Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Art Plaza Hotel 3 stars

46 Hristo Belchev str., Centrum, 1000 Sofia, Bulgaria

#45 of 179 hotels in Sofia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1368 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.7
    Great central location, with easy access to all the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unprofessional and unhelpful staff at reception.

    Great central location, with easy access to all the main shops and restaurants. Clean, tidy and comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    . The main disadvantage is the cleaning and the maintaining. There are some stains that seem old on the carpet and on the wall. The room was cleaned every day and the towels were changed, but they left the empty soap bottles in the shower and didn't put a new ones (when we asked we were responded immediately). A little bit dark in the rooms, there is not enough lamps ro turn on. It is very small disadvantages I think.

    Very recommended hotel. Location is perfect, one minute from Vitosha Bulverde, Very close to the metro and the National Culture Palace, also close to the main attraction in the city. Super nice staff, knows english well and ready to help in everything immediately. Good rooms with everything that you need- safe, refrigerator, kettle and more. There is an elevator and a computer with printer in the reception. Good breakfast (although it is the same every day). Good price. I loved our stay :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    very quiet spot in central locaction with polite staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast in general was good quality with a decent variety of options, hot and cold, .. veggie and meat. The espresso was good. The croissants were not worth being on offer - stale, old. Will not deduct any points for just that as all else was very good.

    the location was good. Central and close to a choice of places to eat plus the extra bonus of being tucked away from the big roads, allowing for very quite night and a good sleep. Will definitely book again if in Sofia.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    The reception staff was very useful and helpful, special...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The reception staff was very useful and helpful, special thanks to them! Location is very good, since it’s right in the heart of city, just near Vytushka (Vytosha), and also has metro station just nearby. The room was great and surprisingly big, containing separate living room and bedroom. I liked everything and have no complains. Would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    Hotel at great location with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was horrible, didn’t work. Breakfast not catered to western taste.

    Very helpfull and friendly staff. Great location. Good rooms and nice shower. Clean towels and sheets everyday.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    worth recommending!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It may be romantic for someone, but I would prefer more light in the room. Too loud air condition, poor wifi (it depends on the place)

    Very clean room, comfortable beds, good localization, nice staff, tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Excellent 3stars hotel with an excellent position in the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is excellent! A few metres from Vitosha Boulevard (the main turistic street where you can find boutiques, restaurants, pubs, etc.), a few metres from NDK metro station, 5 minutes walking from Serdika metro station (the heart of the historic city centre). Great breakfast; kind, professional and efficient front desk staff. I would definitely book this hotel again on the next trip to sofia. My room (a suite) was excellent for a 3stars hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We accidentally forgot to bring a UK to Europe adaptor and unfortunately the hotel had ran out of them. Dairy free milk at breakfast would be great!

    Great location at the top of the main boulevard. Nice big comfy bed. Helpful and professional staff. Breakfast was good. Was nice to have a kettle and coffee in the rooms as most places on the continent don't provide this. Wasn't too noisy despite being near the main boulevard.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    In the heart of the city & the bed of comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being a critical person by nature, it's hard for me to embrace the fact that there isn't anything that I didn't like. The bread at breakfast was stone cold, ha! That's true but so minor that it didn't upset me at all.

    Not sure where to begin. The stuff is super friendly. Quick and helpful with check in, taxi orders, providing information. The location could not be better - for someone like me who has previously lived in Sofia, walking distance is something that is highly valued. The hotel is 1 minute away from the Main pedestrian street - Vitosha. The rooms were so clean and cosy. The bathroom was excellent. We even took two small showers gels with us when we left :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.3
    The hotel charged me 30 Euro for my wife, staying with me even her name was clearly mentiond in theo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was unkind to charge for my wife 30 Euro even her name Orit mitrani was clearly writhen in the reservation. By mistake i didn"t changed the occupancy to 2. I DEMAND paying back to me the 30 Euro.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    The room was clean, with all the necessities, the bathroom’s...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything.

    The room was clean, with all the necessities, the bathroom’s size was satisfying. The staff very kind and willing to help you around. Breakfast was nice, I think it could satisfy an average person. Excellent location right next to the shops and cafe-restaurants, with the metro stop a 2-minute walk. I would stay there again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    I am satifsfied with my stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would appreciate the better designation of the way to the hotel.

    I suggest to try some excellent home - made yoghurt or some cheese for breakfast! And for dinner to walk to very close Vitasha bulvare!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was great.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was great. Location was very handy, in the centre, close to metro station and main pedestrian street, lots of restaurants and facilities in the neighbourhood. Bed was very comfortable and room quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.3
    Too expensive for what it offers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really serious, but lots of small things, like toilet mounted on the wall too high, so you can't touch the ground with your legs while seating, uncomfortable pillows, old furniture, shower with pladtic curtain, really old bread for breakfast...

    Staff, location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Perfect stay in Sofia
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and competent hotel staff that assisted me in English beforehand to organise a taxi from the airport to the hotel. Very well situated close to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    I liked that it was very close to the city center and to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, I wouldn't give it 3*. The furniture, the overall aspect - of the lobby (too much black and an odd mixture of new and old furniture), of the corridors and the room - is obsolete, though there are some pieces of old furniture that could be highlighted. I was to tired not to appreciate the mattress that in other circumstances would not seem too comfortable. Awful cold light that could be easily fixed with warm light. The shower curtain gives you the impression of cheapness, though the bathroom was clean, with clean towels, shower products, hairdryer.

    I liked that it was very close to the city center and to the metro station, yet on quiet street . Enjoyable breakfast and diversified, complimentary wine in the room. The staff was friendly and helpful, offering some direction regarding tourist attractions and helping to book dinner in a very nice restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    I couldn't sleep well as my room had windows on the roof...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I couldn't sleep well as my room had windows on the roof and curtains not enough thick so there was too much light in the morning. Breakfast low quality, croissants uneatable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are much more dated then the photos make them appear and the breakfast felt very crowded.

    The hotel was located at the centre of everything and around the corner from the metro. The breakfast is massive with plenty of options. The rooms also have nice AC which was great in the hot weather.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Good choice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really, really good. Very good location close to the National Palace of Culture. Lots of nice restaurants nearby, close to the metro. Helpful and polite staff, good breakfast, good wifi. I even received a small bottle of good Bulgarian wine as a welcome drink on arrival, which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice small hotel in great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Booking.com took more money than was written in the order.

    The staff in hotel was very friendly and helped a lot. The location of hotel was the best!!! The hotel is very clean, nice décor , good breakfast for 3 star hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Very nice place to discover downtown!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Actually we did like the service, we got for our money! :-)

    Staff was very kind, helpful and welcoming. Room and bathroom was clean, beds are good. Great choice for breakfast, love the cold orange juice and the sausage. Only 2 steps from the vivid pedestrian street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    But still it does not put us off getting back there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Rooms were a bit too small and that did not show in the photos, it was due to wrong advertising. But that is about it.

    Breakfast was excellent and the staff was very helpful. Hotel was just off Vitosha Blvd - therefore excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location, warm helpful staff and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was somewhat small and not much room for luggage but it was sufficient

    Front Desk staff and breakfast room staff were always friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Great personnel, great location, small room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Brakfast a little too poor, in particular I've missed better choice of bread. (Available was only toast like bread.)

    Very friendly staff, excellent location next to the main walking /shopping street and Palace of Culture, coffee maker in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    great hotel in perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    milk in the room for coffee wouldve been nice .... but minor point.

    Brilliant hotel with friendly helpful staff ..... excellent location. Really trendy decor and very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    6.7
    The location is quite convenient next to Vitosha Boulevard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from the location, nothing is favorable. The breakfast was terrible with many dated and undelicious stuff. Not worth what you pay for it.

    The location is quite convenient next to Vitosha Boulevard. You have a chance to visit touristic attractions in the old town on foot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    Big and comfort room with large bathroom, the breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from the windows,the bathtab is very high

    Big and comfort room with large bathroom, the breakfast was very good,the staff was friendly and helpfull,the lokation is central and near metro station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.1
    Great location but the room could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had roof windows just above the bed. The curtains were semi transparent and once the sun rose at 7 I was up.. Not pleasant at all when you go to bed at 4. There was also not enough light in the room - only wall lights.

    The staff upgraded me to a better room for free on arrival. The reception staff was friendly and helped me with the questions I had. The location of the hotel is perfect both for business and leisure.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Nice rooms, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One thing I didn't like is that when I visited 2 years ago there was a small gym, which is no longer there.

    The hotel is exactly in the centre of Sofia a corner away from Vitosha Boulevard. The rooms are really nice. Good sized rooms and nicely decorated. Breakfast is decent with a different selection of foods. The Staff personnel are always very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Nice hotel in a quiet street.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom curtain needs re-arrangement - some shower water splashes out to the floor. But not much, really.

    The hotel was very quiet - quiet street, no noise from other rooms. The location was perfect for my purpose, 5 minutes walk from NDK.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    The Staff were all very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Staff were all very friendly. Clean rooms, comfortable beds and excellent location. Great morning buffet and service. Love this place so much can’t wait to go back. One of the best experiences I’ve ever had and staying at any hotel. Very affordable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.3
    Great as always, Sofia is really a city to enjoy good food with friendly people and quality of cust.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too warm (but windows could be open)

    Very well located, 100m from the pedestrian street (Vitosha) and the subway (NDK). A lot of cosy bars and tasty restaurants around. Service and kindness of the staff. Breakfast simple but ok (could be improved by proposing fresh juices)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Great Value For Money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing that I would like to mention is that the curtain in the bathroom was too short so the water went out as long as you have a shower.Just a small detail!

    Most of all I would like to mention the kindness and the politeness of the staff.Polina, Kristiyan,Jasen,Stephen from the reception and Boyko from the breakfast area it was a pleasure to meet you.Moreover, the breakfast was great for a 3-star hotel!Next to the famous Vitosha Street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    The Staff was really helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Staff was really helpful and friendly. The breakfast was suuuper good. Our room was quite bog and very comfortable. The only complaint I would say is the poor lighting in the room. Otherwise everything was perfect and amazing location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.1
    Mediocre hotel with some nice features
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - the hairdryer was overheating quickly and had very low dry-power - the breakfast was extremely untasteful and of low quality - the bathroom was poorly designed and overflooded after shower

    - the staff was friendly - the room was very quiet - the bed was comfortable - the location was good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.8
    Great location but very small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is sooooooooo small! the breakfast can do better. we asked for 2 seperate beds and they didnt supply it.

    Breakfast was ok. Great location and friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.8
    I had a nice stay in Sofia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was this piped music which was the sounds of birds singing which was constantly on repeat one afternoon which was incredibly annoying after a while, but mercifully it was turned off after I mentioned it. Otherwise, a great place to stay

    I had a nice stay in Sofia. The hotel is ideally located just off Vitosha Boulevard and very close to the Metro station. Also it is just a short walk from all of the main attractions and bars and restaurants in the area. The hotel itself was quite nice. I was upgraded to a superior room which was lovely. The bed was super comfortable and the room was spotless clean. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choices on offer. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Artem, who was a pleasure to deal with. I’d definitely go back again as it ticked all the boxes for what I needed for the weekend in Sofia.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    The receptionist was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was small and the walls were thin so we could hear every little noise. I could hear my neighbours phone conversation word for word, and other toilets flushing. However, this wouldn’t deter me from staying again.

    The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was located in the centre very close to a beautiful park and all the shops, and was within 15 minutes walking distance of the palace and old bath house etc. The selection of food for breakfast was plentiful and the coffee was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.8
    Perfect for a 'value for money' city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV channel choice

    Good position near shops, park and city sites and landmarks. The breakfast was great and the Pizza and beer in the restaurant just along the road was both convenient and good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.8
    Good value hotel, very helpful staff and central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were quite small. The bathroom was small and the shower could have been better designed as water sprayed onto the floor.

    Liked the lobby and the dining area. The hotel is near cafes and the main shopping area and also a metro stop.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    4.2
    Devastating
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At check out the staff was unqulified and it took to long. The staff at bresakfast was unfreindly and were just looking to clear the buffet, welcome was : now its time to take what you like we close at 10 am. The room was smelling like the drainage, the water in the shower was not flowing away, and it was not repaired during my stay. I was mention the issue at the front desk.

    Reception Staff was friendly during check in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    4.6
    Overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning didn't work so the room was too hot even though it was late October. The only way to cool it down was to keep the window open day and night. The room itself was smaller than many other similar hotels in Sofia, but was more expensive and therefore poor value for money. The towels were small, thin and shabby and the temperature of the shower difficult to control. On the second day the room wasn't cleaned as the housekeeper didn't show up until 4pm. At that time it was inconvenient to have the room done. Overall I didn't rate it and I wouldn't stay there again.

    The breakfast had a good choices.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.5
    Very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No money safe facilities. Breakfast finished at 10 am prompt. No flexibility for young children eating later after arriving late the previous night and after a late night wedding party.

    Close to main boulevard and easy to get to places of interest.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.1
    A good hotel from which to explore Sofia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Second bed not made up on arrival at 1.00am (but quickly resolved by the very helpful night staff) and then second bed on the narrow side. A bar to grab a late night drink would have been good.

    Great location within the city centre, near to good restaurants and literally just off Vitosha Boulevard. Good breakfast to set you up for the days sightseeing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location pleasant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not brilliant but perfectly acceptable

    Location was brilliant and the staff were friendly and efficient. Room was well equipped and comfortable - overall a great base for s couple of days in Sofia

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.3
    First time in Sofia, came with family and friends to attend...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Children to bed late after wedding but would not extend breakfast time next morning - always closed 10 am prompt. Care - Pringles and nuts had notice -with compliments - but had to pay for them!

    First time in Sofia, came with family and friends to attend wedding. Hotel very central to shops, restaurants, cultural history etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Perfect Hotel stay with Value for money you payed for.Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing, I found The hotel comfortable more than i expected.

    Hotel is very clean, good sized room and staff is very friendly and do the up most to help you. The position of Hotel is 1 minute walk to the famous shopping street Vitosha, and have metro near by.I recomend this hotel to everyone to stay in the historical center and for shopping. Breakfast is good as well and specify is you need any request when booking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    Very good location, close to the main pedestrian area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately no transfer from the airport was available. The shower curtain was not very practical, water got all over the floor when using the shower.

    Very good location, close to the main pedestrian area. The rooms were not very big, but clean and comfortable. The brekafast buffet was ok, but nothing special.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Good value for the price paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Convenient location. Breakfast very good with extensive selection of items. Very clean and the staff were helpful and polite. TV channels were available in English. Lift useful for baggage and for disabled guests.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Very highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    Amazing Hotel, no words to describe it! All the receptionists speak very well in English. It has everything we needed = room, toilet, blankets, TV (there are english channels also such as BBC!), comfortable beds, very good shower (warm water..thanks for that!). Breakfast = AMAZING, great choice of selection. The location...very perfect! Just like 1 min walk from the main street centre with lots of shops and restaurants. Only like 20 mins walk from Alexandar Nevski Cathedral.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice enough boutique hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are a bit dated and can be quite dark. The location was great for staying, but can be difficult to find initially in the small streets of downtown Sofia.

    The hotel is in a great location for walking downtown Sofia. The staff are also very friendly and will give you good recommendations. The bathroom was pretty good by European standards.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Brilliant.....even the lady johana bought me a Bulgarian sausage to bring back with me, fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    As soon as I arrived I was made to feel welcome, asked all my questions in perfect English and the staff would bend over backwards for you....close to all the bars and restaurants....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.9
    Good location, close to the downtown, quiet, clean place,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No overnight parking, a real problem to park your car downtown Sofia! No airport transfer available at the time, for my partner.

    Good location, close to the downtown, quiet, clean place, nice personnel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel but would not visit again due to bathroom lock issue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 106: The bathroom lock was broken and my friend managed to get locked inside twice. The staff seemed the know about the issue but hadn't done anything about it. I'd hate to think what would have happened if someone got locked inside without a phone or someone in the room to go look for help! I am not sure if this is a common problem for all the rooms or just room 106 but it is a shame as I liked everything else about the hotel! Purely based on that, I would not repeat the visit.

    The staff were very friendly, the room was very nice and clean and had everything it needed!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    4.6
    Expected differant so just average
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cooked breakfast was cold, didn't understand coffee machine and toaster was fiddly, bathroom floor got very wet after shower as curtain was wrong, was informed on leaving that I had to pay for a small pringles which I thought was complimentary , charged 11 levs[5,50] bit annoyed , most hotels don't charge for tea coffee and biscuits, I didn't havea drink as no milk in room? hot in room so couldn't open window as noisy from road below

    The bed was fine room ok , location good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    A pleasant hotel right in the heart of Sofia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't like the fact that our two kids 4 and 7 could easily open the low windows and lean out.

    This hotel is a relatively small boutique(ish) place smack bang in the middle of the shopping district of Sofia down a quiet side street off Vitosha blvd. The Reception staff spoke good English and were very pleasant and helpful. Our room was comfortable and clean with a nice, well stocked bathroom. Breakfasts in Bulgaria are quite hit and miss I find but here there was a lot of choice and it wasn't too bad although the coffee was way too strong in my opinion. Checkout was easy and they called us a taxi to our next destination while we waited on the settees. We have been here twice and would return again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location and minor issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel would only benefit from improving the quality of the provided towels. The lockers are too small for laptops and the air-conditioning is one notch too noisy. Certainly room for improvement.

    Perfect location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.3
    Very central location, yet quiet, with friendly and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast quality could be better (especially the coffee).

    Very central location, yet quiet, with friendly and very helpful staff. Parking was easy and safe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    First (and not last) time in Sofia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was expecting the room to be cleaned in the morning, but that's not a big issue.

    Great staff, especially Polina, who greeted us upon arrival! They provided us with a map and with info about the city, organized the transfers for us and were always ready to answer all of our questions. Breakfast was good. Position was excellent, 2 mins from Vitosha boulevard and metro station. Will defo come back in future.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    2.5
    Very bad experience!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I left, they sent me an email said I drank their water from the mini bar. But I didn't!! They just charge me from credit card. And their WIFI is very slow!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    Great breakfast with plenty of choice and fresh produce.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Niets.

    Great breakfast with plenty of choice and fresh produce. Staff is friendly and helpful. Especially at the front desk! Even our daughter and her boyfriend were allowed to leave their luggage while not staying there. Very clean rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    Great choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be improved; double-bed did not have a single mattress, which is always annoying. They told us, it is cos it was the cheapest category, however, if we had known beforehand that a double-bed in that category had two mattresses instead of one, we would have gladly paid a little more in order to get a single big mattress. This happens a lot in hotels though.

    Very friendly staff; great location (next to Vitosha Blvd.); not far from a fabulous restaurant, which became our favourite during our stay (Shtastliveca). They called a taxi for our airport transfer, which was trustworthy and did not overcharge us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    Close to Vitosha street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast were cold even we came 30min after they started. Variety of food was just fine.

    Great prices and location. 100m from Vitosha street - directly in the center. Close to Metro and everything in Sofia. Nice front desk personal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location, friendly and attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish the rooms were cleaned a little bit better. I noticed that the bathrooms weren't properly cleaned.

    The location was really great, with easy access to the main shopping street and within walking distance to the main attractions of the city. The streets near the hotel also had a lot of food and shopping options that were more local.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    Very convenient stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost nothing! Except towels were a little bit damp, could have been dried up more. Shower curtain also did not help much with water splash, just more work for maids, that's all.

    Great location, good staff with service mind. Various choices for breakfast. Love the butter croissant! Will certainly stay in this hotel again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.1
    Their room is comfortable... Their Location from Airport is Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What I only noticed is that, their service towels and their bedsheets are poor, messy and not perfectly clean, they should also consider to spray the room with disinfectant b4 delivering to their guests. (Mosquitos and Spider Web is present)

    Their staffs are accomodating and always with smile...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Very good value for money. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blinds on the roof windows didn't really block out the light.

    Helpful staff. Great location for Sofia. I thought it was in some dodgy back ally in the rough part of town...but when I went out I found it was right next to the main pedestrian area which is the only really developed area of Sofia. It was really cheap but had everything you expect from a good hotel chain. A hotel like that would cost twice the price for one night in the UK. I stayed for two.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.9
    Location, massage arranged by hotel, amazing restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, breakfast was good but could do with a bit nicer fruits and bread

    Location, massage arranged by hotel, amazing restaurant nearby (made in home)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The top floor has become a smoking area, without travelers being informed of this beforehand. The general manager still reacts defensively to any criticism, and takes only half-hearted remedial measures for shortcomings.

    The breakfast buffet has improved over the past 3 years.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Clean and tidy hotel, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Clean and tidy hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Good central location close to Vitosha Boulevard and NDK subway station. Very good breakfast and excellent value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff spoke English and very polite and helpful. Rooms immaculate and plenty of towels in bathroom. Excellent location. Very quiet in the hotel even though it was full. I got apartment and was spacious. Breakfast very good. Left at 3.30am and when leaving was given a breakfast package to take to the airport for 4of us. Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.7
    reasonably priced good sized rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking have to drive 10 minutes away for 24 hour parking, which we used then taxis thereafter

    Good location near shopping centre and 10 minute walk to museums etc, very pleasant staff Very good at ordering taxis which adhere to set rate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    4.2
    Best western hell hole in a good location..
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning...at first they had a storey about it being illegal to have ac in bulgari with a difference of more than 10 degrees difference from outside temperature. When i explained th them it was actually cooler outside than in room they changed the storey to a problem due to road work in the street and these were soecjal ac systems that use external water for cooling like a nuke plant...and the road work caused there to be a water flow problem..but the shower, sink, and toilets all gad water..maybe it was a special underground dedicated water line dor the nuje lkant i was in...i doubt it...it was cold in the lobby by the way...the staff was border line retared. Terrible liars. Unable to solve a problem..2 days no ac..35-40 temp...f off best western...

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    A good city centre base in Sofia.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    City centre location in narrow streets means dropping off and collecting by car can be awkward because of lack of parking nearby. Breakfast has plenty of choice but not a lot of fresh produce.

    Excellent location, clean and comfortable rooms. Was upgraded on second stay - thank you.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel at a central location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing hotel at a very central location! I particurarly loved the purple colours of the hotel, as well as the aesthetic. The staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi was really fast and breakfast quite good. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Best Western Art Plaza Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: