Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Royal Beach Hotel 3 stars

139 Bojan Bachvarov, Pl. 3622, 9000 Golden Sands, Bulgaria

#31 of 70 hotels in Golden Sands

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 171 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Staff, breakfast, location, room, pool and the view from our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking . Com says we had a 50 leva discount. But still charged us 140 leva for 2 nights.. 70 leva for a room and breakfast is quite high. For the area.

    Staff, breakfast, location, room, pool and the view from our terrace were all amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    Lovely staff, Disappointing bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had no cubicle, the water just flooded the bathroom and got everything wet so you couldn't go back into the bathroom.

    The receptionist was very lovely. There was enough room in the wardrobe. There is very little around the hotel but the beach 800m to the south was alright.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.5
    Good for a 2 days stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor breakfast . On the pictures showed on booking it looks like they have a private beach or at least that beach is very close, in reality they don't and it isn't. If you want to go to the beach you need to go down 150 steps through a shady space. Even if the hotel was clean, on the street there were a lot of garbages, it looked like they didn't picked up the trash in days.

    Good value of the money. Clean room and good staff. Parking , relatively close to the beach, but not on the beach. Is ok for a 2 days stay. The swimming pool looked nice. Quiet area, plenty of restaurant were you can eat good and enjoy a Bulgarian night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.7
    budget stay, okay for a short stop. quite far from the resort and hard to reach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    extremely difficult to find!!!! poor breakfast. issues with cold water, hot water and internet in less than a day. GPS: 43.2648128/28.0347858

    friendly staff, guarded parking, pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    It was our first time in hotel Royal beach but we will...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative thing was that we had to leave this amazing place.

    It was our first time in hotel Royal beach but we will definitely come back again. The staff is more than helpful, the rooms are spacious and clean with great furniture. For breakfast you can choose between various dishes which is really nice..you are not just given a plate with the same thing every day :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.7
    For a cheap hotel is ok
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a strange smell in the lobby and in the rooms, not very unpleasant but it can be better

    The rooms are ok, the bed is good,the bathroom clean. The TV is very old, the bathroom instruments are kind of old.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.9
    - I liked the beds, they were pretty comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - you can stay at the pool until 18:00 o'clock - the bathroom was pretty small, but that wouldn't be a problem if the shower on the corner would be totally covered (was covered only on one side). When you shower, you inevitably splash water in all the bathroom. This was in a twin room, I saw an apartment too and the bathroom was much bigger, with a bathtub. -The towel's quality was poor and they clean once every 3 days.

    - I liked the beds, they were pretty comfortable. - the view - we had a sea-facing room - the girl on the reception was super nice - the parking - knowing that your car is safe - TV and air conditioning

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    - pretty quiet place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - cleaning woman knocked on door and said that shee needs to clean and she has no time to wait until we go out - towels weren't replaced - two placed together single beds instead of one double - mattresses were bad - almost one balcony with neighbours, separated with only a stick

    - pretty quiet place - good wi-fi - parking for about 8 cars - decent breakfast - waterpool near hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.1
    Polite staff, nice sea view, but breakfast could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was not as good as we expected. The fan in the bathroom was too noisy.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean. The balcony was awesome with a nice view to the sea(the room was on the last floor) and comfy chairs. We liked chilling on the balcony and exploring the night sea view. The hotel was also close to a big sandy beach. The library with free books, which you can get to read on the beach, was a nice touch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    Good location for some quite time and near the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleaning could have been better. The rooms are clean, but consequent cleanings can be better.

    The place is located not too far away from Golden Sands report. I had a walk there and I'm really happy I hadn't booked a hotel there. This hotel is in a perfect place where you can have some rest with no sounds around you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    It was surprisingly good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    30 minutes to the center and to any exchange

    Close to the beach, shower pressure, comfortable beds, good wi-fi, tasty breakfast. We booked a double room and they didn't have one, so they gave us a studio. Nice staff, parking lot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.3
    Far from beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Balcony (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was terrible, the closest beach was unattended and extremely rocky, not able to bath or relax there. The room towels were only changed once every 3-4 days!!!

    Price vs. Room confort was ok

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    Good for the money. Far away from Golden Sands
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the rooms with queen beds but we did not get. A little bit far from the Golden sands center. The beach close to the hotel is full of stones and not so populated.

    It was a comfy room for the money. Nice pool, quiet area and free parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.7
    Reasonable value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is not central (25 min walking from Golden Sands center). Only average breakfast. Pretty old furniture and equipment. Pool cannot be used in the evening after 18:00.

    Walking distance to beach (10 min) - don't go straight to the beach via Brigantina Hotel as indicated by hotel staff, but rather walk 10 minutes to Kabakum beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom -shower water drifts to the door

    nice staff, very good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Great place, staff very friendly and professional, the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place, staff very friendly and professional, the room was big and clean, view was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    Very relaxing and quiet
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very relaxing and quiet

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Perfect location, 5 min from Cabacum Beach, the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, 5 min from Cabacum Beach, the room was very comfortable and clean and the breakfast was very delicious, different and plenty.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    Rooms,food staff was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms,food staff was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    the distanation to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights

    the distanation to the beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Great, I would choose this location again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was far from City center.

    Wonderful staff, pool, garden, big rooms and appartments

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.1
    it was a good trep .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    that you dont have acces to the beech from the hotel property .you have to deel weth ather people .

    the valiu and location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    3.3
    Badly set
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fan in the bath, air conditioning, internet and fabric quality on the coach

    Romanian colleagues

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast Room Pool

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.0
    It was good, but it won't be a second time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much noise every night

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.7
    Ok, with room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work at all

    View was great, staff was very nice and helpfull, spoke english well

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.8
    The beach is not 100 meters from the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beach is not 100 meters from the hotel. To get to it you need to take a walk of at least 10 minutes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Clean, pleasant, nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two single bads instead of one big double.

    Clean, pleasant, nice hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    Great staff, comfy room, near beaches and resturants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was poor.

    Pleasant staff very helpful too. Lovely room very near resturants and beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    6.7
    room size,staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Balcony (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is not the best.bar and restaurant closed. However on the door it's says it's open. Breakfast is therrible

    room size,staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, friendly staff, comfortable bed and great food. I would recommend 🙂

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    6.7
    The hotel is a good value for money at it is based in a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They seriously need to invest some time to train their staff on customer service. Both the reception staff and restaurant staff were hopeless, unprofessional and rude at times. Organisation at the hotel was also not the best but overall things get sorted fairly quickly.

    The hotel is a good value for money at it is based in a very good location - close to both Golden Sands and Varna so ideal to explore the whole area. It is also very near to the most popular beaches in the region as well as to restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    3.3
    Booked same day, arrived at 3pm and hotel didn't have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booked same day, arrived at 3pm and hotel didn't have our room ready - we were told to wait 2 hours. Why do you advertise rooms for same-day bookings when they are not ready after check-in time? This is a breach of the booking TCs. Wanted to cancel right away and hotel just charged my credit card and told us no cancellation is possible. Booking.com's CS couldn't do anything to help. Were forced to stay only to find location was in the middle of nowhere, very far from center of resort, a small rocky beach was available if you want to climb up and down 16 stories worth of stairs and the food (both breakfast and dinner) was of the lowest quality I've seen. Staff was very unfriendly, especially the hotel manager. Will never ever set my foot there again.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    5.0
    It was as in pictures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You know though we understand that in general it was fine but it was not relaxing, just stressing. They tried not to give you any possible service and tried to charge you extra money for everything. 1. It was claimed to have a free WiFi in all areas. A pure lie. We were on floor 3. No Internet. A veeeery poor signal in the pool. When I complained, I was offered to buy a special Internet voucher with a good signal. I had to scandal n I got a special access. I should say that their regular Internet is not stable, always falls. It was essential for me coz I needed to work. 2. We had dinners included. But it turned out the drinks were not included. Not even a glass of water. Crazy!!! It was not mentioned in the description. So we had to scandal and in the end we just brought our own drinks. 3. Be careful about a conditioner that is right at your head, you may catch a cold. 4. There was a big shelf in the room, extremely dirty, no cleaning there, it's very high. We've been asking two days to clean it to different receptionist and cleaning ladies... Two days. 5. We've been for 4 days. No sheets have been changed though promised. 6.Checking out, we kindly asked to stay in the room for two more hours... They told us it would cost us 20 euros.. Well.. Oh my God, just say no, but this is.. No words. 7. What annoyed us most of all, technically there was everything but one has to Ask or even Demand every little thing like a bag of shampoo every day or to change a towel on time.

    It was as in pictures. A nice room. A balcony. It's close to the sea, close to the bus stop that is called 'Journalist'. The personnel speak perfect English, German and a little bit Russian. A taxi from Varna to the hotel must be around 15-20 Leva. Not more. :-) Tasty dinner.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    4.6
    Room was comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On arrival at the Hotel we were told that there was no booking in our name.The reservations manager was not there and the receptionist could not get in touch with this person. Making the reservation through booking.com 2 weeks prior to our stay I had made special requests as it was my Husbands Birthday non of which were fulfilled or even offered to try and rectify the situation. The owner came to the hotel, we saw her in the lobby, she was informed of our issues by one of the staff and when we approached her she didn't want to speak to us and could not get out of the door fast enough to get away from us.We received no apologies for the issues we had and were actually treated with contempt. The impression we got was that it was not the hotels fault and we had nothing to complain about. They say it was all because they never received the reservation from booking.com until 5am on the morning of our arrival. We booked this particular hotel for the fact it had a spa and thought it would be a nice treat for us to have some use of the facilities. We were told that only the sauna was working, the jacuzzi was not filled up and the Hamam was not available there were no massages or spa treatments on offer. The Restaurant for the evening which is next to the hotel told us that we could only sit inside and not outside to eat as outside was for paying customers.This made us feel like second class un paying customers. The service there felt very rushed. Breakfast was ok it was a buffet style with limited choice, but more relaxed than the evening meal. So if anyone is going to book this hotel it will be best to call and check to see if your room has actually been reserved and that all facilities that are advertised are available. Be prepared for a long walk to the beach, we were told by the receptionist that the beach is near the Journailst Hotel, and is not in fact only 150mtrs away as stated in the description.

    Room was comfortable and clean. Quiet location, peaceful night stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    5.0
    No cleaning of our room for 5 days !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No cleaning of our room for 5 days ! No clean sheets etc. Unaceptable.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: