Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Havana Hotel Casino & SPA - All Inclusive 4 stars

Golden Sands, 9007 Golden Sands, Bulgaria

#21 of 70 hotels in Golden Sands

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 322 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.0
    Never ever golden sands
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Park View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The restaurant was not good. The offered drinks were bad. Water was without gas and smelled like chlorine. There were no non-alcoholic drinks without sugar... We just bought our drinks from the supermarket. The food was just average. Most of the people around were not able to smile and 95% of the guest were from east europe - most of them - even the staff - were not able to speak english...

    The room was clean and large enough. The included fridge was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice staff, good food, nice pool, big clean room, good value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room with Park View (No Balcony)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cookies were poor, the distance to the beach but we knew that already, poor facilities for kids to play.

    Nice staff, good food, nice pool, big clean room, good value for money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room with Park View (No Balcony)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms definitely need renovation. Elevators need to be changed, too small and too slow. Carpets need to be removed urgently as they give a funny odour. Afternoon snack selection was very poor. Casino is VERY expensive.

    Quite, clean hotel. Close to the centre of Golden Sands, but not too close to hear all the noise. Book a room on the upper floors. Loved the trees near and around the hotel. The pool was clean and big enough.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Relax and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Park View and Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice location and verry comfortable. Special thanks for the personal and for Ms. Darina the manager...make my girls to fell like a princess. Thanks and for sure we will come back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    4.6
    More than 7 days and I'd have gone insane or how I learned to love dill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Park View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above Also pool bar accessible by steps only and limited seating. Nowhere to sit in the sun as opposed to lying in it from 12oclock.

    Review of Havana Hotel Please read all of my fair and balanced review. Firstly the hotel is 1k from the main sea front which is no big deal as it is all down hill, but this means it is all UP hill to return ! The road is poorly lit at night for some of the walk down and the pavements everywhere are treacherous. It's really a tatty area of the town there's a couple of small supermarkets but no bars very close BUT there's a McDonalds if you go on holiday and need that. Fortunately there is the Dotto land train which comes past every 20 minutes from about 10am until maybe 9pm cost 4 lev per person. The staff are friendly, helpful and polite whilst management seems lacking. Whilst English is not hugely spoken everyone tries, most guests are Eastern European, Russian, German and surprisingly Israeli. The building itself is kept clean and tidy all communal areas spotless but it's very 70s or 80s style needs revamp desperately. On booking I requested a room near the lift with a showe which we got! Our room on the other hand was not vacuumed all week, a soiled sheet was not changed, the bathroom floor was cleaned once when there was blood from my husbands foot due to an injury from the sharp door stop. The bathroom door didn't shut fully and the wardrobe had a damp smell. Very limited electric points if you need charging and no kettle BUT there's a fridge. Onto the food. It's very local in nature, well presented and nicely cooked. BUT it's very limited with variations of the same thing and very repetitive. If I'd stayed for more than a week I'd have gone insane. The biggest complaint I have I will voice now. On checking in we were told all inclusive at the bar finished at 10pm. This wasn't totally true, the bar SHUT at 10pm. On checking with staff this is also the case in July and August!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Great value for the money, very relaxing vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Park View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sweets are not excelent quality (except pancakes), the red wine was poor quality

    Very comfortable rooms, very nice sea view if you choose a higher floor, a wide range of food to choose from

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Overall ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Park View and Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast had large variety, but not so tasty. Pool was freezing so we didn't use it at all. Overall not much to do for families

    Service was good, nice location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    Great value, relaxing and refreshing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Park View and Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Could do with some maintenance touch-ups to get the top notch.

    Food was tasty, but lacked presentation to western taste. Quite a lot of surprisingly good dishes, serviced very well and tidy. Pools and outdoor areas well looked after, plenty of seating and new sun beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Strongly recommend it. Really like it. Will come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Park View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Didn't like a lot that the parking payment was not included. But at the end it was not so expensive. Will be nice an option to include umbrella in the beach as well.

    The food was very delicious and every day there was something different to eat as a main dish and as a dessert. There were also typical Bulgarian dishes.The staff was very kind and helpful. The room and everywhere in the hotel was very clean. The hotel is near to the center of the resort and to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    A lovely stay, very close to the beach. Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel bar closes very early. The toilet in our room smelt awful from the drain. If this could be improved he stay would have been perfect.

    The staff were friendly and imformative. The room we stayed in had a lovely balcony with a great sea view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    3.8
    The cleaning is very low conditions, they are saying that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room with Park View (No Balcony)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning is very low conditions, they are saying that they have mini bar and is not true, just a small frige unconnected. The cleaning is just to bring toilet paper and towels. The food is like buffet but each day the same,same food , all is around arabic spice and fish . In the room the furniture and all is old . You have to pay for all the services inside, just drinks and food is for free. If i will have to choose again at this money this hotel, i would prefer to pay much more then to come back. Everything is not looking like in the pictures that are posted on Booking.com

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    Overall, a pleasant experience in a nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Park View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The balcony is a little too small if you're pretencious. And a little more varienty of food would be just lovely.

    Good value for money. Surprisingly large room with a huge comfy bed. Staff was very friendly. I've travelled with my partner who is a gourmand and she liked the food there. Also, she liked the pizza on the way to the beach. She is slim, i swear. Extra note: i didn't have time to try the casino, which looked amazing from outside. Maybe next time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice place for an economy trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room with Park View (No Balcony)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is located quite far from the sea (15-20 minutes of walking), however nice swimming pool compensates this issue completely.

    The food was quite tasty (especially one related to the Bulgarian national cuisine); The cheapest room is a bit small, but the working zone (convinient table and chairs) was a big advantage; There is a hydromassage in the bath even in such a budget room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.0
    The pool is very nice and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room with Park View (No Balcony)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definetly the hotel dont deserve its 4 stars. The room was flity and rusty,the bed was very close to the bed so you have to be careful not to hurt yourself by the TV. This is the first hotel i ever been where the staff dont greet you or smile. Nobody say Good Morning nobody smile. Overall was ok but they have improve their attitude. And another thing is that they treat the guest different. You have book an expensive room to be treated better. Overall was but the service is down.

    The pool is very nice and very clean. The food was ok and always replenish.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. Starting from the price then the hotel, the stuff, the food. We were all happy. We definitely consider stay again there in the future

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    4.6
    Spa that doesnt work, jacuzzi is freezing cold and overly expensive for a average/poor standard of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Park View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food quality was poor, under cooked and cold. The facilities were not what were advertised e.g. jacuzzi was cold, spa hasnt been working for over a year, hotel room was very small. Reception were incompetent and offered no real explanation when we queried as to why they are mis selling the hotels facilities. Very expensive stay for a poor service. We will not be revisiting the hotel again.

    Location good, casino very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel in Golden Sands
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location next to the bus station and the beaches are in walking distance. Nice and helpful staff, excellent service. Delicious breakfast, lunch, and dinner with drinks and coctails. Free wifi, 2 big and 1 small pool next to the hotel, with sunbeds and umbrellas. If you need you can find restaurants, shops near to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.7
    It's not a 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Park View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is disappointing. Same food almost every day, not diverse. Lots of tomato and cabbage salads. Would not go there again.

    Room was spacious

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    clean the staff the rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice clean room with view, tasty home food, nice swimming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Park View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, 15 mins of walking to the sea

    Nice clean room with view, tasty home food, nice swimming pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    A very clean place with a very good and diversified food.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Room with Park View (No Balcony)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very clean place with a very good and diversified food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Room with Park View (No Balcony)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plenty of food, great location, very clean. Would definitely come back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    Good Price, not so good food and alcohol
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food and alcohol are low quality but price is also low.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Very good place for a vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Park View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    More sun beds for the pool area.

    Very good food, friendly personnel, great atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Very nice place for a vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Park View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More sun beds for the pool area.

    Very good food, friendly personnel, great atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    Havana Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room with Park View (No Balcony)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small window in room, spa bath in room did not work, food very repetitive, wifi only in public areas

    Room was clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.5
    Sam visits Golden Sands
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Park View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    food was ok but not great. pricey for what you get that's exclusive.

    wifi was great. good quiet area. very nice pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.6
    Worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room with Park View (No Balcony)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    All good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.5
    satisfacator
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Park View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same food every day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Park View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To far from beach

    It is quiet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Park View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.8
    Great location. Nice clean room. Friendly staff. Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Room with Park View (No Balcony)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for safety deposit box

    Good clean room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    6.7
    Location was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Park View and Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is terrable

    Location was nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    A perfect vacation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very clean, the personel was very nice, the food was very good!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.4
    THE PLACE WAS VERY GOOD AND THE MANAGER WAS EXCELLENT
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room with Park View (No Balcony)
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO THE BEDS WHERE GOOD

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Extremely friendly and repared staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly and repared staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    9.2
    The food was good and diversified.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to reproach.

    The food was good and diversified. There were enough types of food for every meal to satisfy a vegan or a regular person. I won't describe what food was there, but except for the breakfast, they had a few types of new food every day. But for the breakfast you could get pancakes and omelette cooked in front of you. You also could get free drinks from the bar (juices, beer, whisky, vodka, etc.) until 22:00. The view from my room was great because you could see the sea and if you get up early in the morning you can enjoy a wonderful sunrise. The room was clean, the towels were changed every day, and the bed sheets every 3 days. The room had a good AC ventilation system and a LED TV, with satellite reception. You also had a mini fridge to store your drinks. The location was good, but a bit far from the beach (maybe 15 min. of walking), but the road to the beach was nice, packed with lots of shops and discos. You had free wireless at the reception, but there wasn't in my room (I was at the 11th floor, though). Nevertheless, this way you had to go out, and not stay in your room on Facebook the whole day. The staff was friendly. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    9.2
    Very nice, big room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The WiFi had a problem throughout the hotel. I stayed on the 7th floor, could see and connect to the WiFi but Internet was not working. When I reported this to the receptionist, she gave me an answer like: Yeah, well there are a lot of people in the hotel, try restarting your laptop. As it happens, I work in IT and could tell the issue is with the uplink from the router, tried explaining this to her but no luck, we did not have Intenet in the room throughout the entire stay. I find it amazing how some hotels still struggle with providing WiFi internet access in 2015. It is a very low investment on their end and a huge perk that all guests now expect by default. Second issue was the elevator that is quite small (3-4 people max.) and one of them was broken for some time. Used the stairs a lot.

    Very nice, big room. Very clean as well, cleaning staff replaced all our towels + refill on shampoo/soap every day. We are not fans of all-inclusive but this is the way the package from booking was structured so given the very tempting price we gave it a shot. I have to say I was amazed in a good way: food was very diverse and very delicious (like mentioned, we had very low expectations but the hotel delivered a rich, diverse breakfast, lunch and diner). Given that food in restaurants throughout Golden Sands is a gamble, we were very happy with what the hotel had to offer. The pool outside was quite nice. Another plus would be the sunbeds and drinks at the outside bar was included in the room price. Overall, given the price of the room we were more than pleased with choosing this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.3
    The food was very good , many type of drinks but low quality...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed only 2 nights everything was ok. It's true that it is a little bit far away from the beach (10 min walwing distance) and it has only 2 elevator 3 pers each ..for 15 level hotel , and poor wifi signal, but I think this things are not really important on a holiday

    The food was very good , many type of drinks but low quality maybe acceptable for this price

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    5.0
    Resort not open no heating in the room had to ask for a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Resort not open no heating in the room had to ask for a repair twice food cold at buffet lift not working

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    5.8
    OK!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    much noise and had no rest

    OK!

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    10
    Еverything was perfect !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    -

    Еverything was perfect !

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    6.7
    much noise from inside and especially outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    much noise from inside and especially outside.I could not rest me....

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    8.8
    Food, cleaning, facilities, pool, staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beer, parking is to small.

    Food, cleaning, facilities, pool, staff.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: