Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scotty's Boutique Hotel 3 stars

11, Ekzarh Josif Str., Centrum, 1000 Sofia, Bulgaria

#115 of 179 hotels in Sofia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 771 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.8
    You get what you pay for... This is more hostel than hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed here 10 years ago and the hotel seems exactly the same. At the time ‘boutique’ was a bit of a stretch, now even more so. This hotel is old, worn and dated. It really needs some redecoration and new furniture.

    The location is excellent. Only 5 mins walk from Vitosha street.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    Not Amazing, but you get what you pay for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Biggest problem was the bathroom. Was more of a small wet room, with a toilet, shower head and sink all enclosed in a small space. In addition to this the drainage was extremely poor and also led to some unpleasant smells. The double bed was two singles pushed together, both were very low down and moved around a lot, this was manageable, but not ideal. The fridge provided was very cold and led to some frozen food! Another big problem was the curtains, they were practically see through, this wasn't helpful as the window was very big and right opposite a set of offices, so we were a bit worried when getting changed. Pictures were fairly accurate for the living space in the room, but not for the bathroom.

    Host was a really lovely guy and always ready to help. There was regular room service that was very good. Location was very central and nearby to lots of tourist attractions, there was a mall and Lidl close if you needed supplies, as well as plenty of places to eat. View from our balcony was great, and this was useful in the hot weather. Room was fairly large. The air-conditioning was effective.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Position, price and cleanness was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had London room on the second floor; the room has a strange smell like chemical substance to clean or “plastic smell”. This room is on the street side and in the morning it is quite noisy

    Position, price and cleanness was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very soft. Rooms at the front of the building suffer from the noise of the trams. It felt a little odd to open your bedroom door onto the reception area.

    The staff and the location were great. The room was spacious and airy. The hotel is very handy for serdika metro, Roman ruins, shopping, Tolerance Square etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money but it was marketed as something nicer / better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too low to the floor. The shower was no separate from the toilet and sink so when we used it, the entire bathroom was wet. We couldn't use the bathroom for other purposes until the floor dried. We've learned that this is typical of Bulgaria due to small living areas from communism times. It felt more like a hostel than a hotel and should probably be marketed as that.

    The manager / operator was very kind, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    * No elevator and there are quite many steps to take your luggage up to the room (nevertheless, the guy at the reception helped us); * The bathroom was a disappointment – the shower installed just above the toilet bowl, the whole bathroom needs renovation.

    * Center location nearby main attractions of Sofia; * Kind, helpful personnel; * Spacious room; * Romantic night-view from the balcony to the Synagogue in the night lights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.3
    Not coming back here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had a sense of dirty place, which uses old trick of perfuming the place to try to make guest think it's clean. Bathroom was not a bathroom, just a curtain among the walls, toilet did not flush, so when you unload yourself, you're stuck with it for a while. Kettle was fascinating. Some really old gigantic kettle which barely worked, it felt like it was a prototype of original kettle... Jesus, people, new kettle is 20€, is it that hard to invest?? My room was the Berlin room.

    Only good thing was a friendly receptionist. And location was ok, but that has nothing to do with the management of the place, right.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Good choice but trouble-parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really providing private parking, just free parking on street (for saturday n sunday), however willing to find a solution for us (nearby parking 1 leva per hour)

    Very nice and central location. Transportation easy. Pleasant rooms. Very friendly manager and personell. Nice view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    Location is perfect, the rooms are fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is almost above the toilet which is not perfect, but For a few days its fine.

    Location is perfect, the rooms are fine. Everything you need is there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Expect a different room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had booked a double room, but was given a twin room with two single beds. When I asked why, he said that all other rooms were taken. But what was the purpose of making a reservation for a specific kind of a room, when it was given to somebody else. I had even given my approximate time of arrival.

    The room is large. Location is good and central. It is modern. There is a balcony with a good view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Good value for your penny
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Quite a bit of wear and tear. It could do with some renovation. It's an old house and there is only so much one can do to make it look modern on the inside. The toilet did not run properly and flushing it was a bit of a challenge. But as I said, an old house; this is quite a typical problem for the hotels in the center of Sofia.

    The location is very good: just a few hundred meters from the subway station, and a walking distance from anywhere in downtown Sofia. The staff were extremely nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    4.2
    It’s not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t have elevator so you have to use several flights of stairs to get to your room, dingy, bed was really uncomfortable to the point of hurting my back, informed them of check in time but i had to wait for a long time

    Owner was friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    4.2
    Very bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aklahm room: Very different from the photos. Seems more like hostel. No wifi for the first day because "upgrade" and after, very slow wifi. A hose led to water from the sink, and when you shower the toilet and toilet paper got wet. there was not even a curtain. We got 2 dusty glass water with old tea,kettle so old and dirty we was afraid to use it. dirty boiler take the space at the shower. My boyfriend have back pain Because the bed was cheap. There was a lot of dust, a disgusting landscape. One small mirror in the shower, a million steps. Very not recommend, the opposite of the album. Even a hostel is more beautiful, bigger and more comfortable The only good thing is the reception, he was nice. his baby cry next door at night and morning. Also he disappear when we needed him and didn't answered our calls. I got calls from Bulgaria before my flight that I didn't answered, I emailed him to ask if it's him, he didn't even answered. מאד לא מומלץ, גרוע יותר מהוסטל. חדר פיצי, מטונף, הרגשתי באכסניית נוער.

    The location was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    Good location but poor facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stayed 3 nights at Moscow room, NO WiFi, NO fridge in the room, had to buy a local sim card for internet. The pillow was smelly, had to ask to exchange to another one.

    Location is good. The staff- Krasimir is very friendly and helpful for all information.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At that price there want much to fault. It's not the Hilton (I'm a diamond member at hilton) but the staff were friendly, it was clean and functional and it was a third of the price of the hilton.

    Clean, functional, friendly staff, value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    An average choice for low budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small bathroom. There was no bathtub, so your bath was somewhere between toilet and the place you wash your hands and face (you should be careful not to wet the toilet paper). Also, there were no shutters for keeping the room dark while you're sleeping. There were only very thin curtains. As a result the room was full of light after 6 a.m

    Nice choice for low budget. Always hot water for bath, very good location in the center of the city and the receptionist was cool and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Large room and great balcony very close to the sights and main street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fixtures and fittings are a little worn

    Large room and a great balcony with a view of the synagogue. Good location only 5-10 mins walk from the main boulevard. Welcoming host. The kettle, cups and mini fridge were a welcome extra.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Good location, nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I arrived at the property I was not sure they had charged me the payment in my credit card. they said no and later I found that was the case but it was not clear in the booking statement if that happened or not. I think it is more of a booking.com information issue.

    Staff was helpful, clean and looking new

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Amazing room in the heart of Sofia
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no lift and if you have a big luggage it will be difficult. On weekend there was nobody on reception.

    Amazing room, very light, big, beautiful view on the center of the city. Very easy to get metro - just 5 mins by feet. Near the apartment there is a street with cafes and shops...and it takes around 10-15 mins to go to the main street - blvd Vitosha. I like that in this apartment you feel safe: you can enter the reception area only with your key. Very helpful and friendly staff. Most of all i loved my room - very big, simple and stylish.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    A basic hotel (clean and tidy) and well located near Serdica...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast available. A low bed and no chair (just a stool) in the room so I wasn't too comfortable in the evening before going to bed. Despite the name it's not a "boutique" hotel as that's normally understood.

    A basic hotel (clean and tidy) and well located near Serdica metro station. The WiFi worked fine. I needed it for a one night stay before taking the metro to the airport and it met that requirement.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.6
    Kindness, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Courtains are slightly transparent and too many light passes through them, difficulting to sleep in early hours in the morning.

    The host is very kind and helpful. Location is great. The room is wide and cozy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    6.3
    It was ok for staying one night but i would not recommend staying for longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very low to the floor. The bin hadn't been emptied in the bathroom from the last person that stayed in the room. The room didn't have any curtains at the windows, only voiles so the room was very bright early in the morning.

    The staff were very nice and friendly. It was in a good location for us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    5.8
    Not a 3 star hotel, but location wise is good enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not a 3 star hotel by any means, not even a 2, actually it is a hostel more than anything.

    Location was good enough, the metro station is about 250 m away

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.3
    Good value, friendly staff in convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked it last minute so the room was not warm and for some reason the A/C couldn't warm it up enough over the night.

    The gentleman who received me was extremely polite and friendly. The room was basic but tasteful, it an electric kettle which was handly. The location is very good close to a renovated market hall and a short walking distance from the main square of the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    Great for the price for my short stay in Sofia
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room may have been a squeeze for two people but as I was by myself it was fine

    Good value comfortable room in the city centre close to all the sights, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    2.5
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid. This place is anything but a boutique hotel. Worst place I've stayed in all 50 countries I've visited. Deceptive and misleading. Deluxe room with balcony was the opposite of deluxe- duct taped beds, nasty floor, filthy yellow sheets (ever heard of bleach?). No 24 hour front desk as claimed and they tried to tell me they only accept cash payments, had to fight to pay by card. Due to the lack of 24 hour reception, we were left waiting by the door for nearly 20 minutes. Additionally, the initial room we had did not have the balcony as claimed and when I inquired further, they switched our room and the balcony was standing room only. Rooms reeked of smoke. Shower/bathroom combo was dysfunctional and it seemed like there was a camera above the toilet in a soda bottle. Stay away!also worth noting that this place only has a 74% rating on trip advisor and thats incredibly low imo. For the price and claims of deluxe and boutique hotel, I cant recommend.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.5
    Good for its price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Note that sometimes there is tram noise, also anything that happens outside the room can be heard inside and vice versa. No elevator, and also the showers are such that the whole bathroom gets flooded when you take a shower so you cant really walk in afterwards, although we noticed the same in other places in Bulgaria as well.

    Great location as it is very close to the center, and the staff were very helpful at all times. Deluxe rooms are spacious and rather modern.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    If I go back to Sofia I would stay here and use the metro both ways to and from the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi not reach my room but no problem as a desk and chair just outside my room was ideal. Stairs would be a problem if you had heavy bags.

    Location and very efficient air conditioning. Hot water at all times. Staff very friendly and helpful. Email before explained perfectly how to reach the Hotel and procedure for my arrival in the early hours.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Excellent stay and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no negatives for us but it would be worth pointing out that the bed is very low to the floor and the hotel is up 2 flights of stairs so it could cause issues for people with mobility difficulties

    The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Great location and very large and clean rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was not too good.

    The room was really big and had everything you need, staff very friendly and helpful. A short walk to all the main sights and town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location - selectively good rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twin bed room we were in has a small bathroom and you shower directly on the tiles, and the bathroom gets easialy flooded. The room is very small, and since reception is right outside the door, you hear everything and you can't quite rest if people are talking.

    Friendly staff, great location, good value for money. There are usually a couple of spots of parking in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.3
    Lovely central place. Definitely a good place to stay at, at a very reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our towels were on the floor indicating (we thought) that we want new ones but they were taken away but no new were placed in their place.

    Location. The nicest most helpful owner/receptionist who we unfortunately could not notify what time we were arriving met us in the middle of the night and gave us so many tips and was a really nice man.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.9
    Very cheap accommodation in the heart of Sofia but with a few shortcomings!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are some aspects that disappointed, but when one considers the ridiculously cheap nightly rate for my single room one must not be too critical! The bed was ridiculously close to the ground, I was sleeping a foot above the floor and it was not the most comfortable of beds. Housekeeping did not make the bed, they left the sheets and duvet on the bed and you had to make your own bed! The television was about 20 years old and the wi-fi in the room was non-existent, you had to go outside the room to have any chance. Overall though, these annoyances did not spoil my stay.

    The location was good, only a few minutes walk from Serdica Station which is 12 stops from the airport. The hotel is close to the Roman ruins while Vitosha Boulevard, the main pedestrian thoroughfare is only about 10 minutes away on foot. The receptionist was very helpful and informative. The room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    The hotel is a great value for the money. Terrific staff, great location, nice bright rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room With Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel desk right outside the 2nd floor rooms give the impression of less privacy.

    The staff were excellent, really top notch. The level of attentiveness went beyond what we expected at a lower priced hotel. The room was spacious. It was basic, but quite adequte and a great value for the money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.3
    Great central location, the guy at reception was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping is terrible. I kindly asked the housekeeping lady when she locked at my door to come back a little later because I was exhausted. She said yes and never came back, I was left without clean towels and shampoo.

    Great central location, the guy at reception was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.8
    Central location, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms look better on photos, but this was not a big issue.

    Located in the centre of Sofia within walking distance of all major sights, as well as subway station and bus/railway station. Friendly staff. Good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Great Value for money. Good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not many spoke english except for our receptionist. The room did not look as good as the pictures but we grew to like it as it was really convenient and comfortable.

    The location was perfect. Very close to the train station. The staff was super friendly and assissted in every way possible to make our stay as fun and comfortable as possible.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable base in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    The position is comfortable, near the city center and near the train and bus station. Sometimes Taxi don't accept to take you to the stations because the disance is too small (ad the price is too small!). So, in this case is better negotiate price directly in the taxi station. Rooms are comfortable and clear ad staff is very courteous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.3
    The bed size is very good and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning didn't work, we were provided with a fan but it was uncomfortable to sleep at night due to the heat.

    The bed size is very good and comfy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.4
    Location is the only one positive thing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom is in a bad condition. Old towels and bed linen with holes. Old broken dishware. All old. The certificate on the wall of the reception confirms that the hotel has 2 stars, not 3 how it is written on booking.com.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.7
    Wasn't bad but I expected a bit more
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was my first trip to Bulgaria so I have no comparison what's the average standard in other hotels but actually I was disappointed. I expected more from the room called 'deluxe'. Meanwhile, I received slightly worn-out furnitures,balcony with broken chairs, strange bathroom with shower hanging just over the toilet,only one wine glass and one tea cup although it was a room for two. No wi-fi inside the room! Only one hair dryer available at reception desk.

    Clean and spacious room, not only with beds, but also a place to sit and relax or eat (sofa,coffee table).Great location in the city centre, close to public transport. Air conditioner, refrigerator.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    The accomodation is really beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Its hard to find at first. They don´t have a sign with the name on the bed and breakfast.

    The accomodation is really beautiful. The staff is so friendly. Its just a short walk to Jonkerstreet. Really good value for your money! The boutique style is amazing. The bed was so big and soft it was really convenient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.3
    Very nice and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the last remaining room and it resembled little to the photographs. Very very basic, a bit claustrophobic and I wasn't a fan of been on the very top floor in a converted loft with no visible sign of a smoke alarm or fire escape. The tin roof really amplified the rain though it was torrential. The make shift shower albeit humorous was a bit silly, though not an uncommon set up in Bulgaria. Not bad for a night but I would request a room on another floor if staying longer.

    Very nice and friendly staff. The receptionist greeted us warmly and ensured our bags were in our room once we checked in and our room was ready.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    Great budget short break hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi didn't reach my room very well, I could only really use it in the hallway.

    Location is great, staff are really friendly, perfect for a short break

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Location, location, location. And the friendliest staff ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was a bit small but sufficient. The bed frame had some purely cosmetic damage (which you don't see when you sleep). The balcony is fairly small but made even smaller by two (quiet) outside A/C units.

    Krasimir, the receptionist, was extremely helpful, very friendly and always smiling. The room (London room) was pretty large, clean, had a balcony with a nice view of the street below. The hotel is right around the corner from the indoor market, now a collection of small shops for all sorts of things from food to souvenirs to electronics accessories. Other streets in the vicinity had everything for fashionistas. The women's market (Zhenski Pazar) is three blocks away, and there is a street with (I believe) a bunch of Lebanese merchants one block to the north. Serdika (the central metro hub) is also just three blocks away, and even all the makor sights are within a mile radius.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.0
    Cheap, central location, bad bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was very hard. I can even sleep on a floor so didn't have any problems with it. Most people would find the bed very uncomfortable. Was waked up at 8 in the morning by cleaning staff (after been out at night) locking them self in to clean the room.

    Cheap and central location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommend. Fantastic location, clean spacious and helpful friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside is can think of, and this it nit picking, but we only had one mug and no coffees etc. I just bought some sachets for 20p at the lidl down the road so no major issue.

    The location is excellent and the rooms were a very good size, comfortable bed and very friendly and helpful staff!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.3
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Now shower cubicle so the whole bathroom is wet and slippy. Slightly out of city centre have to use underground strairs to cross main road. It it felt safe

    Nice staff Clean rooms although they varied dramatically in size and facility. Our room was small but adequate.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    3.8
    centrally located but very basic and with an annoying smell of sewer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I don't know why they call it "boutique hotel". Rooms are spacious but very simple/basic. Our neighbours could watch into our room as our window was on their balcony. We had smell of sewer coming from the bathroom for all the 3 days we spent there. The rooms has a double bed, but we had 2 pairs of single-bed sheets and blankets. Blankets were full of spots but at least we had sheets between us and the blankets. Probably our room in the past was a smooking one as smell of smoke is still on pillows and mattress. We saw images and descriptions before book it and we thought it was really a bargain. But the simply truth is that you get what paid for. So do not expect a "boutique hotel".

    centrally located

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    7.5
    Quirky and fun in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you aren't fully fit and mobile, maybe find somewhere else to stay. The hotel is above shops, and so begins on the first floor and continues to the 3rd floor, there is no lift so prepare for stairs!

    A quirky little hotel right in the centre. Each room has a different theme, and is named after a world city. Staff were on hand and helpful, with a contact number to call from the room if you had any issues out of hours. We were in the Stockholm room, with a budget booking. The bathroom was a wet room, really quirky, but when showering the water would go everywhere! The beds were really comfy, if low to the ground and came with some assembly required! (The sheets were place at the foot of the bed, and if you wanted a duvet then we had to make the beds ourselves, but that just allowed for personal preference.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    10
    Good priced hotel, lovely friendly staff in a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom not the best as was a wet room really but that said, still not a problem to us.

    Hotel was excellent value for money and right in the centre of everything. Hotel owner was a lovely friendly man and very helpful as was the lovely young girl on reception. We went to Sofia with our daughter Melissa and her partner Rob. Between us we stayed in 3 rooms 1 of which was a luxury room and given to Melissa. Lovely view from hers and Rob's room overlooking the Synagogue. My room and my husbands room ( he snores) overlooked a dilapidated building but so quaint to look at anyhow, we didn't have a problem. The hotel has no lift so if a bit infirm, not a good idea. We loved this hotel and the friendly staff and will definately return there and Sofia itself is a beautiful, amazingly friendly city.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    5.4
    A good quality/price relationship for a quite poor hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - The WiFi is extremely poor and on-and-off. I had to rely on my 4G service most of the time. - The cleaning service was extremely bad. Most of the times they did they not clean at all, just made the bed and that's it. For example: once my toilet wasn't cleaned at all. Also, they failed to provide toilet paper every single time. I had to go to the reception and ask for it. There was a mustard stain from making a sandwich in one of the desks that was never cleaned or touched. - The staff seems quite apathethical. I asked them for tours on two occasions and both times they tried to convince me to do things on my own, which when you don't speak the language is quite hard to do. I specifically asked one the employees three times to book me a cab for 04:00 AM because I had an early flight. Even though she told me she'd do it the taxi never came and I have to call one on my own, which at 04:30 AM in Sofia and not speaking Bulgarian could've ended badly. - There are no blinds in the rooms, so it's almost impossible to sleep in if you want to do that. - There's no breakfast service available, and they don't provide you with basic things like a spoon to stir your coffee, even though there are cups and a water heater.

    - It is well located, close to the center of the city. You can walk to almost anywhere. - The room was very spacious for what I paid. I got the offer at an offer and I expected a more packed place to be honest. The beds were OK. Not exactly comfortable but also not uncomfortable. - The room was very bright all throughout the day. - There was a balcony where I could smoke.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.8
    Good budget place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room With Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room and a bit tired walls and curtains )

    Location, location, location ! Spacious room (San Francisco) with balcony and nice view to Synagogue. Rainbow friendly !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    10
    The staff were kind and very helpful !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They told us there wasn't any breakfast ...

    The staff were kind and very helpful ! The room was always clean and comfortable ! Thank you very much :)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    8.3
    Value for money, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast on my first day was great but it got downgraded afterwards, don't know why. Thin walls which was a problem with some very loud Italians coming home drunk in the middle of the night (every night).

    Great location, very (!) friendly staff, cheap.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I got a non-smoking because I don't like the smell of smoke. The hotel staff told me though that if I wanted to smoke on the balcony that would be fine. Everything on the balcony smells of cigarettes. That's crazy. If someone wants to smoke, even on the balcony, they should be in a smoking room. Non-smoking room should mean non-smoking including the balcony.

    Great location. The rooms were a bit spartan but nevertheless clean. Good deal for the money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    8.8
    Value for money and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't expect the ritz but the room is comfy with a balcony.

    Great location close to both indoor and outdoor markets. Very friendly staff. Excellent English and very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    7.1
    Hotel with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no shower plate, so you have to take shower in the bathroom. Water keeps there so you have your feet wet all the time even after finished. Reception is just in front of all the doors so there is not much privacy.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    9.6
    when you get drunk loose the room key and wake the staff to let you in at 5am and they dont shout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the beds are a little low.

    the room was massive and staff was amazing. the fact we got drunk and lost the room key had a small charge to pay but the staff where amazing and nothing was too much trouble even when we were banging at 5am to get in. (he didnt even tell us off) It was the same staff member and i feel so bad i forgot his name, he made us feel so welcome. He was friendly and a credit to the hotel,

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    7.9
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit worn out furniture, no free or coffee in room, no mini bar, no menus for breakfast/snacks

    Located in the centre of the city! 5-10 minutes walk away from most sights

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    3.8
    Horrible hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not recommended for vacations. No elevator, smells smoke from food and we woke up every day at 0800 due to sun.No any curtains on the windows.Totally disaster.!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    4.6
    Uncomfortably dirty and broken furniture
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When paying by card you were not offered any currency exchange information or option to pay in other than their calculation of Bulgarian Lev Cleaning... well there was no cleaning. Bathroom was particularly dirty. Smelling of smoking although smoker-free room, ran out of toilet paper (no spares) and no one to ask for, hair dryer not in the room although advertised as such, no toiletries given, no change of towels despite leaving them on floor.

    The staff was very friendly and took care of our bags during the last day after check out

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    4.2
    Don't stay there. There are plenty of better places around Sofia.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet was smelly and dirty with a very tatty shower. Old spring mattress on the floor, which was horrible. Very old TV too. Just one person working at the reception, what means you need to call them on the phone to ask for anything. Tea bags but no kettle.

    Location is great, right opposite to the synagogue, quite central. Receptionist was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    8.8
    Very friendly staff, good location and nice accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've found a hole on my pillow case and some cigarette's ash on the bathroom, near the bin. Appart from that, everything was clean and confortable.

    The location is perfect, right on the city center. the staff is very friendly and helpful, they even let me keep my bag there after check-out for a couple of hours while I was walking around city. Everything worked properly and the bed was pretty confortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    7.9
    cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bathroom was basically a shower with a sink and toilet in it, no separate part just al in one which i didnt really expect when booking but wasnt the end of the world

    the location is fantastic for the city centre and the staff are nice and friendly, the room itself is nice and basic but thats all we needed really

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    8.3
    A comfortable boutique hotel located centrally.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wardrobe could be bigger, larger towel.

    The hotel is centrally located in Serdika (2 mins walk to the station). Many shops, market and eatery nearby. It is quiet at night so you get a good night sleep. Bed is comfortable and room is clean. Manager Krasi is friendly and helpful. It is the first time I visit Sofia and the hotel is ideal.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    7.9
    More or less OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is about 2 blocks away and it can be annoying if you have many baggages to carry with you. Also, there is no elevator.

    Nice decorations. Nice location. Nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    6.3
    Boutique hotel it's not but clean and friendly it is!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains were thin and didn't fit the window so let light in, the noise of the trams right outside the hotel from just before 6am till midnight they pass every few minutes. the bed sheet didn't fit the bed and no mattress protector. Reception was right outside our door and you can hear people talking there, so our room didn't feel very private.

    Very friendly helpful staff/owners, we arrived very late which wasn't a problem they wait for us. The location to the centre is great just a 10 minute walk away. Lovely spacious room with a big bathroom and great shower with plenty of hot water.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    8.8
    The true Sofia experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish we had some coffee or tea for the kettle. Not big deal tho :)

    Amazing interior design that fulfilled our Sofia experience. Good location. Stuff super friendly, big size room and bathroom, quiet for the city centre. Very comfy bed. Wifi working well. We checked in super late and it wasn't a problem, which I really appreciate. Also communication with the hostel prior to our arrival was great!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    8.8
    Central location with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was average, there are plenty of cool cafes in Sofia so I would recommend to eat out for breakfast,

    Great location, 24hr check in, walking distance to all major sights, cool themes in rooms

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.8
    The staff in the reception was amazing!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff in the reception was amazing! They helped me with whatever question I had to get around the city and suggested good places to visit! The hotel was quite near the center, 5mins walking to a central metro station (Serdika) 10 mins to Vitosha blv.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    9.2
    Good location, some rooms nice and airy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The London room was ours for the night, not sure what London decor there was, but the room was bright, airy and had a balcony looking over the synagogue and was very near to the market and city centre. Great welcome and good value. It suffered from the usual Bulgarian 'no shower curtain' situation but overall was just fine.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful, helpful staff and a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower situation was a little unexpected, but we worked it out.

    The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. They really made the trip worthwhile.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.6
    Excellent stay at Scottys Boutique Hotel - would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains were see through - just a minor thing. We shared a kettle with our friends in the room next door.

    Staff were friendly and accommodating. We were based in an excellent hotel and all our questions and enquiries were answered. We thoroughly enjoyed our first stay in Bulgaria.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    10
    Close to the center. Nice concept of the rooms. Nice personnel. Comfort bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since the doors and walls are thin, I recommend less noise in the hall after 22 h up to 9 o’clock in the morning.

    Friendly orientated personnel, very helpful and kind. Breakfast was fine. The only thing is that the doors are too thin, so the noises coming from the outside are not isolated, other than that for the price of 20 to 30 euro is fine.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Scotty's Boutique Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: