Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Sofia 5 stars

1, Gourko Str., Centrum, 1000 Sofia, Bulgaria

#5 of 179 hotels in Sofia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1443 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive breakfast.

    Excellent location, very large and luxurious rooms, parking. Very good quality/price ratio. On our way to Greece, we always stop here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Highly recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is getting a little tired and refurbishment is due.

    GH Sofia must be my favourite hotel in Sofia - large rooms, huge bathrooms, friendly staff. On this occasion I arrived at the hotel early in the morning and the staff were very helpful in offering an early check-in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Grand standing hotel well located in the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV offer is quite disappointing for a hotel of this standing and the breakfast is really expensive.

    Our room was very spacious with a really nice bathroom. The staff was helpful. It is located ideally near everything. Parking is available.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    effectivness
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 1 night

    if thing was ok' it was very easy to find the hotel ' easy to park' check in very quick 'reception staff and concierge were very helpfull and very kind ' valet parking quick and efective' I ADVICE book this prorperty

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Sofia!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - all was perfect - only a swimming pool would add value but that’s it.

    Everything you can expect from a top class hotel is delivered. Professional staff, great rooms (we got an upgrade), good facilities, parking and a splendid location in the hart of the center. Our stay was beyond expectation and definitely the best hotel we had in our tour around all major cities in Bulgaria.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Simple one of the bests to enjoy a business trip or felaxing vacations
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No swimming pool

    Best location (I travel often to Sofia), impossible to improve the location. Close to everything interesting. Clean, quiet, good stuff...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    As a couple that can’t afford this kind of luxury on a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Free Drink Voucher
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a couple that can’t afford this kind of luxury on a regular bases. We treated ourselves. The staff were so helpful? The room we had was fantastic, the hotel is ideally placed for all the local attractions. The prices are reasonable. Would we stay again. A bit of saving, yes and we would stay for a couple of nights.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    We got a big room with great view over the theatre and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One night we could hear noise from a wedding party, even though we were on the 8th floor. Staff was helpful though.

    We got a big room with great view over the theatre and the cathedral. Clean and spacious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    A "Gem" in the heart of Sofia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms on the first floor are very close to the ceremony room,which is on the fist floor as well obviously, if there is loud music on the ceremony in the night you can here everything.

    The design, and the rooms. Unfortunately I couldn't sleep in a suite because they was all booked so I just had a standard double room, and it was fabulous, superb,exceptional I've been in many hotels around Europe you can't find rooms like this, I can't explain you must see them.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    5 day business trip to Sofia
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room smelled musty and I had to sleep on top of the comforter as I found the bed uncomfortable

    Everything about this 5 star hotel is grand with an old world charm. I typically prefer more modern hotels, but this property has many things to offer - located near the pedestrian zone with large public lobby, exceedingly large rooms with every amenity you can imagine including the most amazing bathroom and products I've ever experienced, wonderful breakfast buffet, and the most incredibly professional and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent all around!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 1 night

    Color style of the rooms could me toned down slightly

    Old school charm feel to the property. Very comfortable stay, great hotel location and very friendly, helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Location is great, the rooms are huge and very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room with Free Drink Voucher
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My door lock was not working and every time I went back to my room, I had to call a technician to open the door for me. On my third day there, they finally changed the lock. Some small elements, again related to maintenance: the water in the toilette wouldn’t stop running without fiddling with the button; a towel hanger was barely hanging (no pun intended). USB chargers could be added to some of the power sockets, most hotels already have them.

    Location is great, the rooms are huge and very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in the very center of the city
    • Solo traveller
    • Panorama Room - Free One Way Airport Transfer
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel on the high end class. Very luxurious and stylish. The panorama room was amazing. Big room, big terrace with a nice view and big bathroom. The location is also perfect. It is situated in the very center of the city. I recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to have some extra luxury on his stay in Sofia.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Downtown of Sofia
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pressure of the water isn't ok. They didn't put coffee maker or anything until I asked for a coffee after that they brought only Nescafé and kettle without milk!!

    The location is perfect. The room is wide which has an office and corner for the sofa. Nice view. The style of the furniture.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful place to stay in Sofia!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful Hotel with a great staff. They helped from transfer to and from hotel to answer any question that we gad. They booked an excellent guide for us and provided the service you expect from a five star hotel. This hotel was a wonderful value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    First class hotel in central area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room with Free Drink Voucher
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a swimming pool - there are fitness facilities. The price reflects the quality of the hotel.

    The hotel is a first class hotel. The staff are excellent, they are always there to help and all speak English. The breakfasts are very good. It is in the middle of town so it is easy to get to public transport. Staff advise oh tickets passes and so on. They can get a taxi in a few minutes. There is a Tourist Office in the park behind the hotel and this is worth a visit. The man who was there when I called spoke excellent English and was very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel with a great location
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were not too comfortable

    The room was very spacious and the restaurants had vegan options. Overall lovely place, will definitely stay there again on my next visit to Sofia

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Loved our stay at the beautiful hotel with perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Free Drink Voucher
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved our stay at the hotel. Spacious room and bath with delicious breakfast. Breakfast takes the cake with variety of homemade pastries, champagne and cooking section. Location was perfect with 2-4 minute walk from Vitosha Boulevard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic hotel in the middle of Sofia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning was a bit noisy, but in general this is a great hotel.

    This is my 3rd stay in this lovely hotel. Hotel staff is professional and both check-in and check-out were very easy and fast. The hotel has a classic style with various art pieces demonstrated in the lobby area. Rooms are very clean and incredibly spacious especially by European standards. Breakfast buffet is very rich and tasty. We tasted the chef’s wonderful dinner menu in the hotel restaurant and also enjoyed the lovely hotel patisserie facing the park. The Hotel is practically in the middle of the city, almost all main Sofia attractions are within 5-10 minutes walking distance. I strongly suggest this hotel for both touristic and business of Sofia visits.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect , location is very close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was good , but my expectation from 5* hotel was little bit higher

    Everything was perfect , location is very close to everything , we didn't use any transport at all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.4
    Room and closeness to city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not sufficiently professional: we were 4 people and paid for that, while beds were for 3 and towels were for 2. Every day we had to ask for more than 2 towels, which should not happen. Some handles in showet and bathtub were not fixed properly

    Room and closeness to city centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.0
    it is nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room with Free Drink Voucher
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This is supposed to be one of the best Hotels in Sofia and therefor it is supposed to have higher better facilities and furniture.

    Staff are nice and its location is perfect!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Everyone was pleasant and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Suite - Free Two Way Airport Transfer
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had paid for shuttle service to and from airport but it was not there on arrival as it has to be precooked which we were unaware of. It would have been nice to have email few days before to see if it was required we ended up paying for taxi at 50 Levi

    Everyone was pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    I was happy to find that there is all necessary in the room...
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was happy to find that there is all necessary in the room - even bathtub foam and bathtub crystals.There are fresh flowers everywhere - at the reception, at lobby, at the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room with Free Drink Voucher
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very friendly. The rooms and bathrooms in this hotel are spacious. The airport transfer, which was included in the price, was efficient and customer-friendly. The location is one of the best for seeing the main attractions of Sofia.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    Very good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I will not go anymore there. There was a party on the ground floor. The music was very loud. The receptionist was very polite and I received a help to move in another room at midnight, but the music was extremely loud and in the new room the situation was similar. This is the only my remark, but unfortunately critical as the hotel is a place for sleeping.

    Very good location. The rooms are clean, tidy and luxury. The staff is helpful, at least is trying as much as they can

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.4
    bad stay not again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Suite - Free Two Way Airport Transfer
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the hotel is old fashion no swimming pool very small lobby very small SPA. bad reception attitude good for 2 star hotel , bad room service . not 5 star hotel

    corner suite room but very expensive

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    A grand stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Free Drink Voucher
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn’t dislike.

    Great location. Very attentive staff. The lift carpet change every day was a nice touch. Lots of art to view. Rooms are enormous.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Awesome: location, room size, staff attentiveness to customer needs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room with Free Drink Voucher
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was great.. nothing to complain about.

    Five star hotel and its awesome amenities.The size of the room plus cleanliness was a great factor that contributed to the comfort and the positive vibe about the hotel. The staff attentiveness to our needs. From the reception, bellboy and room service it was superb. The location of the hotel lets you get the most of Sofia city center in few minutes walks.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Great hotel location with great luxury rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room looking into another building, but they can't help what's around them.

    The bed was very comfterable, with a large bathroom having both shower and a separate bath. The hotel staff were very attentive and friendly on entrance and leaving, we use the restaurant for afternoon lunch and nothing was a problem for them.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel with great service in the real city center!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel located in the city center. Very spacey comfort room, with great seating area, amazing bath room, grate service and very good breakfast. We got the upgrade of the room with electric kittle and coffee/tea set + daily water bottles. Each evening we found small chocolates near the bed, which was very nice. Strongly recommended! I am sure my next visit in Sofia I will stay here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.2
    Perfect Perfect Location and big size of the rooms, are the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfect Perfect Location and big size of the rooms, are the main reason Grand Hotel Sofia to be my favorite hotel in Sofia. Very well selected furniture giving warmth atmosphere to the rooms. And most important, temperature in the rooms is well maintained. At the last, breakfast is good and rich in selection.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.8
    classic 'grand hotel' feel to it. Lovely location and great value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was poor. 'hot' food was warm only. Fitness room was adequate, not good.

    Huge, clean rooms. Comfortable bed. Good hotel facilities. Location is superb if you want city centre. Liked the omelette station at breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    You get what you pay - a very nice luxurious hotel with very good service and the best location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was disappointing. 50% of the things were perfect (including a very nice omelette bar) but the other 50% were total crap (the juice was cheapish - not from fresh fruits, the fruits all tasted bad, the banitsa cake (and other cakes) was cold and not fresh, while you can find 10 places with fresh banitsa around the hotel, all types of croissants were cold and hard like stone - inedible, the milk coffe - even if you order to get you one from the bar is done with pouder milk, the salami, ham, cheese all were from a cheap make). It was a weird breakfast - they could have had half the offer but concentrate on quality instead. I was at The Sense hotel - there they offer half the things but the food quality there is top!

    The service is top notch. The rooms are clean and very spacious. Luxurious rooms though starting to age a bit. You’ll love the location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    Classical luxury hotel for a perfect stay in central Sofia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Free Drink Voucher
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were little spots of wearing off here and there (on the wall next to the luggage furniture, in the bathroom) that took a bit down the glamourous look of the room and that shouldn't be accepted in a 5* hotel, even if they are not a big issue. The spa facilities were not at the hotel's level and the spa reception staff lacked in customer service skills.

    The hotel is very central and it has a luxury design and feeling, we had a very pleasant and comfortable staying in a huge room. The cleaning staff was very prompt and helpful and there was an overall feeling that everything is well taken care of. Definitely a place to return to!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    very nice managment and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 3 nights

    while the rooms wer huge, the design were horrible! not even small window to open to get some fresh air.

    very nice managment and staff. The staff had great english, so it was very easy to communicate with them and .get information the rooms were huge! felt like presidential suite. very reasonable prices!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, breakfast.the staff was so helpful. We are vegetarians and were quite apprehensive about the food ,there was a little selection of food for us BUT whatever was there was so delicious that we had the same dishes for three days.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.0
    It was terrible. Very dirty toiletts and every night extremely loud disco music until late night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet was very dirty, specially the toilet itself and the bathtub. Further the staff put us on the first night just above a room where they had a party with music loud like in an disco. The bass was so strong everything inside our rooms was vibrating until 1 o´clock in the night. The next night the same thing happened again, but this time just in the conference-room next to hour room (same level until almost 2 o ´clock). The girl at the receptionist didn´t offered us one single solution and when we left they didn´t gave us an execution or any word on this sound terror they put is on. We hadn´t a sleep in those 2 days and it was really a torture for us.

    It is centered in the downtown and the rooms are mostly spacy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel in a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a beautiful hotel. Our room was so big and so comfortable. The staff were very helpful. I accidentally booked a room for 1 (forgetting my partner,as you do) and they corrected this for me immediately with no fuss. It was also decorated beautifully for Christmas so it felt very festive! As Central as you can get so you are within walking distance to everywhere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.1
    The impressions of the hotel are controversial.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Suite - Free Two Way Airport Transfer
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel should have been organised the transfer from airport to the hotel. But they didn't do it. It was recompensated with free breakfasts during the stay. Also there were all the stuff (towels, slippers, e t.c.) only for one person in the room despite the fact that we were two, e t.c. To conclude, the problems are solved by staff of the hotel inmediately, but the amount of those problems is excessive.

    The impressions of the hotel are controversial. The facilities are ok. The staff is perfect. But, everything is desorginized and of poor condition.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Perfect, clean high class hotel with good Wifi!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing!

    Excellent 5* hotel, not one single complaint; large room, very clean, delicious breakfast, friendly staff, everything perfect. Don't understand why people here are complaining about wifi, I streamed TV on my iPad using a VPN which worked perfect. I'll come back for sure here when I visit Sofia again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 1 night

    I explicitly asked for a double bed but I got two single beds put together. To top it all, when I arrived in the room just after 3pm, the bed covers were not on and the beds looked as if someone had already slept in them. Of course there was no turn down service. I have stayed in this hotel quite a few times and I get the feeling that they are becoming complacent.

    The size of the rooms is just amazing - lots of space even at basic level rooms. Excellent location, right in the heart of Sofia.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    5 star hotel at the corner of a nice park. Noise from nightclub across the street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Free Drink Voucher
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise from the nightclub across the street until the early hours of each morning. Bring good earplugs!

    We had en executive room on upper floor with mountain view. The room and facilities were as one would expect from a 5 star hotel. The view was pleasant. The location is great, at the corner of the National Theatre Garden and a short walk from Vitosha Boulevard (walking street with many restaurants and good place to "people watch".

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Great location; luxurious, spacious and supremely comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room with Free Drink Voucher
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The table lights in the reception and bar area never seemed to be turned on, which made these parts of the hotel seem less pleasant and welcoming. Also, on the basis of one dinner, I would not recommend the food in the restaurant.

    The room was superb and extremely spacious, the bed very comfortable, and the staff always helpful and attentive. Good to have a TV with a good range of English language news channels. It was nice to be offered a free upgrade to the top floor, where the rooms have terraces with great views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.5
    Excellent hotel - if I return to Sofia I would not dream of staying in a different hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room with Free Drink Voucher
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think that my duvet was a bit small for the bed.

    The huge (spotlessly clean) bedroom, superb breakfasts, pleasant and knowledgeable staff, piped music very low in volume and the little map that was provided so that I was able to navigate my way around the City, Cyrillic signs and all. Finally, the concierge rescued my holiday from possible disaster when Ryanair (bounders to a man) cancelled my return flight at short notice. Never fear, he booked me on a flight back to Heathrow on the following day. Top man!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Excellent luxury hotel in the heart of Sofia!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Facilities are a bit old, room layout not the most efficient (no electric plugs by the bed and few by the desk).

    Great location in the heart of Sofia and close to the action and food, I got upgraded to an Executive room which was huge and very comfortable with a fabulous view over Mount Vitocha! Great concierge service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.5
    Had a big room on the corner of the second floor (207) and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The airconditioning is set to a constant temperature and much to warm for the warm weather. I complained about it but nothing was fixed. Also the breakfast is very expensive for Sofia and does not meet up to the expectactions of the price.

    Had a big room on the corner of the second floor (207) and it was massive room, the location is good and the glass is very good sound proof. You can take the subway from the airport and a short walk to the hotel or take a taxi but make sure they put the meter on and do not pay more then 20 Lev (10 euro)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.8
    1.no change of the bed linen for 4 days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Room - Free One Way Airport Transfer
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1.no change of the bed linen for 4 days 2.no coffee machine only very low quality prepackage 3.stain spots on the chairs 4.in the wardrobe only 2 hangers for jackets and 3 for trousers/double occupancy/ 5.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wi-fi is a bit slow and can cut out but that wasn't a huge problem!

    The rooms were very spacious and the staff very helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a great location and what you get for your money is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    excellent service a lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 1 night

    as above pigeons in outside café/bar

    Staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble, they were eager to help, hotel was very clean rooms were expansive, pigeons in outside café were a pain, but besides that very pleasant stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    We had a wonderful stay at Grand Hotel Sofia and would highly recommend it !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we were upgraded to an executive suite what a lovely experience !! Beautiful suite views amazing comfort in every way. Thanks again to this hotel for everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.3
    Location Reception staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Panorama Room - Free One Way Airport Transfer
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived our extra bed was not made up. Bed was brought in but no extra towels, glasses etc. Staff who brought in bed were talking and laughing with each other no interaction with us

    Location Reception staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked them to arrange a driver to drop off my rental car. Concierge made arrangements however the front desk manager refused to allow and they let me to believe everything was ok until the next day. Another hotel wanted to do it for me provided I am their guest, thinking that this hotel could do it I continued the extend my stay there or else I would have moved to the other hotel. It's disappointing that they lead me on and were even unprofessional when I wanted a paid late check out and they refused one minor after 12 pm stating the from office manager said the hotel is fully booked. I checked in the internet and the category of room was available. Definitely not expected from a hotel of this stature. I must say the conceige had their hands tied by the front office manager to help me.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    excellent in everything, always to recommend, real 5 star hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to complain

    large room, excellent bed, everything clean, excellent and helpful staff, parking, excellent price, in the city center, close to everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel in Sofia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that BRKFST was too expensive so we had food outside

    The location, the size of the room and the comfort as well as friendly crew in the hotel. Great value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.3
    PERFECT LOCATION, LOVELY STAFF, STUFFY AIR.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the fact that the windows don't open even just a bit is not only limiting but the circulation of air gave me allergies and nasty stiffed feeling. Absolutely essential to have an ability to get some fresh air.

    loved the staff and the location, loved how big the rooms are even though the beds are tiny.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    great view on city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room with Free Drink Voucher
    • Stayed 1 night

    rien/nothing

    nice location, very nice welcome from the staff, I was upgraded to the major suite 910 (top corner 270° view on city) a little bit old style decoration but clean. Nice Café with pastries and nice terrasse right down town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.0
    the restaurant is really good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi connection in the room was almost nothing. I asked the front desk to check the connection. He said that he would send the staff for checking but nothing was reported and I could not use Wifi at all in the room during my stay.

    the restaurant is really good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.9
    Probably the best hotel in Sofia
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For second time no availability for late check-out. Please check the taxi drivers before to offer this service. The taxi driver asked us 2 times more expensive bill than usual (no rush hour, no traffic jam)

    Probably the best hotel in Sofia

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    A real GRAND HOTEL
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Free Drink Voucher
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect. From the pick up at the airport, till our departure. The location, staff, rooms, good just everything is great and this hotel really is a GRAND HOTEL.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive breakfast.

    Very kind and friendly staff. Very nice and big room. Nice location, close to restaurants and nightlife. Private underground parking for the motorcycles

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.8
    Good Location, bad Wifi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The WiFi in my room was not working properly. Staff promissed to take care and send technician, which didnt happen in my 6 day stay. No understanding from staff to the need of WiFi in this business hotel, which is unaceptable.

    Great Location, very clean rooms, very good facilities. Breakfast was excelent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.3
    Centre of Sofia
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Graduation Ball was at the hotel when we arrived meaning we could not park and the streets were REALLY busy; while this is understandable, the hotel should have warned us. Coffee-making facilities should be inclusive in such a quality hotel. Price probably high.

    Fabulous location in the center of Sofia. Full of character. Spacious room and excellent terrace with super view. Very good in room facilities with complimentary water. One particularly helpful and generous porter who really added to the atmosphere and convivial nature of the stay; the concierge, not so much.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    4.6
    Beware.. This hotel has some serious issues..
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Free Drink Voucher
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Let's make it clear! There is NO operational wireless internet (wifi) at this hotel. The room was smelly. Obviously someone smoked cigarette inside the room before us. Blackouts are not covering the windows wholly therefore we were exposed to direct sunlight! No sleep after 06:00 am!!! Elevators are too small (only 2 people can fit comfortably). Taking the "comfort" into account, one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in.

    The rooms are spacious. Hotel location is very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Sofia, an undiscovered secret.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be sure to order breakfast in advance when you book. Finding a breakfast place other than in the hotel is nearly impossible.

    Excellent location! Very helpful staff. Large, comfortable rooms. Great price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corner Suite - Free Two Way Airport Transfer
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairdryer in the bathroom was not very effective

    Superb location Excellent food Good quality in every respect including L'Occitane complimentary toiletries. Large, clean and well appointed rooms Walking distance to all major attractions Situated adjacent to a beautiful park Airport shuttle In-room safe and plenty of wardrobe space Free WiFi throughout - sometimes patchy, but was able to stream a movie without any problems

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Outstanding staff and facilities! You are in for a treat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Grand Hotel Sofia is an excellent choice and need not be too expensive if you book in advance. The staff are simply wonderful! My room was grandiose! And they have an excellent cafe and restaurant in a leafy park! A wonderful and relaxing experience!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice and welcoming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room with Free Drink Voucher
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service from the whole staff was excellent. The location is perfect. Walking distance from the main attractions. Nice breakfast. The decor of the hotel is a bit old fashion but very well maintained.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.3
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Restaurant Discount
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could say that they could enrich their breakfast options and rooms could be cleaned twice a day. However, if you ask them to do so, they will do it.

    It was the third time staying in this hotel. There was no problem. Breakfast is good. In fact I had dinner also in the hotel, sometimes, and I must admit that the food is excellent. The rooms are big. The staff is always helpful. It is near the market, the banks, the tourist offices. The view on the upper level rooms is nice. The hotel caffe and restaurant are in front of a park surrounded of arcitectural buildings. I believe it is a good hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    An excellent hotel right in the centre of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room with Free Drink Voucher
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An excellent hotel right in the centre of the city. The first impressions were made by the extremely helpful and courteous staff, in particular the concierge. The room was huge with a nice view of the city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Great anmd classy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room with Free Drink Voucher
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only remark is that breakfast should be included in the price of the room. Its quite expensive to pay for the breakfast so I only had croissants and coffee in the bar.

    Great hotel. Modern but classy, perfect location. Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    Clean Specious Rooms in the Heart of Sofia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room with Free Drink Voucher
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked two separate times in this hotel since its somewhat close to the airport and in the heart of Sofia. Our rooms in the first time were a bit overused. the second time our rooms were nice and looking like new. Also the prices of the hotel are little high.

    The room size is quite large, location of hotel is excellent, and the staff are very helpful. I also loved the art work all over the hotel, which you can also buy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Wonderful 5 star hotel in great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room - Today's Flash Deal
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Absolutely everything about this hotel is amazing! Staff were extremely professional, cleanliness of the room could not have been better, the location is perfect and the overall atmosphere of the hotel is really good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Great place to stay in Sofia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room with Free Drink Voucher
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly personnel.We were upgraded upon arrival and the suite was excellent. Fantastic location for sightseeing. Very quite room, comfortable bed and pillow.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Panorama Room - Free One Way Airport Transfer
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi Fi in Panorama room very bad. No way to work or do anything with your mobile . Wi fi make me angry several times. Thats why i do not give 10 as i wish .

    Nice hotel with a nice view from Panorama Room. Reception staff a bit strange and not happy , but entrance and porters very very good , especialy the young two Man very helpful . Restaurant staff and bar good also.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel Sofia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: