Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Gloria Palace Diplomat 3 stars

143 Nikola Petkov blvd., 1614 Sofia, Bulgaria

#69 of 179 hotels in Sofia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 215 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    I liked everything. Impressed on welcoming attitude of night security staff. Overall, al of them have given a very positive impression. I look forward to use this accommodation again and freely recommend it for friends.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't find any English news channel on TV.

    Safe parking place protected from public. Parking under the roof. Friendly staff. Fast check-in, check-out. Nice big windows in both rooms. Really spacious rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathrooms were not cleaned and had mold in the corners. We paid accommodation for 5 but were provided with only 4 towels and 4 glasses, even though they had prepared 5 sets of bed sheets. Also, the walls are really thin and we could hear the neighbors whenever they were talking in the living room. There was a a slightly unpleasant smell of stagnant air in the room.

    Spacious apartment with nice gardens. The WiFi was good and the staff was friendly. The rooms were quite warm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool - against extra payment. Had to be paid separately. Pool water not heated. Rooms C-card payment available, but the pool only cash. Strange! Location 8,5 km from City Centre. Car needed.

    Enormous room. 2 levels. Lots of space. 2 bathrooms. Giant sofa in L-room. 2 sleeping rooms 1st floor. Pity we stayed only for 1 night. Nice swimming pool with sun beds to be paid extra :-(

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's advertised with a free swimming pool and the last 2 years - it was indeed. However this time, we've been told that you have to pay for it and the price for the rooms is the same. Another thing was the cleaning. This time our room was cleaned only once for the 5 days we spent in the hotel, comparing to last year, when everything was excellent.

    The location is great, but the hotel is getting worse and worse with every single year.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to find even in taxi- they need to put address on key card as taxi 5/10 times could not find. Did not read the fine print and picked hotel as has swimming pool- was very disappointed that it was all extra. If using pool and chair each day was 15 lev each which would be half the price we paid for hotel- far to many extra's, got a cup of tea and was charged extra for milk. Got chips and was charged for red sauce. The last day I ordered 2 fried eggs as was charged €5 , could of got the breakfast for that but was ripped off a few times. Beds were as hard as a rock and apartment was very dirty and only cleaned once in 10 days and was left a few days without clean towels and toilet roll. The pool was clean but around the pool was very dirty and you would need your shoes on as so dirty. Over priced more expensive than Sofia centrum.

    The staff very amazing and the grounds were stunning with all the trees- playground was brilliant for the children, Food was nice but had to wait long time for food to be cooked.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    BREAKFAST: was served in the close restaurant, selection from 5 types of already prepared breakfast menu. On my last day, they prepare for me packkage to go :)

    ROOM: I had for my disposal complete apartma, which was cozy and spacious STAFF: very kind and helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    to be honest, as i try to be, this time there is a small minus! i ordered some food from the restaurant into my room and asked, when it will be ready, the waitress told me in 10 minutes, but in 40 minutes i again went to the restaurant to ask, why my food still isn't there. after finally it was ready and brought to me, packed into take away packs, the "restaurant employee" needed 10 more minutes to organize me some cutlery made of plastic! on the one hand, things like this must be improoved! on the other hand, there was a wedding party in the hotel restaurant this day, and the restaurant crew prepared their rooms for it, as a performed my order. i believe, this was an exceptional stress situation and give it - despiting minus - the full score! also, because the food was good, too. :)

    even if i know, that booking - for a good reason - doesn't appreciate multiply reviews and ratings from the same user, this time the situation is special; i booked a simple single room and this time i get not the apartment instead and really stood at the single room, i booked. the story starts from the very beginning, when you enter the territory - it's not the only one hotel, where the parking security guards greet the guests, but this guys here make it in an authentic way! very smooth check in, with a few question, but they didn'T bother me. housekeeping did not disturb in the morning. everyone, the complete staff is very special! if there somewhere is "perfection", it was created / installed right here, i'm sure by the lady from the hotel management - undoubtedly predestinated for much more higher things, but does "her job" on planet earth very good, too. the single rooms are a little bit downstairs from ground floor, but believe it or not - it's not a problem. it's a shame, i didn't know you 2-3 years before, when i was living in different hotels in sofia 340/365.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good and easy email-communication with the management, ambitient helpful and at the same time very smooth reception staff! of course no high end luxury but clean and functionally rooms with comfortable beds. for those who can't look up location in the maps - YOU DO NOT STAY IN CENTER - your room / apartment is in sofia-gorna banya border area, you breath a fresh and clean air - you wake up with a clear head just a few hours after you felt to sleep and you have enough energy for the whoke next hard day. didn't try the restaurant but i'm sure, it's amazing, too! gonna be back to test (taste) it, very soon! :)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was raining and you have to walk between the reception building and the actual hotel rooms bit. No complementary umbrellas were available. The bathroom was quite spacious but the actual shower cabin was tiny. The duvets were small.

    Only stayed for one night, but it seemed quiet. The room was big, so was the bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location of the hotel - difficult to find, no road signs, far from the center but near to the New Bulgarian University

    very spacious area, clean and big room - actually I got appartment on the price of a room, very helpful staff, nice restaurant, calm area, excellent rest

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The effort the staff went to making our room perfect for our engagement was outstanding. Thank you so much. The rooms were clean, the lads at the restaurant and bar were amazing and so helpful. We went out of season and pretty much had the whole place to ourselves was lovely. So if you want ultimate relaxation go around September. The pool was a little cold but it didn't stop us going in. It was cleaned everyday hotel and pool.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be a bit better, although girl serving was very kind and helpfull, not her fault. what we find pitty is that this place with a bit investment could be a paradise. however, great place to stay in Sofia, especially if with big family and pet...

    very spacious, even with 3 kids and dog, there was planty of space. even a small garden in front of each room, what was great with pet. swimming pool very nice and clean, surrounded by forest. you do not feel like in middle of Sofia.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was slightly out of the way however don't let that put you off.

    Comfortable room, unlimited free wifi, free air conditioning, breakfast included, bar and restaurant. Very clean swimming pool and clean grounds.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was lucky to stay at this hotel. It is the best choise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty walls, broken furniture, heavy smoking smell inside the rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Table was broken and stairs were a little loose

    Rooms were clean, air conditioning was very quick and good. Rooms were as displayed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are paper thin, if you want to relax, having even moderately noisy neighbors would be a catastrophe.

    Very spacious rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no breakfast

    Comodity,quiet place,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the fresh air - comfort - big rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from the city center. A lot of traffic

    Quiet, beneath the mountain. Easy access to the beltway and the highways.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small oldfashion TV, Two beds instead of a big bed for two people

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have to go out for taking a coffee.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I didn't like during my stay.

    Overall I am happy from everything.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect! Great place, especially considering the price!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very nice to us

    Bilo je toplo, čisto i uredno.. It was warm,clean and neat... Wery nice hotel for this amount of money..

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the cafeteria that serves breakfast and the breakfast itself could be better

    quiet and big rooms, beautiful outdoor spaces, really helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast can be done early than 8:00!?;?!

    Quiet place. Good price.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most of the stuff does not speak English and not very willing to help

    The environment and the garden with the swimming pool

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Location,wi-fi free, comfort, nature, tranquility

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were very disappointed as regular visitors to this hotel to be given the worst room we have ever had. The t.v. was either broken or adjusted very poorly and the picture quality was very poor. The shower was unusable as the shower head would not attach to the wall in any way and had to be hand held at all times. The shower cubicle had no doors, they had been replaced with an ill fitting curtain that resulted in the bathroom floor being flooded no matter how much we tried to avoid it. The bedside lamp (only one in the room) did not work. The room smelt of cigarette smoke on arrival. If this had been our first visit to this hotel we would certainly never return. We usually rate this hotel highly but have been let down badly on this occasion. It was obvious during our stay that many of the rooms were unoccupied and we do not understand why such an inferior room was allocated to us. (Room 7)

    We preferred the new buffet style breakfast as opposed to the set breakfast menu that we have experienced in previous years.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Couple

    Furniture was old, as well as bed sheets and covers. Bathroom, even if clean, looked dirty and old, slow wi-fi, breakfast is very poor - there is almost nothing to eat

    Spacious room and bathroom

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I highlighted to pay by credit card, however the terminal was not working, so I needed to pay by cash. Finding the hotel location based on address, GPS coordinates was not easy and we need to ask for some pedestrians help to find the hotel.

    Price-value ratio is really good, in average the hotel is great, it has closed parking place.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The pool wasn't filled with water, the fitnessroom was closed because the season has not started jet. Outside the hotelcomplex the neighbourhood is not attractive to go. I choose this hotel because I liked to be to be away from the citylife and than it is oke.

    The hotel lies in a quiet environment, the room was very big and had good beds, the staff was very friendly

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    everything was nice really

    comfortable bed, quiet

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There is no menu in English or another language.

    The apartment is huge.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent food at the restaurant

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The furnitures were old and broken.

    The staff was helpful and gentle

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At last wi if is available here. We stay here once or twice a year for one night whilst travelling and it offers us everything we need.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Browse Hotel Gloria Palace Diplomat traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: