Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lion Bansko Hotel 4 stars

Georgi Nastev, 2770 Bansko, Bulgaria

#46 of 93 hotels in Bansko

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 232 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality of the food for breakfast, noisy staff, it was raining and the sky shuttle was parked just infront of the enterance.

    Big hotel with pool, restaurant, parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we were a group of 5 people in 2 hotel rooms, our stay was great no problem, people are polite at reception we met Stefan, the most polite and helpful person we met throughout Bansko, helped us and recommended us several places. thank you Stefan and the whole hotel group Lion.Marcel, Noam, Rebeka, Samuel and Hava.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Simply for the fact I didn't use the Spa enough, I'd stay somewhere of better value next time.

    Nice hotel, rooms are comfortable, bathroom is good enough, very nice swimming pool/spa

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were lots of voice which is annoying us at lobby in evening times. Ski rental guy who works at hotel` renting office was too rude, 1st day we rented the ski equipment there, but rest of the days we preferred an another place for renting the ski equipments.

    Breakfast was quite enough. Hotel location is also close to the center and gondola, only 6-7 mins by walk. Free shuttle available as well to Gondola each 15mins.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was poor and with low-quality products. Mostly targeted towards English guests. The staff wasn't very helpful and cheerful. Too expensive for what it represents and offers.

    The room was spacious and clean, nice bathroom. Very nice swimming pool and spa.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast selection could have been better, free WiFi was not accessible on rooms (only on the lobby), even though being a genius member and room was not booked an extra charge (10BGN per hour) for late check-out required

    Clean rooms and spa area, free shuttle to gondola, close to restaurants and ski shops, free parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the lobby bar there was only 1 person preparing drinks, serving, cleaning tables. I had to wait 25 minutes to order a drink. When people next to me were ordering beer on the tap the barman was going to get empty pints from the tables, rinse them with water and serve the next person with beer, did not seem very higienical. No bathrobes in the rooms had to get them from the reception, in 4 stars hotel shoud have them in the room.

    Overal was a very nice hotel. Lobby had a big and lovely fireplace. They did not have the double bed standard room we booked so they upgraded us free of charge to a bigger room. Food was diversified and good. Masage was amazing. I Really recomend the spa center inside the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in loby and receptiion have to change. Old tv in some rooms with poor tv programe. Spa atmosfere with white lights and bulgarian folk music.On ground floor the courtons must be closed because people see in you room.

    The hotel is ok. Big rooms, great temperature, spa ok.good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - An incident happened to us.They cleaned our room and moved everything out before we check out and return the key-card of the room, and they throughout some of our belongings. - No wifi in the room

    - Nice facility. - Good food. - Good SPA facilities- but very noisy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff confused, they did not want to make a meal for a baby, because they had a lot of work. There is no access to the baby stroller, you have to carry them across the pavement. They did not have a choice of food. The hotel is not for 4 stars. I do not recommend him especially for parents with children.

    Very clean rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better and fresher.. :(

    Quiete large rooms and comfortable.. Spa facilities are very satisfying, Needs a bit of a decorative touch but in general very comfortable & clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Recalcitrant staff who were reluctant to deal with issues we encountered. Had a number of problems with the hotel such as no hot water one day, the rooms being so boiling you have to leave the window open in order to sleep (the steam room and spa facilities were however bizarrely cold) and we had a battle to get breakfast to start early enough to reach the gondola station before the queues.

    This is a very solid three star hotel and has most of the facilities you could need. Not sure why it is a four star.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Controlled temperature in the rooms as it was very hot at times.

    To be fair after seeing soe of the reviews i do not understand how anyone can complain about this hotel! My son and i stopped here for a week and throughly enjoyed our stay. I would recommend staying B&B as eating out is relatively cheap and the steaks are to die for! People moan about the Gondola lift queues, yes they are massive but for £5 pounds each approx 10LV x 4 gets you upto mountain in 15-20 mins. Tip: Never more than 40LV and wait around for 4 of you to go up.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food could be better. The Hotel is a bit old, but very Nice. It is not next to the lift, but quite near main Street.

    The Hotel is not Far from central Street.The rooms, although not New, are very comfortable, spacious, warm and clean.lovely and new Spa area.Staff very friendly and helpful . good free WiFi. Value for money. I would absolutely visit it again

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff of restaurant and bar were so nervous (no smile at all) and 2 times they did mistake in calculation of bills (I dont want to say that they tried to steal us in bills). Only waiter named Rado was doing properly his job to my opinion...

    Room, swimming pool and location of the hotel were good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    pool is very small. only hotel manager is helpfull but the rest of the personnel is not. for late check out they want 10leva per hour and the hotel was not full at all..

    Free of charge upgrade on room. nice hotel with free shuttle. walking distance to gondol.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There is a step in the spa area between where the jacuzzi is situated and the sauna. This needs a sign or some form of marking to stop people falling down it. It is an accident waiting to happen. Could do with tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    Hotel is situated well for the town, restaurants and ski hire shops. The bed was very comfy, the breakfast satisfying, the reception and spa staff very helpful and friendly. Great log fire. Room was always cleaned to a high standard. The new spa facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    No safe in the room.Rooms are noisy as very thin walls. Late start for breakfast(0730) as gondola very crowded after 0815

    Good facilities, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast material of very cheap quality. Dinner material also.

    We got upgraded from a simple double room to a huge suite and we really thank you for that. Rooms were warm and cozy. Good choice we will stay again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work in our room on the 5th floor however not a major issue as was hardly there. Also I'm guessing the cleaners start on the top floor at the last rooms as they wanted to clean at around 8.30am and a few of the days we weren't up by then. Advise putting the do not disturb sign up!

    Rooms very spacious and always warm and extremely clean. Spa was fantastic (watch the floor though very slippery!) Breakfast was great, a little cold sometimes however plenty of choice from hot food to cheese and ham, cereal fruit yoghurt muselie pastries pancakes the list goes on! Check in was done in seconds, staff very helpful and lovely lobby area with a wide selection of drinks. Free mini bus to take you to the gondala that runs every 15 mins up to 10am then every 30 mins there onwards.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Preface: If you treat this hotel as a 3-stars hotel, it's really good! But since it proclaims to be 4-stars (and charges accordingly), this review is judging it as a 4-star hotel. As such, this hotel fails to deliver on many fronts... - Staff: The WORST staff I've ever came across in the world (and by that I mean it's worse even for Bulgaria!) Whenever we asked the reception for information about something (towels for the pool, parking the car, setting an appointment with the spa) they responded with: "I don't know, ask them." (And this is not a single-person type of thing. It was all of them!) Add to that, when we called on one of the days to see if we can book the spa before we get back to the hotel, the receptionist gave us the wrong number the first time, and then gave us a disconnected number the second time. But the best part came when we called them the third time, and they simply ignored our call! (We called from a different phone and they picked up immediately, so we know it wasn't because they were busy, or away.) - Breakfast: They alternate daily between bacon and sausages. As a 4-star hotel, I would have expected them to have both. (Or at least have bacon every day, and ADD sausages once in awhile.) Additionally, there's no selection of pastries, no fresh squeezed juice, no and selection of breads, to name a few shortcomings. - Room: The rooms are of decent size, but lack a safety box. How can a hotel get a 4-star rating without a safety box in the room is beyond me. The beds are terrible! The mattresses are so old, they have a concave shape in both directions, which makes it impossible to sleep comfortably without rolling. (Luckily, if you're coming here on a ski vacation, you're going to be too tired and too hurting from the day's excursions to care, which I guess is what they're counting on at the hotel.

    There was nothing that we really "liked" at the hotel, per se, but I guess you can say the breakfast is the highlight of this hotel (which isn't saying much.) Oh, and they have a really nice fireplace in the lobby, which looks really cool and has a good amount of seating area around it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One of our party had some things go missing from his room and unfortunately the management adamently defended their staff and did nothing. This prompted us all to leave 'Do Not Disturb' signs on our doors to supposedly keep houskeeping out, which was unfortunate as cleaning would have been nice but we felt the risk was too much. Interestingly, some of the missing property was then left on the desk in clear sight on our last day.

    We are a group of friends who have stayed at the Lion for 3 years now for our annual ski trip. We all love the large rooms, nice breakfast, comfy bar and fireplace and location to the gondola and restaurants/bars. We will continue to book the Lion in future years.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is the worst, I've ever eaten. We've stayed 6 nights and got up hungry for the first 3 dinners. Then we gave up and gone outside for dinner. Also think about a ski resort that it's forbidden to take skies to your room and to enter the hotel with ski boots. They expect us to remove the ski boots before going into the hotel and walk in the reception with socks. I will never stay here again and dont suggest anyone else.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar only had one person serving, everyone waiting too long. Reception, only one person dealing with a long queue for check in and check out, people have to wait 30 minutes to get checked in and out, again only one poor girl trying to cope, poor management techniques of services on resource

    Room was good and comfortable bed

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude and need training on customer service. Room service - not cleaned properly and did not provide toiletries daily. My room was £80 dearer than my friends. Bar closed at 12 midnight so no drinks available when returning from an evening out. Would not recommend.

    The hotel was warm and near to amenities and town.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pool is large but the water is a little bit cold.

    It's the third year we stay here in winter and we really enjoy this hotel. Nice & cosy, comfortable beds, and exceptional clean rooms. The breakfast and the dinner are offering a large variety of foods so we definitely recommend the restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms can be loaded with more pillows. SPA center is good but maintenance can be improved. Second day almost all rooms were cold and no towels were available.

    Rooms were clean and spacious. Bathroom was in good condition and warm. Breakfast is good - different dishes, fresh fruits and variety of breads. Staff is nice and friendly, helpful and polite.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one waiter.. in the restaurant

    the staff..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool cool. Jacuzzi too cold.

    Artistic towel folding.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was quite poor.

    Nice, warm and cossy with polite staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi connection was very poor in the room, we were not able to conect except early in the morning

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could be improved on the quality side.

    The bathroom was large and comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very shirt with speaking appear annoyed sometimes.

    Lots of facilities in the spa. Great value

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing hottub (Jacuzzi is not the same as hottub after ski) Big minus

    Front desk are not as friendly, the rest is absolutely great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -The wifi didn't work - no room service after 9 pm.

    location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa and pool are small

    Good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    unfriendly staff

    relatively good position, big room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    n/a

    value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms too Hot . Reception staff , male , Terrible and ignorant .

    Close to gondola

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at night we where woken repeatedly by noise from outside, people in the corridor and people staying in room next door

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of it, will be back

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent SPA center, very nice breakfast, ski storage room (extra cost for rented equipment).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night time young boys making to much noise,

    Hotel is good, close to skiing place.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel and SPA area were very clean. In the SPA you can really relax and enjoy it. The breakfast was good- steamed vegetables, fresh fruits.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brekfast

    SPA

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff, rooms

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful at all times, making our stay a most enjoyable experience throughout.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner which we tried one evening

    Comfortable rooms, convenient location pretty close to gondola and the Pirin street, timely shuttle bus to gondola

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 12 nights

    sound proof of rooms

    sauna

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Elevator and extremely hot halls

    Rest was OK

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No area to rest at the Spa center

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Lots of noise by guests.

    Good value.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tatal katastrophy

    Anythig very expencive and miserable

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of my favorite hotels in Bansko.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv remote was broken

    Super clean and pretty spa center!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, spacious room & bathroom, renovated SPA center

    Stayed in December 2016

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Guests also reviewed these properties: