Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Royal Palace Helena Sands 5 stars

Sunny Beach, 8240 Sunny Beach, Bulgaria

#12 of 404 hotels in Sunny Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 110 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    2.9
    Awful stay, stressful experience..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got food poisoning at the first night after eating at the buffet restaurant at the hotel. Was truly awful.. i had to see medical treatment. It spoil our stay. The staff couldn’t care less about anything... And specially at the guy at the restaurant (the manager) was so rude.. the hotel used to be nice 5-6 years ago but now its def not! Its not been updated (we had a rusted metal thing on the bath and i was worried my daughter will scaratch herself on it) the hot warer kept on changing from hot to cold while showering.. When you are paying £175 a night you expect a lot more from a hotel. We stayed at room 1708 and its linked room, so you can hear the people next room talking.. The restaurant got 2 seating 6-7:30 and then 8-9:30. If you go at 7pm at 7:30 - they wont let you have anything. We were bulied from the restaurant manager that we were late and not allowed to have from the food which was been getting layed out for the 8pm seating.. its ridiculous as most people with kids would eat around 7.. Very stressful experience..

    The location and the pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room cleaning was not on the level, especially on the terrace.

    Excellent location. A quiet and peaceful place in Sunny Beach. Dear and responsive staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Overall the resort is nice, clean and well maintained. But there are some things they need to adress
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were a couple of things I would list under “I did not like” or stuff, the property should definitely address in the future if they want to stay as and be looked at a good place to go. #1-I have made the reservation form US using the website booking.com. During my reservation process, I listed the number of guests as 2 adults and one 17yrs old, which the site listed under kids (anyone under 18), based on my search It was recommended to choose the biggest available apartment which was the mesonet, and I did. I paid 556.00 euros for 3 night for 3 of us. Upon arrival the receptionist told me that the reservation is for only 2 adults and 2 kids under 12, and since my son was 17 I had to pay extra for him. So If I had 2 kids age 12 I would be fine, but for one who was 17 I had to pay about 260 more euros, which to me was insane. I am not sure if this was a problem with the web I booked through, or the resort itself, but I think people need to be aware, since to me is more like a scam. #2- I think the property has to have a welcome walk through, so they can show the guests where the amenities are, where the breakfast and dinner are served, where is the wellness center, where us the pool and rest area, etc. May be they do have one, but it was not with us. We had to go down to the reception and ask where everything is located and the funny part was that once we got to the room we’ve noticed that there was no power. Once we called the receptions we were told that you need to use your door key card to have electricity which apparently is something the hotels in that part of the world do, but not in western Europe and US so I would consider this as something that needs to be mentions upon arrival. #3- absolutely unacceptable in my opinion. Even though they had diner included and the diner was awesome all the time with such a variety and options, but this does not include drinks.

    The location of the property was great. We have booked a mesonet apartment for my husband I and our 17yrs old son. We had great view of our two balconies, the apartment was cleaned and well maintained. Overall the resort was very clean. The highest score I will give for the food, the variety and the quality and stuff in the restaurant and the kitchen was great, I would give them 10 out of 10

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, great value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking, no valet, had to go park your own car in pretty small spaces. Room service charges 10 leva to bring you ice to the room, makes little sense to me. No towels on pool or beach, had to go to reception to ask for them. Very few small changes can make this a world class 5 Star hotel..

    Excellent hotel, great value for the money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    2.5
    RUDE Bulgarian stuff and Management .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rude Bulgarian stuff and impolite hotel management. It is NOT a 5 star Hotel . It is not value for your Money.

    Only the entance of the Hotel was nice ..Other things are exactly horrible ..Especially rude Bulgarian stuff .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    The location is absolutelly wonderful: it really looks like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a trick with the sunbeds on the beach. Right in front of the middle part of the hotel there is a paying zone, but on the left and on the right there is the free beach zone for the Helena's guests. So, be careful on that!

    The location is absolutelly wonderful: it really looks like a park inside the resort. The cleanliness of the pools, the restaurant and the common areas was excellent. The food was good. I could find something for my baby boy to eat every day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Rooms with a lovely sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were not cordial at the reception.Rooms lacked the freshness and the bathrooms was little stinky.

    Rooms with a lovely view and very close to the beach!Beach was maintained very clean and offered a nice view of the mountains.Huge spread for the Buffet breakfast and was tasty too.Resort looks very beautiful at night and not to miss the fountain at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking place at this hotel is not free of charge. Even if there is a possibility to park the car free of charge at another hotel close to Helena Sands but from the same group, the personnel from reception is not informing you, trying to make you choose to pay the parking, which makes you feel uncomfortable related with personnel attitude. Maybe a more open and customer oriented approach is better for hotel credibility.

    Nice place, close to seaside, nice outside pool, great breakfast and dinner

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.1
    Excellent hotel for the level of Bulgaria, but Europe is not here yet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Despite the fact that there is a menu without gluten, in fact the choice is limited. Most of the attendants do not know what gluten is. This is quite unacceptable for a hotel of this level. The hotel staff is generally quite friendly, but there are exceptions.

    Excellent breakfast and a wonderful dinner (drinks for extra payment). Suite with sea view is quite comfortable, with two toilets - excellent choice for the family 2 + 2. For the second child an additional payment. Good SPA in the hotel with different types of saunas, but not all facilities are free - e.g. Turkish bath is for extra payment.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area and pool are not clean and very slippery I saw 3 people have quite bad falls. The only time I saw the life guard move was when he was packing up the sun beds and to watch the animation.the pool had a lot of sand in it every day in the same places. I witnessed a young child urinate by the edge of the pool. Nothing was said to the parent as no staff around the pool.

    Lovely hotel. Food was very good. Really nice touch that they allocate you a table for evening meal instead of the usual cattle market. We were upgraded to a suite which was a lovely big room. The on site fish restaurant is superb.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    It's the third time when we stayed to Helena Sands
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There isn't wireless connection in the restaurant.

    This time the wireless in the room was ok. The cleaning. The food were more tasteful than last year.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    Sunny beach Bulgaria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Along the strip where there are a lot of shops, there were too many people riding electric trikes at high speed. It felt like an accident in the waiting. This wasnt anything to do with the resort and they had signs warning not to do this outside the resort.

    Location was great. The private beach was excellent. The man (Bizer) who looked after the sun loungers on the beach was very friendly. The food at both breakfast and dinner was of a very good quality and selection. We definitely would recommend to friends and family.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.9
    Overall a relaxing beach stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was not friendly at all. When we asked for area information, they seem to be uninterested to help us. You could only get pool towels between 2 to 3 pm. No one could explain the logic of this and the kept saying its the hotel policy. So unreasonable and bizarre! We had to switch towels in the middle of our sun bating and take the dirty towel to your room and use the next day till 2pm.

    Our room was large and beautiful. Nice balcony and a view of the garden. The pool area was lovely. The food was generous and had a variety.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    7.1
    Wi-FI connection was excellent, staff were very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel beach was quite small ( you had to be quite early morning there to get your sun beds ) and sand on the beach was not clean ( cigarets and other waste ), sun bads had their best days long time ago. Hotel beach can't be considered 5* hotel beach. Hotel breakfast and dinners provided very good variety of food but warm food was usually quite heavy and not really for children ( oily and salty ) or vegans, if you have food intolerances, can be quite a challange to find suitable food. When traveling with children, consider that we were not the only family in that area who had problems children were heavily vomittting from food,

    Wi-FI connection was excellent, staff were very friendly and helpful, swimming pool area was nice, hotel room was ok, but with some noise from outside.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fresh air!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    All in Your hotel and resturant was best of best!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All in Your hotel and resturant was best of best!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    we will return soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Espresso can be at the breakfast free

    The croassaint wasn't so good but the foods wereextremly good,the wines were fine!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Location, cleanliness, courtesy of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking must be paid, too few seafront places.

    Location, cleanliness, courtesy of staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    Free beach zone - unfriendly and poor organized for hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Free beach zone - unfriendly and poor organized for hotel clients. Very complicated parking rules.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    Probably the best hotel in Sunny Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cleaning and functional details that are pulling down the general impression. View from room.

    Pools Location Food Interior decoration

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    The place to be ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows :)

    Attention to details, great fish restaurant, close to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Clean and nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    distance from airport to hotelhighly rec

    atmosphere was great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Still № 1 in Sunny beach!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location, Staff and especially the Manager of the hotel!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.6
    Service, very good Kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service, very good Kitchen.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.2
    Great location, very friendly stuff, very good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A better cleaning - a little smell in room , not smell nice (as a room perfume) Noisy air conditioner Outside pool it was better if was heated I think they are not fully prepared to start from 1May and Easter.

    Great location, very friendly stuff, very good food.. maybe the best hotel in Sunny Beach

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    10
    Comfortable spacious room on the 8th floor nice and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On a couple of occasions the breakfast bacon was very fatty after waiting on it getting made and beans cold also the water machine for morning tea was not very hot but other mornings it was great

    Comfortable spacious room on the 8th floor nice and quiet. Staff easy going and friendly but very efficient. The hotel prices for drinks &minibar very fair. Great location on the beach but not far from centre

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    10
    This is our second stay here and everything fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is our second stay here and everything fantastic. A superbly managed hotel with a world class spa. One of our most favorites places in the world

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    10
    Great hotel and location if traveling with young children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Poor WIFI reception in the rooms, only on the balcony you can manage to get a signal..available in the loby and in the pool

    Great hotel and location if traveling with young children. The only hotel in the Sunny Beach where there is no free excess from the prominade, there is actually a guard at the entrance. Great value for maney

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    8.8
    -Cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    -They demanded extra 15 levas from us for every hour of late check out,as the hotel was available. -Paid drinks for dinner

    -Cleanliness -Spa facilities -Comfortable beds

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.1
    Personal was very helpful and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Our room with twin bed wasn't really good and fresh condition, room was not looks so nice as a Hotel at all. We were a little disappointed with our room. It was a slippery floor near swimming pool, many kids were fallen. Wifi is free of charge, but not always available. We waited for our wifi router for two days, so as a general wifi was very slow.

    Personal was very helpful and attentive.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    10
    Staff was excelent, food was good with plenty of choice,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi worked only in the hotel lobby but they said they're working on it

    Staff was excelent, food was good with plenty of choice, pool always has enough sunbeds. Overall it was the best 5star Bulgarian hotel we stayed at; would definitively return.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    8.3
    -beautiful architecture in the style of the Bulgarian...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    -free but useless wi-fi in the public areas only (the worst I ca-n remember); -the so called free parking was with charge (10 BGN / day); I also lost precious time to understand where to pay and beside that, I had to move the correctly parked car along the sidewalk to another similar location because that place was "reserved" to someone else; -I was given the room at the 3rd floor even if I asked for the highest floor available (8 floors in total); -noisy, uninspired shows are taking place in the inner courtyard until midnight and, even after that some dumb & drunk tourists are talking and laughing loud outside; disturbing the entire hotel;

    -beautiful architecture in the style of the Bulgarian Renaissance; -complimentary upgrade to a junior suite - clean spacious room with balcony; -awesome buffet meals (breakfast and dinner); -free sunbeds and umbrellas in the large enough hotel's private beach; -beautifully designed courtyard and swimming pool;

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.2
    I had an Excellent 7 day stay here in June 2015.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I had an Excellent 7 day stay here in June 2015. The hotel staff are very attentive and the choice of food for breakfast and dinner is superb. It is located almost a mile from the central part of sunny beach so it's very quiet and away from the bars and clubs. The free wifi didn't work in my room and the manager happily installed a router ( free of charge) in my room to ensure I was fully connected.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    9.6
    Das Personal war vom Anfang,bzw.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Gluecklicherweise sind keine Beanstandungen vorhanden gewesen!!!

    Das Personal war vom Anfang,bzw. beim Empfang , im Restaurant bis zur Abfahrt immer freundlich,mit einem Laecheln im Gesicht. Da fuehlten wir uns Willkommen!!!

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    10
    The hotel excedeed our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel excedeed our expectations. It is situated in a quiet area away from the noise in the center of Sunny Beach. The food is plenty and varied and it tastes really good. You pay for the drinks in the evening but it's not expensive at all. The rooms are spacious and clean. The beds are huge, they could have been a little more softer but still they are good quality. The hotel gardens make you feel you're in paradise with all the plants being taken care of perfectly. This is probably the most amazing thing about this hotel. All the rooms (i think, are facing the pool with a nice design fountain and the sea. Quality people in the hotel, there were mostly Germans when we went there in May 2015. Free parking spots in front of the hotel. The price is quite ok for what they offer (at least in May). The bar is nice and they serve quality drinks. They have Eracleea hot chocolate which is very good and thick. Nice to lounge there before going to bed. Staying on the balcony is also nice watching the pool and the sea. Overall, a nice luxurious hotel, i would definetly come back. The wifi is free although they say it's paid. The pictures on booking don't reflect how beautiful everything is actually :)

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Over rated!

    Location

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.6
    Hotel management was excelent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel management was excelent.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.6
    Almost everything
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Its end of season. Most places around and a few of the hotel facilities were closed already

    Almost everything

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    The food and the staff were awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pillow in the room :)

    The food and the staff were awesome!!!

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    9.6
    Swimming pool, food and room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sauna not free.

    Swimming pool, food and room.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    9.6
    Everything was excelent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything was excelent. but big outer pool was wery cold.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    10
    Excellent evening meal and breakfast included in the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent evening meal and breakfast included in the price. Pool was superb!!

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    10
    This is the best Hotel in Bulgaria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This is the best Hotel in Bulgaria.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    7.1
    Size of rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Food

    Size of rooms

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    10
    Very good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Toilets without water.. a bad thing in all europe

    Very good .. high level

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.2
    Cleanliness, service, room, facilities, breakfast etc.
    • Family with young children

    Wi-fi should have been better.

    Cleanliness, service, room, facilities, breakfast etc. were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.9
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The comfort of the beds

    The location

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    7.5
    Almost everything was nice apart from I asked if we could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Almost everything was nice apart from I asked if we could check out 2pm instead of 12 and I was welling to pay but they refused!

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    9.6
    The beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The view of my room (wasn't sea view)

    The beach Swimming pool

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: