Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena 5 stars

Pirin Street 96, 2770 Bansko, Bulgaria

#2 of 93 hotels in Bansko

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1019 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    The new SPA center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not cleaned thoroughly. We found a hair tie from a previous guest right next to the bed. The rest was ok.

    The new SPA center. Come Prima restaurant is just as good as before.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walks of rooms are thin so you could hear neighbors. Stuff very friendly and professional but not completely informed about info such as buses times to hut Vihren. We spent money on a bus as we were told roads were closed and only bus goes up but later found all cars are free to go up after 4 pm. Wish we knew it before as we were with baby. But overall amazing stay!

    Everything!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    short break on the way back from sea holiday in Greece
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    with the supplementary bed for child, the standard room we stayed in was a little bit cramped

    very nice breakfast, very cozy room, excellent pools and spa, very nice personnel, nice touch with complimentary sweets

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    I liked the service & location, also the outside pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel need some renovation, especially beds and interior. Still can’t belive, how is possible 5* hotel, Kempinski brand to provides Nescafé on packs instead coffee machine, like nespresso, for instance.

    I liked the service & location, also the outside pool area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, certainly the best in Bansko, thank you to the staff who were welcoming as alays
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor niggle is that one should be able to set the air con to a lower colder temperature.

    Fabulous stay once again, love the updated spa. Always great to stay at this property. Keep up the high standards.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.6
    Great relaxing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was simply fantastic and totally meet my expectations. The room was lovely and really comfortable. I really enjoyed that a hotel in Bulgaria actually had solid room service, and there was a great breakfast as well. The spa facilities were wonderful too, and it was a very relaxing trip.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Since comfortable bed and pillows are the most important to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Summer is the best time to explore the mountain by bike, I believe the hotel should invest in 2-3 bikes that are of good quality, those that they currently have are not comfortable and well suited for mountain biking.

    Since comfortable bed and pillows are the most important to me, in Kempinski they were extremely comfortable - like sleeping on a cloud. Breakfast was amazing, in Bulgaria only in Black Sea Rama and here in Kempinski had freshly squeezed orange and grapefruit juice, made on the spot pancakes. Not to mention the tastiest home made bread and chocolate!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    The ultimate mountain retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should change the room carpets to something a little more modern in my opinion. The one they have reminds me of a bus seat. It serves a purpose but wooden/tiled floor or a more modern perhaps geometric tesselated clean design carpet could elevate the rooms right up to 2018 and beyond.

    The new spa is fantastic and a real improvement over the old set up which was beginning to look a little tired! The breakfast as ever is just fantastic, as are the beds. I also noticed a definite improvement in the levels of service of all the staff, it's often good however this time it was exceptional.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel! Nothing to complain! Great and helpful stuff, delicious breakfast, excellent spa centre, great view of a spacious balcony, wonderful rooms and a big bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    very relaxing stopover on the way to Greece Seaside....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Compared with other years, the surroundings around hotel were more deserted...

    very good breakfast, excellent spa & pools, very comfortable room, very nice personnel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    The best hotel in Bansko.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature at the spa area and at the restaurant was very low. The lack of hot connection to the outdoor heated swimming pool.

    The best hotel in Bansko. Wonderful breakfast, except the fruits and the vegetables, which surprisingly this time weren’t fresh enough. Very kind and helpful staff. Good spa facilities, especially the new sauna.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Very nice staff that makes you feel welcome, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was good but a bit expensive for what you get.

    Very nice staff that makes you feel welcome, lovely breakfast, good spa etc. We had a super relaxed few nights.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel - We will definitely be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bed was a bit soft...

    Very nice comfortable hotel. All the staff working there were very friendly and professional at all times. Very nice spa and pool area. Few steps to the gondolas if skiing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    So relaxing . Enjoy this hotel and look forward to returning .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My Scottish husband enjoys different whisky but some single shots cost the same price as a bottle back in uk

    It’s great having choice of vip ski passes ,and to hire skis at kempinski being right next to gondola . Had good weather and snow to ski plus sunshine. The spa is amazing . Simone the bar attender at spa so attentive . The massage really good and the choice of different restaurants lovely. Staff so friendly, attentive and made our wedding anniversary and my birthday that extra special. The chefs work so very hard to provide the most amazing dishes . The food was awesome . We usually pay cash for everything as easier to tip each individual than put on room number. Such hard working staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Fabulous, if we are ever back to Bansko, we'll be staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillows could be better. Wifi could be better.

    Breakfast and croissants were great. Welcome hospitality was superb. Hotel is located 50m from the main cable lift to the mountain, and is by far the #1 hotel in Bansko.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    The service in the breakfast is pretty poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service in the breakfast is pretty poor. Noone can really understand even the most basic English. The waiters are never smiling seems like they are always in a bad mood. As a hotelier myself I can say that this is very important for the guests.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Perfect winter holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were greeted at the reception on the day of our arrival by Blagovest who was helpful and very kind. We enjoyed the facilities and the perfect location of the hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.8
    Quality cervice and good rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception does not provide phone charger even if this is indicated as “cervice included”. However you can leave your phone with the receptionist and it will be charged.

    Very good breakfast, nice location just to the ski gondola, special ski pass for fast track, which is very good idea having in mind the endless queue. The place has an excellent spa and wellness center, in-door and out-door pools, both with warm water in the winter.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Staying at this hotel is what made the trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We just returned from a fabulous family ski trip to Bansko Here are the reasons why I loved this hotel - You can buy ski lift passes from the hotel which are fast passes so you don’t have to join the 1-2hour morning queue for the gondola (this will make a huge difference to your trip!). We did not queue at all - you can only buy this VIP pass if you are guests of the hotel - The hotel has its own ski locker so you can literally ski to the door, take off your gear, leave it with your room number and walk up the stairs to the hotel reception! When you are travelling with kids this makes all the difference! - The hotel is lovely, very clean and grand, all staff are welcoming and helpful - Breakfast has a great selection, hot English, pancakes and omelettes made to order, continental, and fruit (you can also juice your own oranges which the kids loved) - The swimming pool in the spa was a surprise it is huge - this hotel just goes on and on! There is also a hot pool outside in the snow which we braved and the kids loved swimming outside in the steaming warm water surrounded by snow! - We booked a mountain suite but we were upgraded to a lovely Vice President Suite on arrival which made it extra memorable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    Great location near the gobdola, good facilities, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi, old small TV, cleaning service in the room (didnt wash the glasses) . the staff was not very helpful

    Great location near the gobdola, good facilities, good brakfasrlt, great spa

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent resort. Need some few finetuning as mentioned above
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed covers are small , should be bigger size. The indoor pool should be more heated. They need to have a business center with at least 2 to 3 computers.

    The spa is excellent especially the thai spa.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Can’t wait to return and will bring more chocolate for staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot in rooms and restaurant

    Staff were so attentive . It was my husbands birthday and retirement and other relatives anniversary they made us feel so special when we had a meal arranged for 15 people . We would have eaten every evening at different restaurants in Kempinski but it was too hot in the hotel . Stanley from spa served us drinks and could not do enough along with chef from gallery restaurant . Bar staff friendly and reception staff attentive , definitely be booking for March/ April and next winter

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    Simply amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is nothing that could have been better

    The staff were amazing, particularly Roza, Bill and Redjep. Highly recommend the suites with mountain view!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent combination of Ski and Spa Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of duvets are small.

    Excellent location and facilities. Very professional and high-in-class Ski School for Kids. Comfortable room with anti-allergic duvets. Great Spa, especially massages are highly recommended

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.5
    Quite well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sanitary facilities geting old, after take shower bathroom was geting wet... Breakfast was simple...

    large room, large bed, nice view, close to the actions

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.3
    location, very convenient for skiing, pool is really nice,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel is old and actually there are newer and comfortable hotels around with a better price

    location, very convenient for skiing, pool is really nice, great view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.8
    Good stay - could've been perfect with but a few minor improvements
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff should improve their level of english. The spa bar is by no means of 5 star level- we ordered two juices and got a simple canned juice in used and kind of dirty plastic glasses with a straw for 5 leva each when across the street the juice was fresh and served in a much better manner and for less money. When i returned the drinks the bar man couldnt even understand the word 'dirty' and all he did was refill the one cup! Hahaha! Perhaps a set of new cocktail glasses and a slice of fruit to accompany each drink would do the otherwise very good spa and the overall luxurious hotel justice.

    Very warm hotel all throughout the building and room. Great facilities. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    4.6
    Not up to the usual 5 star Kempinsky standard, the staff are a problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Buffet breakfast barely even warm, new years eve Gala buffet not great (octopus?) Wife just ate salad. Ordered 2 portions of chunky chips for lunch on new years day but told they only had one??? Staff very surly, male staff seemed to ignore female guests when ordering at the bar. Someone dropped a bread roll on the floor at breakfast, staff walked around it and even stood on it for 20 minutes wife ended up picking it up off the floor.

    good position next to ski base camp.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.2
    (Very) good, with some minuses. Overrated, overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We disliked intensely two things about this hotel: 1) The reservation staff at the hotel advertised heavily a specially organized Christmas dinner, which we finally booked. It was expensive, close to 230 Euro for 2 adults and an adolescent child, and pre-paying for it was a real one week hassle of phones and emails, as the resevation department insisted on a different (and technically impossible) payment method than the one we used to pay for accomodation! Anyway, on the 24th when we booked the dinner, we dicovered to our utter surprise that it was not more than the daily regular dinner. The choice of food was nothing like Christmas, no drinks were included and the only visible difference was a music band of two very lousy performers. We were expecting a completely different atmosphere, so we left in less than 30 minutes, as the exeperience of the event was so poor, and felt like a total rip-off! 2) We booked a suite and asked for an extra bed for my daughter, which the hotel provided for an extra fee (again quite expensive). When we arrived, surely there was an extra bed, but it was broken and we could not use at all.

    The location is excellent and the Spa lives-up to its reputation. The ski slope is at your finger tips, and the view is so refreshing. Apart of two things we disliked, everyhing else about the hotel was very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    The best hotel in Bansko by far.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The xmas dinner. Extremely overvalued. For 70€/person you want more choices...

    The best hotel in Bansko by far. I have a 7 month baby and iam sure that she liked it as well!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    6.7
    The location is very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointment. This is our second visit and the organization and cleanliness were not at the expected level. Staff (with exception at the reception and SPA) was apathetic and was not committed to shape a special experience for us. Cleanliness in the rooms was below average - not dusting, no cleaning of the bathroom with cleaning agents, only towel exchange. Bad smell in the rooms on arrival and after the cleaning made me feel that the vacuum cleaners are old and full with dirt. Not a sign of scenting in the rooms and in the common areas, except the SPA. The towels and sheets does not smell good as well. There was damaged from leaking ceiling near the swimming pool and rust on a sign near the pool. No safeguarding! Despite the excellent service from staff in the SPA area, the consumables in SPA procedures - oils and creams were low quality ( I have tried the Winter wrapping).

    The location is very good! Restaurant “Come Prima” is excellent! Breakfast was nice, offering good variation of local food. SPA services were good. Hotel Reception and SPA staff was very friendly!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.8
    Spacious and clean rooms, great spa facilities, location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi in our room was not that good and although the breakfast had a lot of variety, some foods like the bacon, the eggs and the sausages were not that tasty. Some areas should be renovated.

    Spacious and clean rooms, great spa facilities, location is the best for skiing, good sushi and teppanyaki restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing spa-focused experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inside the hotel the only restaurants open for lunch and dinner were an Italian ristorante with a rather pretentious menu and a Japanese one - very limited options, especially for families with children. The indoor and outdoor jacuzzis are rather small for the number of guests present. The decor in the lounges and breakfast restaurant a bit outdated, old-looking sofas, armchairs and curtains.

    Large and comfortable room, large pleasant bathroom. Pleasant and varied options at the spa, we had several very good massages. The children's massage option was lovely, our son had one every day. Lovely experience in the warm outdoor pool and jacuzzi. Good room service. Good breakfast, warm and cold options. Well done for allowing children in the spa area within a certain period of time, we greatly enjoyed it as a family!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Amazing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It got a bit too crowded with children in the pool and Spa area on Saturday.

    Amazing breakfast. Polite staff. Really enjoyed the heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi. Location is great, a view of the mountains anywhere you look. Room was spacious and had everything you need.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very polite and friendly staff. Great location. The mountain view from the room is breathtaking. Excellent breakfast, great variety of food. Everything was perfect. When we arrived we found bottle of champagne, roses, candles and some sweets which was a lovely gesture for our romantic weekend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I noticed some personnel changes and not all new people were well trained for the quality of service in this hotel. Small things - for example, the receptionist had not well ironed uniform; the new SPA person was not as kind as the previous one etc. Hope they will learn soon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel! From some time we used it for our holidays and we intend to do it in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a big variety of TV channels, so I can't say that I didn't like it, but I will be happier if there are paid movie or sport channels inside the rooms. Now this option is available in the hotel lobby.

    + Very polite and friendly staff; + Very comfortable checkin - just park the car in front of the hotel and that's it. The staff take care for parking the car and bringing the baggage to your room; + Very good kids playroom - bigger than similar rooms in other hotels. There is even PlayStation inside; + Free billiard; + Excellent breakfast, great variety and quality; + Large and warm inside pool;

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Lovely stay. Ambience in the hotel was perfect. Ideal for families, couple or business
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First morning we arrived towards the end of breakfast - no cutlery and had to ask for that and coffee. Second morning however was ok

    Absolutely perfect. Superb location for the gondola and the town and its facilities. Pool/spa area immaculate

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel advertised as a non smoking hotel which nearly stopped us booking with them. Upon arrival we were told it is a non smoking hotel but smoking is permitted on the balcony and outside areas. It would be better to clarify this on the Web site

    Great location and facilities. We used all the restaurants and they were superb. My wife had spa treatments which she also thought were excellent. It was my wife's birthday and the hotel made her a cake which was a lovely gesture.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Excellent, relaxing, healthy and energizing stay.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didnt like the pillows only, because they were so soft and i like hard pillows, everything else was cool.

    I liked the spa, the restaurant, the bar, the room was excellent, also the mountain view from the room was breathtaking, the food was delicious and the people who work there are so kind, polite and helpful. Everything was great organized, so i strognly recommend this hotel for everybody, espescialy partners.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    great hotel with big rooms and very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    the room is very big and the mountain vies is something that you don't see every day. the hotel is excellent. the stuff is great and very helpfull. the dramatic location by the pirin mountain is fabolus. there is great breakfast at the hotel. this is the best hotel we have in europe.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    WOOOW
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Best Hotel and Service I have seen so far (I travel a lot). Unbelievable rich breakfast. The Spa is perfect with lots of pools and saunas. The Hotel has its own atmosphere, the staff is amazing, it feels like everything is perfect there. Thank you for this amazing experience KEMPINSKI GRAND ARENA

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Loved the wood and stone design .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the wood and stone design .... makes you feel warm and cozy. It’s a amazing hotel with a high level of service. Very friendly staff. Rooms spacious, clean, bed extra comfy. Facilities great as well, have everything that you need. Gym very well equipped, amazing spa. Location is perfect, it is close to everything.Definitely the best hotel to choose when you are in Bansko.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    will be going again next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    leaving to go home

    this is a fantastic hotel, location, the staff could not do enough for you the breakfast was superb and spoiled for choice, would recommend this hotel too all, had a fantastic birthday cake brought to our room for the wife made by the hotel lovely surprise for us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Very polite and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV in the room was below average. The shower head had calcium build up blocking a lot of the holes. The reception had told us there is a dinner buffet, but it turned out to not be operational. The Italian restaurant's shrimp spaghetti dish was very poor, but the rabbit one was very good.

    Very polite and friendly staff. Spacious room, good bed. Jacuzzi bathtub was appreciated. Breakfast buffet, while not anything mind-blowing, was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Loved everything about it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we did not stay longer :)

    Although our stay was really short we loved the spa with the pool and the jacuzzi, the room amenities. The breakfast is something out of this world, staff is friendly. The location next to the ski lift is also great. They were really nice and offered us a complimentary late check-out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Unforgettable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the bed and the pillows, breakfast was amazing, friendly staff ready to help always, great spa services, stunning views and best location, also one of the best gyms I have been to.. Definitely will visit again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Best hotel in Bansko
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service on pool and spa centar is a bit down. There is only one girl serving, also cleaning spa facilites must be done more offen for 5stat hotel. It seems a bit dirty.

    Hotel is very cozy, comfortable and spacious rooms, great spa experiance. Breakfast was amazing. Even in summer time there is good place to visit. Location is the best you can get in Bansko.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like the possibiliy to choose to park the car by myself if I want to, with no assistance, with a key card for opening the barrier instead of the vallet coming with me to open the barrier.

    The breakfest was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was wonderful Service was great and the place is so beautiful. We booked a room with Mountain view, extraordinary! Spa is fabulous

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely view of the mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly disappointed about the location as I had hoped it would be more secluded rather than on the Main Street. Parking charges.

    Lovely view of the mountains. Pool,spa and breakfast all excellent. Staff very helpful. Comfortable bed and good shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the sauna area needed a bit more floor cleaning, the aroma sauna could use more aroma as there was none at the times we used it, but those are mere details.

    Very friendly and helpful staf; excellent accomodation; outstanding location and facilities; cosy hotel. Hygene is near perfect, All in all, an impeccable experience and worth a near perfect score. We recommend this hotel strongly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    We are going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked buffet breakfast just rather cold but there was a chef on hand to do a splendid ommelet The food in general apart from above was 5 Star

    Great Service ...value for money ....food scenery just a great place to chill out

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.6
    Very nice and friendly staff, nice breakfast, clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service in one of the restaurants was a bit slow. The seafood soup could be much better.

    Very nice and friendly staff, nice breakfast, clean and comfy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Affordable luxury, made to feel welcome, special and valued.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for a mountain view which technically I got however, we were looking over a massive balcony so it was always in your eyeline, took away the setting really.

    Just about everything-very good value very friendly and great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, very clean and very good breakfast. A special thank you to the reception staff, we felt really very welcome since we stepped in the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Great place with excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me this is the best hotel to stay in Bulgaria. Top level service, nice restaurants and pool area, large rooms with very comfortable beds, wonderful view to the mountain and to the sunset. A perfect place to relax, especially after hiking in the mountains.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.3
    Good place to stay, but not perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not that perfect - some hairs on the floor and hairdryer, one of the mirror lamps was not working. Squeaking wardrobe doors. One of bed drawers was not closing. Accommodation at the pool is not ok-too crowded and our towels were removed during our lunch. Some empty glasses and ashtrays stayed all day long, even during night...

    Awesome Breakfast. Great gym. Very polite and professional hotel staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    The loveliest hotel in Bulgaria, friendliest staff but be aware of ticks and a very dirty kids pool.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two major turn offs that are hard to get over . 1. tons of ticks around the pool. Need to use tick spray all the time and still you can see those nasty creatures day after day.2. The kids pool was nasty gray dirty color, my kid went in there with her dad and came out the moment they realized that they were in the dirtiest pool we have ever seen. I told the staff and they said they can't clean it till the next day so they covered it. Overall as beautiful and as perfect as everything else is,and truly the staff is lovely to no end, having the stress of ticks and bacteria growing kids pool should be considered before booking.

    Wonderful staff and beautiful breakfast. Love the beds and the overall feel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Superb property, situated right next to the ski lifts with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was tasty, but the regular food at the restaurants on site was very average and way too overpriced.

    Superb property, situated right next to the ski lifts with stunning views. Great pool area (the cold water pool was amazing), extremely friendly and helpful staff, spacious and luxurious rooms with spectacular views, excellent breakfast. This is the best property to stay in Bansko, winter or summer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    Amazing stay in good quality hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning didn't work very well. 21 was the lowest we could set it in our room and it was more like 24.

    Great location. Excellent gym and spa. Amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Buffet was top notch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning cart was always on floor. Training alarms went off with out warning.

    Buffet was top notch. Honey comb and kids buffet made it extra special and unique. Spa facilities and spa staff were amazing and kindly humble/modest. Ski lift vicinity was perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    It was a very nice experience. We will recommend the hotel to our friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the hotel should find another location for the bar. The present one is a bit gloomy. why not use one of the terraces in summer as a bar?

    My wife and I liked the hotel very much. Our stay was too short to enjoy all the facilities, but I am sure that if we stayed longer we would have a lot to do.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    We had a fantastic stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bottled water in the room had a chemical taste ,we did try some a few days later and it was better.

    The staff in the breakfast room were brilliant also the reception staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    We stayed to celebrate my partners birthday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed to celebrate my partners birthday. when we returned to our room we found the hotel had made a birthday cake for him. We felt like special quests!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Amazing experience in the mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Spa and the Breakfast were amazing , loved their heated outdoor pool otherwise it's cold to swim. The view of the mountain was amazing , the evening service was nice. They pay attention to details have a special corner for kids breakfast and put small bathrobe for my young child and slippers .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    By far this is the best hotel I've been in while in Bulgaria. The service is outstanding with each member of the staff being very attentive and friendly. The facilities of the hotel are very well maintained and the food was excellent. This hotel is great value for money and I highly reccomend it to everyone visiting the region of Bansko.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Great hotel, great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would have liked if the night room service menu had more options.

    Great location, very pleasant and helpful staff, excellent amenities and food! True 5 star!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.2
    A splendid place to take a vacance!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just a bit of improving the maintanance

    We arrived to Kempinski , exactly in the opening day, after they passed a renewal. The staff very friendly and ready to help in any issue. The rooms are fairly big and comfortable. For a very small issue, we found in the room a tureen with all kind a fruits, a bottle of wine and a apologizing note! The breakfast is a festival!!! Don't visit it if you intend to keep a diet. This is, definitely, not the place!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    8.8
    Nice resort in retort town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed and City View (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Kempinski in Bansko advertises for itself to be a leading hotel in "the fastest growing resort town" in the Balkans. This is a realistic description, which is at least hinting at what Bansko looks like today: Around the small historic center it is a retort town. New hotels, restaurants and sports shops are mushrooming in the quickly growing city. As for the hotel itself, it has a rustic flair and offers what you would expect from a house of the Kempinski brand (including the American style rather soft bed and conservative interior design). The choice at breakfast could have been a little bigger and the parking fees are high in comparison to the price for the room, but apart from that the stay at the hotel itself was comfortable and nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    Best buffet breakfast of my life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two of the waiters in the lobby were very rude and stand offish.

    Best buffet breakfast of my life. Incredible variety. Spacious rooms, amazingly comfy beds. Fantastic spa and wellness area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Ready to go back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Housekeeping sometimes forgot to replace used cups/glasses so we had to call room service, but they were prompt in delivery.

    The hotel was lovely! The staff super accommodating! Loved the very reasonably priced spa treatments and the pools and hot tubs were fantastic! Did I mention the 5 different sauna/spa amenities in the 'wellness center' that were available? Super easy walk to the gondola to ski/snowboard. Breakfast was great, the Sushi/teppenyaki restaurant was a bit pricey, but worth the entertainment and the food was fresh and tasty. I would definitely go back!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    5.8
    Expected more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Housekeeping is very poor. People knock at the door and immediately come in to check the mini-bar. Our room was facing the town and on two nights it was noisy due to party and arguing neighbors on the balcony next to us. Male staff at the restaurant look like they are guarding the army camp rather than eggs and sausages.

    Location is good, right next to gondola. Spa is fine - especially open air warm jacuzzi.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    10
    Best ski vacation in Bulgaria
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Notning .. really all was on very high level

    Everything was over estimated. Great hotel great service from car parking solutions till ski boots warming systems. Very welcome pesonal very helpfull.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    10
    Excellent stay where staff are very friendly and know their job. Hotel in perfect position
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Coffee was basic and cups in the room way too small. Bathroom was very good but a pity not enough storage while showering for personal items-shampoo-conditioner-shower gel- sponge etc. Woman who sells ski gear and ski passes needs some lessons in dealing with customers-she is very unfriendly and rude, a stain on a good stay.

    Almost everything

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: