Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sokol - Half Board 3 stars

Borovets, 2010 Borovets, Bulgaria

#37 of 78 hotels in Borovets

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 107 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no people who were serving at all at the restaurant and no people at the reception. The room eas poor, and there were no spa like it was said in the booking. No good hotel, not recomended

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    -not many channels on TV - menu for breakfast -breakfast coffee (sorry:) -lack of food labelling (gluten free, vegetarian, vegan etc. ) -lack of vegetarian options

    -the size of the room was very decent. -good value for the price -warm room even without heating on - quiet and calm (away from noisy "high street") -very friendly and helpful staff - 7 min walking distance from gondola

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some small and inexpensive improvements would significantly influence the overall impression of the hotel: pillows are very high and uncomfortable, paper serviettes in the restaurant are almost plastic, so it's quite challenging to wipe out anything with them, and some changes could be made when it comes to food as well: add some whole-grain bread during breakfast and dinner and include more non-meat meals for dinner. Also, at least during winter, breakfast that starts at 8 o'clock is too late for skiers who want to avoid long lines for gondola.

    Great hotel for skiers - less than ten minutes away from gondola, warm, with very hot water available at all times. :) Beds are cosy, hotel staff is kind, and both the hotel and the area where it is situated are quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed sheets were too small for the bed so they did not cover the whole bed (only the top part where your body stands). The food at restaurant did not have vegetarian options or many options (only two options per dinner).

    Staff was really friendly and helpfull, car transfer to the slopes (free) and airport worked really well and the room was warm and cleaned.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first night we stayed food was disappointing, so second night we decided to eat out. For the rest 2 nights we ate at the hotel and the food was ok.

    The staff was very helpful!Room was very big and comfortable, was hot inside which is very importnat.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi in room would have been helpful, but I found excellent 4G network coverage - so not really an issue.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Wifi worked in the lounge, but was not designed to work well in the rooms. The hotel is slightly outside the centre of the other hotels, but that was not an issue at all. In fact the hotel was more peacefully located than most, and only a short walk to the main street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bathrooms werent as clean as my wife expected

    nicely furnished family room, warm facility in a quiet location not 10 minutes walk from the gondola.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The choice of food for the evening meal was minimal - it would have been better if the hotel cooked more local dishes and generally a deep clean of rooms. There was often dirt in the corners and the decor was quite dated.

    The staff were very welcoming and couldn't do more. IT was good value for money as location was good and breakfast was decent. The beds were also quite comfortable to sleep on and hotel were willing to accommodate our change in room as we travelled with friends and wanted to stay on the same floor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no wifi in the rooms and it was sooo slow in the lobby. it didn't bother us much but still... 21st century ☺

    warm, cozy, clean and welcoming. the staff were great, the food was tasty. i highly recommended this place 😀

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was far too hot. We turned the heating off in our room and opened all the windows -but when you went out into the corridor or went to the dining room, it was stifling. You'd think after reading all the reviews about it being too hot, they would turn the heating down.

    The hotel itself was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is nice and cozy, with free parking, close enough from gondola lift. The massage we had was relaxing. The prices for spa area are fair.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    When I arrived at the hotel, I was really amazed at the heartwarming atmosphere of the whole hotel staff ( reception, waiters, chef...) being welcomed by Ms. Manager with champagne ! The staff was very helpful, paying attention to every detail. The food is fresh and very tasty, every day having diffent courses. Situated in a quiet zone, the hotel is close to the center, with a big private parking behind.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi signal was very poor, only in the hotel lobby. Breakfast 1st day was good but 2nd really poor. Same happened with the dinner ( we paid half board ), specially for Xmass dinner! The sheets was smelling not fresh and the pillows must be chanted asap ...

    Location is great! Very close to city center in a really quite location. The room is quite big. The stuff are very friendly and smiling all the time.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food offer (especially for dinner) was a bit small, although the food was tasty. The room was too warm.

    This boutique hotel is really cute, within walking distance of the ski trails. It is set on a clearing right in the middle of the pine forest and for a non-skiing couple (we'll learn next time, maybe :)) that went there over the weekend, we really enjoyed walking through the forest and breathing the fresh air.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar was closed 2 nights out of three

    Good size room. Close to ski hire and gondola. Good food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great staff!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nice location, great staff, nice food, decent facilities, good price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food selected wasn't great.

    Location, room, hot water.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No kettle in the room (British thing)

    The staff were fantastic and the service they offered second to none. Would stay there again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor variety of food.

    Clean, warm and relatively close to the ski lifts (free hotel ski bus)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit far away from the slope

    Quiet, clean, friendly ..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds & food

    Clean & warm

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Food was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room . The menu is not varied. A lot of fried dishes in deep oil. The diet is not healthy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good food. Friendly staff. Comfortable rooms and great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They were low on too many things on the menu for eating in the evening. Don't put on the menu what you don't have! That is unprofessional.

    Nice calm location not to far from the slopes. Good value for money. Flexible staff. Clean and orderly. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I asked for queen or king bed, but I got two single beds. And bed sheets are short for bed size.

    Rooms are very warm, better say HOT :) Breakfast is good, kind staff, always smiling when pass through reception :)

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Where do I begin...Due to a snow storm, we missed our first night at the hotel, so we had to go back,stayed in Sofia for the night, called the hotel and they immediately changed our booking details and did not charge us for that night. I mean come on, who does that? We arrived at 10 in the morning, and even though the check in was after 12, Miroslav at the reception was too kind to check us in right away. The room was just like on the picture, very clean, comfortable beds, mini bar, fresh and clean towels and a great wi fi signal. Breakfast was great, rich and delicious. All staff members were exceptionally kind ,professional and very helpful, they even cleaned our car all day long, from all the snow that was falling during our stay, I mean, come on (again):)).The check out was at 12, but they let us stay until 14:00 because we were out skiing till 12:30. I strongly recommend this peaceful little hotel, it will be the best decision you will make about your stay in Borovets. Thanks again for the wonderful stay and your kindness.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The toilet flush was not working and the man who came to fix it did it a long time and didn't speak english. The wifi did not reach the room and i could access it only at the lobby. We had a booking for a double room but got a twin instead.

    Location was very good. Far enough from the buzz of the center and close enough to the ski slopes and lifts. The hotel was very beautiful. The staff was very friendly and very nice.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Няма wi-fi на втория етаж,само кабелен интернет(забравете за смартфоните си). Чаршафите бяха чисти,но не особено нови(един беше с дупка),освен това бяха значително по-малки от леглата. Закуската изстива много бързо,не бяха включени подгревателите.

    Разположен на тихо място. Чист и добре подържан. Много любезен персонал. Не особено скъп.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spa is private but kind of expensive for what it offers

    Big room, warm, cosy with nice view. Breakfast was ok! Helpful and pleasant personnel!

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom need a little improvement(flushing system,ceiling repaint).

    A small pretty hotel with a nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There are only twin beds

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is located is far away from ski roads, there is no spa or pool, neither sauna too

    breakfast is good, it is warm inside the rooms

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast was rather poor.

    Excellent staff! Great location! Stylish.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and style

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location Friendly Staff Excellent 'Chef'

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Hotel is NOT located next to the ski slope and the cable car

    Personel

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi

    Food

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No shuttle bus unfortunately

    Very nice hotel

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no wi-fi connection in the room; very soft bed

    Nice location - near the center but quiet; warm rooms even at -15C; very kind and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Good Location near the ski Zone Nice rooms, newly renovated Good cuisine

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: