Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Maxim Boutique Hotel 3 stars

62 Maria Louisa Blvd., Centrum, 1202 Sofia, Bulgaria

#152 of 189 hotels in Sofia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 757 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    5.4
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not worth the money. We travel a lot and have seen much better service and condition in a simple cheap Airbnb room. We were expecting to get EU standard hotel for the money, but unfortunatey it is not even close to that.

    The only good thing was the location. Although we would prefer to have much better service instead of that.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    5.4
    The breakfast cook/waitress is suuuper nice: kind,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist who is a very short brunette woman is very unprofessional, unkind, has a bad temper, her English is horrible, she’s slow and stresses out like crazy for everything. We asked her 2 consecutive nights for an extra duvet and she refused giving it to us: she repeatedly yelled we could turn on the A/C (which was broken). She’s very stupid. The room was very cold, they refused to turn on the heater, broken A/C, clogged sink (they promised to fix it, but never did), broken faucet, missing shower screen so everything got completely wet and flooded.

    The breakfast cook/waitress is suuuper nice: kind, smiley, resolutive, fast, cooks well. She was the nicest and sweetest by far!! Except the person indicated below in the neg. comments, the rest of the staff were nice, but just nice. People in Bulgaria (even young people who didn’t live the communism) are generally rude, grumpy and bad-tempered. Says someone who’s been to ALL European countries, so I know what am I saying.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is available but if hot food is offered, it should be at least warm. Coffee was not good.

    Perfect location, walking distance from bus/railway station and major sights. Clean, comfortable room, nice shower.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice, clean hotel in a very good position.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No real problems but it would have been nice if the bar was open in the evenings and eggs cooked fresh at breakfast.

    Nice big room, plenty of hot water in the shower. In a very convenient location, walking distance of train and bus stations and also of major attractions. Good price for the centre of a European city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee could have been a lot better.

    Everything you could expect. The bed was comfortable and breakfast was good. Close to restaurants, bars and bus station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    Overnight short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn't have a curtain so the bathroom was a bit flooded even though I paid attention. Some of the furniture and facilities showed signs of wear despite the cleanliness. The breakfast buffet was quite limited.

    The staff and location are excellent. The cleanliness as well. I enjoyed the comfortable bed and a spacious room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    4.6
    Not a great stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am sure this was a great hotel in 1962. Bathroom was dirty ass black mold Growing everywhere. The Sheets were dirty and had to be changed. Breakfast had very little selection

    Staff were extremely polite, and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.0
    Apart from good breakfast and location this hotel is overrated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty walls with dead mosquitos, dangerous bathroom drain, no screen to bath/shower, dampness, no access to FIFA or any interest in assisting how/where we could watch the football.

    The proprietor and the location of the hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.0
    A miracle doesn't occur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Free Parking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room a month in advance, a Balcony with air conditioning. Upon our arrival we were put into a hotel room with no air-conditioning or balcony. The room itself was falling apart, with the bathtub itself actually losing it's outside casing as i showered. The light in the bathroom came loose leaving us with a bit of distaste. That night we couldn't sleep,the room being covered in mosquitos. The next day, they rectified the room situation after I made multiple complaints. We received our balcony and air-conditioning. The problem though, outside of that was the wifi cut out on Tuesday , half way through our stay. We asked about that, we were told that it was working on the ground floor. But, it didn't work in our hotel room. The decor is dated, the bathroom ceiling is moldy. Room service didn't replace bathroom garbage bags, we came back from a long trek with a rather large infestation of flies in that bathroom. The beds were old, with the sheets being quite well worn. The fixtures were also old. This place needs a severe update, I wasn't refunded for the incorrect room for the first night, and the hotel staff seems to be lethargic concerning guest needs.

    The location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Good Location and not expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with free parking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was poor and the owner came to shout the staff make feel uncomfortable. I will not come back to this hotel never ever because of his attitude to his employees.

    The Rooms size were huge and the view from one was spectacular

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    Location was ok a little walk of 29 mins into centre room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was probably one of the worst I’ve had everything was cold and we were down for breakfast 5 mins past 8 and they serve at 8 ?? Toaster didn’t work etc etc :(

    Location was ok a little walk of 29 mins into centre room was ok value for money 👍

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.6
    Breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom is big but stupid. No hangers to hang clothes or a towel. Because there are no curtains in the bathroom, the water is spreading all over the floor. In the bathroom there is no ventilation.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    Good value and location - recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many bars or restaurants nearby, they are mostly south of serdika. Could nitpick on silly little things but none of it matters considering the price and location.

    Charming old style hotel right next to lavov most metro and easy walk to main sights. Beds comfy, air con works, WiFi good. Clean. Double glazing effective at keeping road noise out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.3
    Convenient for my simple needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought my room was a bit bleak and could do with brightening up and the shower was overdue some maintenance.

    For me the location was convenient for the bus station and I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel was a little out of the way and there were few restaurants within easy walking distance. !A pleasant hotel but could do with a bit of an update. Having said that I would use it again if necessary.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    3.8
    Convenient for the metro and walk into the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being an old building therefore no lift. 47 steps up to our room and no help with cases. Bedrooms weren't as described on my booking confirmation. no hangers in wardrobe so couldn't unpack. no plugs in washbasin or bath. Minor details but important when staying for a few days.

    Convenient for the metro and walk into the centre. Nice white towels and bedding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    3.3
    Very poor we cut out stay short and left, due to hotel not meeting the reservations that were made.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Free Parking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On booking twin bed and balcony, when we arrived we were given a double bed and no balcony and no apology for the mistake. The receptionist was totally disinterested in trying to resolve the situation.

    Location was perfect, pity the hotel was that poor we left first thing the next morning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    No heating allowed because it wasnt winter. It was wet and 9 degrees though!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't heated as heating is only allowed in winter!!! It may have been spring but it was wet and 9 degrees overnight and we returned each night from a hard days touring to this miserable room. The room was very cold, dusty and smelt faintly of cigarettes. Clothes were cold and felt damp in the morning. The response to our complaint was an extra blanket!! The room also needed maintenace, power plugs were coming out of the wall, the wasbasin tap was loose, carpet was held to the wall with sticky tape etc etc. With heating and maintenance it might have been a good room.

    Staff were helpful. Potential to be very nice, but needs rethink.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    4.6
    Will not stay in this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not clean, the toiletries were not replaced from the previous guest, the pillow and the bedding smelled very bad - like they were not washed for a very long time.

    The hotel was in an excellent location and it provided free parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.2
    The worst ever experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst ever experience. Tha receptionist was yelling at me without any reasons. She obviously has some issues in her head. I asked for an invoice she said I should wait for 30 minutes but nobody was there. She was very very bad. The breakfast was late for 30 minutes even if it was scheduled for 8.00 (which is late already). So overall review 1/1

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.5
    We stayed at Budapest hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived to the hotel, receptionist informed us that there are no free rooms, so we will be staying in hotel Budapest. All extra costs where taken care by the Maxim hotel, we just payed what was planned. Because of that we were ok with this situation. Actually short stay in Budapest hotel we really enjoyed. For the next night the same week we decided to book another hotel, because this one didn't create great atmosphere, especially from staff communication!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. The most important thing when you travelling with car is Free parking on the front of the Hotel. I highly recommend this property.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Satisfaction ;)))
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with free parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfekt location - no more than 10 minutes by walk to the main walking street. The rooms were very clean, the breakfast was really nice and also you must try the beds in the hotel. The badrooms are modern as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    I enjoyed the stay and would certainly use this hotel again
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    although asked for a lower ground room because i have dissability with walking i was on a 1st. floor room and hotel had no lift

    would be a lot better if there were tea/coffee facilities in the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.7
    Good location, but not worth 3 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower but no curtain, bath but no plug. No toiletries but stated there was. Room smelt very bad of cigarette smoke. Mattress didn't fit the bed.

    Location and breakfast, size of room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    The receptionist of the second shift didn't bring help...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist of the second shift didn't bring help at all. Restaurant opens at 8 and I had to leave early; I asked for a simple breakfast and a coffee she refused to give me the simple breakfast and wanted me to pay the water and the nescafe

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    6.3
    They arebthe most friendly, hospitable people i ever seen...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness, smell in the room and hotel in general and breakfast. Photos on booking.com are not matching

    They arebthe most friendly, hospitable people i ever seen during my vacation in Bulgaria

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    4.2
    avoid it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with free parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location is central but not really central,noisy from the traffic outside,cannot sleep with opened window.We booked a suite with 2 rooms but got just a double room saying that they do not have the one we booked-sorry!saying that they were fully booked(regardless most windows were dark in the hotel)

    nothing really

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    3.8
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite with Free Parking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot.... No wirpool, but they told that they have(I extra called before) Very bad sauna Not clean at all Very cold Not so good breakfast and personal Old tv Etc...

    location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    Nice choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of cigarette smell in the room but an open window did the job.

    The free parking on site and the location were great! Also the room was verry big! Huge plus!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Hit of the day the young manager!
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    The young manager has been the hit of this hotel. He had great humour and excellent english skills. Do not hesitate to contact him for directions and information. The place is great, nice rooms and just 5 min walking distance from the main center. Couldn't recommend it enough!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.8
    The room was big and clean, and there was a good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel did not give us the same room for the 4 nights that we spent there, so we had to change rooms after the first night. The facilities of the rooms are generally ok, but the heating should be improved.

    The room was big and clean, and there was a good breakfast. It is very well located, just next to a subway station and just 20 minutes walking from the city center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    2.9
    just dont bother staying here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with free parking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the rooms was awful , wallpaper hanging off the wall, the curtains did not fit the windows and as for the breakfast it was disgusting. (bits of celery, cold rubbery fried eggs and dried up cooked meats. did not cater for disabled people i.e no lifts.

    this hotel was central to everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.5
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, bad maintenance for the installations , shower really bad, not a really parking only a public paid street but if there are no place you are done, the hotel prepaid the green zone everyday, but its not a private parking

    Kind Employeers they were really attentive , good Location near the centre and the interested thing, maybe little noise , good breakfast with sweet and salty food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.7
    A central place to stay close to city centre, walking distance from every thing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1- Communication with reception staff was an issue (although eventually managed using some basic sign language and gestures) - Basic level English communication will improve things a lot to understand customer needs 2- Access to 2nd floor for kids is problem (very steep stairs) even adults will have problem getting to 2nd floor (considering the lighting issues below) - 2nd Floor access needs improving to make it a more child friendly place 3- Stairs were not properly lit, colour them is dark brown, both walls and carpets were brown thus lighting was an issue, changing to light colours shall improve the stair area - stairs area needs an uplift by changing colour theme, neutral light colour walls and carpet can improve things a lot. 4- Bathroom cleanliness was an issue (mould in the shower) - thoroughly clean bathrooms particularly shower area, get rid of mould

    5- Staff were polite and helpful 6- Excellent location, close to most of the visitor attractions in the city centre (walkable) 7- Rooms were spacious with balcony access over-looking a beautiful round about.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    3.3
    The cleness was in very poor condition.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleness was in very poor condition. The air conditioner was with very very durty filter. The smell was terrible, when I start the air conditioner. Also in bathroom was with broken shower tray.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    4.6
    Definitely not "boutique" hotel you expected. Nightmarish.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was spacious, but poorly furnished. The bathroom with no window had a terrible smell. Shower box looked dirty. I arrived late at night and had an early flight otherwise I would have changed immediately. I risked an heart attack when TV suddenly came to life while I was sleeping. For same price it is possible to find much better in Sofia.

    The building looks nice. Position is excellent for a walk to the center during the day. Easy access to all public transport options.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    Sofia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had small leak from the shower doors,easy fix .

    Great location near market and major attractions big rooms with a very nice view good cable and wifi Metro station next door and bakery supermarket etc all in the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    The perfect location, great building and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs renovation, it was clean but there was a hole in the bed sheet.

    the staff was very nice and helpful, especially carrying my luggage up the stairs. The hotel's location is perfect - close to the railway station and the coach station. Next to lion bridge and few minutes to the central part. It is next to a metro station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    6.7
    great price, great location, but maybe not your usual standard boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Im not sure Id call it a boutique hotel. essentially it has some flock wall paper on one wall. the shower was within a small toilet within the room and took me a few hours to fix!

    Great central location opposite a synagogue and local market. close to some restaurants and bars too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    6.7
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    BEWARE OF CREDIT CARD FRAUD IN BULGARIA.. used my Master CARD to pay for hotel with front desk manager..this was ONLY use of card that month...within 7 days fraudulent internet charges were attempted on it to purchase $1800 Turkish airlines ticket...stopped by card company and shut down...

    Very good location...metro station next to it...take metro straight to airport for $1.10....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.9
    Good comfortable stop over between bus station and Metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with free parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con and fan that was on a timer so needed resetting after about an hour. Fridge was not plugged in so wasn't cold when we arrived no shower curtain so bathroom became a bit slippery bath had jacuzzi but we didn't have time in our one night stay to try it out There was also a Sauna attached which I think was for winter guests as not turned on in September

    Good location between bus station and metro line to airport. Large quiet room with good sized bathroom. Good high ceilings

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Car park in front of the hotel secured with cameras system.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with free parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna in the bedroom didn't work,

    Car park in front of the hotel secured with cameras system. Location,hotel exactly in the middle of the city. 100% central,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    3.3
    Would not recommend and did not enjoy our stay at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A shower curtain and hot water would help

    Not a boutique hotel at all, bathroom stank of sewerage, complained twice, didn't care, no toiletries in bathroom, no shower curtain round bath and no hot water for two days, they said it was due to the government doing work, but how does that not give you hot water?

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.0
    Not as advertised
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all, the free parking isn't secured at all, it's simply in the street in front of the hotel and there aren't always spaces available. Secondly our room, although advertised with airconditioning, did not have a functioning air-conditioning. When we inquired about this we got told that it was a busy moment (Monday) and that they tried to fix the airconditioning. Furthermore the curtains of the window are too narrow, hence the neighborhood can watch you naked. The bathroom is old and brownish, the room lacks any kind of decoration and there is no elevator. Oh and the hot water ran out when I was taking my shower... I would definitely not recommend this place...

    Good location, only a short walk to the main street

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.4
    Located near the train station and the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The promised air conditioning was not available in the room. The Wi-Fi signal was weak inside the room. Mold in the bathroom (hidden underneath a white strip) and near the bed. Door woodwork fell off the wall. Sockets hang out of the wall. Breakfast consisted of the same limited choice each day of our stay (3 nights).

    Located near the train station and the city center Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.1
    Sofia's Maxim
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpeting is old and smelly. The breakfast is poor.

    This is a beautiful building. The hotel is a great location. The view from the rooms is amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.1
    two thing were a little bit disturber:
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    two thing were a little bit disturber: 1. there was a crack on the roof of the room as a result of water flooding on the above room- in past. 2. The bath had no cover protection from water and thus kept coming out of the water ...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    5.4
    Maxim Hotel, Sofia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower leaked and there was an open drain in the middle of the bathroom floor - be careful if you need to use the bathroom in the middle of the night.

    Originally allocated a basement room wiith no view next to the kitchen. We asked for a different room on a higher floor and were given a larger room with a balcony on the second floor. This floor had a fantastic view down the Boulevard towards the Vistosha mountain.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.1
    Okay hotel if your on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was too hot (no aircon). Also our shower leaked. The hotel needs a total refurbishment. Breakfast was limited and we even skipped it 2/3 mornings and went to the city center instead.

    Great location and very friendly helpful staff. The wifi worked great and we had a lovely view of the city from our room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    4.2
    Beware.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with free parking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs to be improved. We did not receive toilet role, we did not have towels for over 24 hours despite complaining, and the hotel did not supply hot water for over 24 hours. Furthermore cleanliness in the hotel was appalling. During breakfast I found ants in the food.

    The hotel is located in a convenient area of Sofia close to the main avenue and metro station. There is also a nearby supermarket and currency exchange

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.4
    Situated within easy walk of city centre,railway and bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In need of general upgrading. No curtain on one of the windows in room,no lightbulb in bedside lamp,no fridge /minibar as advertised. Mattress quality very poor.

    Situated within easy walk of city centre,railway and bus station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    5.0
    The rooms were quite spacious but really dated.
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Free Parking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was unbelievable that nobody was speaking English! The blond woman at the front desk spoke only in Bulgarian. She messed up with our reservations and payments, she wanted to double charge us and we had to use google translator to explain. She also lost a bag with personal belongings that was entrusted to her by one of our friends and denied that she had ever received the bag. Night shift was better. Most of the staff was unpolite and grumpy.

    The rooms were quite spacious but really dated. The bed was very comfortable and the wifi good. Not very far from downtown, but the district is not that good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Perfect in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This hotel was excellent, everything one could want. Terrific location, free internet, a good breakfast, both the room and the bathroom were spacious and most importantly the friendly and extremely helpful staff who did their best to accommodate, advise and make our trip and stay as smooth as possible. Melena specifically was absolutely amazing, kind, generous and went far and beyond with everything. I highly recommend this hotel and I'll definitely be staying here next time I'm in town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    3.3
    Overpriced, shabby, noisey poor experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 14 nights

    I have stayed at hotels all over the world, but this has to rate as one of the worst I have had the misfortune to stay at. Paper thin walls, that you could hear people talking next door. Wall paper peeling and water stained ceilings. The rooms were dirty, bed uncomfortable with transparent curtains. No shower cubicle. Just a shower hose, resting on the bath taps, which sprayed all over the room. The corridor outside was very dark as the light did not work. Breakfast was very basic, with cold fried eggs and tinned, processed meat. The room was grossly overpriced, due to a lack of accommodation in the city at the time. I had booked for ten days, but could not stand it and left early. No refund.

    A couple of the front desk staff were quite helpful. Good internet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    4.6
    Poorly managed place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    3 members of staff out of 4 were unhelpful. We mentioned the TV wasn't working and were told it would be reported to the manager so it could be fixed. We spoke to 3 different members of staff and never got the TV fixed. We also asked for more soap and never got any either. The breakfast wasn't great at all. No fruit and the last day the milk was sour.

    The sound proof was ok

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    6.3
    Not overwhelming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with free parking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff didn't speak English properly; breakfast is only served until 10am - we never made it; rooms are rather simple

    The location is good and rooms are mostly quiet

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.1
    Good value overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly disappointing breakfast, toilet didn't flush for a while, card machine didn't work

    Clean and well decorated room with lovely view of mountain, comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    5.8
    Bearable for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with free parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was horrible. I slept on an extendable couch and it damaged my back. There was also big trouble with the shower. The drainage didn't work properly and the whole bathroom got flooded when I took a shower. It was also terribly cold in the room, although the radiators were working, but also so-so.

    The staff was really nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    3.8
    Dirty, smelly, poor value all round.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator, and no help with luggage. I am 7 months pregnant and was left to haul 3 heavy bags to the top floor. I was traveling with a small child, surely it would be obvious that I would need a room on a lower floor? When I got to the "non smoking" room it absolutely stunk of cigarette smoke. When I got home I could smell the smoke all over my clothes that had been in my case. Revolting. There were 3 lamps in the room, but only one of them worked. There was a lot of dust and dirt on the floors and a couple of hairs on the sheets. No facility in the room for making tea or coffee. I expected the wufi password to be in the room, it wasn't. I tried to call down to reception, but the phone didn't work. So i had to walk down 4 flights of stairs and back up them with a small child. I shouldn't have bothered, the WiFi wasnt great and seemed to turn off completely at midnight. The next morning I found that the shower didnt work- I would have complained, but I couldn't find any staff! We went for breakfast. There was no black tea, only herbal, the "hot food" was cold, we ended up just having toast and water for breakfast, as my son wouldn't drink the synthetic squash they claimed was fruit juice. The price was double what I usually pay for central Sofia, but wasn't worth half. I wouldn't stay here again.

    The location was good, the receptionist was welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    2.9
    Absolutely nothing good about the place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is an awful hotel, everything is so bad. The staff (so rude for no reason), rooms (nothing like on the website), location. I have never been that frustrated with accommodation. I will not use Booking anymore.

    Absolutely nothing good about the place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    large rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite with Free Parking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    shame restaurant not open looks nice..... but excellent restaurants near by..and pizza /cafe next door but one..

    large rooms. good air con.. and heating. excellent shower. very big beds.. 24hr. reception. very ,friendly and helpful staff.. nice reception area. good breakfast, nice selection.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful staff, spacious room, very...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi was too slow in the room. But in the lobby and hotel restaurant it was ok.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, spacious room, very comfortable bed. Rich breakfast. In just 10-15 min walk from Old city center and main Sofia sightseengs. Really best national cousine restaurant in Sofia in 3 min walk from hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    7.5
    Good location at a reasonable cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom area was not cleaned the best each day.

    Good location for the very nice subway and going throughout the city. The free parking is on the street, but the staff does a nice job of monitoring the vehicle.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    7.1
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with free parking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Awful breakfast (the milk was bad two days in a row, cold fried eggs, poor quality products). One double bed instead of two single.

    Good price, sauna in the apartment, location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    7.5
    Great location, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location literally meters from the metro entrance and within 15 minutes of both the center and the central bus station. Comfortable, clean rooms even if a little old

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    3.8
    No need to do it again, ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room terribly smelled on cigarette's smoke, even though it was declared as non-smoking. There were spider webs all around the room.

    Free car parking.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location, just across a metro station and walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with free parking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was half the size mentioned in booking.com. The toilet flush needed around half an hour to fill again after one use, which is quite unpractical if you're not travelling alone. The sofa bed mattress was very uncomfortable.

    Excellent location, just across a metro station and walking distance to most attractions. Friendly personnel and clean rooms. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    4.2
    stay at the ramada instead
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Free Parking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    shower was filthy,wallpaper was peeling,dirt on the floor,booked a room with two double beds and a balcony.room had two singles and no balcony,complained to the night receptionist who said he would take it up with the owner,spoke with the day receptionist who said same,when i spoke with the owner when checking out he claimed no complaint was made and refused any discount or discussion,the curtains were so thin the when the sun rose in the morning light streamed in waking me at 6am every day,not a relaxing or enjoyable trip,if my credit card was not going to be charged whether i booked in or not i would have gone to the ramada across the street for just £10 a night extra.also the breakfast was very poor and lacked any decent choice,i tried the eggs couldn't eat them as they were stone cold, very disappointed overall

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.5
    Good position, next to Lions bridge, there are restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleaning should be done better.

    Good position, next to Lions bridge, there are restaurants and supermarkets in the area. There is free parking available. Decent breakfast is included.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    9.6
    Great Location, Amazing Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with free parking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The floors were a bit uneven in the room but it is a historical building so that is to be expected.

    The Junior Suite was perfect for our group and included a sauna and jacuzzi tub! The location is ideal and breakfast is quite good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    4.2
    This not the right hotel if you have kids !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with free parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean hotel, smells all the room. Bathroom has no any soup or etc also smell ! Heating is not working and it was very cold. We had to change the bed covers ! Breakfast is moderate!

    Just location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    8.8
    Cozy and nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Free Parking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff very polite and helpful. The hotel was located 5 to 10 minutes walk from the heart of the city. You felt safe all time. Breakfast was quite good. The room was spacious. The view from our balcony was excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.9
    Sofia stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet connection was slow The room was heated to much and I could not adjust it. Breakfast was not anything special

    The room was fine. Parking just outside was great. Not hard to find the hotel. Reception staff good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    6.7
    Location was great and staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite with Free Parking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not talk about. We gave it a try for the first 2 mornings and then went downtown for the next 3 mornings to get some decent food. The heater/aircondition was quite noisy during the night. The view from the suite was and old backyard. The sauna was very small and only for max 2 people at a time. There is no jacuzzi in the room as described. We got clean towels everyday but no cleaning of the room nor clean linnen for the bed. The guests from neighbor room can Be heard very clearly.

    Location was great and staff very friendly. We stayed in the suite, which was large and with a sofa and 2 chairs.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Maxim Boutique Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: