Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sofia Residence Boutique Hotel 4 stars

63, Oborishte Street, Centrum, 1504 Sofia, Bulgaria

#27 of 179 hotels in Sofia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 364 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Penthouse
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very nice and cousy. Very friendly and helpful stuff. The breakfast was tasty. The location is perfect, 10 minutes from the center, several restaurants in the same area. Very good price for great quality.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Very personal and cozy little Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was right next to restaurant, so pretty loud until late night. No parking, although parking was part of my search filter on booking.com. Breakfast is being prepared just in time and served with cold coffee, if you are 5 minutes too late. Overwhelming decoration.

    Very personal and cozy little Hotel. Food in the restaurant was good, service however not. For Sofian standards, the neighbourhood is nice with little bars and restaurants, embassies and administrative buildings.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location, great decor and a stylish hotel but needs a little more attention to the details.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillow was too soft - my head sank onto the bed and it rose up around my head like a Handmaids Tale bonnet. Fridge was noisy and too close to the bed.

    Good location in a nice area. A few nice restaurants and bars nearby. Nice decor

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Boutique Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy air conditioning unit in the room. Limited bar Would have preferred a buffet breakfast rather than having to pre-order the day before

    Very friendly and helpful staff Beautiful room (Preslav) Good location; an easy 15 minute walk to city centre

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable and clean apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful spacious apartment with huge bathroom. Very clean & the most comfortable bed. Within walking distance to the main city areas but also with restaurants and bars close by. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Very convenient location, kind and efficient staff, hearty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Very convenient location, kind and efficient staff, hearty breakfast ( you choose a day in advance the kind of breakfast you want, time and place you will have it-- room or lobby bar). Five or so blocks from the Alexander Nevsky church. Nice residential area. Some cafes, a couple of restaurants, nice place. The restaurant at the hotel is convenient, good and with great cost benefit. I hired the airport transfer, justly priced, efficient and comfortable. Nice large room, huge bathroom with bathtub. Do stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay would highly recomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a meal at the restaurant attached to the hotel, long waiting time and food was not great. There was a small bar at th e hotel but not really anywhere to sit and have a drink. Didn't bother us too much as we just took back to our room.

    Staff were friendly and informative. The hotel was beautiful and clean, close enough to walk into the centre but far enough to be quiet and away from the bustle. The breakfast was fantastic! Huge portions and lots of choice. Room was gorgeous we had a king suite which was huge and lovely to come back to in the evening after a busy day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice and quiet area, well located, good accessorized room, really nice personnel, tasty breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As procedure, there is no receptionist during the night.

    Even though we had to choose from some fix breakfasts (vegan, continental, american, french etc.), it was more than enough. We even asked extra coffee with no extra payment. Rain shower with large cabin, large bathroom, with bathtub, lots of cleaning kits, shampoos/gels etc., soft towels, good quality slippers and bathrobe. Social responsibility painting on the wall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The King Suite Pleslav was spacious with the bonus of a small balcony where we enjoyed a drink or two. Other than no tea coffee making facilities in the room everything else was provided. A great breakfast choice could be had in your room or lobby area. All attractions are within walking distance and there are plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby. A great little hotel with plush surroundings - highly recommended. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    Cosy place to stay, clean and a good customer service from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the breakfast but a bit expensive compared to other places, we missed not having a toaster but it was really tasty breakfast. The room was perfect apart from the curtains that needed a new deco

    Cosy place to stay, clean and a good customer service from the staff Receptionist. Great Penthouse room, great views and near the St Alexander Cathedral. We walked to the center that is 10 to 20 minutes away from the property. Good breakfast with taste bio coffee.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Stayed in three hotels in Sofia during my stay there and this was by far the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tasteful decor in the bedroom, elegant but not overly-fussy; personal attention from staff who were happy to give directions and advice and order taxis; the option to pre-order breakfast the night before was really convenient as it meant no waiting around or lost time; tried the French breakfast on two mornings and it was delicious both times, well worth the extra €10

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    I especially liked the ambiance of the Residence and their...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not a complaint, only a point to note... the location is a 15 minute walk from the Alexander Nevsky church- perfect, but even further from the city center, so taking a taxi is better in this case. The reception can order a reputable taxi service.

    I especially liked the ambiance of the Residence and their personal touches. Thank you to Sveta who helped me in a challenge! There was a lovely Valentine's party organized by Svetla, the manager.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.3
    In my view I had the best room in the property compared to...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would recommend improving quality of the sheets/linens/pillows as a point of improvement.

    In my view I had the best room in the property compared to my colleagues. The bathroom was very clean with a separate bathtub and nice toiletries. The space was huge and the furniture was quite sweet - old antiques mixed with chaise long and lots of windows. Breakfast was on time and very good! Fruit salad and croissants were excellent. Staff were very friendly and with smiles. Check-in was late at night but they had worked out a way to check us in (as there is no reception in the evening). Would recommend rooms facing the back if you want more quiet rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay at Sofia Residence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views from the bedroom were not attractive (of surrounding buildings in reasonable disrepair), and the breakfast was not buffet. There is a small hotel “bar” but this serves limited beverages and closes at 10.30pm. There is a small restaurant next to the hotel (Cotto) which is advertised as the hotel’s restaurant - we visited this restaurant but we didn’t end up staying for food or drink because customers smoke inside without appropriate divisions separating non-smokers and smokers. While a few “dislikes” are listed, there is nothing else we disliked about our stay and we would stay here again.

    We stayed in a King Suite (Pliska) and it was beautiful! Very comfortable and lovely quality bedroom with lots of space. The bathroom was lovely with a big bath and a rain shower too. The hotel staff were so pleasant and helpful. The hotel is in a great location, very accessible to the centre of the city and we loved our regular walks to the city with many places to see. The breakfast was quite nice and we got to choose a breakfast in advance the night before from a menu. You can choose to have your breakfast in the small lobby or for free in your bedroom each morning. The hot chocolates in the bar were good (but the best hot chocolates in the world were in a hotel about 15 minutes walk away called Sense Hotel which we visited everyday for food and hot chocoate) and guests get free homemade macraroons during visits to the bar in Sofia Residence. Sofia Residence hotel is very well priced with good value.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable with excellent food options
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was served on a tray (no help yourself) and was expensive. After the first day, I sought other options up the street. The furniture was elegant and as a result the working surface was not a desk but a half moon vanity.

    The junior suite I booked was just as advertised - large, well furnished, new bathroom. The street the hotel is on provides and easy walk up to the main cathedral and the city centre. The staff were efficient and helpful. Most of all Restaurant Cotto associated with the hotel served delicious food - I became a regular.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    The hotel is perfectly situated - close to the city center...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is perfectly situated - close to the city center on a quiet street with embassies.Plenty of small restaurants, cafés and wine bars nearby. Each room is designed to match the client's personal preferences and gourmet breakfast is served in the room:) Hotel staff-extremely kind and helpful!Definitely worths a visit both for business or pleasure -among the hotel facilities you will find sauna and massage studio:)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    ONe of the best experiences in a hotel in Sofia. Great space, very cosy and comfortable, very nice personnel and very helpful. Rooms are big and clean with a very nice design. Breakfast is order-able one night before and you have a lot of very good choices.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    It's nice not to be disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather during our stay wasn't great but once again the staff went above and beyond @ the hotel and provided us with complimentary umbrellas

    Thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Sofia & at the hotel. I honestly have no complaints, they staff went above and beyond, the food was great and they catered to every request we had. It's a short walk from the city, the breakfast was top notch and recommendations by the staff added to our trip. I'd definitely be back as I hear the city really explodes with life during the summer.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    A great short stay in a really friendly city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we did not like about this hotel.

    It is a beautiful hotel. Our room was stunning. All of the staff were happy, friendly and helpful. The location was great for all of the sites.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    Centrally located boutique hotel, clean and neatly furnished; friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Penthouse
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was cigarette smoke coming into my apartment in the evening from other rooms or possibly from the restaurant below. In the morning there were kitchen smells coming in. In general, I think they should consider better isolation. Same with noise. In cold months additional blanket would be useful. No private parking available, just the regular street (Green Zone) paid parking. No one is available at the Reception from 22pm until 7am.

    Centrally located boutique hotel, clean and neatly furnished. Breakfast in the room at no additional charge. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Home away from home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff does it all- excellent welcome and care for the smallest details. The room was adorable, impeccably furnished and equipped. Value for your money in every sense.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    5.4
    Restless!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super noisy hotel, imposible to have a night sleep. The noise was coming from all the AC’ s placed on the exterior wall of the building. It felt like sleeping on top of a generator. The receptionist was offering ear plugs to solve the problem. Simply worst experience ever! Will never visit again, not recomend at all!

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    The perfect hotel, if it weren't for the noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the ground floor it is suffers from being very noisy from the local bar well into the night. Worth avoiding that room.I wouldn't bother with the airport transfer either, the guy didn't have a sign (as he was supposed to) so we didn't know he was for us. Cabs are about 15 lev from the airport and they charge about 40.

    Fantastic bathroom lovely looking rooms and staff were helpful. Perfect distance to the centre and plenty of food and drink options nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    WILL COME BACK
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all is great

    Everything in this hotel is unique - it have perfect location, wolking distance to all great places and restorants in Sofia ; Stuff are great - frendly , helpfull : quiet and boutiquie rooms, king type and size very comfortable bad ; deffinatly will come back !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    A comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel arranged an airport transfer and it was not far to the hotel which is located in a pleasant area with plenty of good places to eat. The cathedral is about 10 minutes away, it is however about half an hour walk to the Vitosha Boulevard area. Our suite was spacious and nicely decorated and had a small balcony. There is a lift which was handy for the suitcases. There was a good range of breakfast options, these have to be pre-ordered the day before and can be taken downstairs or in the room. Sve on reception was particularly friendly and helpful and showed lots of concern for my partner when he was a little unwell.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant with an excellent receptionist
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some may find it a bit far from the Vitosha Boulevard area Our airport transfer did not arrive and presumably was not booked properly as agreed although a taxi was then arranged We wanted to recommend the Cotto bistro which is attached to the hotel as it has good food but is usually quiet but unfortunately our experience on this visit means we absolutely cannot - both staff and customers were smoking inside the restaurant - horrid and against the law

    This was a return stay at the end of our trip This time our junior suite was on the ground floor (there is a lift for other floors) with a large shower in the large bathroom, again with a co-coordinating decor with a luxurious feel You can choose to have breakfast served in your room or in the lobby bar area, you need to pre-order the day before from a good list of options including for vegetarians We parked out the front of the hotel, there is a charge between certain hours although we avoided it The hotel is in a pleasant area with plenty of good quality dining options in the area, it is a 10 minute walk to the cathedral and half an hour to the Vitosha Boulevard The receptionist Sve deserves a mention for being so very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful choice of hotel to start our hln
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant menu could have been more interesting especially for international guests (UK)

    Beautiful stylish room, good size bathroom with everything you need, complimentary sparking wine was a great touch, super friendly receptionist

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful choice of hotel to start our hln
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant menu could have been more interesting especially for international guests (UK)

    Beautiful stylish room, good size bathroom with everything you need, complimentary sparking wine was a great touch, super friendly receptionist

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    I have to complain about payment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have to complain about payment. When i arrived hotel THEY CHARME ME AGAIN, WAS ALREADY PAID. You guys have to refund my second payment and inform. Who's fault this situation? Hotel blamed Booking.com which they didn't receive my payment from booking.com.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.9
    Really friendly reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfasts are... Interesting. You get a huge pile of food, but it's not necessarily what you would expect. The fruit bowl is great, the "fried loaf of bread with cheese" not so much.

    Really friendly reception staff. Fluffy towels.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    very comfortable and large spacious room & bathroom with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would have been perfect.

    very comfortable and large spacious room & bathroom with separate tub and shower. (Sedtrez) top floor suite. Breakfast in the room option is a nice touch.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    a wonderful spot for your stay in sofia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff was super friendly and helpful. the best italian restaurant in town is conveniently located right across the street. breakfast was fresh and delicious. room was ample and clean, as was bath.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    The hotel is just 10 walking minutes away from the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had no problem with street parking, but a secluded parking lot would have been nice.

    The hotel is just 10 walking minutes away from the city center. The super-friendly staff went far beyond what can be expected. Some rooms are so in fact large appartments and 5-star quality.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    Most enjoyable and a great start to our time in Bulgaria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was lovely with lots of great bakeries and places to eat close by and the girl on reception Svetla was so helpful & informative it was an absolute pleasure talking to her

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Nicest 3 days stay ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't recommend the Bulgarian breakfast, pick another one from the list, but coffee was real good.

    I loved the room, the view, the light filtering from the windows, the staff was amazing and very very nice to us (Especially Svetla ❤️). It was my boyfriend's birthday and they surprised us with a fine bottle of wine, a nice letter and a super cute handmade origami. If we had to go back to Sofia we would love to be their guests again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    Cozy hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is a bit away from the Center!!

    Breakfast was very good,you could choose what breakfast you like(English,Bulgarian)and to have ready in the morning that time you like!rooms are very large,with a separate living room and two bathrooms!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    An Elegant, Restful Boutique Hotel in a Great Neighborhood in Sophia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we had was on the corner and we could hear noise from the street.

    The Sophia Residence was our last place we stayed at the end of two weeks in Bulgaria. It was a bit of a splurge for us, since we don't usually stay in such fancy hotels. We had been staying in Airbnb apartments, two in the St.George church area of Sophia. One for a week in Plovdiv. The Sophia Residence on Oborishte Street was a very different feel than the other places we stayed. It has a very hip and trendy vibe, though some "regular people" are in the neighborhood, too. This boutique hotel had very friendly staff members. Each took time to ask about us and our travels. There were books and other tourist materials available. A well stocked mini-bar was tempting with beverages and snacks. They were very accommodating with our need for an extra night when we arrived a day early due to a mistake on my part. The room was lovely, with honeymoon suite feel to it. I used the lovely bath salts to have a nice bath in the old-fashioned tub, located in the bedroom area. The shower in the main, very modern bathroom was also fantastic. All of the bath products were free of the artificial fragrances which bother me, so that was amazing. Cozy robes and an expresso maker in the room added to the comfort. There was also a balcony with a small table and chairs, which would be perfect for an early riser to enjoy some coffee. The restaurants just a block or two away we visited were 33 Gastronauts and HleBar, which is a cafe/bakery that sells organic groceries and prepared deli type food along with bottles of craft beer and wine. Perfect for packing a picnic to head to the nearby park. 33 Gastronauts was as delicious and fit for a foodie as any restaurant in name-a-city in the U.S. You often need a reservation in restaurants in Bulgari, unless you eat early, i.e. 7:00 pm. Another restaurant, Atelier, was right next to 33 Gastronauts and would have been equally delicious, I'm sure. There was also a very active, fun looking bar two doors away, called FlipFlop.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Another fantastic break at the Sofia Residence with my two humans.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Penthouse
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing not to like about this fantastic hotel!

    I took my two humans on another fantastic break to the Sofia Residence. I had my usual room prepared for me and as always everyone was so kind to me (and my humans too of course). The breakfasts were of the usual high quality and we enjoyed the atmosphere in the bars and restaurants nearby. There are nice parks for me to exercise in and its only 20 minutes walk to Vitosha Boulevard for more bars and restaurants and of course shopping for the humans. As a former Bulgarian Street Dog I've learned to be content with most things in life (excluding being groomed) but the Sofia Residence really is a special treat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended! I would personally stay there again if I go back to Sofia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hairdryer is a very basic one.

    very friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast is amazing with different choices. There are some very nice restaurants nearby. The post office is just 2 min walk, which is convenient if you want to send postcards!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Highly recommended to stay there in Sofia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money, very comfortable hotel with spacious rooms of boutique style. And definitely, one of the best staff I've ever met. The situation of the hotel is perfect for reaching city sights and various restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.8
    Quirky, clean, and fun boutique stay in vibrant, beautiful part of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only problems we had which could have been just bad luck was the fact that there was no hot water (they may have been having maintenance) and we asked for breakfast to be delivered to the room but it wasn't and we had to then got the local cafe as we were in a bit of a rush the next day.

    The hotel was absolutely beautiful, the room was clean and quirky, the staff were very friendly and the location was perfect. There are lots of cafes and bars, a nearby park, and it was a 10 minute walk to the metro station with airport links.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.3
    Charming hotel, well located within walking distance from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a bit of a hustle upon the check-in, but apart from that, girls were very friendly. One has to choose the breakfast and state breakfast hour upfront, which may not be always very comfortable, when one is on a vacation. However, not a deal breaker, breakfast was very good. One thing we have noticed short before we left, looking at the booklet in the room - even though I have booked Junior Suit, we've been given a Classic Double room.

    Charming hotel, well located within walking distance from the Cathedral and the central area. Room was very clean, high quality toiletries. Breakfast was fresh and very tasty. Girls at the reception were very friendly. I would recommend this hotel further.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.6
    Superb hotel experience a convenient walking distance from the Sophia Cathedral
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Us British sometimes like to brew a cup of tea in the room - it would have been nice if a kettle, teabags and milk sachets were provided as is done by UK hotels.

    Truly excellent classical 'designer' decor and furnishings in our suite.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    old world charm with great breakfast and location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    bit tricky getting to your room if you arrive after reception is shut for the night

    very old world charm hotel like staying in someones well maintained house, very spacious rooms and generous breakfasts with plenty of choice, good location in city

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Great location, staff and breakfast
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rude waiter in the restaurant.

    Really good hotel experience, not so in the attached restaurant. The hotel was lovely and the staff extremely helpful, only about a 10 minute walk from the centre of Sofia. The breakfast was excellent with a very good choice. They were also very dog friendly, the staff making a fuss of our dog when we arrived. The food in the restaurant was good,but our experience with the waiter was bad. He seemed unhappy when we walked in and asked if we were staying at the hotel, and reluctantly led us to a table. We felt if we had not been staying he would have turned us away, he then threw a couple of menus on the table without speaking to us, and his attitude was so bad that my husband asked him what his problem was. He tried to make out that he was just busy because it was Easter, though there was only one other table of people. Certainly wouldn't recommend it for this reason only.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.8
    The staff was great, very helpful and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Broken coffee machine, the sofa in the guests room, small TV

    The staff was great, very helpful and welcoming. We stayed at the Tzarevetz suite, the room was impressive and well designed with a beatiful bathtub in the main room not far from the bed (which was great) - with that being said, the coffee machine in the room didnt work during all of our stay (5 nights stay, long anough to be fixed or replaced), the huge sofa in the seconed room - as much as it looked appeal was not that comforable and the tv should be replaced to a bigger one (was kind of small, seems smaller than 32""). Breakfasts were good - and since cabs in Sofia are so cheap- the location was alright

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.3
    Location in a nice green part of Sofia, 20 minutes walking...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast too expensive (10 euro's)

    Location in a nice green part of Sofia, 20 minutes walking from the centre, 15 minutes from Metro station University.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    Old Bulgaria charm and comfort
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit tricky working out your room if you arrive after reception closes at 11. Best to find out in advance which floor and room name you have

    Very large rooms, generous breakfast with lots of choices. Friendly staff and clean environment

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    5.4
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was servd from a restorant nir by. Thas coffi was cold, no refill of product. Time of breakfast was fix. No facilities at the hotel.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    9.6
    Very good hotel from all points of view, I will come back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was not able to turn the heat on.

    Very nice location, nice large room, good pillows (rare in hotels) and good food. Extremely friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    6.7
    Not for a quest with car there is no parking place
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After 10 o'clock they don't have reception in hotel,all quest are alone in hotel.Also there is no paring at all.Our car which was parked right at the hotel was stolen BMW X5 between oo30-01pm,Since there was no receptionist or any other staff member could offer assistance and police number.The receptionist started work at 07.30 am was only slighty surprised by these events and offered no assistance in the matter..Instead of calling manager or offering video material.We pay for parking 10euro per night for public parking.

    Room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    10
    Charming boutique hotel in the middle of Sofia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The comforter on the bed could have been a little larger.

    The service was excellent, the breakfasts delicious, the staff exceptionally helpful and very cordial.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    9.2
    The rooms are very large and clean , a large choice of very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very large and clean , a large choice of very nice breakfasts that are brought to the room, modern bathroom, the lovely girl at reception made us a coffee to take in the taxi when we were leaving the hotel, really nice restaurants near by ( Mediterraneo was great) and easy walking to all the attractions, nice quiet street - a great find !

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    Quality hotel in an inviting neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room - large and comfortable. Small friendly hotel located in an interesting area - lots of local restaurants

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    For the first booking: Very nice - the second irrelevent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To have to move to an other hotel for the second booking (16 July)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Cozy, retro style place to stay and enjoy! We loved it very much!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfasts were as for Royalty!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    All that is needed was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    All that is needed was excellent. Staff, rooms, food, location, everything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Super stay near the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the breakfast is outside an acceptable range. We did not take it.

    High quality hotel with friendly staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Great breakfast, comfortable stylish rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, comfortable stylish rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Nice place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place with realy friendly and helpfull staff. In down stear is good restaraunt.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    A home away from home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking

    No carpet room, centrally located

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Staff very helpful and actually very nice people too.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very helpful and actually very nice people too. Breakfast was good and was no trouble bringing it to my room too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly staff - great breakfast - good atmosphere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff - great breakfast - good atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Very good indeed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not use the cafe/restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Location and friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Very cozy clean and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value for money. Friendly sraff. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.8
    Too much noise from the outside air conditioning units
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too much noise from the outside air conditioning units

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice place

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    I am back in February:)
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was really excellent!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel, excellent service, I highly recommend it for a stay in Sofia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Penthouse
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff were lovely, really friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.6
    Kind personnel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very kind service!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    Really enjoyed this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely quirky place to stay, rooms were comfortable, staff were very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Best choice for couples
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can not think of anything

    Great hotel in quite embassy district. Close to centre of town.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sofia Residence Boutique Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: