Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lion Hotel Borovets 4 stars

Borovets, 2010 Borovets, Bulgaria

#25 of 78 hotels in Borovets

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 687 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was deserted due to offseason. Everything was dormant - the pool was cold and so were the relax rooms. Staff seemed to be uneager to provide service.

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I enjoyed a lot our stay and would book it again. The hotel is surrounded by pine forest and the location is quiet, less that 15 minutes walk from the center of Borovets. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, we had a complementary bottles of wine and water. The SPA center is really nice and the staff is very polite.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.7
    Clean, with great spa facilities. Staff and value for money could use some improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't enjoy: * interactions with the staff (restaurant staff not knowing what the dishes contained, kitchen working way too slowly, SPA personnel missing most of the time, front-desk asking weird questions). * location was a bit far from the center of the resort, we had to use a car to get there * room and furniture felt a bit old and worn out * value for money: this felt way too expensive (including mini bar and restaurant prices) for what we actually got

    The room and bathroom were super clean. The location was very quiet. The spa facilities were great (excellent Finnish sauna and relax room, great Herbal sauna, etc.).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Beutiful Hotel, recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We ordered 2 rooms for 2 adults and 3 children. only when we arrived we understood that the rooms are not connected (we were with 3 children under the age of 11) .

    We had a great time, loved the quite location and the hotel facilities. the hotel is located 1-2 km from the center of Borovets and the walk to the center is beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    Th staff were really helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak wi fi when the hotel is full Most of the rooms doesn't have balcony Furniture already a bit old

    Th staff were really helpful Rooms are in a good size Breakfast and dinner were very good Nice facilities for kids

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Summer weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s disappointing to pay extra for a robe for the SPA in a SPA hotel. Not a big deal but the room with a kind size bed that we booked actually had a regular double bed.

    It seemed like a good value for the money. The staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Relax in the wood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like the food at the open bar. Actually this is the only obe thing i didnt like.

    It was perfect weekend with my fiance. The location is great and the view when you wake up. The food at the Mehana is wonderful. The staff was ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    A nice forest hotel but beware it's chalga night on Saturday so you might as well go somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Spa Access (2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Me and my wife went there for Friday and Saturday nights expecting a quiet relaxing break inside the forest. Friday evening was cool, Saturday evening left us somewhat facepalming as the "traditional" Bulgarian "mehana" in the hotel where we intended to dine turned into a party place disgraced by loud "chalga" music: we're proud Bulgarians and the "chalga" music is nothing traditional, nor anything our parents and ancestors listened to in traditional mehanas - "chalga" is the largely the music of the uneducated masses, where singing about tits, cars, booze and basic bodily desires while dancing on the tables throwing napkins on the floor is the norm. This is not traditional at all and it's a shame for the hotel that they brand themselves as boasting a "traditional mehana" while they allow such primal and disgraceful "chalga" parties to continue into the small hours of the night. A minor note: there was a forgotten decomposing sandwich from the previous guests in the wardrobe, which was the only downside of an otherwise great room.

    Large room, magnificent pine trees all around, clean mountain air, clean bathroom, decent SPA.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    far from gondola, very uncomfortable mattress and my favourite part, food poisoning in the hotel restaurant, from a pizza.

    clean room , big parking space area, pleasant and understanding staff, nice location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Very good choise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You cannot pay at this hotel in other currency but Leva... .or ..by card...They have an exchange but it works just in winter time . However we found an exchange in the center of Borovets so it was not such a big problem to us.

    Very good choise! The hotel is very clean, the food is excellent at low prices. The breakfast was very good. The pool and the spa area were super for us and our children. I recomand this hotel!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    My star at Hotel Lion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    None.

    This was our 4th time we stayed at hotel Lion. This hotel should be rated a 5-stars because it is very modern, clean and comfortable. The Spa is clean and has excellent features. The staff are very good and helpful. The breakfast was excellent The room and the bathroom are clean and comforting. The surrounding area of the hotel and the view of Rila mountain from the balcony is breathtaking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Quite location, but not far from the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite location, but not far from the centre. Large room, with balcony and very friendly staff. Staff helped with all necessary information and as the hotel was not full with people, let us check out late with no extra charge. SPA was not large- three saunas, relaxing room and indoor pool, but it was nice. Definately worth the money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Low season in Lion hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since it was not in season, it functioned like a small hotel. No change facility, no buffet breakfast, need to ask to operate the Sauna. There is no real Jacuzzi. No safe in the room

    Good spacious room. Clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    The room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No smoking in the room. However, I was most annoyed after we paid for dinner at the hotel, as it was written as an option in their services that you can pay additionally if you want half-board. Since the hotel had a big group, during our stay, that wanted not to be interrupted, we were told that we shouldn't have paid for the dinner because of that. Seeing the faces the staff was making during the dinner they "let" us have at the restaurant, made me never wanting to return to this hotel during my stay in Bulgaria.

    The room was clean. Food was relatively good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in the woods
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The elevator, needs maintenance. We wanted to go to the 4 floor, we were pressing the button and at the same time, more floor buttons were chosen. Or the elevator was stopping in each floor.

    The location is perfect. Surrounded by trees, in the nature. The staff was really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nice, but they have buffet only on crowded days like the weekends(during low season). The other days, you chose from a menu what you want for breakfast.The beds were comfortable and soft. We would definitely go back again. Great value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    It was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was good but far not enough choice...lobby bar was way too expensive.There were few problems with our stay, but I would come back anytime anyway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Great staff, very calm place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shuttle available from the center after 15th of march. Our room was cleaned only afyer we reported at the reception eventhough we had put the tag on the door for the room to be made.

    Great staff, very calm place. The restaurant's food was amazing. The view from the balcony of our room was the best thing ever. The spa center is also super great and clean. The swimming pool is awesome, sunny and with a view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is a good place to have a rest away from the big city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The maids were too noisy early in the morning at 7 a.m.

    Clean and comfortable rooms, friendly staff, nice atmosphere and good food. The SPA center has everything you need for a good relax. It is a perfect runaway from the big city at only 1 hour drive from Sofia. Definitely will pick Lion again as a vacation destination for me and my friends. Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.1
    basic and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small and too crowded spa center for the hotel size. Reception staff is not polite. There is only one option for meals for guests on BB - tavern. Restaurants is only available for guests on HB and FB.

    Good breakfast. Parking with a lot of places. Room size is big.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    Spacy room & bathroom, good food for breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Spa Access (2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small size of saunas for such amount of people. Our room 330 was on top of hotel tavern (mehana) which spreads very loud music till 00.10, but the rule of the hotel is to be quiet from 22.00 to 8.00. Also there was a very powerful low frequency noise the whole night and we couldn't sleep. As I understand the noise was from some outside ventilation tubes, see photos.

    Spacy room & bathroom, good food for breakfast and dinner. Breakfast starts at 7.30. WiFi is ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Comfy rooms, great spa, delicious food, and friendly staff. Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa can get a bit crowded, but is still enjoyable

    This cozy, non-pretentious hotel is located in a quiet area in the woods, but still close to Borovets. A bus takes you to the slopes every 20 min. The rooms are spacious, the beds are heavenly and we were lucky with the rising sun shining directly on our balcony (top floor). The staff is super friendly and the spa is fantastic (I really liked the pool, which is practically in the woods, as well as the massages!). The breakfast buffet was amazingly rich and tasty, as was all the food in the "mehana", which is also very affordable. The lobby has a cozy fireplace, pool and table tennis, and the bartenders are the best!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.1
    Quiet location nestled in the forest. Regular mini bus into town. But last run 6pm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Spa Access ( 3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beans were cold and drinks machine didn’t serve piping hot chocolate.disapointing as it’s the only hot drink I like.

    I was with a group of people skiing. Due to injury I made the most of the pool and spa.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, affordable & homely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the fault of the hotel but the distance to the slopes. Communal toilets smelled Way too hot in the hotel, shorts and tshirt temperature!!

    Polite staff, food was better than I expected and changed every day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.0
    Decent accommodation for a weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not very healthy, due ti Poor quality of products. The corridor between the spa center and indoor pool was not heated and had an outdoor access, so we were supposed to cross it with bath suites (bath robes were not disposed at rooms) at temperatures not exceeding 7-8 degrees C.

    Very warm and peaceful. Good restaurant with a selection of traditional and European cuisine. Ski rental and ski wardrobe at the property.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay!!! Highly recommend hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was so kind and helpful. Comfortable bed, very spacious and clean room. My daughter celebrated her birthday while we were there. The staff put balloons and kids champagne in our room as a surprise! It was beyond our expectations!!!!!! Definitely coming again!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.3
    You could say value for money stay and kindly suggested for family trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows needs to be replaced asap, 2 days I never took the elevator as it was too slow , the spa reception should have some phone in order to be able to book some treatment in priority, the ski room was too small with too many pairs crowded together and the lobby bar closed quite early(around 23:00).

    The breakfast was great with plenty of choices, the beds were comfy, the room was very warm and clean, the shuttle bus to the ski gondola really convinient and the stuff helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    4.2
    Well overrated place, definitely not a 4 star hotel. Would not go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Smoking in the rooms, the whole coridor was stinking like cigarettes. Actually smoking is forbidden in the hotel, but nobody cares. - bed was very old and uncomfortable - one day there was no water at all for a couple of hours, on the other day the hot water was just warm (not hot) - food provided in the restaurant was very very simple (far away from the standards of a 4 star Hotel - one has to pay extra for renting a proper spa towels - safe is only on the reception (3 euro per day), which is very uncomfortable when you want to go to the spa center or the pool. - for the 3 nights that we stayed there the room was not cleaned even once. Overal you pay for a 4 star hotel ( more than 100€ per night) , but you get a hostel experience ( or a bad 2 stars hotel).

    - The location is really nice - The spa center was also ok - nice bar with a fire place

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast is rich enough, the pool is also quite food size...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The SPA facilities are really small and the room amenities are quite simple, as well as the room itself. The lifts are very slow and the rooms are not well isolated (noisy).

    Breakfast is rich enough, the pool is also quite food size for a mountain hotel. Guys from the reception are very helpful and friendly, more than those on the lobby bar. Rooms are good size too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Great place with excellent breakfast and the staff just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great place with excellent breakfast and the staff just lovely!!!The room was exactly as we expected and the SPA was also excellent!!Realy you cannot find something bad to say about it!!!I recommend it to everyone!Congratulations

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    3.3
    I will never ever go to this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waitress Maya was a terrible character. She needs to get a long education about how to behave to customers. The heaters were not running in the rooms and also at the restaurant. I dont advice this hotel to anyone.

    The pool and spa were nice. The responsible persons of pool and spa were so polite. Also the barrista who is working at the bar is good at his job.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    The spa zone is nice and comfortable, especially the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We visited the hotel in the end of November and the heating wasn't turned on and we had to ask the staff for that.They gave us a stove for the room but still in the corridors it was pretty cold. And in my opinion this is not acceptable for 4* SPA hotel where you go to relax.

    The spa zone is nice and comfortable, especially the relaxing zone.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    2.9
    DISAPPOINTEMT
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet was dirty and the excuse was we had too much job .Serioysly? The staff responsible to carry the luggages tried to come into the elevetor when already was 3 person persons inside with his trollet As result he pushed my wife in the corner of the elevator and hit her At the bar the staff was boring and everything we asked he did but he wasnt so happy becuase we disturbing him Definetely not worth the money we paid and we ll avoid it in the future

    Spa was good and clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.3
    Good for the resort
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Few people at this time of year. As a result, breakfast is not so good for a fou-star hotel. No fruit. You one of several options and wait to get served. The herbal sauna did not work. It was cold in the room when we got there.

    There is a heating system although it works only in the evening. The Finnish sauna was good. Dinner was comparatively good having in mind the fact that all meat options were frozen. Very quiet area and a free parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    Suitable for a short holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Spa Access ( 3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower pipe was a bit damaged and staff were informed. Unfortunately no one came to fix it!

    Beautiful views from the hotel room. Good breakfast. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    The best stay in Borovets for us!
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    As usual, we had the best stay in Borovets. Everything was perfect as every time I stayed here. A plus of this date for staff, from the reception to the pool and spa center, all are nice, kind, kids friendly :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.3
    Liked it)))
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor. Almost nothing to eat. I am talking about quality food.

    Nicely suited in the forest with it's own parking lot. Our room was spacey with comfy beds. In general we were satisfied. The hotel has its own restaurants with acceptable variety and quality)))

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice, quiet place among pine trees
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maid service only made beds, didn't touch bathrooms. Problems with air getting into the pipes and faucet spraying water all over us and the floor nearly every time. Very hot in the top floor apartment (no fans, nor A/C); only 1 out of 3 skylights had blinds - made matters with heat worse. Horrible pillows - high and hard. Only automated coffee included with breakfast, paid for cappuccino and was not forewarned at the time of ordering.

    Courteous reception staff - went out of their way to accommodate us; spacious rooms; quiet, beautiful location among pine trees; nice pool area, terrace and spa.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    .1 Cosy spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Weak Internet in part of rooms 2. One of the lifts was out of order 3. dinner was untasty ,

    .1 Cosy spa 2 Well situated for quiet relaxation 3. Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    3.8
    Not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Spa Access (2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room was not clean at all. There was garbage in the bins, one of the bed was used so they changed our room from 3 small beds to 1 Queen bed for the same price.

    The location was very good. Nearby the lift. The food was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff could be a little more friendly. Most of them acted like we are intruders of their comfort. There aren't enough sunbeds at the pool, so you have to stand, nowhere to sit and had put our stuff on the grass. Wi-fi connection exists only in the common areas. No air conditioning, anywhere. While it was not that of a problem in the room, it could be quite unpleasant in the lobby and the restaurant.

    The bed was very comfortable. Saunas are very good, even though too small for more than two people. The apartment was pretty large and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The pool was overcrowded on Saturday, there were a lot of kids and we decided to skip it. - There weren't enough lounge chairs outside, so we couldn't go sunbathing either - The food in the restaurant was okay (we only had breakfast included). I would propose you go out to eat (The Happy Duck was nice), rather than eat at the hotel restaurant, unless you have dinner included in your reservation.

    - The area is currently being renovated, so by the winter season the road will be very nice (and brand new). - By Sunday night, the hotel was almost empty and we had the pool to ourselves - There were plenty of parking spaces - The view from the room was pleasant - The staff was the best thing about the hotel - they were very polite and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel for a family stay in summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Spa Access ( 3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The children area was light and conveniently situated but would be very small and stuffy for anything more than 3 children. More child friendly facilities open air could be organized in the area nearby. The pool and table tennis price per game were quite overrated :)

    The pool was excellent - clean, warm and open 10 hours/day. My 5-year-old loved the children one as well the bigger one. The staff was very attentive and friendly. The offered food was very good quality and pretty much catered for all tastes.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    6.3
    Misleading description and awful restaurant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My letter of complaint which in fairness the Manager did apologise to us personally and had a meeting to address the staff...... Dear Sir, As a matter of courtesy before I post my review on Trip Advisor and Booking.com I am extremely upset by the way we have been treated by all of your restaurant staff. You advertise a buffet on the website and even on your TV channel one which is why we chose the half board option. It is a joke to then be offered an extremely limited half board option. Once ordered staff are very keen to bring the main course while we are still eating the starter. Then dessert before you finish main course. You feel rushed to eat then get out as table is cleared whilst the other still has food on the plate. Today this was exceeded by staff and management pushing us to order as you had a conference starting at 9pm. For the fourth evening we have suffered with indigestion. Although the hotel is lovely and the reception staff very nice your restaurant will be the downfall of the hotel if things do not change. I have completed your survey on the tablet in reception tonight as I was made to feel extremely uncomfortable. I feel that the management have a responsibility to apologise to us and talk to the staff in the restaurant. In addition I feel I need to mention that there was no shuttle service to the lifts and although we had a studio no fridge or microwave as suggested on the hotels website. These issues and the limited half board menu needs to be mentioned clearly on the website as it is presently being misleading.

    The size of the room, spa and pool and the reception staff. After raising a complaint the manager came to discuss our concerns.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.9
    the mountains are beautiful, the hotel is Ok, but the surroundings condition is disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the surroundings, which are beautiful in themselves are in terrible condition.

    everything was ok, the usual solid reliable level of lion's. the price was reasonable, but april/may is not high season. the hotel restaurant was good and the service was excellent. the surroundings of the hotel incl. the roads condition make you wonder how they want to encourage tourists to visit this place ... I would come again, though, the mountains and the views are beautiful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant and comfortable hotel with friendly staff. Also great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. I really liked the breakfast variety and the food was well prepared. I pretty much liked everything and would definitely recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Great value for money, located 15 min walking distance from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The spa floor has spa facilities (Finnish and Turkish saunas) quite far away from the pool, and when walking from saunas to the pool we got quite cold - Everything in the hotel and in the resort itself is very expensive

    Great value for money, located 15 min walking distance from the center in the woods, room was very spacious, breakfast was great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.5
    The water in the SPA pool was cold...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The SPA was awful, the water in the pool was COLD. How can the water be COLD ? It's not hard to warm it a bit DURING THE WINTER SEASON.

    The hotel was generally nice, quite location, away from the center. The rooms were good, as well as the lobby.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.5
    Lion hotel borovets
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really to dislike.

    The hotel was not centrally located but there was a free shuttle service to centre. Also taxi only cost 10 lev so that's good. Food was good different dishes each night. Breakfast was plentiful. Hotel warm and cosy and log fire in foyer really nice. Great shower also number one on our list.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    9.6
    Definitely I'll back there :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lion Hotel is placed in good place for people who want to rest. is not in the middle of centre. but is only 10 min walk to the slops. very cosy place ;)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    At the 5th floor there is no hot water at around 6 pm when everyone is showering and preparing for dinner. The heat is turned off from time to time and you might feel cold.

    The location is perfect, breakfast very good and dinner as well. Free transport to gondola every 20 mins.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    7.9
    Had a great stay in Borovets! Recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some of the staff (not all but quite a few were just a bit strange and distant to me, but nice and warm to my Bulgarian friends, that's the language barrier though!). The quality of the dinner in the main restaurant is not the greatest.. We went twice, the first time it was really bad but the second time it was quite fine. We also tried the Bulgarian Mehana next to it, that one is really great! Or go into town. I also didn't like the game room and I didn't like that we had to pay for playing a game of billiard and Ping Pong (it should be free in such a nice hotel).

    Nice spa, frequent shuttle, warm, comfortable room, breakfast, cosy lobby area upstairs. Besides that we loved the Bulgarian restaurant. It was empty all the time but it was open, so don't be shy and go for it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food on the night was very average and not much choice. 2 of the nights there wasn't enough hot water to have a bath but ok for a shower. There were a lot of children staying at the hotel and they congregated in the seating area above the reception constantly running around they were also running up and down the corridor and knocking on room doors on the 2nd floor where I was staying, for this reason we spent most of the nights eating and drinking out.

    The staff were polite and professional, the breakfast was good and my room was good, overall a good hotel, this is the 3rd time I have stayed here.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    8.3
    nice hotel, could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kids!! Loads of kids running wild until midnight. evening meal not up to much, not a great choice

    Plenty of choice at breakfast rooms were of a good size hotel is out of town so great for a chill out after a day on mountain

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in room and none available.

    Breakfast choice very good. Room spacious and comfortable. Very clean pool and spa. Excellent shuttle service to town.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel but more for families with kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was too crowded :you couldn't find a place to sit in the saunas). I guess everyone wanted to soak there after skiing. The indoor pool was a playground for children. It was too crazy & crowded. In general, this is a family hotel, with lots of kids around.

    It's located in a beautiful forest, about 15min walk from the village of Borovets. There is a free shuttle that can take you there every 30min. The breakfast & dinner were nice. There is a fireplace in the hall.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is always busy you have to wait 5 minutes. The loby old furniture and you must to order by self.

    Spa is ok. Room is ok but not prefere on 5 floor because there are roof windows. The water in spa is ok but it could be 2 or 3 C higher.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.3
    Cozy and warm! Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows horrible! Not walking distance to resort.

    Lovely hotel, very cozy. Nice lobby with fireplace. Rooms are spacious, very warm. Bed was comfortable, however pillows were terrible! Breakfast was great! Free shuttle to the slopes. Staff was very kind and helpful! Cleaned my car from the snow before I left!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    7.5
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you want to visit some of the bars and restaurants in the resort you have to walk 15-20 minutes, half of which through a pitch black forest. The dinner food in the restaurant is almost non-eatable.

    Relatively clean, with good service and good facilities. The breakfast is OK. Location is good if you want to relax and don't want to hear the yelling of drunken English tourists.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    10
    Very pleasant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    As usual, we had a very pleasant stay, Lion is our favorite hotel in Borovets. Location is very good for us, in the middle of the woods, away from noise. The staff is very kind and helpful. Last time I forgot a device in the hotel room, after a week I called there and they sent me the device at home.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    6.7
    Nice and welcoming stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The SPA and the pool should be bigger. We couldn't enjoy well those facilities because there were too many people. The other big minus is that a 4 star hotel charge additional tax for bath / SPA robes - absolutely inappropriate.

    Nice and welcoming stuff. Good food in the restaurant and clean room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay. Highly recommended hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Spa Access ( 3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice to have a balcony.

    Nice and quiet location. Breakfast (included) was ample and tasty. Spa facilities were good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.8
    Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Spa Access ( 3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff. Location. Breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine.

    It's quiet and cozy. Very good place for vacation.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice and homey hotel 10 min from cabin lift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Nice and homey hotel 10 min from cabin lift. Good SPA center with nice and warm pool. Food was pretty good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    The room and the hotel was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    the parking was full and it is 15 minutes away from the city center

    The room and the hotel was amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Spa Access ( 3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The children play room has open electricity sockets - at least 4

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Very helpful personal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Spa Access ( 3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit outside from the center of Borovets.

    Very helpful personal. Clean and big room. Spa is very good also.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Excellent service and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service and lovely staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    Great staff, large rooms and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor dishes for vegetarians

    Great staff, large rooms and great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    We expected more from a 4-star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was from a very limited menu. After serving, the waiter disappeared. Maybe in the winter it's better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Facilities and the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities and the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wellness center was amazing. Clean and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    A Hotel that charge you extra to have a queen size bad and than you get a separate single size cover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room space is small

    Clean and relativly quite

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Very nice - we had very joyful Easter in this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    it doesn't have a kids playground!

    The swimming pool had kids friendly area and it was conformable for my 2 year old son!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    great value for money in a very quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    quality went with a late breakfast

    plenty of choice and more than enough to eat

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: