Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of SPA Club Bor Hotel 4 stars

9 Nikolay Hrelkov Str., 4600 Velingrad, Bulgaria

#16 of 37 hotels in Velingrad

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 456 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water in the room was not working properly. Everything is old and in desperate need of renovation. The pool was full with children (because there is no a separate pool for them) which makes it unusable.

    The service was good, and the food too (but not everything).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa center is a bit small and crowded. The parking is not enough for all the guests and it might happen that you need to stop quite far from the main entrance. Not a big deal though. The TV in the room was very small, something like 15-17"

    The hotel is nice, friendly and caring staff. They helped in the middle of the night with a blood pressure measuring and offered to call a doctor. I also took a massage and it was very good. The fridge in the room was not working but it was replaced few mins after we called in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great, in the city but at the same time excluded in between pine trees forest. The staff is great, excellent service at the reception and in the restaurants. The panorama bar is something everyone should visit, with an amazing view of the entire town and great cocktails. I would definately recommend and come back. Keep up the good work guys.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Entered the spa complex, to realise towels are not provided unless you go back to the reception, take special vouchers which you need to sign for first, then exchange them for towels, and get them back when returning the towels... - First thing you see - a price list for all the items in the room, so you know what you will pay if you break the mirror, steal a blanket, etc. I found that quite rude, especially for a hotel in this price range. Makes you wonder who are their usual guests. - Not enough parking space

    - The food quality and variety was nice - The gym is decent - The location is great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the other staff's attitude. There was no hot water. The shower was in the bathtub. The food was awful.

    The only thing that I personally liked was the reception and their attitude

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think the little small interior pool with hot water could have been cleaner and it needs better filters. The big interior pool was clean and great!

    I enjoyed the fact that the Hotel offered really soft and comfortable slippers and clean bath robes. Also the variety of food was good and very tasty. Both dinner and breakfast were worth it. Also the personel at the reception was helpful and our baggs were carried to the room by a bell boy. The sauna and Roman baths can be used with no extra charge and they are absolutely great! In some evenings we had live music with singers and it was a very cosy and pleasant atmosphere in the restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good place for families with children. We traveled only with my wife without the kid, feel little bored. No night bar, there is lobby and bar which close at 12 pm and no music. Small pool, poor spa

    Good location, good breakfast and dinner. Music during dinner was nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow was too high for me and I got pain in my neck because if it.

    The room was big and clean. The sheets and the blankets were okay. The terrace was fine and comfy for the smokers. Great studio for that price! And somehow they new that this trip was for my birthday and they made me a small surprise - a bottle of wine. Thank you!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Catastrofic WIFI , there is no wifi in rooms maybe if you have a luck to get a room near reception,not even a cable internet inside the room.

    Food , spa area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Very clean room, underfloor heating in the bathroom and hallway. Very good SPA facilities, we relaxed and we didn't have time to get bored. We were most impressed by the restaurant - we had half board - food is excellent, the best food we ever served at a hotel's restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the bathroom the light was not enough. it's too dark. One of the Spa bath was not operating

    Good location. Good facilities. Excellent breakfast and dinner. The pool is warm and large enough for swimming and relax.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was terrible. Mattress should be changed immediately. There was one big mirror which had no sockets nearby which made it impossible to groom yourself. Restaurant might have been a bit better performing (it needs improvement -both taste, food and variety).

    This was our second time at SPA Club Bor. In essence, SPA facilities are exceeding expectations, as well as their staff. Pool has excellent warm water (30 degrees) with a side jacuzzi (35 degrees). Bathroom is spacious and clean, with a bathtub. The room had balcony with a great view. The hotel is in the city center which makes it very easy to wander around.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside pool wasnt working, stam bath wasnt working, water in the pools was cold, old rooms, same food, jacuzy water was cold. Will never visit again

    It was a mess!!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location both above the city providing panorama and being in the forest, in the same time it is 5 min to the centre. Kind staff, good quality of food and technical maintenance of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    difficult access to the hotel (especially in winter), ice on the road and parking place, ice on the stairs outside on the back side leading down to the town (liтtle salt on the stairs would help).Small parking for big hotell

    gym, pool, silent music during dinner,

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cold breakfasts even when freshly put out in the morning! Not an "international" hotel. Rooms needed a big overhaul. Spa area was disappointing since the maintenance guys fixing the door left it open during the day and walked around the pool in their muddy boots rather than walk around the outside. This type of work should have been done whilst the spa area is closed. Dinnertime was like a mad rush to get to the buffet with guests just piling their plates, food ran out quickly and was not replenished in sufficient quantity. Suggest you drive straight past this hotel and stay further up the hill at the Maxi!

    Very little

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weekend to be longer to enjoy longer stay at the hotel.

    Located on a hill near the center of the town, surrounded by pine trees, the hotel offers an exellant view to Velingrad. The room was clean and comfortable, the SPA was nice. The staff was polite and the survice - exellant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool is flat-bottomed instead of being angled so same water depth everywhere-1.60cm. Too deep. Unpleasant smell in restaurant during dinner time. Think ventilation system there needs attention. Outside pool not in operation during our stay. Some loose fittings in bathroom. Very small and outdated TV in the apartment, it's more like a PC monitor. POOR WiFi RECEPTION.

    Great location ,very good and polite staff - very helpful. We had really relaxing stay. Breakfast and food in general is good. Beautiful view from the balcony. AC ok , keeps you warm in cold nights. Brilliant restaurant staff. Good sized car park. Very good spa center.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too crowded. Clean towels at the pool need special cards from the reception, which you are told afterwards.

    Nice view, polite staff, food is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food

    Staff, place, location, room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture of the room needs to be fixed from esthetic point of view, the functionality is not affected.

    The location and view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness of staff. Nice to be greeted by the Hotel Manager on arrival. Good spa and massage service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Balcony (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture needs renovation.

    The location, the staff, the restaurant and the child’s club for free

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, spa center, panorama view, nice and wide rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The SPA

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted a relaxed few days in comfort and that's exactly what we got. We really enjoyed our stay and had a much needed rest and recharge!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Large extra comfy bed,perfect location,excellent spa

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location, friendly staff, food was good. Booked an apartment but both bedroom and living rooms were really small and felt claustrophobic. It's on the hillside and the views are great. Massages are good and reasonable priced. Nice place but definitely not a 4*

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was a kind of a cold one, as there was no heating. The quality of the food was average. The hotel in general is looking a kind of socialist one.

    Very good service and staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A smoking smell in the room even I warned we are with a baby boy. The food in the restaurant was not good at all. The spa needs some renovation (broken showers in turkish bath). We waited 30 minutes for check in because there were 10 people waiting and only 1 receptionist (1 hour later - no people and 2 receptionists?!)

    The location i very good, it seems you are in the mountain, but actually in the city.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the floor in the pool area was very dirty, when we asked to clean it, the guy (who was a lifeguard, barman and cleaner at the same time) said that he is alone so he could not deal with everything... and nothing was cleaned :(

    food and spa

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    One worker at swiming pool is barmen same time he is lifeguard he is responsible for towels and if you order something you must wait half hour

    location...

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool has not any other facilities (like Jacuzzi, water jet etc). The depth of the swimming pool is same everywhere and this is bad for children and for relaxing in general In swimming pool area there are rules but not respected The steam bath is too small.

    the area is very good

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is cable internet in the rooms - not wifi.

    I like the tranquility in this hotel - silent music in the spa, restaurant, lobby - everywhere. The stuff is as if naturally smiley and warm, the food is various and tasty and I liked the surroundings a lot - pine wood to the back and wide city view to the front of the hotel. I surely recommend this hotel for a business trip and suggest it is ideal for a nice holiday as well.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Food and accomodation

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The swiming pool and hot tub are great, nice athmosphere. big rooms with great view.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    small jacuzzi

    Food was tasty and in large quantities. Excellent Easter lunch.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    why don't all three elevator work?

    the reception is kind and helpful

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is really perfect - pine trees around the hotel on the hill in the centre of the town!

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    rooms are big BUT room furniture does not make the room look comfy, no style

    the spa center

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    + comfortable bed + spacious room + good WiFi + rich and delicious breakfast

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: