Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Family Hotel Gran Ivan 3 stars

Ovcho Pole 28, 9000 Varna City, Bulgaria

#42 of 70 hotels in Varna City

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 287 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so poor if I have a better shed at home I could have stayed in the TV was from 1960s the pillows were as flat as cardboard as cardboard or pancakes

    I did not like one single thing about the hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oarking is still hard to find

    The night receptionist is super polite and helpful. The room clean and locarmtion suit my business trips. Great value for money too.I love it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no lift, so if you have heavy luggage, the staff won't help, make sure it's your room isn't on the top floor. The coffee was cold.

    Easy to get to the Airport. You can get a bus or taxi nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because there wasn't a bathtub, when you take a shower, the bathroom fills with water.

    We stayed in a studio for 3 persons. The room was big, modern and clean. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was various.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - 3th floor without elevator... no problem indeed, but if you don't like stairs call them for a 1st floor room :) - mechanical curtains in the room, you cannot stop the light in the morning: traditional fabric curtain works much better. - the coffee.....

    - kind and helpful staff, they took care of our luggage after check out, until evening. - position close to central bus station, big mall, and generally good for shopping. - cleaning - the room was small but functional.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad even for Bulgarian standards, 2 stars no more. Worst? Lack of lift (4-th flor with 25-kg suitcase? Good luck), bed with mattress filled with hay or something like these? This kind of mattresses I remember from 30 years ago. The neighbourhood that if You are not familiar with this kind of post-socialist rundown areas can be scary.

    Only for people who must leave from central bus station early! It is only about 250m from "back" entrance to station, You can even see busses from the balcony. But looks like they have started some building there between hotel and bus station so it may be a little more (You will have to go around).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - far from the centre - breakfast very standart - hard to find on maps - the fridge (minibar) in my room don t work

    near the mall, the parking place is excelent! The room is big, clean. For personal i give ten, very very helpfull

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not in the city centre, but a taxi is very cheap and it takes few minutes

    The staff very friendly, everything perfectly clean, and we parked inside the property because it's very difficult to park outside.there is a big mall in five walking minutes with plenty restaurants to choose

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The light in the room could have been better. Near the double bed there were only two light on the wall, which were not enough.

    I liked very much the room. It was spacious and clean, with air conditioning. The bathroom big, great bathtub + shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room gets very light very early.

    Comfortable and reasonably priced room with free breakfast. Parking is available if you inform in advance. Not really close to the beach, but the distance is still walkable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the worst hotel breakfasts ever! Coffee was stale, milk was heavily watered down, bread was old... They tried to give us the wrong worse room at first... Don't like cheats!

    Location close to the Central bus station in Varna, Bulgaria. Easy walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    The staff is phenomenal alexander and oh no i cannot pronounce the sweet night guy's name -but they were so personable, friendly and helpful and my flight landed at 245am!I would not be so nice if someone woke me up-he waS So nice. And their english was perfect. I was worried after georgiA that i would have to learn Bulgarian since i had to learn basic georgian just to go anywhere in georgia but i did not have to learn bulgarian. Both staff members spoke english perfectly and even the taxi driver spoke english. They helped me to get a taxi and order food. And the large rooms have jacuzzis(spas). They were so welcoming. They genuinely like Americans. After my experience(bad)in georgia i was really hoping for friendly people and the bulgarians are so hospitable. I stayed at hotel ivan as a stopover but it is a wonderful centrally located place for exploring varna:)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware on the exit of the hotel ! Uneven ground with trip hazard. God knows why there's lowered part of the pavement on the entrance of the property. Tripped every time. Just to add that the aircon wasn't working and the springs on the mattress were squeaking :)

    Good value for money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be prepared that there is no elevator there. The breakfast placed on a small table and consists of yogurt, sausage and cheese and packed croussans

    I've chosen this hotel because of it location near bus station. My flight arrive late and their bus station closes ar 7 pm. Since My final destination was to the Sunny beach, I had to stay overnight at Varna and then go to my hotel by bus on the next day. You can take bus 409 from the airport, ask for the autogara bus stop, then use underground walkway on the other side of the street, walk past cafe mohito, across the small bridge, and after crossing the road turn left on lebedev street, then after 200 m you'll see Ovcho pole street and the small family hotel GrIan Ivan. My room was really small, but clean, with a balcony facing inner yard and a parking. There was a very old TV in my room. All in all it's ok for overnight stay, but not more. You can take a bus or just walk to the city center, if you have time before your next trip. It's about twenty min walk to the main cathedral

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. Location hard to find. Basic hotel rooms & breakfast.

    The hotel is far from city centre but within walking distance to a great mall where you can eat well and shop lots of nice things at a very good value. We appreciated the kind staff and the fact that they made breakfast especially for us at 6AM, as our flight was early.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very hot and a bit smelly. Of course its summer, but sleeping during the night was a bit paintfull.

    I liked that the staff contacted me very quickly and responded to my all emails with questions. Arranged the transfer from the airport and taxi. Sometimes receiving prom response is very much appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi varied between terrible and practically non-existent. During one of the nights some crazy (or strongly intoxicated) people were throwing furniture and screaming in the room directly above ours and in the corridor. This is not the owner's fault, but I would expect an immediate reaction. And yet we had to listen to this crap for an hour or two.

    Clean, nice room, decent localization.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    - No any stove/plate in the kitchen, just washbasin (should I pickling cucumbers in there?)). - no any vegetables or fruits on the breakfast, so it's absolutely unsuitable for vegetarian people; - no any curtain in the bathroom, so bbetter prepare to a wet floor. - a little bit short bed for my almost 2m height.

    Clean and quiet room, smiling staff. Bidet in the bathroom; balcony.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They could have had Fresh Tomatoes and Olives (both green and black) in morning breakfast.

    Central Location, Very Clean Hotel, within the 5-10 minute walking distance to Grand-Mall Varna and the Intercity Bus Terminal; Nice, Helpful and Polite Staff. Thanks are extended to Mrs Birsen for her politeness. Thank You.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lication.

    Nice place for family. Frendly staff willing to help with everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    area

    was good hotel near the mall and airport

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear everything from the room next to you

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    . the shower was fluded with water!!!

    nice place, hot water

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The rooms were clean, we had a polite and helpful staff, the terrace was enormous, and the location of the hotel was perfect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff great for a cheap stop over.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was helpful

    Yes it was in the perfect location and staff is friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly, but no elevator.

    Everything was very nice, clean and tidy, although quite modest.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't have the room i reserved.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Un hôtel correct mais sans prétention. Le staff pourrait faire quelques efforts

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could be a little better.

    All the staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleanliness, did find some hair on the walls of the bathroom and the bidet also some beads probably left from previous customer on the bed sheets.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There total 5 floors but no elevators. Small beds and very uncomfortable beds and pillows.

    At least there was A/C

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfort

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Double room 3rd floor: the bathroom has no shower cabin or bath tub. Has just a shower directly over the sink and toilet. The toilet was leaking after every flushing. Very poor breakfast. If you want a coffee from the expresso machine you have to pay for it. Free coffee low quality. The privat parking has space for only 4 cars cramped and one block the other 3.

    Double room 3rd floor: clean, good bed and pillows, good wi-fi. Studio 2nd floor: clean, enough space, confortable, good wi-fi, nice and spacious bathroom with bath tub. The personnel very friendly and helpfull.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had no issues, although the breakfast could have been a little better in terms of more hot foods like eggs, etc.

    This is the best hotel in Varna, The location is amazing, next to the bus station and the two biggest malls are walking distance. Plus the staff are amazing especially the manager, he is a very nice guy!

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lets start from the beginning. I booked this hotel 2 weeks before the date of staying, asking for a double room. First disappointment was that hotel staff said "sorry it's been said on booking.com that twin or double, so you get twin, deal with it, no double room is available". For a 4-floor hotel with 5-6 rooms on each floor I've seen only 3 other guests at breakfast. So maybe there is like only 1 luxury double room, or the guy didn't want to give us a double room, I don't know. The bathroom was total mess. The toilet was leaking like hell when you flush it. The shower drain was not working at all, and there's no shower cabin - just a shower hose on the wall. And the last thing - kinda poor breakfast with toasts and yogurt. I know 35eur is a budget hotel, but you definitely expect much more for that money.

    Wifi was working alright

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Wi-Fi has been working absolutely great! The place of this hotel is excellent. The cleaning has been amazing, very top notch. The bed was cozy.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Much smaller then I expected. One reviewer even mentioned a bath tub while the shower was just a hose with shower head in the bathroom. The boy at reception sent us to the mall to look for food but forgot that it was closed early because it was Sunday.

    Clean. Breakfast was edible. You definitely get what you pay for. WiFi was very good.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Could do with some rugs on the floor as the floor was very cold

    Staff very helpful and plesant

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not an abundant breakfast buffet

    Proximity to the central bus station Proximity to both shopping malls Friendly staff Clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was prefect! Location, room, and professional staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    same breakfast everyday.. and no veggies.

    Calm place and respectful staff

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quality of bed mattress. Room size

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No shower recess so had water everywhere. Small room.

    Friendly helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    the personal, the parking place

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff,clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Group

    Breakfast not very good, facilities were lacking

    Friendly and helpful staff, fee private parking and free WiFi

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: