Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Bulgaria hotel reviews
  3. Sofia Province hotel reviews
  4. Sofia hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Marinela Sofia

Reviews of Hotel Marinela Sofia This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

100 James Boucher Blvd, Lozenets, 1407 Sofia, Bulgaria

#99 of 192 hotels in Sofia

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 785 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    6.7
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service staff were very unprofessional and not willing to assist. Far from the needed service of a 5* hotel.

    Good location. Good facilities and services.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    9.6
    Awesome hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Excellent...it’s how a 5 star should be... entrance into the hotel breathtaking... I was in awe..... the staff were so welcoming and even my shuttle pick up very helpful....just amazing....

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    7.9
    Luxury looking average hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Probably built quite some time ago the rooms have very few and inconveniently fitted plugs. These days you would want to charge many devices, to do that next to your bed (your phone, of course) you need to unplug the reading lamp, which leaves you in darkness in the evening. At breakfast the scrambled eggs made of powder tasted very strange. Had fried eggs made on site instead. The cook neither smiles nor says hello, just asks : one, two or three? Well, certainly enough information for him:) I forgot a small pack in the fridge after checking out, called to pick it up later. It was found but when I dropped in to pick it up had to wait 15 minutes, because nobody knew where it was placed. finally found though.

    A luxury-looking hotel (lobby) with average rooms, breakfast and service. Nothing special regarding the rooms, definitely not 5* amenities. Nice view from higher floors over the city.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    6.3
    Excellent restaurants, apartment is ok
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sofa in the suite could be more comfortable, cleanliness is not as it should be. I dropped a peanut under the table, it was still there after “cleaning”. Phone was not working, couldn’t call room service, reception or housekeeping. Wanted another blanket, but there is none.

    I love all bars and restaurants there.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    5.4
    Very good restaurants and gorgeous Japanese garden! the hotel itself is so so.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff in the reception were very rude! and they did not assist in anything! was not possible to find bell boy to help with the luggage! the quality of renovation is poor. the showers worked very badly. the water pressure was low and was not possible to regulate the water, either it was boiling or cold.

    there are a lot of restaurants in the teretory of the hotel. and all of them are very good quality! as well there is a gorgeous Japanese garden!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    9.2
    Was a memorable experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room with City View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They should work on the Lift.Its Old,lt had some electrical fault which some other guests mistook as the Hotel being on fire More better they should change the Lift entirely.Its a very big hotel and should not be using such old Lift.

    Cleanliness and The Friendly staffs The Bar

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    6.3
    Тhe heating did not work and informed us that they would...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Тhe heating did not work and informed us that they would bring us a heater but it turned out that they did not have enough heaters. There was hot water but we did not bathe, because the temperature in the room was about 18 degrees. They did not give us another room explaining that they were working on the problem.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    5.4
    Nice breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Reception desk employees were extremely impolite. Room was fairly simple - door lock was braking all of the time and electricity in the room was stopping constantly because of the room card. Pool was fairly distant and required payment for cap. Parking was with payment, quite high.

    Nice breakfast. Nice view. Nice design.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was ok, bed size and sheets were really comfy.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very cold, broken control of heating, then the supposedly technician has brought a heater and blocked the termostat on 28 C, it was impossibly hot. Late response and rude receptionist. In the morning we asked for towells and they were delivered at checkout. Swimingpool wery far from elevator and rooms, cold to walk. Water cold even in the children s little improvised pool.Swiming caps are mandatory and you must pay them on the spot. The general design was shockingly cheap and the too much...

    Breakfast was ok, bed size and sheets were really comfy. Reception staff was coreectly dimenssioned to the hotel size.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    7.1
    What should have been a wonderful experience was spoilt by unnecessary maintenance issue’s
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room , the location of the room was great , excellent view of Vitosha Mountain, but the money that had been spent on giving a wonderful impression when you entered the hotel could have been extended to the rooms as well , I suggest new sheets , there was two inches of bare mattress at the top of the bed , when we finally got ready for bed and tried to adjust the air conditioning on the panel in the room we found the panel did not work , tried to phone reception to tell them it did not work and discovered the phone did not work either , so no early morning call for us either , on check out we were told you have to request adjustments to the air conditioning by ringing hotel reception , can’t do that if the phone doesn’t work , another thing that is not made clear is that the parking area at the front of 5he hotel is run by a private company and will cost you 30 Bgn a day , the actual parking for the hotel is underground , not sure if we would return for an overnight stay ,

    The hotel reception area was absolutely fabulous , and I would return just to take tea in the beautiful Japanese gardens , everywhere was spotlessly clean ,

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    6.3
    dirty toilets so no one would eat again in the restaurant when seeing this, unmotivated staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the restaurant toilets are extremely dirty. you can see from the dust and the toilet brushes that no decent cleaning has been done in weeks. the restaurant staff is extremely unmotivated(marionette dinner) and stands around doing nothing or is busy on their phone or talking to each other. the bedrooms have matresses that seem to be 10-20 years old and are uncomfortable with the springs sticking

    location is very good, service is ok

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    10
    Overall pleasant place to stay for business purposes.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For a business lunch, we waited an hour for food to be served and in the interim a glass of red wine was spilled on one of my guests. No coordination between kitchen and staff. Situation was not well handled, although meal was comped.

    The bed was fantastic. The room was large and comfortable. Staff were accommodating. Beautiful outdoor dining and bar. Good options for business entertaining.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing The facilities are there but the quality is not near
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The carpet was very durty. The shampoo was half ful and had somebody’s hair stuck in. There was only one square pillow if very bad quality. This is not a 5 star hotel by any mean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    8.8
    Has few disadvantages but still the best in Sofia
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor breakfast as for 5* hotel, no fresh juice, no coffee machine, limited vegs.

    Beautiful room, amazing view from the top floor, fitness club&swim pool, polite and helpful crew.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    5.4
    The best thing about my stay was the moment I checked out!
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived about 4 am after a long flight. The lady at the reception was everything else but not welcoming or nice. She directly said that there is no such reservation. Her colleague looked at me, no greeting, no apology - just said he canceled the reservation as I didn't showed up by 00:00. After the "nice" welcome, I got into this old room for 200 BGN per night with overdosed interior and small and dirty bathroom with not properly working toilet. The final touch in my Marinella experience was the wild party, bass and music from the top floor night club that didn't stopped until 7:00 am Who makes a night club at the top floor, when your building is not properly sound proofed.

    The location and the view towards the Vitosha mountain. The lobby bar garden was very attractive and nice. Masterpiece!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    10
    Best hotel in Sofia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We tried two of the restaurants inside the hotel and they were a bit of a tourist trap, but the hotel itself is not to blame.

    The breakfast was excellent, the hotel staff was welcoming and helpful, and the room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    6.7
    Good restaurants and a nice gym/pool attached to the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service is very slow! They definitely need more man power to handle all the service requests.

    Good restaurants and a nice gym/pool attached to the property. The rooms are quite spacious and has good views.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    9.6
    amazing ! come back soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was disappointing compared to overall quality of the hotel

    the best hotel in Sofia (like Dubai), the architecture and design is japanese , with amazing 6 restaurants and all what you need and want ... pool , gym, disco, night club for gentlman , japanese garden with pickcooks and swans! the food is amazong especialy in panorama restaurant and captan cook! the test of sea food is fresh and like in Sicily!!! this is second time to come back in this fabulous luxury hotel. the price is not high also for the restaurants! the services are top quality!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast buffet with everything you could wish...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We would have liked a family splash in the pool but it was lane swimming each time.

    Excellent breakfast buffet with everything you could wish for, even a pancake maker. We dined twice in UMAMI and couldn't fault the service or food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    6.0
    Nothing!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Usual old big hotel which is renovated but not well maintained / personal in the lobby okay at the bar not so well trained / never eat the club sandwich there its like a brick.... 127€ + 10€ extra for the parking - is a joke for this hotel / there are better ones in sofia not much more expensive but much much better. First and last time.

    Nothing! Sorry...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel with great facilities and staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very good hotel with helpful, friendly and efficient staff. Close to Metro stop. I had to check out very early for a flight, so they gave me a take away breakfast. Excellent pool and gym. Has a lovely park-like Japanese garden to relax in. Great view across the city from my 4th floor room. Choice of bars and restaurants - I ate in the Japanese one, which was excellent. Japan theme in displays of Samurai armour.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    7.1
    could be better...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    cold clim all the night. not possible to adjust the temper. the sport area is closed at 10:00 pm ! no real espresso at breakfast.no espresso machine in the room. view from the room --

    the breakfast is good and the space to get the food well organized. a lot of restaurants there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    3.3
    Forget this hotel for good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfriendly staff at the reception desk. They charge more than the room costs and want to give charge back. Reason they mistrust the guest that he might take something from the minibar (no fridge!) or might disappear! Lack of understanding the guests needs. I told them I would also complain at VISA that they should no longer be able to accept VISA cards. The hotel is sinister and dark. So are the people (most probably underworld). This is the only hotel in the world who has a sign GUNS NOT ALLOWED! That says everything!

    The only positive thing is the central location and the parking lot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    7.1
    For people that loves effects and lux, they will be satisfied
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The organisation of the sitting lunch. We were around 150 and the buffet was located in one place as a result a huge queue and very little time to eat for the last persons in the queue. No water on the table. The quality of the buffet was not the one I would expect for this kind of hotel.

    the garden even under the rain. a large choice of fresh fruits for breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    9.2
    Many areas for food and drinks.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately some areas were under renovations which for the future is a positive issue

    Many areas for food and drinks. Beautiful terrace. Huge lobby area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    6.3
    The staff is not service minded at all.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff is not service minded at all. They are very moody and even roll their eyes at you if you ask them to do something. Food came two hours after ordered at the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    3.8
    Hi there to eat but stay somewhere else.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything else - the electricity did not work properly. - I could not even charge my phone within 2 days. Te beds were horrible - there was not even a martasse Protection ok it. The bathroom was moldy. Shower gel so full of Parfume that it was unusable. The dacurlities ariund the pool where a schame - showers not working / broken. Just beyond.

    The restaurant was really good. Soness te restaurant staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    9.2
    Good view from top floors rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Luxury hotel with payed parking?! Bars and Disco clubs in the lobby?! Bed was a little hard.

    Good view from top floors rooms. Excellent breakfast. Very clean room and bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    7.1
    The garden is nice downstairs.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got a room where there was an extremely strong smell of cigarettes. I called the reception to complain and they said it was impossible as all rooms are non-smoking and hung up. As there was even a cigarette burn on the table I decided to step up for myself and went to the reception to ask for a change of room. They gave me another room and this one was fine.

    The garden is nice downstairs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    8.3
    Nice rooms, good food, hotel is great
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bad staff coordination.Didnt get email confirmation for payment after two emails, and afterwards tried to charge the same room twice. They dont answer the phone on booking. Called 3 times.

    Nice rooms, good food, hotel is great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    10
    I had wonderful experience at the hotel, will return again for sure
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff at reception, the housekeeping staff as well Darin (Front Office Manager) and Mario made my stay feel hospitable and comfortable. I recommend this hotel for a fabulous experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    6.7
    Rich and various breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have been visiting this Hotel for years and every couple of weeks. Still the checki-in process is taking too long. Furthermore, everytime I have to explain the invoice address. This should be done automatically and be stored in the System. Heating was working although more than 20 degrees oustide. Extremely hot in the room. Prices currently too high.

    Rich and various breakfast. Big gym. Lot of Restaurants and bars inside the Hotel. Complimentary bottles of water in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    6.3
    Nothing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When you enter the lobby, you feel like a be a funeral. Everything is in black - the interior, the furniture, the people - full kitsch. Guests of the bars and restaurants are smoke. It is definitely not a 5 star hotel - maybe 3 ++.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    5.8
    Quite pleasant. Not at all a five star hotel level
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The decoration of the lobby, bars and common facilites in general. Not of good taste, with plenty of flashy- kitsch- elements

    Room ok and good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    7.9
    Friendly, professional and helpful staff;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extra charge for coffee at breakfast, very expensive at 7 LV. Additional charge (9 LV) for compulsory swimming cap at pool.

    Friendly, professional and helpful staff; beautiful interiors.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    5.4
    The refurbishement of the hotel is only in the lobby, the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The refurbishement of the hotel is only in the lobby, the breakfast is served in the old restaurant where the interiors are from the 70's. The room was oldish, with poor furniture, smell of cigarettes. Bed linen, led covers and pillows were very poor quality. The door of the room was almost broken.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    5.8
    Not what I expected!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unpleasant staff. Overpriced bar. Waitresses taking drinks from you even though it was clear that you didn't finish the drink. If you have special wishes in the lunge, the waiter get clearly pissed off. The hairdryer in the room was from the 80s, and didn't even work. Nobody at the reception reacted on that even when clearly being requested to provide an alternative.

    The hotel is big, nice landscape view from the rooms, clean rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    5.0
    A former 5-star hotel without adequate maintenance
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Uncomfortable and old bed, cleaness of carpet questionable, noisy a/c system, average breakfast

    Selection of restaurants indoors, good Wifi service, responsive staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    9.6
    Nice and quiet place in Sofia
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it's not a big deal but the fact that the parking is managed by a separate company is a bit loosy!

    Very clean, fully equiped rooms and well situated with nice personnal. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    5.0
    OLD rooms, never 5 star hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - at the reception one girl was very rude - the security mans were rude - rooms are OLD at least 10 or 15 years - I would never say that this is 5 stars hotel

    - restaurants at the hotel are really good - the lobby is really good also - the wifi is also perfect - cleaning lady was nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    7.1
    Room service was sharp and worth overpaying, lobby design...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    rooms where mediocre charging that price they need to refurnish more often i would be very mad with the price i payed if it wasnt fir the service that actually made my stay more comfortable , in my room one of the night laps had bloodstains on it the other lamp looked like it was used as decor in an action movie. the door in-front my room looked like the fire department broke in.. no guns allowed sign was the main attraction to the tourists not luxurious lobby from what i saw. Honestly they need to put more effort into the room to reach the level they claim to be as an hospitality organisation.

    Room service was sharp and worth overpaying, lobby design was pretty nice, bell boy was always helpful, in general im pretty pleased with the staff, they were 4 out of the 7,1 i gave the hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    8.3
    Most staff not friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Other than the bar staff no other staff smiled at us, the receptionist never told us how to get to our room, how to get to the breakfast room, what dining facilities are available or if a booking for dinner was necessary (we couldn't get a table later when we tried).

    It is well decorated, clean and the bar staff were friendly, we ate in the bar as it doesn't require a booking and it was lovely. The rooms are spacious and have everything you could need.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    3.8
    Design is not everything
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was very surprised getting a room, which was apparently a smoking room. The smell of cigarettes was very strong and terrible. The room was as well not very clean. Worst experience ever. Service at hotel restaurant very slow (despite of empty restaurant), we had to wait almost one hour for menu. Breakfast - although 5 waiters present, no one offered coffee. Rotten fruits served on both days.

    I liked some designs in the hotel and this was the reason why I made the reservation. I liked as well Japanese restaurant next to Marinella; which is apparently NOT a part of the hotel. Nevertheless, the design is simply too overcrowded and not always everything.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic experience as always. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was hard. You'd think a five-star hotel would ensure their beds are comfortable to sleep in. Also the hairdryer was broken.

    The fact that you can give your laundry and it is done and returned to you in one hour. The Panorama restaurant on the top floor with great views of the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    10
    keep up the good work.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms, although clean and spacious, need a refit/upgrade.

    100/100 for location, service, cleanliness, facilities, restaurants and variety of food and drink. Would recommend it

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    7.1
    Nice Hotel ! But give more attention to your Guest .
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reporting daily the safe problem but nobody to fix it !

    Safe out of order from Arrival to Departure ! I like the Hotel but I was pissed of with the safe , reporting daily the problem but nobody to fix ! Safes in reception all full . If the safe was fixed I was to give them 10 points .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    7.9
    Overall a nice staying
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was cold in the room ( about 20 C), the air conditioning wasn't working. I complained at the reception but nothing happen. Access card for the room stopped working at some point so I had to go back at the reception to get it reactivated.

    Standard room was spacious, bathroom as well, very clean and well decorated. View was ok, breakfast was great but the breakfast room was overcrowded. Very close to the metro station (2-3 minutes), nice variety of bars and restaurants. I definitely recommend the cigar lounge because is quiet and has a chill vibe, also very well ventilated so even if you don't smoke you can enjoy a nice cocktail.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2017

    7.1
    All bars in hotel are superb.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms should be renovated.The furniture is old and the beds could be more comfortable.

    All bars in hotel are superb. Lobby bar is very nice and cosy and Candy bar is a great place for a drink aftr a long day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    10
    Magical
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was broke and water went all over the floor.

    Darin Dimitrov was the kindest nicest man I have ever came across in any hotels I have stayed. He spoke English to my little boy ( who does not speak Bulgarian ) and my little boy was extremely happy that someone speaks his native language. Thank You Darin !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    7.5
    Good location and restaurant - Captain Cook, we will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were upset that we wanted to put our cases in our room and leave very quickly by car and though we explained that to reception we were still charged for 1 hours parking despite being back to our car in only 15 minutes

    The room and bathroom were comfortable, the temperature was very good, cool in the room. The location and choice of restaurants was great. Captain Cook restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    10
    The best hotel in Sofia! Will visit soon again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I really have to criticize anything that will be the speed of the room-service. But yes that's been really picky.

    I was a bit apprehensive as I visited this hotel a few years ago and everything was very old. However I was told that the refurbishment has changed this hotel dramatically so decided to give it a go. I can't praise Marinela hotel enough, a true 5* treatment from the moment you arrive with small details like hand made chocolates(absolutely yummy). The room was with fresh clean decor and the staff and cleanliness were excellent. In my opinion this is the best hotel in Sofia. Will recommend highly! Looking forward to returning back in October. D Deltcheva

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    3.8
    Hell.
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The furnishing was extremely old and worn out. Everything stank of cigarette smoke - sheets, pillow, etc. There was an ongoing refurbishing work with a drilling machine so near my room that I had to leave the hotel to avoid it. No relaxation whatsoever. The staff totally nonchalant. The ancient hair dryer out of order. The manager arrogant. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Nothing! My worst hotel experience ever!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    4.2
    Not a 4 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room rug dirty, stained, old, and wrinkled. Grumpy bellman, tub very tall to step into for a shower, M. Restaurant (forgot the name), in the hotel, charged us for a bottle of water they had refilled, stairs to 3rd. floor inconvenient and dirty (I asked for a low room because we do not take elevators), and the hotel tried to charge for two nights; we only stayed one. Too pricy, not a 4 star hotel..our 3 star down the street is much, much nicer and cheaper.

    Downstairs was pretty. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    6.3
    A Mixed Bag!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Air conditioning could not be regulated......which was very annoying! Swimming pool did NOT work the whole length of our stay.....one of the main reasons for selecting this hotel. Temperature in Sofia was between 33 and 39 degrees celcius. We were told on arrival Saturday afternoon, that the pool was being cleaned until Tuesday.......and then every day after were told that it would be available on the next day!!! What a disgrace.....no pool in the most hottest of months!!!

    Breakfast was nice......although repetative. Room was comfortable overall. Cleaning staff were happy, smiling and ready to assist. Beautiful grounds!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    7.5
    It's scam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pictures on the web side are showing only the upgrades rooms. When you book economy room for €84, the room is the original built from 1979 with 40 years old beds and furnitures. It has the popcorn ceiling and carpet that has never being upgraded. If you upgrade the room for another €30 additional you will get a room from 21 century. Be careful when booking , it's scam

    The lobby bar and restaurants are very modern , staff is very nice and helpful and food is delisiouc

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    7.5
    A relaxing place to stay within and relax without making a single move.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of the room and wc which are not that comfortable and probably the only counterpart of the hotel in general. The parking was open so the heat of the car was extremenly high on a sunny day. I wasn't able to change the temperature of the room easily which was set to an extreme 22. The glass of the batch was turning by it self making it repositioned inside the batch.

    The lobby is the best I have ever seen. That is huge so I have everything on one place. The breakfast and the coffee. The restaurants and the bar which are next to a garden with birds and fish. The lake in the middle. The zero waitting in the check-in check-out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    7.1
    The food is fresh and nicely prepared.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was not that clean and there were some water stains on the roof.

    The food is fresh and nicely prepared. Also, the restaurant Captain Cook has great meny and Chefs who knows their job.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2017

    6.3
    Nice setting with the pretty garden and peacocks walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was quite rude at times and it took ages to order anything. For example, I dropped my knife and was getting a new one - which took 10 minutes. My wife wanted ketchup with her meal, that also took 10 minutes, like they don't even realize that the food will be cold by the time they are back. They also served me a beer bottle with a broken/chipped neck and just asked me to be careful with it - I sent it back. Not the type of incidents you should expect from such a fancy hotel.

    Nice setting with the pretty garden and peacocks walking around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    10
    Great hotel in Sofia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can see the high quality of the service and the attention to details from the staff when you go beyond the standard check-in/check-out procedures. That was our case. Wasn't our first stay in Hotel Marinela Sofia and won't be our last because of the excellent location, hotel facilities, bars, clubs, restaurants, view from the big rooms and exceptional staff members! Many thanks to our host Mario, for the great job he and his team is doing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2017

    6.7
    The hotel is not what it used to be
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The recent renovation of the hotel by the new owners was terrible - the old hotel (New Otani, Vitosha, Kempinski) was an architectural and design jewel - it is now a kitschy, garish, nouveau riche nightmare.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    8.3
    Amazing Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Aircon was off because of the weather, ideally guest should have an access and deicide to turn it on or keep it off. Though when we opnened the window it was perfect but still i beleieve AC option should be available through out the year.

    Every thing was perefect, it an amazing Hotel, having all the best services which should be available in 5 star hotel. basement club was amazing, one of the best in town, really enjoyed my stay, Hatss of to all Marinela Hotel team.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2017

    7.5
    Mixed feeling about the hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mattress quality was bad, my back hurted after sleeping. Wifi in the room was really bad until they brought me a router. Cleaning lady just entered the room without even knocking.

    Very friendly staff, breakfast was nice, but not like a 5 star hotel. Concierge Mario super helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2017

    7.5
    The economy room was very bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The economy room was very bad. There was a bad smell coming from the toilet. I had to upgrade to a standard room which was charge 25 Euros extra per day. I didnt budget for this went checking in. To be fair the standard room was better and clean. But I was charge extra because the initial room smells?

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2017

    10
    POOR RECEPTION STAFF.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    On waking up i noticed the room was only set out for 1 arriving guest ( 1 bath robe 1 Bath towel, 1 smaller towel, 1 compliment bottle of water! As we were only stopping one day i didn't make a fuss about it, i mentioned it at reception to the lady and was asked why i didn't tell her sooner i replied Ive just only noticed when it came to wanting to go for a swim and to shower , She thanked me for letting her know, i wasn't given an apology of any sort and no-one came to the room to bring another Bath robe and towel. I was disappointed at the reception staff. We didn't use the shower and decided to get washed when we got home, i didn't want to go to the reception a second time asking the same question. when it came to checking out i mentioned it again to the lady checking me out and a very poor attitude from her asking me why i didn't come and let someone know. No apology and not interested. Also only 1 chair in the room only one of us could sit at the small table The room was very basic and nothing in comparison to the Magnificent Entrance, Restaurants, Beautiful Japanese gardens and grounds. Very disappointing and i got no sleep due to the very noisy Lifts in use all night the noise vibrates through the room i was stopping at.

    Breakfast was lovely with a very good selection. Lovely helpful staff. The Marionette restaurant is lovely food was lovely but lacking staff! we had to wait a long time for service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2017

    10
    Excelent second stay at the Hotel. Definately worth coming back for a 3rd time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I couldn't fault anything on this trip

    The hotel is in a good location. With the Japanese garden the surroundings are very pleasant. Staff are all friendly and happy to help if required

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2017

    10
    Best hotel in sofia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all

    Lovely and kind stuff. Everybody was helpfull.Especially reception chef Mr. Darin was very professional Lobby and hotel was luxury Room service and suprises were well

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2017

    9.2
    Japan meets Bulgaria
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff are really helpful and friendly. The onsite restaurants have amazing food. There was no problem extending my stay from 7 to 11 nights after a few days I was there. I liked the lobby bar but it was really pricey compared to going out. If you do get a drink there, I recommend the Zombie! Also the Japanese Kyoto garden is beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2017

    7.5
    Large hotel outside the Centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was old. Outdated soviet era furniture. Unresponsive climate control. Lumpy beds. Tired carpeting. Smoke smell in a non-smoking room. Everything needs to be renovated. Wifi very slow in the evenings.

    Lovely breakfast was included in the room price. One of the best hotel breakfast buffets I have had in all my European travels. Public areas were very nice. Great flat-screen TV and many international channels. Hotel adjacent to Metro for easy access to centre of Sofia.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2017

    10
    Surely I will come back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Japanese restaurant was under construction:)

    Fantastic staff, very cozy, good value for money, clean and proud to be hosted by this real 5 star hotel!! The views from Panorama restaurant is a site for sore eyes and the all the restaurants, bars and night clubs were super top!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2017

    8.3
    Quite good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was old and dusty, especially the carpet on the floor.

    The breakfast and accomodation was really nice. Also the location. Just a 5min. Walk from the hotel to the metrostation.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2017

    10
    Bulgaria pleasure to know! Cultural life and entertainment in its capital, Sofia !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don`t know !

    Perfect breakfast, comfortable beds, courteous staff. Entertainment venues. Lobby bar, disco bars, great area for sports and relaxation. Convenient location. Perfect view.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2017

    6.7
    This visit was marred by the poor service and attitude of the FEMALE Reception Staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This visit was marred by the poor service and attitude of the FEMALE Reception Staff. One such instance when I requested to change Euro notes into the local currency, the Staff on duty refused to accept the E100,00 tendered, as it was slightly torn, however the note recognition machine accepted this note as valid, and upon my assistance, the receptionist's supervisor authorized the exchange. At this point I was issued with completely torn Bulgarian currency, this I rejected, and after further complaints from this member of your staff, and at my insistance, complete currency was issued. This staff member was extremely unprofessional and places a 5 Star Hotel in a poor light. On my check out morning, I request a taxi but had to wait some 25 minutes , even the reception girl ask me to go out and get a taxi in the snow , WHAT AN ATTITUDE , before I left the Hotel, at the Receptionist insistence and attempted to obtain a taxi by myself. Fortunately, one of the Hotels porter staff, came to my assistance and procured a taxi for me. In view of the delay in leaving the Hotel, caused by the Reception lack of attention to customer relations, coupled with the extremely bad weather conditions, I arrived at the airport after the gate close time for my flight.

    This visit was marred by the poor service and attitude of the FEMALE Reception Staff. Porter Staff very helpful. George the porter was amazing , always there to assist advice and help . Remove all the Girls from the reception , if you need help just ask George .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    8.8
    I would be happy to return there for a short business stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The tasty hot food for breakfast was not even warm.

    The helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    5.4
    Nice gym, nice lobby and restaurants
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old hotel, very old elevators that get stuck too often. The rooms equipment is below average for 5 stars hotel.

    Nice gym, nice lobby and restaurants

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    9.2
    The receptionist Maria a very polite and extremely helpful...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The receptionist Maria a very polite and extremely helpful person

    Stayed in December 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Hotel Marinela Sofia Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: