Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Selena Beach Hotel 3 stars

Boudjaka Area, str.Via Pontika 31, 8130 Sozopol, Bulgaria

Review score

Based on 77 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom could have been better, bit neglected! The lock on the front door nearly fell apart! Supposed to be a double bed, instead to single ones joined together and nothing to hold them... a quite uncomfortable I would say!

    Great food at the restaurant! Good view from the left vila! Good location, away from central Sozopol! Staff were pleasant! The beach is the best one in Sozopol!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Best family hotel in Bulgaria. Easily beats 4*.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dind't find anything.

    It was without any doubts the best hotel where we've stayed in Bulgaria. I say this after being accommodated at some other 4 & 5* hotels in Golden Sands or Sunny Beach. We've felt more like in Greece then in Bulgaria because of the way the town looks, the way we were treated and the taste of the food. The hotel is located at the end of Sozopol, right behind a LIDL supermarket in a not so noisy part of the town. The public beach is 5 mins away and there's also a private beach right in front of the hotel. The hotel has 3 buildings with 3 floors each and 2 pools. The restaurant is placed in the main building and serves the tastiest food that I've ate in a bulgarian hotel till now. Of course you will find some recycled food like everywhere else, but everything is tasty and for sure there is something for anybody. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Furniture is not new, but also not dated and the rooms smell good. We were accommodated in room 13 with 2 balconies and sea view. Indeed there was a perfect view with the sea and old town at night. Cleaning was made daily. The room had a small but good enough fridge, a TV, air conditioning, hair dryer and mostly everything you would need. We were on half board basis and even though the price was not so low, we don't regret anything...as the room, food and staff were very good. There's also some parking near the hotel so you don't have to worry about this. We were greeted with a welcome drink and we've found in the room a bottle of champagne and a basket with fruits. Very nice from their side and something that we didn't found till now in Bulgaria. I would recommend for sure Selena Beach to anyone who wants a nice vacation in Bulgaria. P.S: For romanians and not only! There are not to many of our citizens out here, so you can go with no heat feelings!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    the accomodation is ok, but whole experience could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all: the food :( is not good. They have the cheapest products ( meat products, the diaries, the juice). The fruits and vegetables are cut hours ago before serving so the cucumber is dried, the tomato is sour, the fruit salad is fermented. Even if you order from the menu, the food is average in the best case. The staff speaks english poorly. The serving is bad (if you order 2 types of food, they bring it to you in the same time, or if there are 2 persons, they bring the food for one person and for the other one after 10 or 15 min). The hotel is far away from the the old town, about 30 min of walking.

    The room was very nice, clean, (it was cleaned daily). The furniture seems new, I recomand the sea view room. The other ones have street view and is very noisy. They offered us fruits and a sparkling wine in the room. The receptionst was very helpful. The hotel is located near Bamboo beach which is a nice but small beach. However, the sunbeds are ok, although a little bit crowded. The water is cristal clear, the music is nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Ideal spot
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good warm not hot. No glasses in room. Key difficult to lock in room 301 And not see view as booked. Looking into a block of apartments across the road. Tea so for not staying a second night

    Staff were excellent Complex Is spotless. Breakfast warm but very good. Check in and out express.brilluant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Highly recommended for independent travellers, rent a care and explore
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We missed some fish for dinner, some of the staff did not speak English

    Sheets and towels were often changed, welcome drink and champagne, nice family place, lots of sunbeds for all by the pool, the beach was very close and the sea was nice with fish and no waves, we travelled with older children and appreciated a calm surrounding area, location very close to a beautiful old city on the coast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Great place for amazing holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s very nice place to stay. Quite with very clean rooms, friendly and very helpful stuff. Great location, near the best beach in this area, close to city center. We enjoyed the good restaurant of the hotel and had great time. Really recommended!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.4
    Middle class hotel by the road, can get noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Middle class hotel by the road, can get noisy. Old style and not so clean when we arrived. We asked for a cleaning of our appartment. Beds not comfortable. quite pricy for the quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    Good location, really close to the beach, friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet connection could be better.

    Good location, really close to the beach, friendly staff, good restaurant, big parking space near the hotel. We only stayed there one night but we wish we could have stayed longer!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Free Beach Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough electric sockets in the room

    Comfortable, extremely clean beds& bedding. Ample pillows. Complimentary fruit bowl& wine. Good choice of buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    Good value, pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No safe in the room. Not much soap in bathroom.

    Our own terrace with sea view, overlooking the swimming pool. Eating breakfast outside by the pool. A short walk to the our beach (part nudist), not the actual nearest beach, which was Bamboo Beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Nagyszerű nyaralás
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    the nasty smell that lingered around the bathroom area came from bad sanitary appliances, occasionally the music at the pool area was disturbingly loud

    the pool area and the garden offers excellent relaxation, the staff is very kind and speaks in English (not typical at all places). Fair prices at the bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent place for a holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The ordered early breakfast pack was not made at check-out time. But the young gentleman in the reception took action quickly at dawn. The cleaning could be better.

    Comfortable, familiar hotel. Friendly staff. Special thanks to Hristina at the reception.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in restaurant cold, even when ordered a la carte. Husband had food poisoning first 3 days.Shower cubicle too small and slippery.

    Bed very comfortable. Lovely large balcony overlooking the sea. 2 handy sun loungers.....lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Faboulous great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all. Brilliant hotel

    Staff very helpful. Cristina on reception goes out of her way. Changed our room to one near pool. Loved all of the hotel. Food good. Staff good. Pool great. Good location. Family owned so you get that personal touch. I well recommend this hotel to booking . Com clients. It's great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Very relaxing mini break, will definatley go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor thing, but they ran out of Camembert with prosciutto, obviously popular because it was delicious, but still didn't have any the next day😕

    The staff went out of their way to make our 30 th wedding anniversary a day to remember😊

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Feels like home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything in perfect

    Feels like home. Very nice and clean hotel, right on the beach. Welcome drink and fast check in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything... Clean room and bathroom, very friendly staff, quality and quantity breakfast. Definitely very good place to stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.5
    Did the job
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An actual double bed rather than two singles.

    Closeness to beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Hotel was everything incredible like comfortable, cleaner,...
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Hotel was everything incredible like comfortable, cleaner, location, food, location, staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    10
    The room is very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room is very clean. Very attentive staff! Definitely will come back. Everything was above expectation only positive feelings. Breakfast was included with lots of variety.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    10
    Very nice and clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very nice and clean hotel. The staff is great. The location and the beach are perfect. If I could I would stay forever. It's just like a home for me.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    5.0
    Pretty clean.
    • Family with young children

    Most staff were miserable and not helpful. We were treated poorly because of where we were from. They don't like anyone who isn't Bulgarian. And they treat everyone like they are an annoyance due to the season ending. This happens a lot in Bulgaria all over. The Breakfast selection was horrible and they never had any juice or coffee or milk some days. The self catering room lacked a table and chairs and the kitchen equipment was poorly stocked. The hob was dangerous. They advertised room service but refused us any. We had to pay extra for spa facilitys but they never let you book any. One of the cleansers was so rude and bossy. (She had shoulder length grey hair) the restraunt was slow and staff useless mostly. They were supposed to have a happy hour for drinks but always charged you full on purpose and then put the prices up for drinks the second week. They have a beach bar whose staff are shockingly rude and racist. They won't bring you food and drink if your not bulgarian and the food is overpriced and horrible also. My family all came to Bulgaria for our wedding that we booked at another hotel who were amazing. We booked 3 other rooms for a few of our wedding guests at this hotel. The rooms were located at the next door hotel that they had just bought but never told us about and were appalling quality and badly maintained. No diffrence in price though. They were treated badly too. We go every year to sozopol in Bulgaria and we always love it. My parents have an apartment there but we all go together so we stop in a local hotel but we will not be coming back to this hotel ever... Never had such bad service in Bulgaria before like this. We have come for 10years.

    Pretty clean. A couple of staff were nice and helpful. We did get a complementry bottle of wine and fruit platter because we got married while over there but my parents had requested it and then had to remind them. One cleaner was nice with short hair, friendly with our kids. One bar maid with brown hair in a ponytail was lovely and one barman who was short and always wore bright green shorts, was helpful and kind.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    10
    Very clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Just slightly lacking in the kitchen department. Need a good chef.

    Very clean hotel. Lovely pool area and restaurant. Would definitely stay their again.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Guests also reviewed these properties: