Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hill Hotel 4 stars

76 James Bouchier Blvd., Lozenets, 1407 Sofia, Bulgaria

#106 of 179 hotels in Sofia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 209 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was good for me, but it's quite far from any sightseeing. The room was way too hot and I had to keep on opening the window. The food at the restaurant was not very good.

    Good price compared to neighbouring Marinela. Comfortable and clean rooms and friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of English Speakers at the Restaurant. Poor Breakfast and also lack of Iron Board. I wanted an Iron for my room and I was told to look for it somewhere in the 5th floor. I went but the only door i found was a ONLY STAFF room. Of course I didn't bother further.

    Reception Desk is very polite!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As others have also mentioned, there is a lot of room for improvement concerning the breakfast.

    We stayed with my parents in 2 rooms, during our short stay in Sofia, and they were very satisfied with the hotel. Very close to James Bourchier metro station, which makes moving around convenient. Nice rooms, comfortable, quite clean, very quiet and relaxed atmosphere. I liked also that I could see Alexander Nevski cathedral from my room window! Personnel was also really nice and smiling. Good wi-fi.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC was out of order The locations is nice but really noisy We were offered car park for additional 10lv for the night Car parking spaces around are max4hrs, renewed every 1 hr Room carpet was not extremely clean

    Walking distance from city centre Bathroom was spotless Plenty of public car parking spaces, but renewed with SMS every hour and up to 4hrs maximum

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception process is tiresomely slow and this negates the charm and friendliness of the staff. They deserve a better system. The air conditioning cannot be adjusted by the guests and guests are also requested not to open the windows while the air conditioning is running. Catch 22!

    The location is excellent as it provides easy access to the city centre either walking or by tram or with the metro. It is also close to one of the main shopping malls in the city where there is a multi-screen cinema and several restaurants and coffee shops. There are also restaurants within five to ten minutes' walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room looks old fashioned. Pricing minibar not BG standard. Friendly reception.

    Very close to metro station. Fitness available. Massage very professional and still low priced.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee/tea available in the hotel outside breakfast hours

    Everything you expect from a decent hotel, clean, hygiene, close to center and still quiet. Good price for the quality

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lady in restaurant was very rude, unpleasant and spoke in an aggressive manner. I had a cup of tea one morning and she tried to charge me 16 leva (for full breakfast). I was embarrassed by the way she spoke to me. Also no access to evening meals for business clients and no basic water available in room other than in mini-bar. I left a half finished bottle of juice on the table one morning to finish later (as I was paying for it) and it was removed by cleaning staff.

    Reception staff were very nice, pleasant and professional.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flight was landing 2am so emailed hotel to arrange pick-up (this service was advertised on its website-was happy to pay), got a reply stating "not possible". I wrote several emails asking about taxi and if it was safe for lone female to catch one iutsude airport. Got no reply! Service was horrendous! Wifi was poor so couldn't work most days properly (only reason I stayed in this so called 4 star business hotel), electricity was gone for a few hours. When I asked when it would come back on, the guy just shrugged his shoulders and made it clear he didn't care! Breakfast was ridiculously poor. Bathroom was dangerous- bathtub was about 1m high, risked my life everyday! Last day water stopped in the whole building site couldn't shower...I could go on and on...this is not a 4 star hotel - have had better stay in a 2/3 star Hotel in india. The bed was comfortable and have to be fair and say female staff were nice and helpful...advise to hotel: sack your male staff and employ more women....basically sort this joke-hotel out asap.

    Comfortable bed. Female staff were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a low cost hotel but the price is high. Bad location; bad staff, you have to pay extra parking, towels and sauna. This was the last time. Choose something else

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything is so so.

    good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for what they offer.

    Poor breakfast. Unclean sheets.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It will be useful a small table

    Very clean, warm, quiet, very good service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior was neglected.

    Courteous staff, nice views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasnt very comfortable

    Clean room, nice bathroom, spacious room, friendly receptionist

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    did the job!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old 3 star hotel, the fourth is bought. 12 euro avarage breakfast!

    Old 3 star hotel, the fourth is bought

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast. Very small parking. Even you pay 5eur/day they don't reserve a parking spot for you.

    Location. Room. Bed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They say private parking but it's a normal parking slot in the free parking. No reason to pay for private parking.

    Great location! Clean room!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant clouds earlier

    Excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No sheets in bed. Walls slightly thin.

    Breakfast, gym, and champagne left for my new wife and I.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the advertised spa and gym was being refurbished.

    Comfortable clean hotel with wifi and air conditioning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i book different price than the charge in the hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast w.o variety of breads and coffee (the basic)

    close to bussines center, big room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good holiday place especially in the city centre

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was leaking so got moved. Second room the air-conditioning didn't work and Internet was weaker than the first room.

    Nice staff and good location near taxis and metro.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    - the fridge was brooming at night, ear-plugs help :)

    - great location - friendly personnel, speaking both german and english, very helpful and forthcoming - great view from the window, even greater view from the balkony - spacious room and bad

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My wife and I were trying make an appointment at the spa. With that said, the person at the spa desk just brushed us off without even checking the availability. The SPA attenden said that they do not have anything available for months whitch was kind of odd. Not very good customer service.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not enough light in the room, not suitable for reading a book.

    Hotel was on excellent location, room was clean and had large enough, had a fast WiFi. They also had parking, although paid, but still good.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast is terrible, not too much parking places (if you come on car),walls are very thin, you can hear everything on several rooms in a row

    Good, quiet location, friendly staff, big modern rooms

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Attention is needed to some details like water damage in the bathroom and a leak from the tub onto the bathroom floor.The breakfast was overpriced and not that great.

    good price for a very nice hotel, roomy and comfortable, nearby Metro stop. There's an elevator on the main floor - no steps to get to.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    1. They are very unprofessional, I made mistake with my reservation, but I made a new one through my phone, and than the nightmare start: I wait one and half hour to be seated in my room. There are a lot of free rooms!!!! Just stupid and unprofessional guy, was waiting for conformation from Booking!!!!! I gave him my card, but that not helped!!!! He waited for email with conformation!!!! It was 23:30!!!! Could you imagine!!!! Than, they took money from my card, even before I asked to use the other one (company one) and as result, I paid by myself!!! Awful!!! Never ever will use this hotel!!!

    Location and price look quite good

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Room was very hot on my arrival and it did not seem possible to regulate it. On reporting this to the reception desk a member of the hotel team arranged for the heating to be turned off.

    Location above the city with a beautiful view of Mount Vitosha. Close to metro, bus and tram services.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The bar shut at 7 p.m. The spa shut at 7 p.m. and would not be open until 10 a.m. the next day. No restaurant. Had a problem with the wi fi but this was rectified. Rule about not using electrical appliances in the room.

    The room was large and the bed comfortable. The bathroom had a bathtub.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    At arrival they promised me a room with a front view and when I actually returned for the key they have changed the room to a back one which also had a crib in ! They did take it away after all but it meant more time waiting. Tv channels never set to news channels.

    Location and staff

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It's an excellent hotel located in the residential district of Sofia. The subway station was 3 min walk from the hotel, and the city center could be reach in 15 min, very easily. Rooms and amenities were fine for a 3-star hotel (its 4 Bulgarian stars should be counted more like 3 stars in Western Europe). The breakfast is a bit odd because you have to pre-order the food, but the amount of food is absolutely generous. The hotel boasts an open terrace with a great view over the city and mountains.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We make a reservation for 2 days with breakfast, and because of no other people than us in the hotel they give us cold take away breakfast made of 2 peace of old bred with ham and cheese. This is not acceptable for 4 star hotel, is more correct not to offer breakfast if you don't have enough guest than this!

    Location and comfort of the room

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    They don't inform me, there is no water before check in and refused to gave me money back or to accommodate me in other hotel !!!!! Just bottel of mineral water and promiсе it will be fix up to 18:00h but did not happen.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    cleanliness

    location

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Really no kettle in the room? Squeaking bed not great.

    Location was convenient. Room view was nice.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    ok

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Carpet was dirty with a lot marks and spots. Furniture basic and old.

    It's a perfect for the money which I played!

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice and clean hotel, good location. Good breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Selection of breakfast could be better.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, clean, quiet room, within walking distance of the city centre (20 min) or metro nearby.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -

    Nice rooms and polite staff

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no ambiance

    Location and room size

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very depressive

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast quality is not up to the mark. very less veriety. location is little bit far from city.

    staffs are very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent restaurant next door, clean air, mountain view

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    They are charging 5 leva for extra towel, i think it's a sad policy!

    excellent fitness center,

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly, helpful & courteous staff. Comfortable & clean room.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location great staff amazing view

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location, nice stuff, clean, spacios and comfortable room, very good price.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    missing expresso coffee at breakfast

    location, friendly staff, very clean

There are also 49 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: