Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Marinela Sofia 5 stars

100 James Boucher Blvd, Lozenets, 1407 Sofia, Bulgaria

#103 of 179 hotels in Sofia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 738 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfriendly staff at the reception desk. They charge more than the room costs and want to give charge back. Reason they mistrust the guest that he might take something from the minibar (no fridge!) or might disappear! Lack of understanding the guests needs. I told them I would also complain at VISA that they should no longer be able to accept VISA cards. The hotel is sinister and dark. So are the people (most probably underworld). This is the only hotel in the world who has a sign GUNS NOT ALLOWED! That says everything!

    The only positive thing is the central location and the parking lot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The organisation of the sitting lunch. We were around 150 and the buffet was located in one place as a result a huge queue and very little time to eat for the last persons in the queue. No water on the table. The quality of the buffet was not the one I would expect for this kind of hotel.

    the garden even under the rain. a large choice of fresh fruits for breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately some areas were under renovations which for the future is a positive issue

    Many areas for food and drinks. Beautiful terrace. Huge lobby area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff is not service minded at all. They are very moody and even roll their eyes at you if you ask them to do something. Food came two hours after ordered at the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else - the electricity did not work properly. - I could not even charge my phone within 2 days. Te beds were horrible - there was not even a martasse Protection ok it. The bathroom was moldy. Shower gel so full of Parfume that it was unusable. The dacurlities ariund the pool where a schame - showers not working / broken. Just beyond.

    The restaurant was really good. Soness te restaurant staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luxury hotel with payed parking?! Bars and Disco clubs in the lobby?! Bed was a little hard.

    Good view from top floors rooms. Excellent breakfast. Very clean room and bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got a room where there was an extremely strong smell of cigarettes. I called the reception to complain and they said it was impossible as all rooms are non-smoking and hung up. As there was even a cigarette burn on the table I decided to step up for myself and went to the reception to ask for a change of room. They gave me another room and this one was fine.

    The garden is nice downstairs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad staff coordination.Didnt get email confirmation for payment after two emails, and afterwards tried to charge the same room twice. They dont answer the phone on booking. Called 3 times.

    Nice rooms, good food, hotel is great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at reception, the housekeeping staff as well Darin (Front Office Manager) and Mario made my stay feel hospitable and comfortable. I recommend this hotel for a fabulous experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have been visiting this Hotel for years and every couple of weeks. Still the checki-in process is taking too long. Furthermore, everytime I have to explain the invoice address. This should be done automatically and be stored in the System. Heating was working although more than 20 degrees oustide. Extremely hot in the room. Prices currently too high.

    Rich and various breakfast. Big gym. Lot of Restaurants and bars inside the Hotel. Complimentary bottles of water in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When you enter the lobby, you feel like a be a funeral. Everything is in black - the interior, the furniture, the people - full kitsch. Guests of the bars and restaurants are smoke. It is definitely not a 5 star hotel - maybe 3 ++.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decoration of the lobby, bars and common facilites in general. Not of good taste, with plenty of flashy- kitsch- elements

    Room ok and good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extra charge for coffee at breakfast, very expensive at 7 LV. Additional charge (9 LV) for compulsory swimming cap at pool.

    Friendly, professional and helpful staff; beautiful interiors.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The refurbishement of the hotel is only in the lobby, the breakfast is served in the old restaurant where the interiors are from the 70's. The room was oldish, with poor furniture, smell of cigarettes. Bed linen, led covers and pillows were very poor quality. The door of the room was almost broken.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unpleasant staff. Overpriced bar. Waitresses taking drinks from you even though it was clear that you didn't finish the drink. If you have special wishes in the lunge, the waiter get clearly pissed off. The hairdryer in the room was from the 80s, and didn't even work. Nobody at the reception reacted on that even when clearly being requested to provide an alternative.

    The hotel is big, nice landscape view from the rooms, clean rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable and old bed, cleaness of carpet questionable, noisy a/c system, average breakfast

    Selection of restaurants indoors, good Wifi service, responsive staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it's not a big deal but the fact that the parking is managed by a separate company is a bit loosy!

    Very clean, fully equiped rooms and well situated with nice personnal. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - at the reception one girl was very rude - the security mans were rude - rooms are OLD at least 10 or 15 years - I would never say that this is 5 stars hotel

    - restaurants at the hotel are really good - the lobby is really good also - the wifi is also perfect - cleaning lady was nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    rooms where mediocre charging that price they need to refurnish more often i would be very mad with the price i payed if it wasnt fir the service that actually made my stay more comfortable , in my room one of the night laps had bloodstains on it the other lamp looked like it was used as decor in an action movie. the door in-front my room looked like the fire department broke in.. no guns allowed sign was the main attraction to the tourists not luxurious lobby from what i saw. Honestly they need to put more effort into the room to reach the level they claim to be as an hospitality organisation.

    Room service was sharp and worth overpaying, lobby design was pretty nice, bell boy was always helpful, in general im pretty pleased with the staff, they were 4 out of the 7,1 i gave the hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than the bar staff no other staff smiled at us, the receptionist never told us how to get to our room, how to get to the breakfast room, what dining facilities are available or if a booking for dinner was necessary (we couldn't get a table later when we tried).

    It is well decorated, clean and the bar staff were friendly, we ate in the bar as it doesn't require a booking and it was lovely. The rooms are spacious and have everything you could need.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was very surprised getting a room, which was apparently a smoking room. The smell of cigarettes was very strong and terrible. The room was as well not very clean. Worst experience ever. Service at hotel restaurant very slow (despite of empty restaurant), we had to wait almost one hour for menu. Breakfast - although 5 waiters present, no one offered coffee. Rotten fruits served on both days.

    I liked some designs in the hotel and this was the reason why I made the reservation. I liked as well Japanese restaurant next to Marinella; which is apparently NOT a part of the hotel. Nevertheless, the design is simply too overcrowded and not always everything.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was hard. You'd think a five-star hotel would ensure their beds are comfortable to sleep in. Also the hairdryer was broken.

    The fact that you can give your laundry and it is done and returned to you in one hour. The Panorama restaurant on the top floor with great views of the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms, although clean and spacious, need a refit/upgrade.

    100/100 for location, service, cleanliness, facilities, restaurants and variety of food and drink. Would recommend it

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reporting daily the safe problem but nobody to fix it !

    Safe out of order from Arrival to Departure ! I like the Hotel but I was pissed of with the safe , reporting daily the problem but nobody to fix ! Safes in reception all full . If the safe was fixed I was to give them 10 points .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was cold in the room ( about 20 C), the air conditioning wasn't working. I complained at the reception but nothing happen. Access card for the room stopped working at some point so I had to go back at the reception to get it reactivated.

    Standard room was spacious, bathroom as well, very clean and well decorated. View was ok, breakfast was great but the breakfast room was overcrowded. Very close to the metro station (2-3 minutes), nice variety of bars and restaurants. I definitely recommend the cigar lounge because is quiet and has a chill vibe, also very well ventilated so even if you don't smoke you can enjoy a nice cocktail.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms should be renovated.The furniture is old and the beds could be more comfortable.

    All bars in hotel are superb. Lobby bar is very nice and cosy and Candy bar is a great place for a drink aftr a long day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was broke and water went all over the floor.

    Darin Dimitrov was the kindest nicest man I have ever came across in any hotels I have stayed. He spoke English to my little boy ( who does not speak Bulgarian ) and my little boy was extremely happy that someone speaks his native language. Thank You Darin !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were upset that we wanted to put our cases in our room and leave very quickly by car and though we explained that to reception we were still charged for 1 hours parking despite being back to our car in only 15 minutes

    The room and bathroom were comfortable, the temperature was very good, cool in the room. The location and choice of restaurants was great. Captain Cook restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I really have to criticize anything that will be the speed of the room-service. But yes that's been really picky.

    I was a bit apprehensive as I visited this hotel a few years ago and everything was very old. However I was told that the refurbishment has changed this hotel dramatically so decided to give it a go. I can't praise Marinela hotel enough, a true 5* treatment from the moment you arrive with small details like hand made chocolates(absolutely yummy). The room was with fresh clean decor and the staff and cleanliness were excellent. In my opinion this is the best hotel in Sofia. Will recommend highly! Looking forward to returning back in October. D Deltcheva

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furnishing was extremely old and worn out. Everything stank of cigarette smoke - sheets, pillow, etc. There was an ongoing refurbishing work with a drilling machine so near my room that I had to leave the hotel to avoid it. No relaxation whatsoever. The staff totally nonchalant. The ancient hair dryer out of order. The manager arrogant. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Nothing! My worst hotel experience ever!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room rug dirty, stained, old, and wrinkled. Grumpy bellman, tub very tall to step into for a shower, M. Restaurant (forgot the name), in the hotel, charged us for a bottle of water they had refilled, stairs to 3rd. floor inconvenient and dirty (I asked for a low room because we do not take elevators), and the hotel tried to charge for two nights; we only stayed one. Too pricy, not a 4 star hotel..our 3 star down the street is much, much nicer and cheaper.

    Downstairs was pretty. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Air conditioning could not be regulated......which was very annoying! Swimming pool did NOT work the whole length of our stay.....one of the main reasons for selecting this hotel. Temperature in Sofia was between 33 and 39 degrees celcius. We were told on arrival Saturday afternoon, that the pool was being cleaned until Tuesday.......and then every day after were told that it would be available on the next day!!! What a disgrace.....no pool in the most hottest of months!!!

    Breakfast was nice......although repetative. Room was comfortable overall. Cleaning staff were happy, smiling and ready to assist. Beautiful grounds!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures on the web side are showing only the upgrades rooms. When you book economy room for €84, the room is the original built from 1979 with 40 years old beds and furnitures. It has the popcorn ceiling and carpet that has never being upgraded. If you upgrade the room for another €30 additional you will get a room from 21 century. Be careful when booking , it's scam

    The lobby bar and restaurants are very modern , staff is very nice and helpful and food is delisiouc

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of the room and wc which are not that comfortable and probably the only counterpart of the hotel in general. The parking was open so the heat of the car was extremenly high on a sunny day. I wasn't able to change the temperature of the room easily which was set to an extreme 22. The glass of the batch was turning by it self making it repositioned inside the batch.

    The lobby is the best I have ever seen. That is huge so I have everything on one place. The breakfast and the coffee. The restaurants and the bar which are next to a garden with birds and fish. The lake in the middle. The zero waitting in the check-in check-out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was not that clean and there were some water stains on the roof.

    The food is fresh and nicely prepared. Also, the restaurant Captain Cook has great meny and Chefs who knows their job.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was quite rude at times and it took ages to order anything. For example, I dropped my knife and was getting a new one - which took 10 minutes. My wife wanted ketchup with her meal, that also took 10 minutes, like they don't even realize that the food will be cold by the time they are back. They also served me a beer bottle with a broken/chipped neck and just asked me to be careful with it - I sent it back. Not the type of incidents you should expect from such a fancy hotel.

    Nice setting with the pretty garden and peacocks walking around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can see the high quality of the service and the attention to details from the staff when you go beyond the standard check-in/check-out procedures. That was our case. Wasn't our first stay in Hotel Marinela Sofia and won't be our last because of the excellent location, hotel facilities, bars, clubs, restaurants, view from the big rooms and exceptional staff members! Many thanks to our host Mario, for the great job he and his team is doing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The recent renovation of the hotel by the new owners was terrible - the old hotel (New Otani, Vitosha, Kempinski) was an architectural and design jewel - it is now a kitschy, garish, nouveau riche nightmare.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Aircon was off because of the weather, ideally guest should have an access and deicide to turn it on or keep it off. Though when we opnened the window it was perfect but still i beleieve AC option should be available through out the year.

    Every thing was perefect, it an amazing Hotel, having all the best services which should be available in 5 star hotel. basement club was amazing, one of the best in town, really enjoyed my stay, Hatss of to all Marinela Hotel team.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress quality was bad, my back hurted after sleeping. Wifi in the room was really bad until they brought me a router. Cleaning lady just entered the room without even knocking.

    Very friendly staff, breakfast was nice, but not like a 5 star hotel. Concierge Mario super helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The economy room was very bad. There was a bad smell coming from the toilet. I had to upgrade to a standard room which was charge 25 Euros extra per day. I didnt budget for this went checking in. To be fair the standard room was better and clean. But I was charge extra because the initial room smells?

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    On waking up i noticed the room was only set out for 1 arriving guest ( 1 bath robe 1 Bath towel, 1 smaller towel, 1 compliment bottle of water! As we were only stopping one day i didn't make a fuss about it, i mentioned it at reception to the lady and was asked why i didn't tell her sooner i replied Ive just only noticed when it came to wanting to go for a swim and to shower , She thanked me for letting her know, i wasn't given an apology of any sort and no-one came to the room to bring another Bath robe and towel. I was disappointed at the reception staff. We didn't use the shower and decided to get washed when we got home, i didn't want to go to the reception a second time asking the same question. when it came to checking out i mentioned it again to the lady checking me out and a very poor attitude from her asking me why i didn't come and let someone know. No apology and not interested. Also only 1 chair in the room only one of us could sit at the small table The room was very basic and nothing in comparison to the Magnificent Entrance, Restaurants, Beautiful Japanese gardens and grounds. Very disappointing and i got no sleep due to the very noisy Lifts in use all night the noise vibrates through the room i was stopping at.

    Breakfast was lovely with a very good selection. Lovely helpful staff. The Marionette restaurant is lovely food was lovely but lacking staff! we had to wait a long time for service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I couldn't fault anything on this trip

    The hotel is in a good location. With the Japanese garden the surroundings are very pleasant. Staff are all friendly and happy to help if required

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Lovely and kind stuff. Everybody was helpfull.Especially reception chef Mr. Darin was very professional Lobby and hotel was luxury Room service and suprises were well

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff are really helpful and friendly. The onsite restaurants have amazing food. There was no problem extending my stay from 7 to 11 nights after a few days I was there. I liked the lobby bar but it was really pricey compared to going out. If you do get a drink there, I recommend the Zombie! Also the Japanese Kyoto garden is beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was old. Outdated soviet era furniture. Unresponsive climate control. Lumpy beds. Tired carpeting. Smoke smell in a non-smoking room. Everything needs to be renovated. Wifi very slow in the evenings.

    Lovely breakfast was included in the room price. One of the best hotel breakfast buffets I have had in all my European travels. Public areas were very nice. Great flat-screen TV and many international channels. Hotel adjacent to Metro for easy access to centre of Sofia.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Japanese restaurant was under construction:)

    Fantastic staff, very cozy, good value for money, clean and proud to be hosted by this real 5 star hotel!! The views from Panorama restaurant is a site for sore eyes and the all the restaurants, bars and night clubs were super top!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old and dusty, especially the carpet on the floor.

    The breakfast and accomodation was really nice. Also the location. Just a 5min. Walk from the hotel to the metrostation.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don`t know !

    Perfect breakfast, comfortable beds, courteous staff. Entertainment venues. Lobby bar, disco bars, great area for sports and relaxation. Convenient location. Perfect view.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This visit was marred by the poor service and attitude of the FEMALE Reception Staff. One such instance when I requested to change Euro notes into the local currency, the Staff on duty refused to accept the E100,00 tendered, as it was slightly torn, however the note recognition machine accepted this note as valid, and upon my assistance, the receptionist's supervisor authorized the exchange. At this point I was issued with completely torn Bulgarian currency, this I rejected, and after further complaints from this member of your staff, and at my insistance, complete currency was issued. This staff member was extremely unprofessional and places a 5 Star Hotel in a poor light. On my check out morning, I request a taxi but had to wait some 25 minutes , even the reception girl ask me to go out and get a taxi in the snow , WHAT AN ATTITUDE , before I left the Hotel, at the Receptionist insistence and attempted to obtain a taxi by myself. Fortunately, one of the Hotels porter staff, came to my assistance and procured a taxi for me. In view of the delay in leaving the Hotel, caused by the Reception lack of attention to customer relations, coupled with the extremely bad weather conditions, I arrived at the airport after the gate close time for my flight.

    This visit was marred by the poor service and attitude of the FEMALE Reception Staff. Porter Staff very helpful. George the porter was amazing , always there to assist advice and help . Remove all the Girls from the reception , if you need help just ask George .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to fight for a newlybrenovated room instead of an old room

    the new rooms are delightfull , the hotel is very fresh and nicely designed ... make sure you get a renovated room do.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tried 2 restaurants within the hotel and have to say the service was not that great first meal got the order wrong second meal was cold when it arrived on table Being a non smoker it was unpleasant to have to eat amongst smokers as they do not operate a smoking ban

    What a great hotel, good security so felt very safe, should be a 5 star, great location as one edge of the centre so walking distance

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was no jacuzzi.

    The beds were really comfy. Thanks to the reception manager, who gave us the apartment so our family were together. Location was great and breakfast had such a variety.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was horrible in the room, really poor coverage. Bed was ok, but nothing especial, room service did the room "fast" almost every day (didn't clean too much).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Management of Room booking schdule at the front desk

    Nice breakfast, nice view from room, Good facilities of fitness center Very close to the metrostation

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel beds, pillows and linens are awful. I stay here often due to its location but the pillows especially are a disaster.

    The hotel has a great restaurant Captain Cook!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They require deposit of 200 Lv, which is not mensioned in the hotel policy. Decor of the lobby is not my taste.

    Upgraded large room with a bathtub, breakfast buffet, and massage at spa.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The new rooms were already falling apart. Service level was miserable. Slow bar. Wifi was not working. Bed was uncomfortable.

    Nice garden, great bar area, nice view, fast checkout.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are varyingly dated, with a standard room being the worst. I had a junior suite which was pretty good but could still do with a bit of an upgrade. The water in the bathroom is labelled as 'non-drinkable' but in fact water in Sofia is okay to drink apparently, but the hotel didn't provide any free bottled water leaving you to have to raid the mini-bar. The wireless internet was a bit variable as well.

    The public areas are great, the new lobby bar, gentlemans lounge, along with the other facilities (Happy Sushi is fantastic), make it a great 'all under one roof hotel'.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel bar doesn't allow to put drinks onto the room bill, which is annoying for people without Lew, the local currency. I didn't like design and decoration, but that's a matter of taste.

    Nice breakfast, excellent fitness center, good Wifi without annoying captive portal. Value for money is remarkable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The new remodeling has made this good hotel MUCH better. The staff is friendly and professional. The bellhop to the concierge to reception staff are all trained well and provide true 5 star service, which is something that typically is not found in the region. The beds are super comfortable. excellemt choice of restaurants, cafe, clubs and services. All on-site which is super convenient.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All restaurants and bars are understaffed so there is long waiting for service. WiFi is definetly need improvment: speed and signal strenght.

    Drinking coffee on the terracce with view to the garden is heavenly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mezzanine restaurant was a bit overcrowded, as the hotel was fully booked. Scrambled eggs (my usual stuff in the mornings) was not the best I've ever eaten.

    Cosy, clean and very quiet room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - I had dinner at 19th floor restaurant and the waiter tried too much to suggest me what to order. Maybe he just wanted to be friendly but I felt a little weird. - the dinner was expensive in my opinion. - the parking space is quite expensive (12EUR/day)

    - I had a renovated room which was big & clean with a big bed. - the hotel in general looks great - in general people are friendly and know english (at least those people that I met) - they have a private parking space (NOT free but there is one). There is also a public (free I guess) parking space on the street next to the hotel. - room price was good. - there is a subway station and a small park across the street

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air condition is Preset! you dont have the ability to change the temperature!! Wifi is VERY weak in the rooms

    Hotel is in calm great location 2 minutes from center Very Nice restaurants and Bars Very Clean and spacious rooms Nice bright view in all rooms Fair Breakfast, could be better for 5 stars

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant on the top floor - server extremely rude and had no knowledge of the variety of options on food and restaurants that the Hotel Marinela offers. Server explanation was: " Our restaurant is separate from the hotel and privately owned, we do not need to know more about the hotel nor what other restaurants are in it. " That for me was - not professional and if he did not know - he could just politely send my attention to Front Desk or Concierge if more information is needed ..

    Design, Hotel Staff, Lobby bar service excellent, Room - well cleaned and neat, Ball service - excellent, Front Desk - great check out with details of the amenity of the hotel...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since the hotel has changed his name, the quality seems to be no more a priority... The japanese inspiration is an excellent idea, too bad, that the different bars put different annoying pop music at the same time. A true cacophony ! The welcoming of the staff at the different bars can be very different... But all together, not nice. Finally, if you're cold or if the room is incredibly hot, you can change the climatic in your room... You cannot stop it, you can do nothing...

    The rooms are still the same as they were when the hotel was Kempinski. Good middle class room, no more, no less. The hotel is well located near a metro stop.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel severely let itself down through the constant, 24/7 use of thump-thump background music. At night this is quite normal and acceptable (however the same style of music emanated from every one of the several bars and restaurants - there was no variety). But when we came down in the morning for a pleasant, peaceful coffee outside by the water, the musak continued, utterly spoiling any kind of tranquillity. We spent 24 hours at the hotel, and at no point was there anywhere where music was not playing, inside and out, other than in our own room.

    The almost over-the-top, black-and-white, somewhat Japanese feeling decor makes this hotel "fun". In the huge outside area, complete with trees, water and swans, is very pleasant, both by day and night.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the rooms aren't as clean as they should have been.... and they still have old rooms not that good...

    The location, easy to go to meetings. The bar in the hotel called Candy Bar, you can easilly have good time inside the hotel without getting out of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In my room there wasn't any available plugs for charging the laptop/ phone etc. so I had to unplug the tv. That could be improved even with an extension cable.

    Absolutely amazing hotel. Had an amazing view of the city and the mountains from my 13th floor room. Great restaurants and bars connected to the hotel at the lake area. Highly recommended. Breakfast was really good and fantastic overall service.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A standard room do not qualify for even 3 stars hotel. I had to complain in order the room to be cleaned and that happened around 19:30. Had only one bathrobe for a double room !!! No any sleepers! The breakfast had bid variety spread widely and looks imprecise, but still was average, it's unacceptable the cooked food to be cold and hot water for the tea was as well not warm.

    Lovely restaurants and caffe bars, amazing garden.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, perhaps a few of the fixtures like door knobs, sills appear dated, but I guess those will be fixed during the off-season?!

    Huge place, multiple restaurants, good food, open air garden-bar with excellent sushi overlooking a themed garden with peacocks and a pond with ducks Lovely Sushi place 'Happy Sushi' in a Japanese 'Shibumi' style. Very well equipped gym and spa, good personal trainer, 20-25 m indoor lap pool. Did not check out the night-club though I've heard it's a top-notch place. Something for everybody!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I or my supervisor travel to Sofia quarterly or more often and always stay in Marinela as it is 5 minutes walk from our partners' office. Besides very good - for us - location the hotel delivers everything a frequent traveller needs. The décor is kitschy but who cares, everything is clean and the rooms are comfy

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front office staff and especially the receptionist who welcomed us were very polite and friendly. The personnel from the room service was really helpful and nice as well. The room was nice and clean. The location of the hotel as well as the facilities in the hotel are key advantages of the hotel. I am very happy with my overall experience at the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful staff at reception.The lady was very rude.I will never choose this hotel again!My experience was DISCUSSING!!!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Marinela Sofia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: