Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Light Hotel 3 stars

37 Veslets Str., Centrum, 1202 Sofia, Bulgaria

#39 of 179 hotels in Sofia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2018 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Free SPA
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a long walk to centre. There was no English tea. Some staff were quite unfriendly.

    Very clean hotel. Reception staff very helpful and could speak very good English.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Let's start: breakfast very poor and in my opinion some of the goods were from the day before, as some cookies. Even if i was alone in the restaurant, i waited 10-15 min. for someone to take my order. Than i ordered some pancake and they bring it from the breakfast. After i told them, they admit and they apologies promising that will bring some pancake fresh, but as you imagine, they put another 2 in the microwaves and they brought them to me, SHAME ON YOU! There are a lot to tell but i don't have time for such people. By the way, the parking in on the side street of the hotel and it's look's like a garbage place, it is impossible to find it from the first time, exception are the people that know cyrillic alphabet (photo attach for latin alphabet people) . Don't recommend this hotel with furniture from the '80, windows from the '70 ( can't ventilate the room other then opening totally the window, means that need to close the window if you go out) and mirror in the room from the ... oh wright, is missing, there is no mirror.

    Worst hotel ever!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything the girls on desk were very helpful for all the questions you have the location perfect, 10 min walk from the center of city breakfast was great with lots of different food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English language channels on the TV, not even world news. Air conditioning might not be cool enough in high summer but was okay for us in May, on full.

    Liked the silent glass lift. Very good sound insulation; couldn't hear a thing in our room although the hotel was busy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was only 10 minute walk to center and a block off a main street. I'm not sure if I would want to walk around the area alone late night.

    The breakfast was plentiful with a lot of choices. The front desk was very helpful and helped with getting reliable taxis. This is a hidden gem.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We liked everything.

    Staff were exceptionally nice! Tea/coffee making facilities are not usually included in the room, but when we asked, we were gladly given a kettle and cups. Breakfast was very nice. Hotel is very well located for seeing the historic sights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from the city center, old and dirty neighbourhood...especially in the night we felt afraid to walk

    Excellent staff,very kind and professional..congratulations to all reception and breakfast staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is along the street in the Green Zone of the city. Not a big deal though - the hotel staff is assisting with it.

    Very clean little hotel with incredibly friendly and professional staff. The restaurant- Delicious food, beautiful ambiance and great service, resonable prices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Terrace - Free SPA
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm very pleased with the location,with the studio,with the breakfast and with the staff of the hotel.It was a very nice stay at the hotel.I will do recommend "Light Hotel" to my friends, too!Thank's to receptionist GEORGI

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The thing that was really bad was the breakfast. Extremely poor quality products. The arrangement of bathroom was awful- you could barely sit on the toilet. Strange hairs were drifting around in the bathroom. When we arrived the room was with temperature of 30°C, or at least it felt like that, and very difficult to cool down.

    The location was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Consistent and clean. (Apart from the balcony) I enjoy staying here and it’s pretty well located. Some aspects feel a little dated but it has its own character and an elevator with a view!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite with City View - Free SPA
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Breakfast was good enough. Some more sweets will be appreciated. - Front desk personnel could smile from time to time. Anyway they are helpful. - Little things like no welcoming drink for genius members and one's toillet rubbish bin not opening by foot movement.

    - Lightful hotel, many room windows, glass ceiling at common area, even the (really slow) elevator's walls are made from glass offering a nice surprise (view). - We -4 persons- stayed at room 55, which we thought it was just one room but it was two almost separated zones, one WC and one bathroom, many wardrobes, two TVs and a huge overlooking balcony. Furthermore it is at the sixth floor as there is a narrow staircase after the room door. We liked it but I am not sure if it is safe for small children. I suppose that room 52 is even better. - New furniture - Clean hotel - Hotel amenities (cosmetics and slippers) - Five minutes walking distance to sinagogue and mosque.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish there was hot soup on the menu (at least in the winter). Breakfast was good but not exceptional. However, still more than fine for the price.

    I loved the heating - the room was really warm in freezing weather and it was easy to regulate, responded fast. The bathroom was very clean. The room was quiet even though it was next to the lift. Very convenient location - close to the metro station, easy access from the airport. Great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Communication at check in was not good as we re- asked question 3x, but still we were charged for wrong rooms, i suppose its just specific person problem, not hotel, but in general it made impression bit upsetting.

    easy and fast to adjust heat/ AC in rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Free SPA
    • Stayed 1 night

    The specific smell in the room - like it is a smoking room (it was actually marked as non-smoking)

    Goog location, a quiet room ; very good bad --> good sleep; nice staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scrambled eggs and bacon at breakfast was cold. Transfer costs from the airport were too high as a taxi was 15BGN.

    Staff were helpful. Room was spotlessly maintained. Fabulous view of Mount Vitosha from the elevator.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are a bit small but it will get the job done

    Since we missed the breakfast as we had to go to the airport early they prepared us some food in a bag.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Free SPA
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast basic and poor. It was the first time that I saw half...bananas.. and of course not in the best situation :( . The main problem for me was the extremely noisy central heating and the lack of warmth in the bathroom because the weather was not "so cold" .But for the tourists of warmer countries is rather essential!

    Very clean room and bathroom, friendly, helpful and english speaking staff . The hotel partly renovated in a quite neighborhood close to the centre of town and public transportation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The district around hotel reminds of pictures after the war. But hotel itself is just the opposite - nice, clean and friendly.

    Staff was very nice and friendly and English speaking. Bulgarian yogurt served at breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The open air parking is 50 meters away from the hotel - there was a misunderstanding between the reception of the hotel and the parking staff and it was impossible to understand what happened bacause they spoke only Bulgarian.

    Very kind staff - large and clean rooms - mini market very close - big supermarket at 200m - walking distance from the city center (about 10-15min).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is close to the airport, and so planes regularly fly low over this building, causing a lot of noise.

    Very kind staff and very well decorated rooms. Hotel was very clean and in a very good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value, staff are super helpful and kind. The rooms were a littl noisy at times but nothing excessive. Nice little gym with sauna was a welcome facility

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater is very loud... but the room is very well insulated so you do not need the heater to be on all the night!

    Staff, value for money, near city center, breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit bad. A lot of food and drink but bad cooking and bad quality, for example orange juice was like water.

    Private bathroom was really clean. The room was very hot (very apreciated in december). Staff very very patience and they give a lot of touristic information if you ask for.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with City View - Free SPA
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In order to get to the room you have to climb very narrow circular stairs. It wasn't a problem for us, but in my opinion that specific room isn't suitable neither for families with toddlers, nor for disabled people.

    The room was warm and welcoming.The view was stunning. The hotel is located very close both to the train station and the touristic attractions.They offered us slipperd and a variety of shampoo, gels, etc. The were tea and coffee in the room, and the mini bar was really cheap for a European city. The breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The temperature in the hotel was too high even for winter (24 degree was being set) and made sleeping difficult. It was all down to the central heating throughout the hotel and there is no individual control by thermostat etc. inside each room. Also it seems that people there can't keep promises. An appointment for massage was made but there was no-show from the masseur.

    The room was spacious and clean. The restaurant and bar were good. The location is good and of walking distance to the main attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situation of hotel. Described as 'centrum' which it was but not a great area. Breakfast girl very rude, unhelpful and unfriendly.

    Bedroom very quiet, good shower and comfy bed. Nice and warm and decor for Christmas lovely.Reception staff and bar man very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast waitress was not friendly at all! Both toasters were broken and when I told her, she responded by giving me a look like "This is what we have, if you don't like it, tough!" I stayed for 7 nights and they didn't even bother to fix or replace the damn toasters!

    -Receptionists very helpful -Very clean room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Single rooms are a bit small. Some noise from the neighboring rooms.

    A nice hotel in a good location (close to the main tourist attractions). Very nice and helpful staff (even made a takeaway breakfast for us since we left before breakfast time). Breakfast was great. Beds are comfortable and rooms are clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were really nice and helpful. There is a 24 hours reception and they are really always happy to help with a big smile! The room is nice and the area is good, 5 min. walk to the main street and metro station 10-15 min. walk to bars, and main attractions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Free SPA
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the double bed is two singles pushed together.....

    Very helpful staff, good size room with a good and clean enclosed shower. Comfortable bed. Good bar with a reasonable selection of drinks and fairly priced. Good breakfast and you get a 10% off voucher for the restaurant for dinner too, I didnt have time to eat dinner in the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast contained cheap stuff,however quite a big choice, not professional waiters.

    Sauna was pleasant. Close to the city center,walking distance from metro station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with City View - Free SPA
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside we had is the rooms are very hot and the air con is not great but we opened the windows and that worked

    Staff are really friendly and the rooms were cleaned daily

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit poor. No hot water one morning for 1h..unfortunately someone was smoking in the neighboring and the smell of smoke was coming in our room..But you are still allowed to smoke in some public places in Bulgaria unfortunately

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of cigarettes in my room.

    Close to the center. Friendly staff! Breakfast very good. The bed was very comfortable even the room was very small.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room the first night was a bit noisy, but when I returned a few days later I had been upgraded which was lovely.

    Staff were good and the hotel was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When I arrived the receptionist was very kind with me, and she told me everything about the hotel and it's services (for example there is sauna (Finnish sauna, and very big) and fitness (well equipped) which is allowed for use anytime for free). I used the sauna twice, and the fitness once, and I was satisfied. Also, I got a free coupon for one welcome drink in the Hotel's bar. During my stay, I met 3 different receptionist and all of them were very kind, polite and helpful! The breakfast was also good, there were a lot of choices of food (for example muesli, yogurt, fruits, vegetables, eggs, cheese, meats and also Bulgarian deserts and coffee and juices and so on). About the room: the room was very clean and cozy. Heater worked fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are paper thin, room was small and the airplane fly right over it.

    It's a pretty great location. Dark allies, but we had no problems. Staff were nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Free SPA
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of electric kettle in the room. Doble bed is made of two single mattresses, it is strange, because in economy doble is just double mattress. Door to bathroom was a bit worn out and it was not possible to shut them without a key.

    Superior double room is large enough even for longer staying, there's small balcony and two armchairs. Staff in the hotel is very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double Economy is a bit small, either room and bathroom, but is cosy and comfortable for a short stay. Lack of electric kettle in the room.

    Room was clean and tidy and staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our suite was extremely dirty. We even found used toilet paper behind the sofa. Same with the carpet. Only the two bathrooms were clean. There was allover a bad smell, too. While our stay there, a customer reported to the reception that he was affected by bugs during the night using his bed. BUT the worst thing of all, that we should probably make an official report to the authorities, was the unacceptable breakfast. Everything was lousy and we even saw the waiter to pick up from used plates the leftovers and put them back to the buffet.

    It was close to the center ...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be careful walking as some paths very uneven in back streets.

    Hotel was walking distance from centre of Sophia which is fab. We walked from hotel around all the sites. Staff in public places very friendly and helpful. Restaurants very good and plenty of variety. Metro is walking distance from hotel from airport. There is a major construction in the road outside hotel and up the street so maybe noisy during week. We were there on a Sunday.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 1 night

    A kettle would have been nice, and the economy room didn't have a safety deposit box (the regular rooms did). Not the hotel's fault, but the pavements and streets around the hotel are very broken and uneven - would be hard to take a large / heavy suitcase around the area.

    For the price, this was a great location very close to the centre of Sofia (close to Serdika and the cathredral), and not too far from the metro and bus/train station either. Nice to have breakfast included (buffet-style, some hot food, cold meats, bread, cereals) - and good that it ran until 10am as well. The room was fine and clean, though we could have done with an extra pillow, and there was no kettle in the room, though there was a good sized fridge. The aircon was broken when we got in in the evening, but we mentioned it to the desk staff and it was fixed the next day whilst we were out. It was also nice to use the sauna and get a free welcome drink in the bar. Would recommend this hotel for those on a budget - excellent value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Free SPA
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, but hotel is quite old.

    Good small hotel in the center of the city. Room was spacey enough and clean. Breakfast was average. Parking is on the street and it was easy to park. Reasonable price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the shower as it did not have a partition ! ( only a shower curtain )So when you have a shower water is everywhere on the floor, toilet etc. But I did not compailn about it. Maybe if I did they could have changed our room !!

    This hotel is very clean. It is just 10mins walk from Sofia centre. Very friendly staff especially Stela. Good breakfast and cozy bed !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking: either on the street with parking ticket or a closed parking (poor) 250 meters approx from hotel with 5 euro/ night. If you have some baggage and a clothes hanger with you might be inconvenient, also due to the manual entrance door in the lobby.

    Room size is fair. Also the hotel positioning was convenient for me.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Free SPA
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Music nights, as it seems that the sound insulation is a bit too thin. WiFi connection is not stable and it breaks every 15 mins.

    Location of the hotel is great, close to the city center and supermarkets, but outside of the main street. In the same time is its advantage and disadvantage, as it is not easy to navigate the streets (in some cases there are no street name signs). I particularly liked the easy walking distance to the hot water spring, which is amazing and healthy :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace - Free SPA
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location ( it does not look safe for 1 woman walk ). First room which we rent was smelling moisture then they change with standard double. But the room that they told as junior suit was too small for a junior suit even. )

    Clean, nice breakfast, perfect staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is really nice. It is very clean and the rooms look good. The food in the hotel restaurant is also nice, and relatively cheap. All in all, great value for money. The only down side is that there is no parking provided. There is a parking lot around the corner, but they charge 12 Leva/ day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette - Free SPA
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an apartment, which was really big and confortable. The rooms are clean enough, even if the hotel could use some renovation, it's more than ok at this price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 5 nights

    excellent small hotel between the railway station and city centre . people at reception were all friendly and spoke english ,the room was on the 5 th floor and gave good city views . the room was a good size the bathroom was small but everything worked and the breakfast was good .i always felt safe in the area ,and i would stay again .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room a/c was not working properly, the room/ bathroom cleaning is average. hotel did not have a convertor, so our mobile chargers from dubai could not be used to recharge samsung mobiles. i had to buy new convertor to use my chargers.only 1 toaster was working in the breakfast room and on 1morning there was no white bread, so only brown bread was available.

    Location of hotel is near city centre there is a vegtable matlrket near by and you can find electronics hardware store there as well. mcdonald, kfc and lots of eating out options nearby.. reception staff (stella) was very helpful in arranging taxi and any trip advice, she organized a day long taxi for me and family to plovdiv and back in one evening. really appreciate the extra effort from her. the hotel also provided a cot with no extra chargers, after i told them i have 2 babies with me.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Free SPA
    • Stayed 1 night

    The neighborhood of the hotel is bad, the breakfast was quite poor.

    The location of the hotel is very good, the center of the city is 10 mins walk. The parking area is 100 meters away of the hotel and is very secure. The prsonnel is very polite and helpfull. The room was really huge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    more types of bread shoulb be placed for breakfast. there was only white bread that I do not like. also hot water for breakfast was from a plastic container that was not pleasure. I did not drink tea for breakfast for this reason.

    my room was beatiful and clean. It was more than my expectation. very good wifi quality. near to the metro.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard to find (booking.com point is incorrect) Dinner is good but breakfast is poor

    IN Sofia centre (just 7 minutes walking) Good size room Clean Helpful reception

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel had failed to read the request for twin beds. The Receptionist was completely indifferent to the problem. Efficient Manager sorted the problem to the disgust of the Receptionist. Hotel immaculate, just requires some character and atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning in one of our three rooms was not working. Bulgaria was having a heat wave and the temperatures were very high. The lack of air conditioning made the room miserable and it was difficult to sleep at night. There was no way to fix the air conditioning and the hotel was not able to provide a fan to offer any relief.

    The staff was friendly, helpful, and spoke English. One staff member helped us figure out public transportation so that we could visit Boyana Church. The breakfast had a nice variety of foods and drinks and the food at the restaurant was good and reasonably priced. There was a spa but we did not use it. Each room was provided a coupon for one free beer or wine drink per person at the bar. The rooms were a good size and the beds were comfortable. Since our travelling party included a one-year-old, it was nice that a baby bed was available and that the restaurant had a high chair. The hotel had an elevator. The room and bathroom were clean. The location of the hotel was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower flooded bathroom everytime was used Room had strange stale smell to it Needs update in facilities in room

    Good location 5 minutes walk to beach and harbour Nice breakfast in coffee shop below Wifi very good connection in room,friendly helpful girl worked in coffee shop

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was the same everyday.

    The staff were really lovely, friendly & helpful. Location excellent. Close to Sultanahmet, shops & tourist sites. Clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 1 night

    the cooked items of the breakfast were not very warm.

    Comfortable beds, very clean room plenty pf choice on the buffet breakfast. Bus station just a 10 minute walk. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The plumbing is a bit old, so you can hear the water pumping when neighbours use the bathroom.

    Great value for money! A clean and comfortable budget hotel next to Sofia city centre. Friendly staff and a surprisingly good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few items in the room that needed a bit of repairing, hairdryer, kettle and stair rail. But otherwise a a really great stay.

    There was so much to like about this hotel! Complimentary drinks on arrival, great choice for breakfast, friendly and welcoming staff who were very helpful and organised, spacious rooms and the location was only 10 mins walk from Sofia centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the breakfast did not have many choices. And the carpet in the room needs to be cleaned.

    The location was great, so close to the city center. Everyone was so polite and helpfull. The room was clean, also the bathroom, everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is a bit tricky, not too far from the key sights, not too close either. Still walk-able though.

    The staff were excellent. We had day trips every day that started early in the morning and hence we needed a packed breakfast. They obliged without any fuss and all the staff members who were at the front desk were wonderful. I also enjoyed the old school gym in the basement.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were 4 families traveling together this year, so I booked 3 rooms (it was all I could find on the web site), and I wrote the hotel to book a 4th one, for the 4th family. They confirmed all the 4 rooms. We have arrived at the location at 7 pm, the Receptionist (a different one than last year) took our ID (adults and children), and told us that it may take a wile to return them to us, because we were 16 people altogether (2 families - 2 adults and 2 children, 2 families - 3 adults and 1 child). So, he knew at 7 o'clock all the rooms that we have booked, and he counted that we were 6 children and 10 adults). We went into the rooms, and after half an hour we descended at the Reception, because we wanted to go to dinner. The rooms were, as requested on the booking.com web site, 1 double appartment - Maisonette, 2 junior twins, that we had booked last year for us (2 adults and 2 children), and it was very ok, and the room I have written the hotel about (for the 4th family). On the web site, the Maisonette (the double appt) is recomended for 4 adults, the junior twins are recomended for 2 adults (as I said before, we have stayed in one last year - with 2 children, and it had a double bed and a sofa bed!!! ). As we got up to our rooms, 1 was the maisonette, 2 were double twins, and one (it was an oversight from my part, because I have not mentioned in the email to the hotel the number of persons in the 4th family) was a double room (double bed). We asked the receptionist if they could have a sofa bed brought to our room, because the bed was not large enough for us, and he said he would tell the manager about that. We left for dinner and returned around half past 10 (pm). The receptionist greated us and told us that he had spoken to the manager and the rooms we had were no good for us, because we were 16 persons (so they counted the children as persons!!! along with the grownups!!!

    We traveled through Sofia, same as last year, on our way to Greece. Last year, I was so pleased with the Bulgarian experience that I have posted on your web site a very very good experience summary of our stay at Lght Hotel (it even seemed to have helped others to chose Light Hotel...). This year though..... It was as clean as it was last year, so a big thumbs up for the cleaning ladies!!! BUT!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Boring breakfast especially if you stay mote than 3 days. Apartment was lacking a desk in the room to work from especially as space is plentiful.

    Good quality budget hotel, superb location, excellent staff and well kept facilities

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the things in the room were not working- a plug for the kettle and a hairdryer. There was also a really noisy Aircon machine that turned in and off throughout the night.

    Complimentary drinks with the rooms. Organisation of the shuttles to and from the airport. Breakfast great, really friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Group
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had some problems with the wifi connection dropping out at night; otherwise, the connection was pretty good. The air conditioning needs work. Even though we had the a/c unit on full, it wasn't sufficient to keep the room cool. It was about 30 degrees outside during our visit so poorly functioning a/c is a bit of a problem. I'm not sure of the value for money here: the location is a bit out of the centre, although still within walking distance; the rooms are functional but small; the a/c is a problem. Although the hotel is nice and the front desk staff helpful, nothing really stands out to give it that extra sense of value... the free drink maybe?

    The front desk staff, especially Georgi, were extremely helpful. We had a broken suitcase wheel, and Georgi helped us find a repair shop, called them to get their hours, and found their location for us. We also asked to switch our room so we could have a street view and that change was cheerfully made. We were welcomed with a free drink - local beer or wine - at the hotel bar which was hospitably served by a personable bartender. The room was a bit small, but spotlessly clean with really comfortable beds. There was a mini fridge stocked with a few beverages but we used it to keep our own things cool - we had some wonderful local blueberries from the nearby Ladies' Market and a giant bottle of Kamenitza beer - without a problem. The blue tiles in the bathroom are a pleasure to the eye. Breakfast was included and offered good variety: breads, pastries, olives, tomatoes, eggs, cheese, steamed veg even, and fresh fruit. Coffee was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was nice and super helpful, as we had to leave early in the morning they provided us with huge breakfast packages with all goodies. The place is modern, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Free SPA
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - there was a little smell of smoke in the room (although it was a non-smoking one), but we managed to air it out in a few hours

    + spacious, comfortable room (Superior Double) + balcony (even if it's very small) + great bathroom facilities + reliable and friendly, polite, English-speaking staff, ordered taxi and booked tours for us + European style breakfast with local sweets (halva) + fitness room is small but usable + 15 minutes walk from Alexander Nevsky Cathedral + reliable wifi + panoramic elevator is a nice touch

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe neighborhood was't the most beautiful district in the world but it was very close to the city center.

    Very good meals and very nice personel :) pretty close to the center. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night staff member was so unhelpful, he didn't really want to help with any queries we had, we experienced language barriers and he wasn't interested in making our lives easier when hauling 7 massive bags to a few floors below when we had to change rooms before a morning apppointment we were set to attend. The free drink offered didn't include soda or water but alcohol! Absolutely absurd. Not everyone drinks alcohol and when travelling in 35 degree heat, a nice cool bottle of still water would be great. But no, they only offer wine or beer. No flexibility or negotiation on that which is utterly unacceptable if you want to keep clients.

    The major asset to this hotel is the staff member called Stella. She was helpful, considerate, caring and would always be one step ahead of you if you needed something. She's a major asset to this hotel and if it wasn't for her I don't think I'd have liked it there. Note to management- consider promoting her. She's a great customer service provider.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wireless availability (good signal quality but lots of dropouts & packet loss in the evenings - presumably due to the high number of devices being connected).

    All things considered this is a cozy hotel about 1km away from the city center. Easily accessible, in a safe & rather clean neighborhood this is definitely a good place to stay for 1 or 2 nights in Sofia. Great cleaning, very good bed, good breakfast (nothing special but good cooking & quality of the ingredients) and a satisfactory wireless internet service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a little bit too firm for our taste.

    The hotel was bright and clean with nice amenities and the staff were very helpful. It's a great location, close to the center. The breakfast was fantastic!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - Free Spa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All was OK if about hotel; the only negative impression in Sofia is TAXI!

    Room - comfortable and clean; breakfast - good; position of hotel - perfect; internet - perfect; personal - available, very receptive and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Light Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: