Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Slavyanska Beseda Hotel 3 stars

3, Slavianska st., Centrum, 1000 Sofia, Bulgaria

#156 of 179 hotels in Sofia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 957 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room (apartment) was not reserved for me through I got conformation from booking. I got some other low grade room, with single non comfortable narrow beds. No Air-condition in the room. I saw some better 1 star hotels then 3 star hotel.

    WiFi

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a bit of a language barrier for breakfast but we managed to communicate, so that's great.

    The hotel was great when considering the very cheap price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning in this hotel means changing towels and toilets utilities. It was first time since 2002 when I saw cockroaches! Wrrr

    The location is perfect, centre near Ivan Vazov theatre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One morning the water would not warm up for awhile in the shower, but it finally did after running it for 5-10 minutes. The toilet was also wobbly.

    The hotel’s location is great, right in the center of the city. A good Chinese restaurant is also in the building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated interior; reconstruction still in progress.

    Top location, great for cultural trip in Sofia ; all facilities needed for a non-pretentious stay; good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom requiring renovation (water on the floor, no floor towel, no lamp over the mirror, etc.), walls requiring repapering, room requiring daily cleaning, lack of space for clothes in the closet (shelf totally occupied with pillows and blankets,

    Working air condition, daily exchange of towels, sound-proof window, kind staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel is old, not renovated, the bed is not comfortable. we had to change room because the first bed we got was only from metal and on matrasse which was too big for this bed. bed sheets didnt fit to the matrasse. for a double room you get only one small blanket. the rooms smelled. the first room smelled of smoking.the mini bar i the second room was dirty, the water bottles frozen and beer cans with mold. we were happy when we left.

    the location is perfect very central and you can walk to all main spots

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The alley of the hotel, in front of the room, was not really maintained well. I don't know if they did like building renovation or not. But maybe they could do better to make it prettier. The second is maybe because I arrived early morning, around 3 am, I forgot to ask the wifi password. Most of the hotels that I've stayed will write the password in the room as well. But I didn't find it. Maybe it could be better if you can write the wifi password in each room and strengthen the internet signal because it's a little bit hard even just to check my email.

    Perfect location. It's in the middle of Sofia, near to many touristic places such as Alexander Nevsky Cathedral and the theatre building. A lot of good restaurants around the hotel. Nice place to stay even though the building is relatively old. Will be back to stay at the hotel again if I go to Sofia :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast for only 3.5 EUR was buffet, very warm and homemade, wih everything tou need, yogurt, eggs, ham, cheese, marmelade.. For this price is a super gift in my view! Personal was very nice, the room was warm as they put the heater to warm it up for me (I came very late). It´s an old building, obvious, if they will renovate for the upper level the price will not gonna be the same.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old furniture and room.

    Very central, close to the shops, cafes, public transport and governmental buildings. Staff was helpful, they spoke English.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the smell of the smoke when I changed my room. I felt very sick.

    I liked the people in the hotel and area. They were very friendly and respectful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Only one toilet roll in bathroom! Safety deposit box is at reception and you have to pay extra for it.

    Nice clean bathroom and comfortable beds. Good location. Air conditioning/heating included in room and price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was flooded, the mattress cover was dirty, the pillow was uncomfortable. One of the staff was very rude. I did reserve in this hotel online for 3 nights but I did leave it after the first night and went to another hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The gloomy reception may be a bit off-putting, looking like from the 1970s, much as the lift and corridors. The only criticism I have is that the housekeepers changed the towels every day, but never hoovered my room and bathroom in the course of my five-day stay. Otherwise all was fine.

    A lovely comfortable room (probably recently redecorated) on the top floor with a balcony and a view onto the Vitosha mountain. A great large bed, a well equipped fridge if needed, and the air-conditioning, much needed in bad weather. A small but comfortable bathroom too. The hotel is well located some 5-7 mins walk from Serdica and from Alexander Nevski Sq

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel was a big disappointment; not clean, hairs in the bathroom, half the lights didn't work (needed new bulbs), worn out, very old style radiator in bathroom. There is no maintenance service at all on weekends. Type of hotel you don't feel comfortable walking on the carpet in bare feet. The corridor where my room was situated was full of junk and dirty laundry on the floor. Clanky old elevator with a manual push door to open. Sheets not big enough to cover the mattress fully and no mattress protector. I felt I had been contaminated by staying there. The whole place is antiquated and should not have even 1 star let alone 3. I've been in budget hotels which are far better.

    Staff appeared OK and answered my questions, but look tired, like the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The room was terrible with a broken, continuous tap in the bathroom. The floor of the bathroom was continuously flooded with water and very dangerous.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only upon arrival we met a person at the reception who spoke english. The following day, staff at the reception hardly spoke any, so we had some difficulties in communicating.

    The hotel is very good located. The room and bathroom were clean. The staff guarded our backpacks for free after check-out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The communication with the staff was horrible - so unprofessional, that I am thinking of taing actions against them! Not planning to bother to go there again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Forget about Wi-Fi... Probably accessible to only 4 rooms per floor - the rest are "too far" for the signal... They need to change the carpet at least - even the carpet is from the Soviet Era...

    feels like travel back in time...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A old man in the staff didn't know english even nothing, we were lucky thanks to a young girl working in the hotel because we wanted to pay in advanced and the man didn't know how to do it, even say time schedule for day excursions. The building is creepy, we had matresses, carpets, dust and a lot of plants in the corridor like a dump.

    Great location, the room was ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    No idea where all the heat was coming from. I had to turn the mini fridge off because it was producing ridiculous amount of heat. To use the AC, one has to close the balcony door. Stayed only 2 nights, didn't really sleep both, because of how hot it was. AC doesn't do anything. Had to go on the balcony for cooling. Arrived around 3 am, was asked to pay right away at reception. The most disgusting room I've ever been at. If this place is 3 stars, all hostels should be at least 5. There wasn't hot water when I arrived, couldn't really shower after 4 hours flight with delay. To summarize: stains on the floor; giant wet stain on the wall above the mirror; rusty bathroom curtain rail; table on balcony unstable, using laptop not very secure; funny smell; bed outrageous for 21st century, same with pillow; the bottom sheet kept getting out and tangling, made of filo pastry; flushing the toilet when the lid is open, leads to splash all over the seat!; glasses top down on dirty old napkins; facing extremely noisy street, can here what people are saying but no sound isolation whatsoever and combined with AC not properly working, a big problem; neighbouring balcony filled with refurbishment parts, dust and crap; balcony divider broken, one can switch between rooms through the balcony if wants to; everything was old and nasty; The worst and most uncomfortable place I've ever been at compared to Bulgaria, Europe and even Morocco. They should give money to stay there, not charge.

    The only good thing was the location. In the heart of the city, walking distance to all I needed. Not direct access to metro station, but surrounded of public transport. Appreciated the balcony.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is sad as they could do some simple things to make this property work well! Change the bedding and just secure the shower curtain would really make a difference!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - а very small room - a pervailing feeling of dirtiness - the drain in the bathroom was clogged, so during every shower my ankles would get covered with water - killed a cockroach in the bathroom - useless TV - taking the elevator in the summer is like moving very slowly in a torcher chamber - shaggy and ragged ahtmospehere all over - at the end of the day too expensive for what you get

    I liked just the location in the centre of Sofia. Nothing else.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit dated, but the cleanliness was good. Amenities limited and towels sparse.

    Kids sofa bed was great, staff really helpful and found parking right outside the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing as such.. we only stayed in the hotel to sleep. so its great if you just need a place to crash.

    The location is amazing.. the staff is friendly.. the hotel is an old hotel but its great.. Its simple and nice. the housekeeping was also perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of the woman working there. Of course I do not write names. But there are two woman. One is friendly and the other isn't at all.

    We booked a budget room. We always do that on a city trip because you are outside most of the time. This room was the worst ever. Dirty. My friend and I didn't want to walk in the room care foot and we didn't want anything to fall on the floor. Beside that my friend had a really really noisy bed. Just moving a arm was a disaster and the bed sounded like I lit could fall apart any moment. So we told the woman at the reception. She did not seem to take our problem very seriously. But in the afternoon there was a boy working and he transferred us to a much better room. That made up everything. Of course we wanted to pay the extra fee because it was a better room but we didn't have to do that. That was really friendly and service. The new room was oké. The location of the hotel is great!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel needs major renovation.. One of the ladies at the front desk was very unprofessional and is unsuitable for the position.

    Great location. The attitude of the hotel porter was exceptional!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent wifi in the lobby,but not so in the room.The WC in the lobby was disgusting - no toilet paper or soap and very smelly.

    The beds were very good,but pillowes need upgrate

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In general, I never need much from hotel staff. But at the Slavyanska Beseda, staff was extremely unfriendly, even with basic tasks as checking in or handing out room key. Gruff and uninterested. Huffing and puffing at the slightest question. Not able (or willing) to provide basic info on the city and surroundings. Clean towels provided every day but beds weren't made, room and bathroom weren't cleaned during out 3 night stay. Breakfast is decent but never enough plates, cups, cutlery. When asked for, washed up but nog dried when put out on the bar. Dirty dishes and leftovers of other guests placed amidst set out cereals and bread. Tables never clean when entering the breakfast room, when asked for, cleaned with brush and dustpan (??). Very sloppy and generally not friendly nor professional. I would stay at the hotel again for the excellent location, not for the service.

    The hotel is excellently located, in short walking distance from airport bus 84 last stop. Close to sights, theaters and restaurants. Very central. The sheets and towels were crispy clean and changed every day. The breakfast is decent value for money. Aircon in the room (if needed). Good wifi in room and lounge area. A decent (bit above basic) room with decent value for money. When I accidently broke a glass dish, they told me it was 'no problem'.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff simply do not listen. They did not respect the booking and they were not even expecting us. We booked 2 nights but they charged us for 3 nights. It was my only and worst experience in a hotel.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome was not friendly and poor english speaking, parking for a short moment in front of the hotel for unloading the car was not possible, the elevator and hall are up to renovation and dirtry, as there was an old carpet and a lot of old plants and furniture in the hall. Also the room was clean on first sight, but poorly cleaned when looking a bit further in detail. Warm water took so long to start that most of us took a cold shower. The central location was very convenient for going out, but coming back at the hotel at 1 am there was a lot of noise from a bar that was playing loud music, making it difficult to sleep. The breakfast was OK but very basic in a small room upstairs. Our fist night in Sofia we booked a different hotel with several appartments in much better condition with more friendly staff, very clean, for a lower price and just 1km walking from the city center, which was in my opinion much better value for money.

    The beds were confortable and if you waited for more than 10 minutes you could also take a warm shower with clean towels. Everything needed is provided, so the hotel is OK for a short stay. In our case were were too late for booking something for a large group, so this was the only option left and it was OK for one night, but no value for money. Parking in the neighborhood is no problem and several nice parks, bars and dancings are at just a few minutes walk from the hotel. The city center is also really nice in spring with a lot of locals sitting in the different parks close by and the different bars in these parks.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is dreadful. What is offered as hot is cold and no real tea ie english breakfast tea. Some items dont seem fresh. Breakfast on the hole is very poor and disappointing.

    What croissants? The chinese restaurant being on the premises. Travelling alone it's a real bonus not to have to face the problem of leaving the hotel for dinner.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi doesn't work in all rooms but they are working on it and you can ask for a room with better reception anyhow if they have availability.

    Excellent location! A bit of a time travel but I actually liked the fact! There is a bit of refurbishment is going on for the good so they are on the right track but again, don't have high expectations and you will enjoy it!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rooms had everything we needed but weren't cozy and pleasant, probably because the hotel has been around since 1935. Wouldn't recommend for a long stay.

    Great Location in the middle of the city. Staff was friendly and kind.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were surly and rude, but, that is the Bulgarian way. Seldom did anyone smile or say "Please" or "Thankyou".

    Good location and good value

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and the hotel itself was pretty dilapidated. We requested a double bed but got twin beds. The room is ok if you just need a bed for a few hours, but other than that the room is not nice to hang out in.

    The bed was quite comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very noisy all night long and full of cigarette smell. Bathtub was dirty and most facilities felt rotten. We were charged for using a broken PC at the reception to print our tickets. Location is good but that's pretty much all. Wouldn't stay again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately my friends had another double room wich is was bit different, more old, walpaper was out of the wall, no hairdryer. So, what i understand from this, there are some rooms better than others. Im just luckely get this nice single room for the almost price double room.

    I had a single room, which was better than on pictures on Booking.com. With hairdryer, shampoo and soap. Also minibar and tv. Old soviet style hotel, but quite good. Excellent location. Receptionists were friemdly and helpfool.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Interiors are are quite old and comfort is medium level.

    A hotel founded in 1930s, renovated in 1970s and re-furnished not later than 1990s. Classical stylish hotel with a Wonderfull location and amazing nearby restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    central heating was too hot..but at minus 7 we wasnt going to.

    stayed there before, would stay again, in the process of being modernised..good job so far.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I reserved room with terrace facing the city and I was given one facing the inner yard, facing other building and no terrace. Cheap furniture, very old dirty looking carpet. Construction works in the hotel. Employees didn't show good attitude towards guests.

    Location is great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet, windows and curtains were dirty. The sink was rusty. The window was broken and it did not protect against wind.

    Excellent location in the center of Sofia. Fast and stable internet connection.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - for this ratio price/ quality basic breakfast should be provided - there was no battery at the remote for the TV - very old and not properly working heat conditioner ( room 523)

    - great location - decent and clean - mini bar at the reception with main beverages

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff are just rude and lazy, You would swear they didn't want a job. They have obviously never heard of the words "PLEASE or THANK YOU and know nothing about customer service.The elevator is a death trap and the whole place was last decorated in the early 80's.

    I didn't like anything about this place !

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were not clean. There was a smell of cigarrettes in the room. The whole building has an excellent location, but the management of the hotel, evidently, doesn't care about the conditions. Everything is old and in very bad conditions, without intents for renovation.

    The receptionist was professional. The location is excellent, it is in the centre of the city.The windows are noise-resistant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    thin walls time travel (to Soviet time)

    good located (for the conference in the overbooked hotel located 6 min away walking) bed was very good as all others hotels in centre couldn't offer 3 rooms, it was a very good solution.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They renovated the rooms and wanting to make it better they made it worst.Why? Answer is simple : they changed the bathroom and personaly I don't like the way they changed ,because in the old bathroom there was a tub and now instead of it there is shower cabin without curtain.also the beds are not comfortable because are too tight and short ( I am 187 cm tall and felt badly ).When you will turn on possibility to fall is pretty high. I liked old rooms because they had some spirit from the past times and in same time were very clean. I liked old tiles in the bathroom ( old but very nice ) which colour design was very interesting and is hardly to find somewhere else.I liked Slavyanska Beseda exactly because of reminiscences of the past.now that is gone.( I must point that the employees are still very kind and helpful and the hygiene is on highest level) .

    The hotel is clean and the employees are very kind.It's very well positioned in Sofia.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everythng. Dirty hallways, room stank of smoke, lousy unfriendly staff breakfast inedible, Chinese restaurant in the hotel rubbish, anything bad you can think of in a hotel, this one has it.

    Location the only positive thing about this old decrepit hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff except for a few were extremely rude ,beds are terrible ,pillows are old ,yellowish and smelly ,renovation starts at 7 in the morning so I wake up to the sound of screwdrivers everyday .lady at the restaurant yelled at me for asking for eggs as they were all gone and it was still quarter an hour till 10.bathroom floor had hair everywhere.very nice location though.but would never stay again there.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra beds weren't comfortable.

    Great location, close to the start for the marathon. Very close to all the major attractions. They cleaned the room and changed the towels daily.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the place was really horrible. .the fotos on the site are not corresponding to the reality the bathroom is really e disaster..advice stay Away

    the position of the hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything in this hotel was really old and almost unusable. There was an awful smell in the bathroom.

    The location was great - It was close to the centre.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very, very old smelly carpets everywhere. Random stuff laying in corridors. Dirty, frowsy curtains in the bathroom with a little touch of fungus. Expect a puddle of water on the floor after taking a shower. Ceiling lights in the room didn't work at all. When I asked for a copy of keys, the receptionist said she can't give it. I will try to avoid hotels like this in future.

    The location is nice. The staff was cooperative when I asked for help. There also was electricity in wall sockets and more-or-less working WiFi in the room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is quite clear that the hotel used to be a decent one a long time ago and then it wasn't properly maintained for a long time. It is as if the management has given up on it and wants to see how much money they can get out of it before it falls apart. Furniture and facilities are old and in a bad shape. Some corridors have random junk lying around. Breakfast was so bad I ate it once and completely skipped it on other days even though I already payed for it. Overall, the experience of staying in the hotel is very poor.

    The location was really excellent, very near the center and it was cheap.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything looks really old like it was never renovated. Stained carpets and walls. Random stuff left in the walkway. The bathroom was barely usable with some leakage coming from behind the toilet. The breakfast was really bad, I tried it only once and skipped all the rest. It would take a really long time to list it all here... but you have been warned, traveller!

    The location was excellent. The reception staff was OK.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    White stains on carpet and tiles; the minibar fridge stank (I tried to get a beer, but I couldn't even make myself to open it due to the stench); corridors of the hotel seem like storage (there are random bookshelves, rolled carpets and an ironing board); ventilation in the toilet didn't seem to work.

    Reception staff was friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small room,old furniture, a bed was just disgusting! all this room was disgusting! carpet was dirty and smelly. it was a nightmare. the pillow was so old and hard that i had a felling that it was made from wood! please, keep away of this hotel!

    wi-fi conection was very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived well after check-in time but room was not ready. Was told to wait, which I did, standing in the lobby with my luggage for an hour. Approached the desk again. Totally unapologetic, actually laughed in my face. Got a key 20 minutes later.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old hotel that is still renovating, i changed 2 rooms and in both there was leaking of water from bathroom and toilet.

    Excellent position, warm inside, relatively clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was not clean, the hotel is very old and they are restyling some rooms. The sink was leaking water and I had to put towels under it to avoid getting all soaked....

    Great position of the hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    unkind staff, stains on the carpet, wc looses water resulting in flooding the toilet, we asked for a queen bed and we had two single beds.. never again. This is a fake.

    nothing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    May be there could be some improvements in the furniture.

    We enjoyed our stay there and we`ll come back again.The location is,no doubt perfect, the people were extraordinary kind and polite.Thank you very much.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old school, but al least the bathrooms are renovated recently.

    The location is very central to visit Sofia's landmarks and city centre. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Both days I stayed the different staff at the reception were not smiling , not looking up to me when I was in front of them and not having change to give me for what I paid from the bar so the receptionist kept the change.

    Location is great! 2 min from everywhere I wanted. As is an old hotel the outside of the building and the reception looks old but the room on the 4 floor was renovated, comfortable and had all I needed for the price I paid.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was fairly priced but I found parking to be way too expensive (half the price of my room for one day parking).

    Great location. The bed was very comfortable, with hard mattress. Wifi was working well. The bathroom was outdated but clean so it didn't bother me. The staff was helpful, and despite their lack of English knowledge, they did their best to help.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfasts weren't great - dry bread, and all a bit limp. Great coffee though.

    I was upgraded from an Economy room, so I had a balcony. The room was very clean, the Wi-Fi worked perfectly as did the air conditioning. The location is fantastic - about 5 minutes' walk from most of the sights. This is a cheap hotel, and you find things like a ironing board or a roll of carpet in the corridors. I find that charming, but some people might not.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible interior. I think the worst place I've ever stayed. Everything so outdated, crappy bed, everything was so depressing inside. Would never stay there again, and is not cheap either. If you are looking for comfort don't book this place.

    The location is good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alot .. we booked a double bed and were checked into two singles. We were given another room with a double bed. The first floor. The carpet looked like it was not cleaned for years, the water didn't drain out of the shower. The place is filthy. It was a horror movie for me. . The sink was rusty. The place had an old moldy smell. With water stains on the walls.. the aircon didnt work..i couldnt sleep comfortably .. then we went down for breakfast The breakfast was terrible and just added to a great disappointment.. we complained and were moved up to 5th floor..which also didn't drain the water while showering.. was a coffee stain on the tiled floor left for the 4 days we were there. The pic you see of the building is not what it looks like. It's unkept and the only good thing was the location. Other than that I'd never stay there again. The pillows were like rock. Fleas or something bite me. The room was not serviced they just pulled up the sheet and put new towels and toilet paper and soap.. hair was on the sheet..not our hair and in the bathroom.. the mini bar was so high the drinks were frozen. Dust everywhere. Just a real dirty place with a great location!

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was very loud, even with closed windows and doors during the night. There were cockroaches crawling on the curtains. The room wasn't very clean. There were construction materials on the hallway - broken chairs, rolled dirty carpets, paint boxes and everything was left in front of the rooms. It was like a nightmare. Also, nobody gave me even the Wifi password. They asked me to pay before settling there, and they didn't gave me even a receipt, because their cash register wasn't working. I am not very sure who give them 3 stars, but except the location, there is nothing that can be defined as regularly good there. The staff wasn't polite. When I was leaving because of the loud noises, instead of apologizing, they were more concerned about my consumption of something from the minibar. And there wasn't anything on the minibar anyway! I regret so much that I didn't took any pictures. I would've report them to the relevant authorities, but unfortunately, I was more concerned where I will stay after 2 at the night.

    I didn't made a single night, so I suppose there wasn't anything I liked there. I booked it for 5 nights and left during the first night.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the beds and room were terrible!the bathroom wasnt clean.the floor was dirty.It was hot in the room,there was a fan ,but not ehough...the pilows were form the '80s....dont go there!

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic facilities but clean sheets and towels The hotel is old and needs a bit of modernisation. That said if it was a bit more modern the price would have been double or triple

    Location in the heart of the city centre, perfect for exploring the city and night life. Walking distance to lots of bars, restaurants, shops Good value for money If you expect a 5* luxury this is not the place for you, if you would do with just a room go 4 it

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, sleeping with an open window was too loud.

    The location is excellent. A nice stroll along ministerial buildings and theatres. It's a short ride by taxi to Terminal 2, can cost 10-15 levas.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is just not working in the room, but it works perfecting in the reception area. The room is a bit old but it's acceptable.

    The location is good and the staff is helpful and nice too.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a couple, we were given two single beds. Even after I had requested a queen/double. When I brought it up with the staff, they acted like it wasn't their problem and "couldn't do anything to help us." We asked to cancel the room, and were told to "do it ourselves." Exceedingly rude and inconsiderate treatment, if you ask me. The room itself was disgusting. The "fresh" sheets had bloodstains on one of the beds, so we ended up sleeping TOGETHER on one single bed. The room itself was moist and the carpeting had stains all over. We didn't feel safe leaving any of our valuables in the room, so we ended up taking most of it with us as we walked around the city. Though the location was decent, it was loud at night, and we could hear our neighbors though the paper-thin walls. All in all, we couldn't wait to check out in the morning.

    The shower was nice. Location is decent.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Receptionists needs to improve English a bit, if they can. But not a serious problem.

    Good location, fairly central.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Slavyanska Beseda Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: