Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Riga 4 stars

22 Pridunavski Bul., 7000 Ruse, Bulgaria

#12 of 47 hotels in Ruse

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1208 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in the bathroom was broken; a lots of dust in the room; there was not enough toilet paper - 1/5 of the roll; all six pillows in the room smells awful; the bed sheets were old and wasteful; there is no breakfast included in the price.

    Location, view and staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is good. Not fully renovated, so if you stay and want to sleep after 09:00 forget! Construction works in hotel not so noisy BUT enough to wake you. Elevator is from 1970-s, working good but for this category is not applicable... Windows in rooms cannot be opened correct: there's two direction opening window, but you cannot open up. Railroad under hotel, and when train crosses... noise raises unacceptable. Walls are too thick and if somebody sneeze in other room you can say "Bless you". Hotel restaurant sucks: more than 20 minutes wait for salad... what to say? Waitress looks at her mobile more that for clients requests, I'm waiting more than 10 minutes for my request for desserts. More of that: in hotel confectionery they have 5-6 ckaes and other sweet things but if you ask for cake waitress say: only two sweets and these two was horrible to see, not to eat... Hotel acceptable, restaurant NOT, NOT and NOT!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a HUGE cockroach in our room crawling around on the floor... Not sure where it came from. Shower leaked slightly.

    We stayed on the renovated 6th floor and it was very nice. The rooms were nice and the beds were comfortable. Beautiful views of the Danube River. Staff was very pleasant. The breakfast was good but coffee was terrible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried to dinner at restaurant Panorama. Used both elevators but when getting to the restaurant's floor, the door wouldn't open. At least the guy from reception could communicate this.

    Very nice position, near Danube, close to center of town. Friendly staff at the reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet not working in the room... It worked everywhere else in the hotel except from the floor that I was staying (10th). Asked them to fix it, they did so the next day, but only worked for half the day. Breakfast very, very poor and breaksfast lounge very old, dark and seemed dirty. This is how the rest of the hotel (except from the new lounge, reception and renovated rooms), looked like, old and dirty. Waiters at the bar outside did not speak english well, difficult to understand us.

    The best feature is the location, exactly next to the Danube river and the view from my room (10th floor) was breathtaking. The renovated rooms are very nice, big, with extra large and comfortable bed, nice linen, big flat screen TV, nice bathroom with hydromassage (shower, not bathtub), minibar ok and cheap. The 'Summer Garden" was very nice, open space by the river, where you can enjoy a drink or meal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for the parking is too high.

    I liked the hotel, the staff was very kind, room was big and spacious, all of my requirements were met. I loved the big windows with Danube river view. Did not have the time to try the breakfast. Would love to stay there again. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not confortable at all.

    Breakfast was ok (even if the coffee was not good at all). Nice view from the room (on Danubio). The staff at the lobby was quite good and kind!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The open air garden restaurant, good service but food was bad. Not done by a professional Cheff

    I booked that hotel few times, meaning I am coming again and again. room face the Danube River. Excellent bad mattress. Good breakfast. Free parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast ordered was good but self service items were deleted at 9:40 when breakfast ran to 10am so was a little disappointing.

    Very spacious and well appointed room with outlook over the river Danube. Receptionist and waitress at dinner both very efficient and pleasant and spoke good English. Easy walk to centre of city and along the path by the Danube. Food at restaurant was very good and great value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Surveilance cameras were not working, we needed verification of a bag on checkin. Phones not working, TV packed up on the last night, no courtesy toothbrush at reception, no english menu, no room servie menu. Breakfast spread limited (and cold at 09:30 am)

    Very nice view, good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view of the river and city is amazing from the 9th floor. Their staff is really friendly and speak fluently English. They have a large parking area. The room and bathroom have a good size and we had fruits, two small bottles of water and coffee and tea as courtesy. It is possible to walk around the river side and to the Liberty Square. We recommend this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is really poor. Not at the hotel’s level.

    The room was comfirtable & clean. Reception staff was very polite and nice. Locatiin is good too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints

    Hotel with beautiful view of the Danube . Clean rooms, comfortable and quality furniture, staff very friendly and professional, breakfast is diversified and abundant, very tasty. The hotel is on walking distance of all sights, pedestrian zones and restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you get the train to Rousse and are heading to the hotel on foot, don’t follow Google Map’s instructions. It takes you a longer and confusing route. Basically walk to the square, go straight on past the courthouse, and you will be there in five minutes.

    Great location for the river and main square. Staff were fabulously helpful and even gave us an upgrade. I would say easily the best value for money hotel I have ever stayed in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need a bit of maintenance for the elevator (2 out of 3 is working).

    Spacious car park and superb view of the Danube. The panorama roof top restaurant is excellent. I really enjoy my stay in this communism era style hotel. Although decors and furniture look a bit dated but the Communism style is functional and provide a good atmosphere. Ask for room 806 which a good view of the sun set.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heat didn't work in my room. I should have said something to the staff but I was tired and added another cover but it was really cold in the morning. I told the desk the next day and they said "let us give you another room" I said "just give me the key to another room because I don't want to have to pack twice" they gave me a heater instead and I stayed in the old room.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, nice room, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Either they decided to end the breakfast earlier or the quality and the diversity was really bad.

    Modern and classy inferior, very clean, very good for relax. Easily accessible and very good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast very, very limited and only toast bread

    room upgrading and bed very room incl bed very comfortable . Very good restaurant and waiters for reasonable price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator is a little bit scary. There is no door in the cabin and you can see the walls and other doors from each floor during the motion. But there is no risk of getting injuries if you stay away in the back corner of the cabin , hope so...

    Location, View of Danube, Facilities and Cleanliness. Also the restaurant on top of the HOTEL is great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only the air conditioning in the room was still in heating mode while it was 20 degrees outside. We had to turn it off and open the windows. Due to high floor the room gets really hot, even if it is not very hot outside. Without good air conditioning it is unbearable.

    Great location and great view! Totally recommend the executive rooms and apartments on floor 10! The stuff is friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and spacious. The bathroom was very fancy as well even if not everything in the shower was working 10/10. Cozy!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked the fact that we paid for a normal room and the stuff made us a surprise: they gave us an exclusive room at same price. We enjoyed our time here and we'll come back for sure! Wonderful sunsets here, super view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is being renovated. Some works are in progress though they do not bother much.

    Great location. Polite staff. With a wonderful view to the river. There is a classy restaurant on the top floor for people with some extra money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the facilities need additional renovation. The new rooms are nice (though I don't like the fact hat the windows upon fully with no security measures), but still not what I expected - the high-tech showers did not actually work and leaked on the floor even when closed, and most of the rest of the hotel was very dated.

    wonderful staff & great location!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to wait a little bit more than expected in order to be accommodated, but I'm okay with that.

    The beds were very comfortable and the view was amazing. Everything was just perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed in the room

    nice hotel, clean, nice staff, nice view, good location, but the room was poor, bed very uncomfortable and with a very old mattress, they do reparation works so it was also noisy starting with 9 am so no possibility to relax

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the breakfast could have been more fresh and traditional rather than the classic ham and salami, but it's only a minor complaint, as it really helped us start our day.

    I asked for an upper floor room, as I wanted to take some panoramic photos and I got lucky (ok, the staff really helped me), not only I got a 10 floor room, but it was upgraded to executive. The view was amazing and we had all the confort needed. The extralarge bed was super comfortable, the bathroom perfect clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is really DATED. We did book an executive room (supposedly newer and nicer) but got a small room with furniture and wallpaper pealing off, the shower door was missing and there was mold. There was also construction work going on (i.e. heavy duty drilling) and the staff was rude, nothing we asked for was provided and we got a lot of “meh”, eye rolling and “I didn’t promise this so not my problem” (incl. they did not get our “wake up call” right). Would not stay there again.

    Great view of the Danube

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great service, the stuff was very polite. Nice and very clean room, king size bed, very comfy. I booked double comfort room, but got upgraded to executive room at my arrival which was quite a nice surprise.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed has two single mattresses, joint together... this is not quite ok, although the bed and pillows were comfortable.

    The location and view from the hotel are great, the staff was friendly, everything spick-and-span. It's a good example of how you can make a comunist-era hotel look great again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Both in the mehana and in the breakfast room was too cold, in was needed more that a pullover.

    The receptionist noticed that I arrive on my birthday and made me a gift: he upgraded my room to a superior one. The room was excellently heated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am happy with what I have for the price paid. I only stay one night, so truly I can not say that something was wrong for such a short stay.

    I check-in in hotel at 1 am, the staff was very fast and polite, knowing what is the time. The hotel lobby has excelent interior. Room has magnificient view to the Dunabe River and city. Located just a walking distance from city centre, where you can find very beautiful buildings from the early 20th century. Room has quite good furniture, confortable bed with reasonable size, mini bar, clean bathroom. Very large tv and free wifi. My advice for further travel is to book Executive room not confort room. It is much better furnished and new. Breakfast was acceptable - rare they offer free expresso included in breakfast. Free parking was available. Lobby is quite nice, with very good bar and coffe was amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The towels weren't the cleanest I've seen. The whole bathroom seems to be falling apart. Nothing was working properly, except the sink. Needs more maintenance.

    Huge and modern room, very good breakfast. We booked a better room category but still got upgraded on arrival to even bigger and better room. All staff was exceptionally polite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff is really, really kind, I like them all , they are very customer oriented. The Danube view from the room is amazing. The hotel is really well located, at walking distance from the city center. Food is generally really good and the quatro formaggi pizza, in particular, is the best :-) .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited breakfast choice. Hot food not kept hot enough.

    Pleasant and helpful staff. Free Parking. Big comfortable rooms. River view. Great Mehana style restaurant in the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The waitress in the afternoon was serving cold soup and when we send it back she was rolling her eyes and not very nice. With breakfast there was the same waitress and there was no service at all. No coffee cups no glasses, no eggs. when we asked she had something else to do....... what a shame one stupid waitress makes a nice experience turn to a bad memory.

    Very nice Hotel with a very good panorama restaurant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was slow. It worked fine for a few hours then became very slow. It is 2017, a hotel room with slow/non existent internet is not really a hotel room.

    D. Deneva at the fron desk did an exceptional job in making us feel welcome (give her a raise)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property needs to be updated. Rooms are very shopworn. In addition, the town is doing major road construction within a block of the hotel, blocking access to the hotel and egress to the town. Hopefully when the construction is completed, it will improve access.

    The hotel is convenient to the old town area. The food in both the taverna and Panorama restaurant was excellent and the staff was very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks very Soviet from the outside so I was hesitant at first :) but that's the only downside that I encountered!

    Great spacious rooms overlooking Danube. Great restaurant Panorama on the top floor with priceless view. Friendly staff. Very good service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Renovation needed in shower. The breakfast cafe...

    The view fantastick. The room was big and comfortable. The bed was high and the matress nice, also the pillows. The restaurant in the top amazing and the food was very tasty and gourmet... The price was ok

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room decorations not to everyone's taste, to say the least Breakfast with very little options (and almost none of them healthy) An old, shabby hotel that underwent a partial, low-cost refurbishment Actual rating would be around 3 stars, definitely not 4 Free Wi-fi not working in the room

    Extraordinary view to the Danube Super comfy beds Free upgrade Friendly staff Just a short walk to the beautiful city center Beautiful panoramic windows that you can actually open wide

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent!

    This is my favorite hotel in Ruse. The hotel is just next to the river and the view is very pleasant. There is huge parking, the staff is extremely kind and helpful. In the evening there was a lady, who played on piano in the lobby and it was so nice. The rooms are big enough, with high speed internet connection, free of charge. The hotel is not a far away from the Ruse's main street and the walk in this beautiful Bulgarian city is very energizing. I recommend this hotel to everybody who have business in Ruse or Bucharest. Enjoy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered breakfast but after the first morning, we cancelled as it was 8 euros pp and wasn't very good...all I could find to eat was a slice of toast.

    We were upgraded on arrival which was lovely and the room had fabulous views over the Danube. The room was modern and well equipped , with coffee making and mini bar. The hotel has a lovely restaurant on an upper level which was quite expensive but had good waiter service and the food was good...the views were wonderful .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fresh coffee for breakfast. This was a bit a pity.

    Fantastic view over the Danube river. Huge room, very clean and good breakfast. Friendly and English speaking personal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant was so good last year that we came back this year again. Fantastic. Both myself and my wife Karen really enjoyed our stay. Thank you for making our holiday perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need to upgrade the pillows with better quality ones.

    Very good hotel after the renovation. The Executive suite is great with great view to Danube river.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little problem with window that I managed to solve by myself.

    Perfect location 5 min from city center and the shoppung street, Danube river view, close to the Therassa restaurant which is one of the best. Very cozy room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast too basic, the service in the breakfast ugly, they did not renew the products. the spa too basic.

    Wonderful room, modern and confortable. Incredible views on the Danube. Nice staff, they upgraded us without cost. great that the spa was included

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    W booked the hotel because it had a very good restaurant over looking the river as it was our 35th wedding anniversary only to find that it was closed also the traditional Bulgarian one the only one open was the garden restaurant which wasn't very special .

    Breakfast very good selection the staff very nice the reception staff were exceptional.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Junior Suite - Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and the most part of the hotel are not clean. On the breakfast table were cockroaches so we went and eat in another place. They did not charge the breakfast and took 25% off of the room price. Only the executive rooms seem nice in pictures and I understand that were refurbished a few years ago. The rest needs serious renovation. We were very disappointed.

    The view. The Menu in the Panoramic restaurant is very spectacular but the food was just good, nothing spectacular.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great hotel, processional front desk staff, very clean, easy walking distance to city center and its attractions. Located right on the Danube River with great views. Special thanks to Georgi at the front desk for his assistance while there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast organisation can be much better. Rooms have thin walls so a noisy neighbour may be posing some problems mostly during night times.

    Very friendly staff. Room's view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Carpet deserves to be cleaned, bathroom equipment is not exactly new (towel hanger fell from the wall during the stay).

    Excellent location in walking distance from city center, good breakfast, quiet room, wonderful view on Danube river, professional staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered the breakfast on the first morning but we were disappointed by it...6 euros per person. It was easy to cancel it and we found ok places locally for breakfast at much cheaper price.

    The views from our room....which the hotel kindly upgraded for us...was fabulous. The room was spacious and had a lovely huge bed. Facilities were great, with tea, coffee making as well as a mini bar. The hotel also has a range of spa, massage options, some free. The panorama restaurant was great ....very good service and nice food, but expensive in Bulgarian terms. Worth it though for one night!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too short stay, to find inconveniences :)

    Easy to find, very kind and helpful staff, good isolation from noise, comfort, a lot of facilities, nice view of Danube.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Junior Suite - Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect.the room big,the bed was extremely comfortable,the bathroom and the shower perfect and the view too.good wifi connection on the 9 floor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    The room was magnificant, the bathroom brandnew, every little detail was well thought! The food in the gardenrestaurant was very good and located just near the Donau! Service was very friendly!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lousy internet (actually no internet at all), breakfast was of limited quality and I would not recommend it. It was not worth paying to eat there.

    Value for money, perfect location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food in the restaurant wasn't as good quality as we'd had elsewhere, although the service was exceptional. The bathroom looks very modern but both the jacuzzi shower and the shower over the bath leaked all over the bathroom floor... grouting needed!

    Staff were lovely. Room was huge with effective aircon and comfortable bed. Great view of the Danube. We were upgraded upon arrival, which is always a good start! Easy parking in their carpark- free as long as you get the ticket validated when you leave. Good location- less than 10 mins to walk to the main square. Restaurant has a nice outdoor seating area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was amazing! We have booked 2 comfort rooms but the receptionist at the front desk gave us a free upgrade to executive rooms. The rooms were very modern with new furnishing, great views of the Danube river, sporless clean and with a complimentary fruit basket and sweet chocolats on the pillows. Everyone of the staff, from the doorman to the hotel manager were very helpfull abd attentive to guests needs. The location if the hotel is close to everything. I would definitely stay there again and I will recommend it to everyone

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful view of the Danube from floor nine. A pianist played in the lounge some nights. It is a reasonable walk to the town centre with numerous eateries. There is a most pleasant garden restaurant.n

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi on the 9th floor did not work, so we used the restaurant one

    The hotel has a great view of the Danube river. We were upgraded to a deluxe suite with a river view on a high floor. There were fruits and water in the room waiting for our arrival in a very hot summer day. Staff was very helpful. Bed was comfortable. We had dinner in the garden restaurant and breakfast was served on the main floor that had a terrace. All was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last time we were upgraded, not this time, so of course found the room not as nice but still very confortable Panorama restaurant was closed and also the outdoor one, so we had no other choice than to go to the "traditional taverna" where the food was very average. From this point of view, we were disappointed.

    The view over the Danube is fantastic Nice staff Big room and bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the executive room, the shower cabin leaked and the entire bathroom floor was covered in water. At a late hour of the night (about 2 am) the water was only cold, even though we've waited about 30 minutes for it to get warmer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Junior Suite - Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated rooms. No hot water. Had to shower in room on another floor.This hotel is dangerous! Total power cut with no back up generator. Went down service stairs in the dark! Think Grenfell tower disaster in London! No managemention apology or refund offer!

    Fantastic location with all bedrooms overlooking the Danube.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed here for a few nights and it is a superb hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful, the executive room I had was luxurious with a wonderful view across the Danube. The spa and fitness centre are good and the massage lady is outstanding. I had some deep seated aches in my back when I arrived, she cleared them all. I believe she trained as a physiotherapist as well as a masseuse. Wi fi and air conditioning work well and parking is easy. I have been travelling round Bulgaria for 2 weeks and this is the best breakfast I have had in that time. It is a truly excellent hotel and ridiculously cheap for what it offers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    With the elegant glass wall in the shower the sinker cleaning needs more attention, otherwise the bathroom become full with water.

    We get a free upgrade of the room at the arrival. Helpful and kindly staff, pleasant room, very good price. The drink selection in the bar it was a nice surprise.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Love this place. Very nice and comfortable large room and bathroom, great views of the Danube. Very friendly reception desk who always upgrade me to a better room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some facilities have a low standart due to their age or poor ambition yet, especially the spa, but still good sauna there. Food in the panoramic resto is not as good you could expect, the views on the sunset on the river kind of save it.

    Perfect location, stunning views on the Danube, amazing building though some parts getting a bit older, very clean bathrooms (we were upgraded to the executive rooms), a lot of facilities, rich breakfast, professional staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window didn't close properly so we heard the wind blowing. Also it wasn't very clean (we were on the 9th floor).

    Great location, close to city center. Great view. They upgraded our room from comfort to executive free of charge. Free parking. Very comfortable bed, nice big bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slow to get hot water from shower.

    Friendly staff. Nice location on Danube. Thanks for upgrade. Rooftop restaurant v nice and great views. Free parking. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wanted to take a shower after midnight and there was not hot water even after waiting for some time. The breakfast the first day was depleted as there were a lot of guests. The coffee is terrible.

    The hotel has been recently renovated so the decor was fine. Overall an ok experience. We were upgraded to a better room free of charge which was a nice gesture. The breakfast the second morning was fresh plentiful and the breakfast room itself empty.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room was lovely. View was great across the Danube and over the city at night was especially spectacular. Staff were all friendly and professional. We will definitely come again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The high level showers with radio, lights, etc. are an high-quality complement, but the water-isolation was not good enough, so after a short shower the bathroom-floor got wet...

    It was our first visit in this city. We choosed the hotel because of the amazing views of the Danube and because of the excellenty renovated rooms (I think only some floors of the hotel have been renovated). So it is better to take a look of the room you choose, brefore getting an old (surely cheaper) and not-renovated one. The rooms are amazing, we (2 adults and two children) had enough place and enjoyed our stay very much. The breakfast is OK and enough, but for the excellent service and room we had, one could expect a litte bit more... The parking in front of the hotel is easy and comfortable. We didn´t park ot take look of the subterrain-one.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't clean enough especially on the corners.

    The hotel staff was very friendly and kind. The room was larger than usual, very comfortable bed and pillows, clean bathroom. The breakfast was good, but not as expected. Anyway, it was enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet access in the room was horrible, didn't work most of the time in the room but worked in the lobby and restaurants. Horrible smell in the room, coming from the bathroom, probably a plumbing issue. Elevators are a little creepy (no inner doors).

    Room looked good and clean, restaurants are all okay and rather cheap, nice location, close to the river and city center. Didn't have time to try the spa center. Staff was friendly and well spoken in English. Breakfast was okay.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel Riga traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: