Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Lion Sofia 3 stars

60 Maria Luiza Blvd., Centrum, 1202 Sofia, Bulgaria

#90 of 179 hotels in Sofia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1921 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfest was a little bit later than we expected.But maybe it was just that day..

    Kind staff.The possition-near to railway station and right next to metro.The view.etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.4
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor breakfast. Old hotel.

    Good location. Near Underground Station. 15 minutes to Vitosha Street on foot. Near supermarket. Near bus and train stations. Spacious room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Decent hotel in centre of city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit basic. Bathroom small. It was a shower / bath and really needed a rubber mat as slipped every time I went in it. Breakfast was good location but the same every day. No variety.

    Room was sizable with good views of Lion Square. Cafe downstairs was good for evening meals.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    BAD BREAKFAST- GREAT LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very very bad brekfast...nothing was fresh, everyday the exact same things, everything was cold and not very clean. Really bad breakfast.

    Location is very good just 5 meters from the metro station. And the staff was helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.1
    Would stay here only for location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not really friendly, we were overcharged upon checking out and after we pointed out the price went back to agreed without explanation. The Wi-Fi was very patchy connectivity really bad. Breakfast selection not good at all

    Upon request we were given hair dryer. The beds were comfortable. The location is great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    Comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi signal, and restaurant since platters at breakfast were empty and the staff were ignoring this fact. Most of the staff did not know the basics of english language...

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location and comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast can be improved.

    Good location with walking distances to the most important monuments. Metro station is just outside the hotel. Comfortable room. Helpful staff at reception.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The signs on the bathroom ceiling show that there has been problem with water pipes earlier.

    Appreciated the airport shuttle, which was Me 1 reason to book this hotel. Had a good big beautiful room with a view. Can use cards and euros, very good! Just the restaurant was a cash only place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.4
    - Restaurant was closed when we arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Restaurant was closed when we arrived. Didn't respect their shedule. (... till 23h) - receptionist wasn't nice - worst breakfast ever, poor choices and staff always on the mobile in the street and neglecting the customers needs

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Rainy stay in Sofia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This may just be a British thing but there was no kettle, tea and coffee in the room, which was a bit of a disappointment. The breakfast was not good, no range at all. There was a stack of croissants with 2 cheeses and 2 hams or jam, as well as fruit. We only ate at the hotel for one morning, the rest of our stay we ate elsewhere. Although the location was good, it felt like it was in a less nice area of Sofia, making the walk back from the centre to the hotel a bit unnerving on occasions, but this can’t be helped by the hotel and we didn’t have any issues with the walk back during the day or night.

    The hotel was very clean throughout, and our room had a bath which is always a positive. There was a fridge which was restocked throughout our stay which prices clearly stated which were very reasonable with a selection of soft and alcoholic drinks and snacks (photo attached, there were also spirits in the door of the fridge). The beds were comfy, the room was very clean. They lady on reception spoke good English which helped throughout our stay. The hotel was located just out of the centre but it was not far to walk at all (5 mins) but if this was too much, then right outside the hotel is a metro stop which that metro takes you into the centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Lion king
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast and the breakfast stuff.it was ok food but the service in the bar was very bad.

    Nice desk staff ,good location great shower. Good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful and clean room, very big and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very poor and did not supplement it.

    Beautiful and clean room, very big and comfortable. Location was good, just 15 min walk from Vitoshka Street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful room with good beds!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall cleanliness was great, yet I found some hairs on the wall in the shower from previous guests. The breakfast was quite limited and the Wi-fi didn't work the last day.

    I especially liked the individual easy-to-use air conditioner. The room was lovely decorated and came with a view. Later check-out (without paying an extra fee) was no problem!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money at welcoming hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quite noisy as facing main road but didn't disrupt my sleep.

    Lovely friendly staff, very welcoming. Easy check in process. Very good location with easy walk to city centre, ask to bus and train stations. Able to leave luggage after check out. Very good buffet style breakfast laid out in next door cafe. Lovely room. Excellent value for money. Very good shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant location, lovely rooms :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Excellent location, fifteen minutes leisurely walk from all the major sites, 10m from an entrance to the metro, 20m from tram stops. Adjoining restaurant provides breakfast and also offers excellent lunch and dinner (and drinks!) options with a nice outdoor seating area as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    In general - a very good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It could have a fan in the bathroom, and maybe iron. The breakfast is average, it could be better. The noise since it is on the very busy street and you can hear the planes flying over.

    The location is 10 minutes walk from the centre. The room is more like a 4 star hotel. It was very clean, had comfortable beds, and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Great stay! Very convenient location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi was not very constant, which was difficult as we were there for business. The breakfast was not very good and ran out towards the end, so we had limited options.

    The location was great, the staff was friendly and the rooms were very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    My trip to Bulgaria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff weren't very responsive, meaning when we checked in our first night the guy at reception handed the keys to the room and that was that, poor welcome, no info like (wifi, places to see) anything in general that could be useful on a first night! Sent an email to property before hand though no response. Breakfast was poor.

    Everything was great! Perfect location, a little walk from the shopping area but all in all easy access with transports. Metro every where! Room was clean and i took a recommendation of another review to be on the 3rd floor with a view and it was perfect! Id so recommend this hotel as for the price and location it was perfect!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi signal was not enough. We had a corner room, and it may be the farthest from the reception. It might cause it.

    Good location. The metro station is very near, less than one minute to walk. Staffs are very kind as well. I had a good time to spend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    A great overnight stay and a taxi to the airport was arranged.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception area is now on the ground floor but unfortunately there are still a few steps up to the lift with no handrail which is difficult for some people. A slope would also help with heavy luggage but a small complaint.

    The hotel has had a lot of refurbishment and is now first class. The buffet breakfast a huge improvement with a good variety of food both savoury and sweet. Nothing hot but not a problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet is very slow. There were days I could not connect.

    Extremely clean, room was cleaned daily, the sheets were also changed daily. I felt very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel near the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the whole staff is friendly and the breakfast is really the worst I have ever seen.

    The hotel is in an area only 15 minutes walk to the city center and you have everything you need around. For example very good take away Pizza opposite :-) The room is very nice and clean, our room was even with a small balcony. I would book it again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Very good location next to Lavov most metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location next to Lavov most metro station. Walking distance from the city centre. The room was very clean and comfortable. Nice breakfast was served in Papaya cafe next door.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities in the room looked a bit out dated and the bathroom smelt damp. The other rooms doors kept slamming quite a bit at night, which didn't make much of a peaceful sleep.

    The location was great and the staff were super friendly, easy walk to the centre with great little places to stop by on the way.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money overall, but next time I would chose a better location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms' soundproofing should be seriously improved, since the hotel is next to a busy traffic roundabout. The location is quite central, but the hotel's surroundings are quite ugly overall.

    The staff was very helpful, the room was confortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel, but I had a bad service experience this time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The girl at the reception tried to convince me that the way to the airport is a half an hour drive and should cost 10 euros. Now, considering that it is 15 minutes drive and should cost about 3 euros I find it a very bad service for a hotel receptionist to tell you otherwise especially in a country where the taxi drivers are doing their best to overcharge tourists in each drive.

    As I wrote in a previous review, the room was nice, cozy and clean. The location is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Location next to Metro!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very basic and should really be improved.

    Location next to Metro! Excellent Price Quality Ratio. I asked for a late check out and was given two hours more.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable, good location, good value, thank you very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good. The level of furnishing and bathroom facilities were excellent, perhaps a safe in the room would be better

    Hotel had acted on previous poor reviews of the breakfast. Although limited, there was an excellent buffet available

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    A compact good, clean hotel with limited by nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is not very safe but it is the center of town, taxi driver which was booked by the reception was a crook and had no taximeter.

    A compact good, clean hotel with limited by nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    2.5
    Someone slipped some kind of anesthetic substance in my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Special Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone slipped some kind of anesthetic substance in my drink while I ordered it in the café bar /Lion hotel restaurant in Sofia. While I went to my hotel room to sleep persons enetered my room with a hotel key card. Probably to steal. I was lucky enough to wake and leave the hotel imidiately. I am urging EVERYONE to keep away from this hotel!!! No other persons were near my drink at any one time so the anesthetic was used by the café bar employees. I am afraid that this has happpened to others before me or will happen again. I didn't trust the Bulgarian police would do anything if I reported it. Please be alert or best keep away from this place!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    great hotel, restaurant, staff, price,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    location is only 15 mins walk to Vitoshka street hovewer are is bit dodgy so take taxi back to hotel in the night rather than walking

    great hotel, restaurant, staff, price,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay to know more about Sofia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t complain as I said meet our expectations.

    The hotel was excellent very clean and comfortable the lobby a little small but the rest meet our expectations the personal was very capable and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Cozy stay in Sofia centrum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Special Offer
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was quite poor - staff was not filling missing choices, food was cold and just nothing to choose from. From the hotel we expected better breakfast. Also we had really LOUD neighbors, they don't let us to sleep at night and in the morning as well.

    Location great, room cozy and clean. We made late reservation, but still found great price :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    Attic has really nice view, living room, fridge was full of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs renovating, dirty Windows, poor breakfast, no self-service

    Attic has really nice view, living room, fridge was full of import ant things and reasonable Price :) Staff was really nice. I recommend this place! Its close to the Centre, by walking, close to touristic attractions, rstaurants, shop.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Location was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no hair dryer in the bathroom.

    Location was very good. You can arrive to the hotel from train or bus station by walking. The center is also within walking distance. We never needed to take any transportation to go anywhere. The room was large enough and clean. It was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    The room was a decent size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a slightly weird smell in the hotel

    The room was a decent size. Staff were lovely and allowed me to check out late which was useful. Location of hotel is very good and there is a metro station right next to it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    Affordable location near main square of Sofia
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room - Special Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was sort of disaster. First of all there was an unfriendly person serving us during check in. We felt that we were for him rather than he was fir us to help and serve. Then there were problems with key card. It did not work and we had to go 3 times to pursue check in attendant that something is wrong as he did not want to believe us. Then finally when key worked there was an issue with electricity and there was no light for sometime. Morning breakfast was OK although as it was served in restaurant next to so there were only few options - no possibility to add on. Waitresses weren't customer friendly either.

    Half way between central station and main square, comfortable and quite room, good facilities around

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Great stay and really nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It seems like the hand rail in the bathroom had in the past been lazily fixed and was wonky. Not sure why the hotel staff didn't fix it properly.

    The hotel is located in a great location close to the Central Bus Station and right next to a subway stop. The room I picked had a view over the Lions Bridge and I think most of the other rooms do too. It was also really clean with a bright modern style. I also thought the breakfast restaurant was really nice and stylish.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    - Helpful and friendly staff fluent in English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The only main problem I encountered was the weak wi-fi on my third night.

    - Helpful and friendly staff fluent in English. They helped to arrange the airport transfers and a breakfast to take away on my date of departure. - Good location. It's located right at the metro entrance. Otherwise, the centre of Sofia and the central train and bus stations can be reached on foot in 5 minutes. A supermarket is just across the street. - The hotel restaurant was very good! I enjoyed both breakfasts and dinners there. The waitresses and the waiters were also friendly. - The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable, although the beds could be better.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.7
    Good value, but as a solo female traveller I’d choose somewhere else with a 24 hour concierge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt very badly of mould due to a damp problem in the bathroom. I had to close the bathroom door and run the fan when I was in the room to be able to breathe freely in the main room. I tried to report this to reception but they seemed disinterested. There isn’t really anyone to speak to later in the evening, past 10pm, only someone from security. On my first night the people in room next door were making lots of noise at 1am and I went to see if the front desk could help but as we didn’t have a common language nothing could be explained or done. The breakfast French toast was just white toast with no egg. The photos clearly showed French toast. The omelettes were good however. I arrived on my final day for breakfast with 20 min to spare before the advertised time and the waitress was very snappy with me for being “late”. The photos on booking did not show my actual room which didn’t have a view.

    The bed was comfortable. The room itself was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    Huge room with a comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no tea coffee, mugs and kettle in the room but we aksed from the reception for the kettle because we needed one for the baby food and they gave us one. Thank you very much.

    I really liked the size and comfort of the bed it was huge and fot three of us (10 month old baby) it was super comfortable! There was a sofa and a bed for the baby in the room, which was superb, but we didn't use it! The breakfast was great - free and arranged from in the near cafe. You can order from the the breakfast menu. Super big size room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel. Clean and good location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast, should be coffee, tea and water without limit. Also some fresh fruit and vegs, there was none.

    Everything prefect, but the breakfast could be "richer." To drink only coffe OR tea OR water. 4 sets of breakfast, not a big choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    5.4
    Hotel ok but would not stay again due to the lack of hot water and no facilities to make a coffee or
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Special Offer
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hairdryer in room or tea and coffee facilities there was a lack off hot water you would be lucky to get a bath or even a shower off warm water

    Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.3
    Great room and hotel! Bad breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is served in a restaurant next to the hotel. The lady working there maybe had a bad day but she was very rude and the options for breakfast aren't the best either. I would recommend to book the room without the breakfast option and go around the neighborhood to eat. Prices are very good in Sofia and the food is very good!

    Our room was big, clean and super comfortable! Also the bathroom with a nice bathtub. We were super satisfied with the hotel location and the services available around the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Special Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle to make a cup of tea. The restaurant was closing too early for dinner or to order any beverages. The bed was two singles instead of one double.

    Nice and clean rooms. Polite staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location, lovely building and fantastic rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Special Offer
    • Stayed 7 nights

    As others mentioned the neighbourhood was somewhat dodgy at night, mostly drunks larking about and a few beggars but use common sense and you'll be fine. The reception staff in the hotel were pleasant but perhaps a little training in using friendlier language towards guests would be appreciated, for example I overheard one staff member not be so polite to a guest who was asking a simple question about her room, this could have been language barrier issue however a smile goes a long way. Wi-Fi was good and bad, during my stay it was best in the late night or early morning and some days it was better than others.

    My room was wonderful, could have been a little cleaner but that is my personal opinion, the balcony was great, the view of the city spectacular. I could see the surrounding mountains and I enjoyed many a coffee from the balcony watching the world go by. The bathroom was stunning with a great shower, bathtub was appreciated but I could not fit into it, it is suitable for children due to its size. The hotel is in a prime location, everything you need and want is within walking distance including tourist sites, great transport links, shopping streets, markets, supermarkets etc. you do not need to go far from the hotel to find a place to visit, shop or eat. There is a kfc next door to café Papaya which is attached to the hotel as well as cafes dotted all over the area and other eateries, so you won't need to go far to eat or drink well. The hotel is in a beautiful building, yes there is some decay here and there but it is expected in a building over a century old. I would highly recommend this hotel to those visiting Sofia especially first timers as location is everything. I thought the breakfast was okay however I only ate their once and through personal preference went to the food stall around the corner and got fresh food and copious amount of coffee, but the breakfast staff in Papaya were lovely, very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    Great stay, will come back again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Special Offer
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor wi-fi coverage.

    Good service, comfortable room, friendly staff; The restaurant which served the breakfast was great, with good coffee and excellent cuisine for dinner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful room with a nice balcony, comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi is not that good Breakfast is okay, however, offer only tea and black coffee for drinks No room service

    Beautiful room with a nice balcony, comfortable bed Nice extras in the bathroom (like a dental set)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.5
    Basic, clean, comfortable convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Special Offer
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man who was on reception for most of our stay wasn’t in any way welcoming. The breakfast is basic and the dining area was really draughty even when the doors weren’t opened. The towels are thin, small and few and there was no bath mat so had to use the only hand towel. A kettle would help!

    Excellent shower pressure. Very clean. Very good cappuccino in the morning with breakfast. Good location. Fairly priced.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.9
    perfect central location, clean and new facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Special Offer
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast is very basic and not worth the money (it is not provided by the hotel itself, but by a restaurant next to the hotel and there are not many options and whatever there is available if very basic).. you can eat much much better elsewhere for the same price or cheaper!!

    The bed was comfortable and the towels were changed daily! The hotel itself is quite new and clean and the location is amazingly central!! there is a metro station in front of the hotel and there is a tram in the main street! you can also walk 600m to the bus station!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    6.7
    Nice rooms but breakfast is a disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast was a huge disappointment. You only had 6options and the portions were really small. The first day a waitress told us if we liked we could have two portions for free. Next day another waitress told us we had to pay for an additional portion. Same thing with the drinks, I dronk hot milk because I don't like coffee or tea. And I received my milk for free first four days then during our last breakfast they told me the milk wasn't included so I should pay for it. So our breakfast became a bigger disappointment every day because they changed the rules every day...

    The room was big and nice bathroom and great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.7
    I was on the last floor, so I had only roof windows without...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Special Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that bothered me was very smelly bathroom!!! But it is a problem with a plums so you can feel smell...

    I was on the last floor, so I had only roof windows without any view, but it was clean and tidy and a wifi was great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    6.3
    Stuff at the reception were professional.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Special Offer
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room service should have been every day. Breakfast could improve. Staff in restaurant/cafe should definitely improve. Most importantly, shower in the bathroom needs shower curtain.

    Stuff at the reception were professional. Location was good. Bed was comfortable and the room was heated well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.5
    Falling in love with this place!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Special Offer
    • Stayed 1 night

    My luggage was difficult to bring up the stairs to the elevator.

    I really like and enjoy the time being there. You can feel that you are welcome there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice very comfortable place to stay in Sofia
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was at the restaurant next which was good, but it could open a little earlier. For a non smoking hotel I smelled smoke almost all the time on my floor as I left the room. It is a smoking section of Europe though so I was not surprised.

    Super close to the Metro line which made getting around very easy. It was also walking distance to everything you want to see in Sofia; Alexander Nevski Cathedral, Russian church, Archaeological Museum, Ethnographic Museum, Presidency Building all at the Serdika Metro station one stop away if you don't feel like walking. Plus there was a grocery store very close across the street for drinks. And lots of cheap eats surrounding the Lion's Bridge area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Much better than expected for the price: very helpful...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Special Offer
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Windows' acoustic properties are bad: even beeing tight-sleeper I woke up several times from beeping of traffic light and sounds of active traffic flow. Should warn customers about this.

    Much better than expected for the price: very helpful personel, breakfast made specially for you, spacious un tidy room, good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    6.7
    One of the poorest hotels I've visited
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Special Offer
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff spoke poor English and no Russian which was promised; the housekeepers weren't doing their job properly, the floor was dirty and all in hair; the neighborhood is dangerous at night

    Location is perfect to visit everything important

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.9
    The location was excellent (metro, distance to the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Special Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the desk was very distant. Laughing is for free so why not smile one time for the guests? Im the restaurant the girls serving could smile and they were very polite, maybe the guys behind the desk can take some courses with them?

    The location was excellent (metro, distance to the city centre). The room and bathroom was clean and nice (I only missed a hair-drier). The breakfast was also very nice, I really liked the fact that you could chose which kind of breakfast you wanted (pancakes, omelets, ...), but no juice was offered only coffee/tea. It would have been nice to have goten water or juice at the breakfast too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.1
    Clean rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Tragically weak wifi signal (5 floor). The staff does not respond to the reported problems with the internet. Stink in the bathrooms. Very poor breakfasts.

    Clean rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.0
    staff were nice and room was kept clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Special Offer
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi was terrible, couldn't connect most of the time which is a big disappointment. having to pay for a non caffeine drink every morning at breakfast because its only tea or coffee that's included. having to block the bottom of the door all the time to stop breathing in smoke every night.

    staff were nice and room was kept clean. They made me and my wife a tasty filled roll when we were going out early for a day trip, also included a bottle of water each .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable one night layover.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Special Offer
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi could be improved. Everything else was great!

    Everything as expected. We had a short layover in Sofia. Professional and kind staff and comfortable bed. Excellent location within walking distance between the Sofia bus station and the center of the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    EXCELLENT!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Special Offer
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was excellent and the communication with the reception was great too!!The location is very comfortable because it is near the center of Sofia and the metro is near too!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.6
    Overall a great experience
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Special Offer
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only negative element could be the reputation of the area, although Serdica is a 10 min walk..

    The hotel is fantastic, it combines the beauty of the past, exterior, and the comfort of the new, interior. The room was spacious, with a bay window overlooking the Lion Gate. Nice colors, comfortable bed. The room was nicely heated and clean. the bathroom had a bathtub and it was fine. . Papaya cafe was excellent, tasty food...the breakfast was ok, in terms of choice- a la cart, what about adding muesli and skimmed milk.....!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.8
    Very good modern hotel in old classic historical buiding,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Special Offer
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast poor, not buffet breakfast, hotel restaurand limited choice.

    Very good modern hotel in old classic historical buiding, everything inside new, good taste, good decoration, nice place, Metro station only 5 !! meters from hotel entrance, Easy access from airport by metro. Central train and buses station, just one metro stop, Center of town with shops, bars, coffee shopes, restaurants, night life, just one metro stop. Perfect view on Lions square.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.1
    In the heart of Sofia.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Special Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door was having a big sign of kicking like a SWAT invade it. Another advise, don’t take the street facing rooms as you won’t be able to sleep due to the noisey cars + drunk people singing.

    In the heart of Sofia.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.3
    Location is good, in general okay property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    * No facilities in the room (kettle to heat water, tea and coffee, and bottled water at least one bottle). * Staff is so mechanical in interaction. * No Room Service * No parking at all, had to park the at a paid parking far away. * Breakfast was not good either.

    * Location ( Walking distance to some of the major tourist attractions of Sofia) * Cleanliness of the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.5
    good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Special Offer
    • Stayed 2 nights

    good value for money. There was a weird smell on the room when we arrived but apart that everything else was fine. good restaurant downstairs and good breakfast overall

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    4.6
    Nothing at all except location of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Special Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    People are mean and tend to pull money out from ur pocket.They tend to frighten you or threat you and will take money out any way

    Nothing at all except location of hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable accommodation and will certainly use your facility again, should we visit Bulgaria again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Special Offer
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were not overly friendly (possible language barrier?). The room was only made up later in the day, which was sometimes inconvenient.

    The balcony was great, as we were able to view the comings and goings of people. The room was comfortable and we would use your facility again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel for the combination of location, price and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast: 6 a la carte options (eggs or omelet with toast, 3 small croissants, 2 crepe-like pancakes, cornflakes with milk or english breakfast). You can only have one cup of coffee or a cup of tea. The quality and quantity of the breakfast is very low.

    Big room with a comfortable bed Very clean and tidy Nice staff Close to the city center (not even a 10 minute walk) Next to the Lion Bridge metro station (~30 minutes from Sofia airport by metro, 1 stop from the central metro station Serdika) A reasonably sized supermarket across the street

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    great place! perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wifi is VERY poor... we were unable to get wifi service at our room (floor 2, room 26), and if we would it was a router from a hotel next door... so don't count on wifi services ...

    location is VERY good, just 5 min from VITOSHA blvd, room is clean, breakfast is good, staff is supper nice and helpful. if I ever come back in Sofia that's definitely where i'll stay...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.5
    Good place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the check-out the receptionist asked whether we had had something from the minibar and I said ‘NO’ then she asked again ‘are you sure?’ in a way that was a little offensive because I felt she was insinuating that I was lying to avoid to pay.

    Good value for price! Helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.2
    nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Special Offer
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there are bus stop, tram and metro right in front of the hotel. they also have nice free breakfast provided by next-door café. the housemaid was fantastic

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.6
    Very good
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Special Offer
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Change flatware set, because knifes and forks during the breakfast were awfull. If you like a good coffee in the morning, try to find another place to have it.

    Perfect location in the center of the city, a lot of places around to visit, lots of cafes and restaurants, excellent personnel at reception, big and spacy room (I had room 55), very clean, very good wifi connexion. For a 3 star hotel everything was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.1
    No parking area!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we didn't know that there is no parking place. At the reception when we ask about the parking they told us to park around not mentioning that we have to pay somehow. We've parked our car on a street far from the hotel and the next day the car was gone. They picked up the car and we had to pay 100 leva. Only if the reception guy told us when we came, we have skiped this unpleasant experience, or at the hotel booking page should have written about parking condition!

    The room was clean

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Lion Sofia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: