Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Metropolitan Hotel Sofia 4 stars

64 Tsarigradsko shosse Blvd., 1784 Sofia, Bulgaria

#16 of 179 hotels in Sofia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1659 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Great value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be great if the breakfast can have more hot food.

    Great location, 10 minutes to the airport, walking 10 minutes to a shopping mall with food. Staff are very friendly. Although the room is not the most modern style, but very clean and comfort with large space. A free mini bar included with water, juicy, beer, and coke.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable and convenient stay close to the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Used for an overnight stay before a flight. Close to airport with shuttle provided free of charge. Clean. Great service. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    I would stay again there
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night

    Professional service, quiet, staff was taking initiative to serve, clean. fine decoration. An excellent choice!. The only "negative" was that the nearest metro station was around 1km far, but easily to find.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.7
    There was a very big mall close to the Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The locker in the room was broken. The location was a bit far from the city center although there was a bus in front of it going to the city center that would go like every 30 minutes.

    There was a very big mall close to the Hotel. They charged us 25 euro for the breakfast once which wasn't included. This was very expensive for Bulgaria. We had an amazing breakfast at the mall for 5 euro's for 2 persons.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Very good hotel for tranzit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lunch served at the ground floor bar were the barman didn't understood from the beginning that we are 3 adults and 2 kids and two rooms and paid for 2 lunch. He first brought us only 1 lunch and everytime we asked for something he told us that this is not covered and we need to pay. The food was good

    Rooms were very clean, comfortable. Free Minibar. Excellent breakfast and variety.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    Very nice hotel with extra location if you want to reach an airport very easily .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They should have a kettle and some coffees/ teas station in the room :(

    Our room was on the top floor with the nice view and also the bed was comfortable .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel with good airport location and nice rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was closed, because it was Saturday :( Otherwise we could have our lunch in the bar

    Nice and comfortable room. Good airport location with transfer

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Hotel was just what was needed for a night coming I'm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast box was a nive idea but content was a little funny and not so practical.

    Hotel was just what was needed for a night coming I'm or leaving out. All was nice and pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Conveniently located close to the airport
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night

    We often book this hotel when arriving in Sofia on a late flight. The airport pickup service is very convenient, it takes about 10 minutes to get to the hotel. Rooms are comfortable, breakfast buffet is ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, value for money even had a free mini bar, great...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, value for money even had a free mini bar, great big comfy bed staff very friendly and helpful would most definitely stay here again. I can’t comment on breakfast as didn’t have it nor facilities as we only slept here on a quick stopover.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Perfect choice fot business or family trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean, the breakfast was perfect, you can even make pancakes by yourself. The staff is vely polite. Although it’s a business hotel, it’ s perfect for a family trip with children. The hotel is near to The mall, so it’s another plus. Metropolitan hotel is our prefered place to stay, when visiting Sofia.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    The rooms and overall facilities were very good.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at rhe hotel late in the night at a bout 10:40. I was travelling with my daughter as the next day she was about compete at a tournament and asked the kitchen to prepare her something to eat. At first a waiter told us that she could have something from the buffet as they didn’t picked up the food. Then an other waitress came and refused to us to have something from the buffet in a very bad attitude. She told us that they have closed 15 min ago and we are not allowed to get food. I explained to her that we were travveling all day and that we were very tired and with nothing else to eat. I also told her that my daughter iwould have competitions the next day and she still refused to let her eat!

    The rooms and overall facilities were very good. Most of staff were very helpfull and willing ro help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.3
    Citytrip 5days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roomservice (too late & a lot of the menu is not available), service at front desk (wrong info; transfer to airport too late)

    Clean room, good breakfast, free mini bar

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice business-oriented hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is far from city center, and there's nothing of interesting at walkable distance, so you will need private car or taxi to go anywhere.

    Nice Hotel, rooms are cozy and quiet and staff is very friendly and helpful. Hotel is very close to airport, and there's a useful free shuttle service airport/hotel in both direction. Free parking available, good if you have a private car and if you need to move arounf Sofia. I suggest it especially for business trip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.4
    Awful place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested a car park space. Hardly found any. I requested quiet room. This hotel doesn't have quiet rooms. The ones on the back are also very noisy. The maid uses cheap detergent that gives you allergy even if you never had one before. The mattress, douvet and pillow were cheapest polyester that boils you and feels extremely uncomfortable. Didn't slept even an hour the whole night because it was very uncomfortable. Ruined my trip the next day. Also, old and outdated

    Location. Close to airport. But that is all i liked

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.1
    Big clean rooms, open view, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit far from the city centre. There was a mix-up with the preauthorization of my card which made the rest of my trip rather difficult. Don't know if it was the bank's or the hotel's mistake, don't want to put the blame on anyone without being certain. Even so, next time i will pay in cash just in case.

    Big clean rooms, open view, good breakfast. They have a pillow menu which we unfortunately didn't use as the standard pillows were a bit uncomfortable. The food from the restaurant was not bad, but not something special either. Cash machine in the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains didn't covered the windows completely, and sunlight entered the room in the morning. During check in they required payment for the room, and even though we asked to pay in 15 minutes after we leave the bags in the room, they wouldn't accept. We're not going to run away or anything, and they have all our info and passports... The complementary mini bar is not a standard mini bar as we encountered in other hotels (water, juice, soda, and beer included). I'm not complaining, just noting for other guests what to expect (no quick snacks for late night cravings :) ). We stayed only one night, and were woken up by the cleaning lady that was 3 hours earlier than the check-out time.

    Good facilities, comfortable. Great wifi. Helpful staff that arranged a fruit basket in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Great if you need parking and access to the airport. Only a short taxi ride into downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to the airport was great. Parking was available and plentiful for our rental car. The staff was great and got us a taxi to go into town for dinner. The buffet breakfast was really nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    Good hotel with some maintaining difficulties.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Panorama Apartment with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet is too dusty. The water in high floor rooms is not stable with pressure and temperature to take a shower. Sometimes almost stops! A lot of noice from outside highways if windows are opened.

    The location, breakfast are good. The view from upper rooms are ok also. The bed is OK. The bathroom is clean. Personal with good English and really friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Metropolitan Sofia
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is all perfect. Location , airport transfer, staff, shopping center 5 min walk, free minibar, comfort, large rooms, very cleen... i have to say for price it is the best hotel i have been. I travel a lot dubai new york europa asia ..... i have to write about this hotel because it left very good impresdion on me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    The hotel is about 6km from the city centre so you’d...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is about 6km from the city centre so you’d probably need a car or take a taxi if you stay there. The hotel is very big with big rooms and bathrooms, it was very clean and the breakfast was incredible. I totally recommend it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Would stay again without hesitation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a minor point, but I would probably prefer an electric kettle and coffee/tea provisions instead of a free mini-bar, if I had the choice.

    Airport pickup at 2.30am. A very pleasant and smartly dressed young man was waiting for us, despite the late arrival of the plane. All the staff were very courteous and friendly. The breakfast is excellent. Fresh, great variety, especially liked the fruit selection. The guest soaps and toiletries, robes etc. Obviously expected in a hotel of this level, but sometimes the quality is not so good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay for weary travelers near the airport with delicious food options
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was traveling with my infant twins and the staff was so helpful and kind in accommodating my family. We were very happy with the food in the restaurant and bar which was very important considering it was our most convenient option.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.7
    I liked to hangout in the hotel’s pub.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxi waiting policy was a disaster. I highly recommend them to follow First-Come First-Served fashion.

    I liked to hangout in the hotel’s pub. It was nice and cosy and with friendly personnel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Excelent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excelent hotel. Very close to the citi center( 6 km) and near the airport. We enjoy ower stay at the hotel very much. The room was very clean. The stuff was very kind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.1
    THE BAR INCIDENT RATHER CAST A SHADOW OVER MY STAY
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE BAR LACKED ATMOSPHERE AND UNABLE TO SERVE TEA ONLY COFFEE UNABLE TO GIVE CHANGE SERVER WOULD ONLY SERVE ME A COKE ON PRESENTATION OF A NOTE<MADE NO ATTEMPT TO GET ANY CHANGE AND IN CONSEQUENCE THE COKE WAS EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    it was a satisfactory stay, in general.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No socket near a mirror. Room service was nice and polite BUT the food was not so good and a little bit expensive.

    Very clean room, very quiet, helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.3
    Bad impression by staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor unpolite staff, they don't want to serve you. We ordered food at 5.00 in the morning(there were choices for this hour in the menu) and they told us that they had finished... We ordered one small bottle of water and during the check out told us that their colleague brought it to us from the next gas station and ask from us to give money without receipt and take it from the gas station... unacceptable facts for a 4 star Metropolitan Hotel...

    Comfortable,clean, quiet, good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.6
    Outstanding business hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As always the hotel stay was excellent, great value for money and at the end they didn't charge me for the airport transfer. Every time I stay here there is a pleasant surprise for me. Next time I will stay here again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stay with very friendly staff, a bit outside the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location close to the airport but quite outside the city center, 15 mins walk or 2 bus stops to reach the metro; our room was facing the front side of the hotel which is just in front of a highway crossing, so you could hear the traffic.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, pickup service from airport, nice spa area (has to be paid seperately, 8€ per person), comfortable room with free minibar, good value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.3
    Disappointment for a 4-star hotel that strives to provide high-quality service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night

    stuff at the bar was unpleasant, same on the reception. We booked and pre-paid stay for 2 adults and 1 child but we got room with no extra bed or even sofa for a child. The worst is that we were forced to pay addition €30 just to place sofa in the room. It was January and air-condition was out of order so they had to set it up manually from reception

    Average hotel but definitely far away from 9.0 review score. Breakfast was plentiful and good quality but the level at which the restaurant is maintained are far from 4 stars hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.5
    Recomendable for business trips.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a bit out of the city center but taxi's are cheap.

    10 minutes from the airport. For business it is a very good hotel. Taxi's are cheap so that helps to get quickly to the city center. We had a very early check out and the reception had a bag with breakfast ready to go. A recommendable hotel in Sofia.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.8
    very spacious room, clean, nice view, warm at winter time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was an unpleasant smell from the bathroom, the bathtub wasn't very stable. It's a bit far from center, about 25 minutes with traffic-10minutes without, (which costs around 5 euros by taxi)

    very spacious room, clean, nice view, warm at winter time. Breakfast was rich, very helpful staff, complimentary mini bar with basic renewed every day and the price was very good through booking.com

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel good staff. Poor breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot breakfast being cold

    The hot part of breakfast was cold. Even when I reported it nothing was done to rectify which is very poor. VFM in this case was not achieved

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    5.4
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom did not have an outlet, there were very few outlets in general. Bed covers were twin size, so the bed had two separate covers

    Free shuttle to the airport Free mini bar, but it is quite limited

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.9
    Aircon didn't work - rooms far too hot (for my liking)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Aircon didn't work - rooms far too hot (for my liking) Taxi service extremely slow (taxi's ordered by hotel arriving sometimes 45 minutes later)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    The staff was excellent and very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was excellent and very welcome.!! They came from the airport to pick us up for free and they were very politely..!! Breakfast was excellent and variety of food..!! I will visit again for sure..!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Awesome hotel in Sofia.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Corner Studio with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The space and the comfort of the rooms was great. The location was not too bad. It was a about 10 minutes taxi ride to downtown Sofia. There is a big shopping enter near the hotel. about a 10 minute walk. Overall I had a great time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.3
    Overal a nice hotel despite few minor problems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No coffee and tea making facilities in rooms. Minibar fridge not cooling. Room too hot, we had to keep window opened despite air-con running all the time which was quite noisy due to heavy traffic outside day and night. One morning there was some water pressure problems in the shower.

    Friendly staff, very clean all over. I asked for bigger duvet as we were supplied with two single ones and this was managed by reception in minutes. Free minibar with beer water juice and cola. Nice and comfy bed with luxurious bedding. Smoking area on the balcony located at each floor. 5 min walking to The Mall with few places to eat decent food and easy access to the centre via taxi - 10 min or so drive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.2
    Maybe among the best 4-star hotels in Bulgaria !?
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night

    No possibility to fully switch-off the ventilation (response from the reception desk); a pretty loud wedding party at the hotel’s restaurant, which ended 10 min. after midnight ...

    Great location, real 4-star category amenities (rare for Bulgaria), polite and responsive staff, top levels of cleanliness, complimentary soft drinks and (last, but not least) free airport shuttle !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    The hotel is easily reachable from the Airport with a Taxi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is easily reachable from the Airport with a Taxi. If you ready to walk a bit and can find your way in the city it is also 10 minutes from the underground.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.5
    more than what i expected. The room size was perfect and the bathroom very clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the 50 minutes I had to wait for a steak for dinner. The restaurant was not busy at 9.30 in the evening, and besides being late in serving the meal , the meat was served cold, and the mix grilled vegetables not cooked very well. The waitress however was very polite. I was expecting a better standard for food for the standard of this hotel.

    the room and breakfast , but I believe that the breakfast should be included in the price of the room rate. 13 eur is a bit high for eggs, toast and coffee

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Overall comfort.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall comfort. Free parking available. Spacious room, comfortable bed, very clean everywhere. Food was excellent- great steak. I’ve been there many times and haven’t been disappointed, hope the good level will be kept. Definitely I’m recommending the place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.3
    Good location near shopping mall
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good selection at breakfast but it was cold. Told staff at the restaurant but nothing was done about it. Staff in the restaurant never once came to ask if we wanted coffee or tea when we sat at the table. Our last morning I just had a banana nothing worse than Luke warm -cold food. poor staff unwelcoming at breakfast restaurant

    Staff at reception very helpful and gave us excellent advice. Christian at front desk was outstanding when we told him about our breakfast experience he was genuinely disappointed we should have spoke to him earlier am confident he would have resolved it for us. He is a credit to the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Convenient location when having to take a flight. Clean and new rooms. Pleasant staff. Overall good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not possible to adjust the temperature in the room which made it extremely hot and uncomfortable. Everything else was great.

    The hotel was very clean, new and with friendly staff. There is also a free shuttle to the airport every 30 min 24 hours a day which was great!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    Economy hotel - you basicaly have everything you need but no extra to feel better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, even if you have a car, you have to leave the hotel only one way which is almost always blocked with the traffic - annoying. I was at 5th floor, it is clean but with some unpleasant smell in hallway. Breakfast - average Mattress - extremely hard, even for me who prefer harder mattresses SPA - guests have to pay for

    Parking in front of the hotel (although sometimes crowded), nice small gym, wi-fi very good, tv channels choice excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel ,convenient for the airports and shopping mall across the road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a tiny thing that could have been rectified by ringing reception,but there was only a small amount of tissue left on the toilet roll,and no spare one.

    The hotel will pick you up from the airport. That was a very good service, included in the room rate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Close to the airport, good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the ventilation system was a bit too noisy.

    The location if very convenient if you need to stay close to the airport. The hotel has a very good infrastructure, the restaurant is also very good. Room very clean, comfortable bed, excellent shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Great value for the paid money, my stay is each time like staying together with friends !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reserved by Booking.com 1 x Large bed and received 2 beds against each other :( , the jong lady was not open to look any further, pity to mention this.

    Quit rooms, free mini bar ! always welcome. Price against good value and last but not least the breakfast, but do not go to late on Sunday because you will find empty plates :( nevertheless I will propose the management to organize an Sunday brunch.... I will join this event on Sunday.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Good stay, reasonable price for the quality. Comfortable location for business purposes.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mini bar was very limited. For Softdrinks as well.

    Good breakfast, clean rooms and good service. Overall experience was good. Service level compared to other hotels in Sofia was much better. Staff supportive and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic hotel with great potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner wanted room service for food but the staff could not understand our order after 3 times trying to explain we gave up.

    The hotel was very impressive reception staff were great and a free complimentary minibus to the airport

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    Overall for a 4 star hotel the staff are incompetent. Wouldn't recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were snobby the food order was in correct on two occasions no child seats in restaurant down stairs severslnhidden charges as no discount given . taxi drivers employed by hotel pig ignorant and staff expect tips after been rude to you and want tips for the least little thing. Plus the staff don't speak English and can barely understand you. This is ridiculous as its meant to accommodate business people.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent hotel that definitely warrants your hard earned money for a stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corner Studio with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was really nothing negative to say except for the location in relation to the town center.

    Extremely friendly staff. Very nice bar area, the food in the bar was also excellent. Very comfortable room. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    Still good but we have know it to be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its was Saturday night and the main restaurant was closed. We really enjoy eating in the main restaurant - the bar food, while still good is not the same choice. At breakfast the buffet was not well stocked with the hot food options - no eggs left. The coffee machine was not working and one has to wait for the bar to be manned to get a cup of coffee. Short of staff??

    Its very convenient for the airport. The rooms are excellent and always very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night

    - we've spent 10 minutes in the morning to go to breakfast, as the elevator was extremely crowded - the location of the hotel is usually for transit, the surrounding area is not attractive for a tourist that wants to actually visit Sofia

    - excellent food (both dinner at the hotel and breakfast) - room very clean and comfortable - personnel very kind ; all of the employees were speaking English

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.9
    good value for money
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff a bit cheeky, ordered breakfast to the room was cold, was just enough milk for the coffee but none for cereal tho!! Menu in the room says that you can pick from selection of fruits/drinks/cereals/eggs etc but we've only got an accidental leftovers from the restaurant I guess. Wouldn't recommend breakfast in the room.

    Big plus for free airport shuttle, clean, big room, beds very comfortable, we had a good rest. Restaurant has nice food and prices were amazing, nice service also.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    A perfect stay. Could not ask for more.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night

    There isn't much around a walking distance from the hotel. If you want to grab a bite or coffee outside the hotel, you have to call a taxi. This is inconvenient.

    The staff are the best, friendly and helpful, beyond compare with other hotels I have stayed in Bulgaria near the airport. I would choose this hotel in the future too, even if solely based on the service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.1
    Peaceful business hotel outside city centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Highly overpriced compared to nearby and same class hotels. Very bureaucratic check in and check out with double and triple strap of credit cards. Guarantee by booking.com should be enough.

    Business hotel between airport and city centre with kind and friendly, englishspeaking staff. Free guarded parking directly adjacent to main road. Excellent breakfast, sound protected rooms and complimentary minibar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.8
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff on arrival (02:30) reception was grumpy man. Man who moved luggage was very miserable. One girl in morning was more polite than others.

    Ok hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    You´ll get everything you expect from a hotel for business...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You´ll get everything you expect from a hotel for business travellers. Close to airport, free parking lot, attentive approach of staff, spacious comfortable rooms, strong wi-fi, shopping mall in close proximity, public transport around the corner. Unbeatable value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Luxury hotel at a 3 stars price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room, very good quality of the furniture, high quality of services, nice staff. The hotel is 10-15min from a metro station from where there are 3-4 stations to the city centre. Overall, a luxury hotel at a very good price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Very good hotel for short stay's
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee pub/resturant ground floor...very expensive for nothing.

    Services...excellent personel,very clean and beautiful rooms. Good service for the car's-we were in transit and was important to have the car safe without takeing out the luggages.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Exceptional as usual.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exceptional as usual. Friendly stuff ready to help with everything 24/7. Clean and comfi rooms. Shuttle to the airport every 30 mins! Always stay there when traveling for business.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very good value for money, excellent breakfast, location just 5 minutes drive to center with taxi, hotel offers all facilities for a 4-star hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    Amazing hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The treadmill was making some noise which I believe can be easily fixed. But sure I did my 1 hour jogging and enjoyed the music.

    Excellent quality, quite place , breakfast -amazing! High quality professional attitude of the staff mixed with warm personal care touch.definitely we will visit the property again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Modern hotel with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing the hotel can improve are the pillows. People who like to sleep on a tougher pillow cannot do it. I would advise to have 2 types of pillows available.

    The mattress was very comfortable and the bathroom is spacious and extremely clean. In the bathroom you can find everything you need: shower gel, shampoo, soap - in case you don't have any.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was rather hard and need more pillows. The hotel offers complimentary shuttle to and from the airport which is wonderful however our driver was very late and we had to call the hotel twice, returning to the airport there was miscommunication with another group but it was all was fixed and we got to the airport in plenty of time.

    Very nice staff Breakfast was wonderful-something for everyone Wifi was very good Our room was a very spacious suite Complimentary shuttle is wonderful Very clean hotel The toiletries offered were amazing About a 10 minute walk to the metro Access to mini bar for free was great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    6.3
    It worked for our purpose.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall, the staff is pretty friendly and helpful. However, being there twice for the last 35 days, we noticed that one of the boys at the reception was quite rude. He gave us different information from the other members of the staff and was generally unfriendly.

    The location was good for our goals.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    unfortunately no pool but there was a jacuzzi.

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, good shower. Beds were comfortable and room tidied/mini bar re stocked for free everyday. It was my boyfriends birthday, they left a card and free slice of cake to say happy birthday, very thoughtful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay, loved by people arriving from Australia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but rooms in Bulgaria don't supply these usually, perhaps they should have a think about this

    Everything was exceptional, only complaint we had was the bar bill, quite excessive, but we should have asked for the prices before sampling the excellent whiskys there, need I say more!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.0
    Breakfast very bad the egg was like stone and very cold...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very very bad the management must check to see how the eggs was prepared and put on table

    Breakfast very bad the egg was like stone and very cold first time I saw eggs like this and every morning the same breakfast ,no taste I don't recommend for any body this breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.5
    Quality seems to be deteriorating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast used to be great but this time there was no bacon and the coffee machine stopped working at one point. The room wasn't as clean as I would expect from a 4-star hotel. There was dust on the bed frame, which was quite easy to spot.

    I've stayed at this hotel many times and the best thing about it is the option of adding orthopedic top mattress and orthopedic pillows.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.0
    Recent delightful stay at the Metropolitan hotel in Sofia
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The designated smoking area on the 5th floor is very close to the rooms such that when someone was smoking I could smell the cigarette smoke.

    The bed was extra comfy. The staff was professional, it was very convenient for me by being close to my business destination.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.2
    Great for Business Travels
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no chance to get to the close Mall unless you enter a tunnel made only for cars. Unfortunately, the maps at the hotel were showing exactly that route which is forbidden for pedestrians. However, this is Sofia and this happens often around the city.

    Very suitable location for my needs. Friendly staff and great looking hotel overall.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.9
    Nice place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not very good sound proof, breakfast can be better, dishes selection in the main restraunt is very limited

    Very good staff, close to the ariport, free shuttle to the hotel and back to the airport, nice big room

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Metropolitan Hotel Sofia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: