Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Akord 3 stars

1 Baba Vida Street, 1510 Sofia, Bulgaria

#60 of 179 hotels in Sofia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1503 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady at the reception who didn't believe me when I told her that I didn't use the minibar, so she had to ask the maid to check . This is the first time that happened to me, despite being Hotel Akord's regular guest!

    Breakfast was very good, much improved from the last time I was there. The room was comfortable and location is very handy for airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm sorry to say I hated the room! Although spacious it was on the first floor and only one window opened making it rather stuffy. The air con was more or less useless. My advice if booking is that you request a room not below the 2nd floor. The room itself was very large with chairs and a small table and plenty of sockets. I'm not sure why, but the Internet was terrible! It's a good signal strength but the speed is very slow for uploads and downloads. In the past I'd always found the Internet to be quite fast but sadly not on this occasion.

    This was my 4th stay at the Akord and it's undergone a lot of changes with a new restaurant and bar installed. The prices were a little more expensive but overall they weren't at all bad. The menu choice was good and breakfast has improved a great deal with a much wider choice of food than there had been before. Best of all they severed fresh ground coffee as well as the instant coffee although the orange juice is just that and it's not freshly squeezed. As always the staff are polite and friendly and in the room there's a full minibar along with a few snacks. Overall the changes made here have been very good and benefit the overall experience. There's also a flat screen tv in the room as well as telephone.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room decor feels a bit 1980s. Smoking still allowed in the restaurant.

    Comfortable beds, well heated in winter. Nice food in restaurant and a great breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff in the restaurant was not on top. The shower place in the bedroom is a primitive one.

    Price/quality is really good. I highly appreciate the clearness in the room and bedroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I assumed that the hotel is closer to the city centre - it can however be reached within 10 minutes by taxi for about 2,50 euros.

    clean, good value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast did not start until 7.30 and, when attempting to make a sandwich to take with us as we were running late, we were told this was not acceptable.The staff at breakfast were not at all friendly

    Location and ease of getting to/from

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was substantially better previous stay, related basically to sweets and pies.

    It is clean, and the stuff is friendly. Very good coffee on the breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite cold in the rooms, with only air conditioning system possibility coming with the corresponding noise. Bath towels very small. There was nothing on the bathroom floor (made of tiles) and the tiles were very cold. If you took a shower, you couldn't use the sink anymore, as the sewage was right under the sink... Also nothing on the room's floor, made out of hardwood, cold as well. Not so many options for a warm breakfast and the existing ones not tasteful at all. Staff: except for a very nice lady at the reception desk, everybody else not even responding to greetings...

    Good wifi

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only disturbing factor was some mechanical noise - probably the fan from the clima system - when functioning; maybe because we were at the top floor.

    Hotel Akord is well situated, at some distance (2-3 km) from the city center but on an important boulevard, easy to find. There is public transportation to the center, if needed, on the boulevard. They have their own closed and watched parking, with human watch. The hotel looks good, it has a nice courtyard and four levels (ground level and three stages). The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable furnished, with central clima and control of the heat from each room. Good and spacious bathroom, with good quality cosmetics. Nice personal, helpful and polite. The breakfast was excellent, with plenty of dishes for all tastes and a good coffee. They have local cheese and jams, very tasty, ecological. It is easy to communicate in English and the check-in and check-out hours can be adjusted.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We liked the hotel and staff, they were very helpful. Room was clean and comfortable and roomy. location was close to city center (only 5 stops by tram) and the tram stop was less than 5 minutes walk.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not so good area with almost nothing close. Need to have your own car, or book a taxi for all transports. Bathroom with no special shower compartment, just a curtain.

    Very spacious room and bathroom, very good A/C, very good WiFi, clean room, very good breakfast, very helpful and polite staff. Big and free parking. Not far from the center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a bad smell in the room.

    Nice welcoming with pleasant staff. A very very big room with a big bathroom. Clean, silent room. A very very good breakfast (really). Will stay again. I recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I've booked room in this hotel for second time. The payment policy for this hotel is "pay in the property" however I've booked room for my parents and I've wanted to pay everything for them in advance. So after short comunication with the Hotel Manager (who was very kind and helpful) I've made a bank transfer more than 1 week befor the booking. Unfortunately when my parents have arriver in Hotel Akord the receptionist has told them that they must pay for the booking. After long and difficult conversation with the receptionist, finaly she has decided to speak with the Hotel Manager to sotr out this misunderstanding. OK let say that may be it is normal sometimes to happen something like that situation... I can understand that, but I think that in this situatian the most normal thing is the Hotel Manager to come out from the office and to say " APOLOGIZE " to the guests. Even the receptionist hasn't told to them "SORRY". The only thing whitch she has said to them is: "Hotel Akord never take two times money".... This is the most normal thing I think... to pay for your booking only one time, not twice.... Аз резервирах стая в този хотел за втори път. Платежната политика за този хотел е "заплащане на място", но аз резервирах стая за родителите си и исках да платя всичко предварително за да направя техният престой по приятен. След кратка комуникация с мениджъра на хотела (която беше много любезна и учтива) направих банков превод повече от 1 седмица преди резервацията. За съжаление, когато родителите ми пристигнаха в хотел Акорд, рецепционистката им казала, че трябва да платят за резервацията. След дълъг и труден разговор с нея, в крайна сметка тя решила да говори с мениджъра на хотела, за да изчисти това недоразумение. ОК нека кажем, че може да е нормално понякога да се случи нещо подобно...

    The hotel is fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean room, comfy beds, quiet. Good plentiful breakfast, strong coffee, friendly staff. A good pit stop for anyone having a late flight into Sofia before starting an onward journey the following morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, a bit off city cebter, but easy reachable by public transport (15 min ride by trolleybus 1 or 2). Supermarket Billa nearby. Overall it's a residential area, very quiet and safe. Nice breakfast, with big selection of local cheese, ham, breads, tomatoes, wide choice of sweet fresh bakery. Very professional and polite stuff. Very clean room and bathroom. Highly recommended place for people looking for a maximum value accommodation in Sofia.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms would benefit from coffee/tea making facilities as classed as 3* also breakfast would be much nicer if they provided nice coffee as the one at present is not drinkable. The orange juice is granulated mixed with water which once again is penny pinching. I stayed in room 113 which is next door to the washroom i.e washing machines and dryers which started to be used around 7am so not conducive to a good late sleep-in.

    Staff very friendly and happy to help. Room was nice and clean, walking distance to the centre or just over 5 leva via taxi which was booked via reception. Close to the airport, around 10 min travel time in a car.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    be careful in bathroom as tiles might get really slippery when wet

    good location in a quiet area, plenty of public transport nearby, not so far either from the airport or city centre. very good breakfast with a lots of options for everyone. friendly and helpful staff. nice LED lights from outside of hotel changing colours during dark. tv with a lots of international channels in english

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Back side rooms smaller. Small meals. Only one employee in the reception, some delay there.

    Friendly staff (although amateurs). Nice Italian pizza in restaurant (taste and price). Fast WiFi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't know if they changed the management, but they used to offer a nice breakfast, but not any more. Also the choice and quality of food in the restaurant used to be very good, with great menu. Not any more! Less choice, less quality. I even had to go to restaurant to bring the food to my room, because the staff couldn't be bothered to do it!

    Not far from the airport, comfortable room with cable TV.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hairdryer or kellte in the room. I.was given a mini dryer after asking for one. The toilet paper roll kept running out on us too as there was not enough and they only gave one.. The breakfast was pretty bad - low quality food.

    Clean rooms and easy access from airport. Staff was friendly and efficient, they spoke bulgarian and English so both me and my partner were comfortable and welcome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Ineffective air conditioning. The room was roasting hot. 2. Smell in room which I assume was from the drain in bathroom. 3. Wifi didn't seem to work in room. 4. Breakfast. There was lots of it (buffet) but not good quality. Orange juice tasted like orange squash. 5. Room very dark and dated 6. Furniture was low, low bed, low chairs 7. Glass door on bathroom

    1. Staff were friendly and spoke excellent English. 2. Onsite parking 3. Sheets were very clean and crisp. 4. Good sturdy hangers for clothes 5. Good water supply to shower. 6. Bathroom was clean and tidy 7. Lift available

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower drain on the opposite side of the bathroom - the whole room was wet. A bad smell coming out of the drain when you use toilet.

    Staff was really pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the overall impression of this hotel is outdated. but for the money paid i think it was worth it

    The bed i slept in was very good, not sure it was because i was very tired though, but i slept there better than at the 4 stars hotels. staff is very friendly and english speaking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, there was a wedding party on the second evening of our stay, which, in my opinion, is not quite suitable for a bussiness hotel. The guests were a little bit noisy - not when they were in the restaurant (it's situated in the rare part of the hotel so you can't really hear a noise from there) but when they were smoking in huge groups outside the hotel. Anyway, the guy on the reception desk was kind enough to ask them to be more quiet so we slept well.

    The staff was very kind, the location was perfect for our trip purposes. Although the hotel is not in the city center, one can easily manage to go there by bus or by foot. There's a bus stop very close to the hotel where you can either take trolley to the center or bus to the central bus and tain station. It's also close enough to the airport. We didn't try the breakfast, but it seemes nice too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange bathroom facilites

    Everything was ok. Staff very friendly and helpfull. Hotel has a nice restaurant with good menu. Quiet hotel where you can rest and it's good connected with center location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast buffet area looked dirty, empty plates on the surfaces. Food on the floor, generally untidy and food looked a mess, staff need to pay more attention to keeping this area clean and tidy as it let the whole experience down.

    Clean rooms, good shower, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking is rather improvised and uneven. The water from the shower goes directly to the collector due to a small slope of the tiles, which is not so fine, since you wet your feet when going for instance to the toilet after taking a shower.

    It was our second visit to this hotel. Our concern was to have a parking place and they reserved it for us. The room was clean, quite new furniture, with AC, good cosmetics which gave us an agreable feeling. The breakfast was delicious, especially the two kinds of patissery pie.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Hotel looks nice with trees around and nice lights around. Location is good and rooms are simple and clean. Breakfast was simple but good. Quite a lot of choice and fresh stuff. The staff was friendly, helpful and switched on.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole building is a little outdated. The corridor is too dark. Also there is a strange smell in my room.

    Location is good. Close to a bus station. Breakfast is nice as well as the staff. Overall it's good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a luxury hotel but really nice place to spend one-two nights. Very convenient for parking. Clean enough. It seems far from the city center but in fact take a walk along Vl.Vazov and Dondukov boulevard, cross the Zaimov park and the Doctor's garden to reach Sofia University - very good walk for about 30min (there are big construction works at the end of Vl.Vazov boulevard, but it is easy to bypass). You will feel the real life in Sofia center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Place is a hot spot for weddings,and it could get a little loud on week-ends.

    Clean,comfortable rooms,good bed,very good breackfast,friendly personal,good parking lot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can be tricky and restaurant not great. Will try the nearby Mecana restaurant next time.

    Good location for airport and helpful staff. I would have missed breakfast to catch an early flight so they offered to make a packed meal instead.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kettle for that early morning wake up buzz

    Staff were great, served food until 11pm which was excellent for our unexpected late arrival. Rooms were clean and comfortable. What more can you want for the price?

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no balcony and maybe it would have been great to have a bit more green area in front of the hotel where you can relax. The parking is big, but you can't use it all, since there is staff member guiding you where you can and cannot park the car. The street in front of the hotel is busy and load during the night.

    It was quite clean and the breakfast was great. The room was spacious and the bеd was comfortable and large. The bathroom is also spacious and clean. Great place to stay in Sofia for couple of nights.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom.

    Excellent staff. I have stayed in this hotel many times when I have early flight or I arrive very late. It has always been a high quality and very good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, only a few trolley stops away from the Centre, very clean and spacious room, they even prepared a complimentary breakfast package as I had to leave before breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The corridors at the hotel are very dark. Do not bother with free complimentary breakfast, it was very poor (perhaps due to the group of tourists who came prior to us and staff did not restock the buffet). The bathroom has the most weird sewage we have ever seen (water from the shower flows through the whole bathroom to the exit under the sink). Poor internet quality, the connection has been continuously lost.

    Good location, good value for money. Affordable prices in room bar.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Hotel just 10 minutes by very cheap taxi from airport. Attentive, helpful staff from the start. Spacious well equipped room with very inexpensive mini bar and nice little extras: sewing kit, toiletries - replaced after each use; plastic over drinking glasses to prevent dust. Great breakfast - continental and sweet! Sausage, scrambled and boiled eggs; hams and cheeses; salad; fruit, cereal, lots of sweets. Just a 2km walk into the centre which was enjoyable - great way to see the city. Easy bus connections with stop right outside. Visit Moma restaurant in the centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not topped up so the choices closer to the end were limited (especially eggs, which personally I can't do without). Wi-Fi was quite poor taking into account I couldn't make a proper call over social media and had to buy my own data.

    Spacious and clean room, friendly staff (especially the housekeepers - lovely ladies). Good location - close to the airport.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Once again all good nothing more to say, carry on the good work

    As always it was excellent in all respects, but unfortunately the taxi driver tried to cheat me over the fare from the airport, and as a retired taxi driver in the UK I was very offended but on the bright side it was the first time in 11years of visiting Bulgaria. VIVA BULGARIA

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast experience, and hotel facilities poor, breakfast staff unhelpful. Noisy wedding receptions 4 of the 6 nights. Apparently all 7 nights the week before. Under the flight path. lack of plug sockets in the room and none near a mirror. Storage in the room poor, no where to stand toiletries.

    Reception staff very helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good but AC didn't work at all!!! Was hot all day all night I've to sleep with open window...

    Everything was good but AC didn't work at all!!! Was hot all day all night I've to sleep with open window...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fairly central and 6 miles from Airport. Has restaurant on site and very good free breakfast. Rather dark interior, twin beds and reasonable bedroom overlooking car park. Served purpose for our last night in Sofia. 15 minute walk to centre but buses pass Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    The room had a wet room, a large television and some basic toiletries. The staff were very helpful. The room was clean and well decorated. The Hotel Akord is a short bus ride away from the main sights of Sofia and from the bus and rail stations. There are two bus stops near to the hotel and if you have a one day travel card getting to and from the hotel is relatively easy. The hotel has a small shop which is handy if you have forgotten your toiletries. The breakfast was interesting - baklava, cake, bread, yogurt, cheese, ham, pancakes and a few things I could not identify. Coffee and juice were plentiful. If you cross the boulevard and go down the street opposite there is a traditional market and several shops - perfect for fresh fruit and wandering around. Just outside the hotel is a nice local restaurant serving excellent local food and Czech beer at a low price. I did not eat at the hotel in the evening but I could see that the bar was very popular.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here before and never had a problem...but...this time the staff in the cafe bar were rude ignorant and unhelpful !!

    Good value...clean, lovely rooms..... receptionist very good an helpful....changed our room no problems..secure car parking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location mediocre- if you want to visit the historical centre you need a taxi which costs normally around 5 leva ie 2,5 euros

    very good wifi and tv range. clean, functional hotel, nice staff. . restaurant ok, a bit noisy sometimes

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not massively close to the centre. Wifi worked but was pretty slow and kept dropping so had to resign in quite often.

    Good secure parking. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a scary sound middle of the night, I heard it 1-2 times. Sounded like a piece of furniture fell.

    The receptionist was very nice, the room was incredibly clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking had some free places, but the parking personnel always wanted to place my car on a rocky surface, which I didn't like. Also before booking I saw nice reviews on breakfast, actually coffee machine was broken, not a very wide range of breakfast meals. Somewhat was weird that personnel was steering at people eating. Kind of uncomfortable. The worst thing was light around windows, which made quite hard to fall asleep at the new place.

    Location is quite nice, and probably this Is great place for business trips, while for couples it's a decent place to stay overnight.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was poor, the toilet had no shower cabin, just a curtain, making everithing wet. We booked a 3 people bedroom, got double. There was a weddig, it was vey loud

    For the price, it is OK hotel to travel without kids.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In bar was only smoking area or "local gustes" can smoking?(Where is european law?) unpleasant smell of cigarets. Breackfast at 9 eggs and scrambled eggs were cold. dispenser for juices was broken and arent alternatives.

    low pice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi does not work always. Use of hotel parking is only allowed for the duration of the stay in the hotel, not more.

    I use this hotel regularly. Convenient location: you can get to the airport just for 7.5 EUR, and you can visit any place in the city. Breakfast at the hotel is varied and tasty. The hotel staff is very polite. Once when we had to leave the hotel and go to the airport before the opening of the restaurant, we were given breakfast in packages for the journey. Beds and pillows are very comfortable. We got a free parking place every time we spent the night in a hotel. The hotel parking is with security. Therefore, I think if we need to visit Sofia, we will use this hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor or sometimes no signal at all Wifi in the room (1st floor) but good signal in the lobby and restaurant; Reception staff can not help with any tour information, apparently hotel does not get involved in tours; funny enough, one guy at reception "found" (literally, FOUND) a flyer with tours organized by a company which we forgot how was called, so we came back next morning to double check but the girl at reception did not understand that we asked to look for a flyer behind the desk because her colleague showed it to us day before. She said she doesn't know anything and can't help. Also if you want some coffee during the day, person behind the bar will froth milk inside the cup (all baristas - attention!!) which makes horrible milk taste as it is not frothed properly and pours espresso base on top; so latte or cappuccino is basically the same thing :D and milk jar is next to the coffee machine I guess as a decoration :)) did I mention, that you pay money for that drink?? No? so yes, you have to pay up to 3 lev for "coffee" and tea costs 1 lev.

    Good location, you can reach the city centre within 10 mins by trolleybus (route 1). There is a supermarket accross the road (named Billa). Hotel was clean. Breakfast had enough choice as well. Besides, city feels like back to 1989 East Europe the way it looks (but it is not bad, just wakes up sentiments) I recommend to book tour to Vitosha mountain or Plovdiv city wine tasting via Viator.com but few days in advance, it has to be 24 hours before trip.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were very very very hard & lumpy. Everything closed at 11pm!

    Great value for money. The breakfast was ok but finished at 10am. during the week this maybe ok but on a weekend maybe 10.30 or11am would be better.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could have been a bit more helpfull when we asked for permission to leave the car at the parking sight for a coule of hours after checking out

    The breakfast was wery good with a lot of options

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's ok for a short stay. I don't like the smell in the hotel an in the rooms... the toalet... anyway for 3 stars hotel is great...just remove that smell wich is look like refreshing after smoking cigaretes...

    Good bads, close to the center of the city...stuff were good....

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast was ok, but it could be richer in "cooked" things and not so many biscuits

    it was calm (no noise from other rooms reaching my room), I could control temperature directly (!), it was clean, the facilities in very good condition, the staff friendly, providing "human", understanding, and not automated contact, willing to support in whatever practical problem was emerging

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could hardly sleep because of noise from the next room (TV on loud ALL night). I had to get up at 4am to get reception to do something about it. No help with bags at all and just given a broken trolley. The breakfast was AWFUL and the coffee was like poison. Not a great way to start the day!

    Close to the airport. Reception was responsive to issues.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar/kitchen staff

    Reception brilliant. Bar staff think it's too much trouble to interupt their bar/kitchen staff corner gossip. Apart from that all brilliant. Reception and cleanliness room spot on. Would go again but just avoid bar area as they think serving you is interference with them. Sofia great cheap weekend on the lash for me birthday. Hotel prices great.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee in rooms room far to hot when First walk in .no chair only a little stool Ramp in entry doors to one side very bad can not wheel suit case down better off in middleof steps

    Coffee very good would like to had bacon for breakfast and bread

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is a bit off. Not too bad. You can take the trolleybus into town but it's not possible to walk.

    Nice hotel for the price. Good rooms. Decent TV with lots of channels. Nice bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    Where people had been previously allowed to smoke in the room, you could still smell it. Noise from water pipes throughout the night. Heard a couple of planes go over, so glazing could be better.

    Staff helpful. Good wifi. Good cheap breakfast, inc some hot items. Comfy twin beds. Soap and shampoo provided. Mini bar with reasonably priced drinks and snacks.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    Layout in the bathroom made everything a bit wet.

    We only stayed one night as had flight to catch the following morning and for this purpose it was great. Near to airport, comfortable bed and could eat in the restaurant. Very good price and fine for what we wanted.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager have to pay attention to the man, responsible for the parking. Except all staff ,the man treat the guests like they are not welcome. He open the barrier with long face.

    Excellent Hotel. Price/performance = Top. Super friendly staff. I recommend the restaurant menu. Excellent Chef. Breakfast with really good choice of hot,cold and sweet in menu. Room super clean and comfortable. We will be back soon. Thank you!!! 😃

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was kind but could have been more smiley.

    Room very clean and wide, breakfast with a wide selection, beds comfortable, wi-fi decent, free parking, not far from Sofia airport, 24h reception, very good value for money. The hotel is not in the city centre but it is 15 mins drive and public transport is available or taxis in Sofia are very cheap.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a constant smell. Like something was cleaned with the wrong material. In the shower the drain hole wasn't under the tap, but in the center of the bathroom. So everytime u took a shower the room was filled with water, the bathroom I mean. Avoid room 322. The rooms are not the same in the hotel.

    Breakfast was enough to start the day. Location is good. Supermarket 7 minutes walk and taxis r available all the time. Staff doing their best to help.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no shower cabin and water supposed to drain but it doesn't always happen. floor in bathroom stays wet for a long time but I had this problem only in one room.

    Hotel seems to be new. Friendly staff, clean, cheap mini bar and hotel restaurant open till late. Not far from airport. Honestly for 23 euro for a night it's 10 out of 10. Recommended

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no shower cabin and water supposed to drain but it doesn't always happen. floor in bathroom stays wet for a long time but I had this problem only in one room.

    Hotel seems to be new. Friendly staff, clean, cheap mini bar and hotel restaurant open till late. Not far from airport. Honestly for 23 euro for a night it's 10 out of 10. Recommended

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    squashy rooms..they were clean but pokey...thinking of changing my choice next time

    Maybe because I am English I like my chips big..those chips were tiny twigs and not really enjoyable...staff were good..needs to have tea making facikities

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor Wifi, it was weak and not stable. It was not strong enough for this big Hotel. It was not strong enough to make Skype calls! It was cold in the Hotel.The central heating was not switched on in October, the bathroom was cold. That's why I recieved a electrical heater for my room. But the bathroom was too cold and also the lobby and the restaurant. The manager of the hotel did not answer my email with the complaint. And the man on the reception was not friendly and interessted...

    Big and clean room... The ladies on the reception were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When my wife checked in during the evening of the 3rd of October there was a very nice and helpful girl on the reception desk. The next morning she had been replaced by a Bulgarian man who blatantly tried to overcharge by asking 6 levs for a coke from the mini bar. Luckily my wife had already checked the price which was 2 levs. This is a disgusting thing to do to a foreign lady traveling alone and if Hotel Akord management reads this - the guy on duty at reception on the morning of the 4th October should be fired.

    The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. The location is very good for onward travel to Sofia Airport. The buffet breakfast was good with a good variety

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee! It really is to be avoided as it's processed instant and tastes more like Bovril. The fresh ground is better but it's expensive at 2.50 lev when everywhere else it's either 1 or 2 lev. It would be nice to have a hanger or some hooks to hang your clothes when taking a shower.

    The breakfast has a wide selection on offer and it's a help yourself all you can eat affair. The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean and tidy. There's a wide screen television in all the rooms along with a mini bar. The rooms are cleaned daily so there's fresh towels and bedding every day. There's complimentary shampoo and soap in the bathroon though the floor can get a bit slippy when it's wet. Overall it's real value for money and we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is central but not the very best as you will depend on taxis or trams (you will need to know how to use them properly) but luckily taxis are cheap in this city so it worked out well for me! The easyrooms hotel is about the same price and near the metro but no breakfast and perhaps only good for a solo traveller. Akord's rooms are spacious and can take 2 people easily One negative point is that having a shower meant my toilet will be flooded for a few hours until it dries out (no point on wasting a towel on that), quite common in this part of the world at budget hotels.

    Nice hotel, room had a balcony and even room service. Didn't expect that much for the money I've paid so I was truly and honestly surprised. Breakfast was good as it had fruits, tea, juices, and loads of things for gluten lovers. If you are gluten intolerant you can have the fruits. The staff are really professional and have a great customer service manner!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On Friday the restaurant was 'closed' due to a wedding, I had to order and eat at the bar which is not comfortable at all due to the low tables. Unfortunately it happend also the last time I was in the hotel.

    The staff was very nice and helpful as usually. Very clean room, nice restaurant with good food. Good location and I like the private free car park.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all.

    Very nice staff, we got a free upgrade to a bigger room with a bathtub: heaven! Most comfortable bed in Bulgaria and good quality linen. Proper soundproofing, too, we slept really well. Excellent buffet breakfast, wide selection of foods. We needed to drive to airport in the morning and it's just 10 min away, free parking on site.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Akord traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: