time.

    The rooms are big and comfortable, the breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    9.6
    Very nice but a bit expensive ,that's still Bulgaria
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They don't cook very nice at the hotel:((

    The coach a bit uncomfortable but still ok.note when you book through the booking.com for 3 people room cause they give you price for a double room and you have to pay some extra for the 3rd person at the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful place with excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The water in the pools, although mineral, wasn't hot. When it's warm outside and you are a swimmer, this is no big deal, but it's good to know when you plan your trip. The hotel is a bit far off the center, so if you would like to visit the center - plan ~20-30 minutes for the walk.

    We went for a long weekend with my husband and had a great time! The rooms are big, king size bed with very comfortable mattresses. Clean bathrooms with bath tub. Good balcony with a lovely view. Breakfast is delicious and has lots of options: fruits and vegetables, good choices of cheeses, hams, and pastries. Omelettes made on the spot. Good coffee. There were lots of spa packages, which seemed very interesting, but the weather was so nice and we preferred to use the pool and the sunbeds instead. Next time - we will try the massages and spa treatments for sure. There are 4 pools in total - 2 indoor - a 23 m one suitable for swimming and a kids' pool + Jacuzzi, and 2 outdoor - big and kids. A story I would like to share that illustrates the service quality and the staff kindness - when we left it turned out that I might have forgotten jewelry very dear to me in the hotel room. I called the reception, described the necklace and the ring and they got back to me very quickly that they've found them and are sending them back to me on the same day. Very classy!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    8.3
    Good facilities and location, but disappointed with the restaurant and TV / Internet in our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor WI connection in our room, plus the TV had a limited number of channels and slobs to change programmers as compared to other hotels we visited on our stay in Bulgaria. I am surprised that this hotel is rated 5 stars, as our experience of the evening meal in the restaurant was inferior, with small portions to what one would expect from this standard of hotel. However, the breakfast in contrast was excellent.

    The spa and swimming pool facilities. Our room was spacious, having all the nice extras of a first class hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2017

    9.2
    Everyone with reservation receives Welcome drink and cookies...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Misunderstanding with reserved rooms for our group. They were changed several times.Quite surprising for a 5-star hotel.The problem was solved fast. Afterwards, everything ran smoothly.

    Everyone with reservation receives Welcome drink and cookies, not only Genius users. Fabulous breakfast and lunch. Available lunch menu on daily basis with interesting dishes and affordable prices. Very good SPA. Indoor pools were better and larger than the outdoor one. Quiet and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2017

    10
    We will come back to Grand Hotel Velingrad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    Large and clean rooms with comfortable bed and beautiful view, great pools, wonderful breakfast, great staff, A late check-out was offered (since we were with a baby and behind our schedule), we liked the bowling and the fitness.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2017

    9.6
    a nice hotel for a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked the guy at the reception if it was possible to park the car closer to the entrance where the orange cones were placed and he informed us those places were left empty for emergency. To our surprise, they were all occupied by cars with local plates throughout our stay. Some people complain about the breakfast in the hotel. Well,it was the same every day but wasnt that bad actually. Omelette and sausages could have been warmer though!

    Nice location (on the hill in Chepino district), spacious room (book a deluxe room bec of the view, cause the standard ones do not offer any), helpful staff at the reception (esp the young slim girl with long hair, sorry forgot her name). Nadia in Spa zone is highly recommended for massage therapy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2017

    10
    An excellent experience, spacious room, friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There weren't enough tables outside for breakfast and we had to eat inside

    An excellent experience, spacious room, friendly staff, super spa and swimming pool, rich breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    8.8
    The room was spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lunch menu was not at the required quality and the staff seemed a little disorganized. I recommend going for dinner and lunch at the nearby restaurants. I was really frustrated from the fact that guests of the hotel leave towels on the sunbeds keeping them "reserved" that way without showing the whole day.

    The room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was rich. The SPA was really good. The water in the pools was warm enough. A lot of good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    10
    The beds were very comfortable, large room (we have been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children up to 11.99 y.o.)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were very comfortable, large room (we have been upgraded upon arrival) two outdoor and two indoor swimming pools (two for children) extremely clean and with warm mineral water, nice breakfast and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing spa hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    ONE FAULT...they need to change the coffee dispensers. Three machines delivery espresso, lattes etc, but they always seemed to be in need of refilling. The staff were diligent but over the week we were there it was such constant issue that it became a joke. One big coffee urn would fix this.

    This is a spa hotel in the small town of Velingrad 1 1/2 hours by car from Sofia airport. Lovely outdoor pool, large indoor pool and jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, ice room. Fish massages etc etc available for a fee, Great buffet breakfast, extensive menu restaurant, wi fi excellent. This is where Bulgarians vacation a plus for us before we embarked on a group tour from the US. Also an easy and picturesque drive from the old city of Plovdiv.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2017

    9.6
    Price is fully justified -- excellent location, facilities,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stuffed toys in the kid's corner are not clean, and probably not a good idea for public place.

    Price is fully justified -- excellent location, facilities, service and staff attitude. The hotel was almost fully booked, but no feeling of being in the crowded place or diminished quality of service. Visiting the hotel for 5-6 time already and will definitely come back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2017

    9.6
    Very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The coffee machines area. Breakfast was good but the self service coffee machines were poor, they need to do something to open up the coffee and tea area as the 3 machines there were not working properly and it was always congested.

    The room the balcony the view the outdoor pool the indoor pool and jacuzzi the spa and the staff were excellent. I would not classify it as a 5 star Hotel but it deserves 4.5 stars for sure!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2017

    9.6
    Hotel was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel was lovely. Staff at check-in and checkout very helpful and friendly. We had dinner in the restaurant and that was lovely and good value. The swimming pools are fab but a bit deep for me. Great facilities at pool too. Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. Very enjoyable stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    I must repeat my last review. We are definitely "In Love" with this hotel. We are coming again and again. Spacious and modern rooms, excellent spa-facilities with mineral water, tasteful breakfast, fast and reliable Wi-Fi, friendly and polite staff, guarded parking for the car... Everything was great and we are waiting for the next meeting.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    8.8
    It was first time in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The big outdoor pool was not warm as much as mineral hot water. I couldnt swim there. The stairs was not available to reach main street of town

    It was first time in this hotel.I like it. Breakfast was good. Warm Indoor pool for kids. Good room view, location, Wifi

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    4.6
    Good amenities & mediocre food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The road to the hotel is so awful and creates a very bad first impression, which is always the most important! The food served from the regular daily menu should be improved, because its quality doesn't meet at all the advertised hotel standard.

    The lady preparing the eggs during breakfast was exceptionally polite and a true professional. Same goes for the lady that operates the fish spa. The ice tea in the spa center was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing week end
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has 2 outdoor pools: one is big and beautiful but was ice cool and was forbidden to bath in, and one smaller and very, but very hot! Inside they are also 2 pools and one jacuzzi, one pool is only for children and the big one is too cold for my taste (they say it has 29 degrees C, but I doubt). Prices in the restaurant are too high, we prefered to eat at restaurants at the base of the hill.

    Polite and helpful personel. Big room, with furnished balcony. Breakfast good and wealthy. Kettle in the room and coffee, tea, sugar and complimentary water. Big parking. Bowling, biliard Many free options in the spa area: sauna, warm beds, relaxing area Fish spa, a variety of massages (for a fee)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2017

    8.8
    Great SPA hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi was not as good as needed, sometimes signal got lost. We had bad experience with the ladies cleaning on Monday between 14 and 16 h. They maybe tought they are alone in the hotel and made a lot of noise, door banging, shouting, laughing, we were forced to talk to them and ask for silence. We reported this at reception at check out.

    Nice hotel with very good SPA centre, we liked all the facilities and used some extras at a reasonable price. Room was spacious, very comfortable sofa bed for our 12 year old teenager, she always appreciates this. Big terrace with great view of the mountains. The hotel has maybe a new chef in the restaurant, delicious food, good choice! Bravo! Big choices for buffet breakfast. Bowling on site! Mineral water was waiting for us in the room as a compliment.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    8.8
    Great family vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bottom of the kids swimming pool was a bit shady on some places- like the small ceramic squares were missing on some places. if you are not a native speaker you may have some small issues in the restaurant as not everybody is speaking English (I would say 50/50 based on our experience). However waiters were nice, not rude. However you will not have any issue at the reception. The biggest negative thing- cappuccino ;-) the way it was prepared would make any Italian cry. Too hot and without any milk foam on the top- this is expected from the automatic machines in restaurant but in Loby Bar I would expect to get the proper one.

    We are family of 4- 2 kids, 2y and 4y old. We spent 4 nights in the hotel. We had booked Deluxe Apartment. We were happy with the size of it, plenty of space. The sofa in living room was already prepared for sleeping at the time of arrival. We had towels only 2 people but after asking for more on reception we got two more. And they kept the volumes until the end of staying . Spa & Wellness area is really nice- clean and if you are without kids you can really enjoy it ;-) . We spent most of the time in swimming pool. Also very nice. There is a small bar next to it where you can order basic drinks and also some pizzas so eventually you don't need to move out for eating. In regard of food in the hotel restaurant it is somewhere in the middle- some food was just not good enough- either not tasty or cold or a bit burned. The other was okay. It may be that it was caused by the fact that we were not having meals from A la carte but from the menu for hotel quests with half board paid. Still was not a disaster for sure and you can live with it was a staying like we had (4 nights)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2017

    10
    The perfect vacation for the weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    basically nothing. The SPA is really good but the prices are really hight

    This was the perfect vacation for the weekend. The room was really clean! The foot was really goo in the hotel restaurant. The SPA is amazing! You should try it! The staff was friendly and always happ to help you with everything. We did a late check-out so its not a problem. You have just to ask for it

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2017

    9.6
    A very nice hotel, good SPA facilities and helpful stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were staying in a deluxe room. The room was nice and spacious. The pools and the SPA center were very good, especially the hot outside pool. The stuff was really nice - it was a very nice gesture that they kept a place for our car in the parking outside the hotel while we were away. Would definitely visit again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel, average spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the spa area seems a little small and cramped for such a big hotel, and it is a little confusing with it's layout

    nice rooms, good breakfast and big pool area

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2017

    8.3
    Relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was too hot in the room for my taste and the air conditioner didn't do its job. This has happened to me before (same season last year) so probably the air system needs some improvement.

    The hotel is very good overall especially if you want to relax, go for a swim and massage.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2017

    9.6
    The rooms and the pool were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The SPA for a 5-star hotel is a little bit small.

    The rooms and the pool were very nice. Despite many of the comments, the food and the staff in the restaurant were very nice. And the prices were fine like an average restaurant in Sofia.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2017

    6.3
    nice spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like the food. It was far from being a 5 star restaurant. Velingrad city has almost nothing to offer from a turist's point of view.

    I liked the spa area. ok for families with children

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2017

    8.3
    Good, but not excellent for stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The offer included so called "welcome drink". There was no such thing (though there were 2 small bottles of water for free in the room). Breakfast wasn't as good as it suppose to be in a 5-star hotel. The pool area smells bad. Water in the small pool was cooler than expected.

    Location is good. The room was large with balcony, extra large bed, large TV-Set. Everything was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2017

    6.3
    Rather disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not really a 5* hotel, staff not properly trained, in the SPA people entering with boots etc, restaurant food not good and very expensive for BG standards, much better restaurants nearby. Room - rather dirty sofa. Tee and coffee in the room not replenished during 3 days stay.

    Good swimming pools, spacious room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2017

    5.0
    Extremely mediocre!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were cold and unfriendly at reception. The tavern was part of the restaurant, and looked quite cheap for Bulgarian standards. The swimming pool "lifeguard" doubled as a bar-tender, in the smallest of bars tucked behind any views of any pools. Very unsafe. The minuscule bar offered only ice-cream, two types of pizza and three kinds of sandwiches. Very poor selection for when you want to eat lunch by the pool. I expected a lot more from a 5* hotel that has the word "grand" in it!

    The bedding service was great. Clean sheets, towels and robes. WiFi was good, with sufficient bandwidth to watch videos.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2017

    9.2
    Lives up to its title.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only suggestions really as I was quite happy. Parking was full. Noise travels a little between rooms - but if your tired should not be a problem. Would be nice to have different temp small hot pools somewhere.

    Nice outdoor hot pool. Good breakfast. Was given an upgrade for the room. Top Spa facilities.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast its not for 5 stsr hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast its not for 5 stsr hotel. Orange juice didnt work, there was no tea spoons and small forks, the water mashine for hot and cold water faulty and after some time they fix it. I rated as 2 or max 3 star hotel breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2017

    8.3
    Great place! Special thanks to the extremely nice girl, maintaining the rooms on the 2nd floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the waiters in the restaurant like to keep the change, no matter how big is it. Actually the staff that's cleaning and maintaining the property is more qualified to work with people, and respectively deserve to get the tips.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Great lunch menu in the restaurant. Excellent location. Spacious rooms.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2017

    5.8
    Not a "5 star experience"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were spider webs in the ventilation of the room, the furniture around the minibar was disassembling. Few times a bad smell was scented in the bathroom coming from the floor drain. The SPA area was noisy and cold instead of warm and relaxing. The areas around the pools were like a kindergarten - again not relaxing.

    Food was OK. Wide range of options for breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Grand Hotel Velingrad Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: