Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Stambolov 2 stars

str. 27 Stefan Stambolov, 5000 Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria

#15 of 42 hotels in Veliko Tarnovo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 449 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    The owner is very helpful, she helped us to contact our bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view of the room they give to you may not the same as the picture, as they have the room at several levels. It is not easy to carry a big heavy suitcase up via the stairs.

    The owner is very helpful, she helped us to contact our bus driver to confirm the location of the bus station. But other staff are just so so.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Worth it for the views
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all the staff spoke the languages noted - not always an issue but no indication was given this was the case. The staff performing check in was helpful but requested cash payment in exact change which was not expected to be necessary.

    The view was fantastic and the room was clean and comfortable. The owner called after check in to make sure I was happy with the room and the stay. The price was unbeatable for this kind of a view so close to old town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    very central location in the town, quite room with such a nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is located in the centre of the town with a tremendous view on the site, the beds are so wide and comfortable ! Quite place and light room, small fridge in the room and free coffee, free parking in front of the hotel that allows to leave the car and walk all day long

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    LOVED staying here, the rooms and the view were amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    LOVED staying here, the rooms and the view were amazing! the staff were lovely and really looked after us. looking forward to coming back and staying here again. excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very small, you had to enter backwards, otherwise after closing the door turning inside would turn into a fun quest:))

    The view is great and covers all negative points.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Our host was friendly and thorough in helping us feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!

    Our host was friendly and thorough in helping us feel comfortable. Our room was cool, clean, and just what we needed- perfect for the 3 of us and the view was exquisite! It was a wonderful beginning to our 2 week vacation. We wish we could have stayed for a week rather than a day. Hope to visit again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Great stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough parking spaces available as advertised, arrived about 7pm and had to drive around about 40 min till I manage to find a spot. Wifi password didn't work.

    Clean place, great location, only 10 min walk from Tsarevets, a few stairs from the old town, can see the river Yantra from the balcony, the coffee in the morning was extra.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small bathroom and restroom.

    Great place in the city center, 10 minutes walk ftom Tsarevets, near restaurants and shopping center. Amazing view from the terrace and even from the bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.3
    Wouldn't recommend Veliko Tarnivo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sheets were too small for the bed and kept exposing the mattress. There is a lot advertised on the listing that is not included in this room. The room consists of beds, fridge, aircon, tv, shower, towels (smelly), bin - no more. Coffee in the reception is available. The women who work here are very grumpy. Once when one of us was on the balcony and the rest of us were in the room with the airconditioning on we were shouted at for leaving the door open whilst the aircon was on. The balcony feels very unstable.

    Air conditioning works well, beds comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.3
    On main street.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was full when we arrived at middle of the night so we had to park it where we could find. Owner explained it is free there but we were concered as it was full with stuff for our vacation. Towels not so great for shower seem more for beach and no real shower, the water was going on the floor..

    On main street.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Had a great time. Friendly stuff, clean room, excellent view from the terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Power outlets could be better fixed to the wall - they're half loosing. Internet is not that fast as advertised (~100KB/s).

    Great location with an impressive look of the nearby monument. The room has everything you need - AC, LCD TV, small fridge, enough power outlets.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice place but strange manager!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bad „surprise“ was that on booking.com the price was 29.9 euro for the room, but at the reception they told us that we have to pay 35 euro. The lady at the reception speak only bulgarian, so she didn't understand us, but she called the manager, who tried to tell us that the price is 35. I told her that I have the confirmation of the reservation with 29.9 and that is the correct price. Finally she told us that if we pay 70 leva (local currency) it will be fine... (70 leva = 35 euro). She said that she don't accept euro. So, I told her I will pay by card, because we had no leva, as we were just passing through Bulgaria. She said we can't pay with card... even on booking.com it is specified the payment with the card for this hostel. Finally, she told us to gave her 30 euro cash and it's fine... I asked for a receipt and I received it only after I told the lady that it is the right of the customer to receive a proof of the payement. At the end everything was fine...

    The location is very good, in the old town, the rooms have a very beatiful view, everything is clean. The room was quite big (we had a room for 4).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The door lock was not good, we locked ourselves in but couldn't get out the next day! took us 15 minutes to open the door! Very dangerous if there was a fire and cannot escape, please change the lock! Also there was only 1 shower and toilet for the whole apartment. There was no water boiler in the kitchen. We had to ask for it and was given the next day.

    we had the whole 3-bedroom apartment on the first floor with sweeping views of the city! Very high ceiling, 3 balconies, spacious kitchen, lots of natural light, well equipped kitchen, comfy beds, great location opposite the old town and many restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Good location ,nice room with good view.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Submitted via mobile

    I book a family room,but the staff only give us an twin room,and said I’m not good at English but in your price is only for twin room.

    Good location ,nice room with good view.price OK

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    5.8
    "Don't count your chickens before they hatch."
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I disliked: - the parking. I wasn't very enthusiastic to wake up early in the morning to move the car few hundred meters away, where I could find a free parking space. - the bathroom. The apartment has a small shower (1 squared meter). No shower curtain. The water falls straight on the floor. It's uncomfortable to wash your hands in a different place after going to the toilet. The ventilation system was very noisy. - the heating system consists in air conditioning devices which pot you in doubt what you prefer the most during the night: warm temperature or silence. - the safety. There is no key for the main entrance in the apartment. Practically, any person could pay you a visit while gone. There isn't a 24h service at the reception (which however, you don't have to pass through on your way to the apartment). - for the payment, I've been charged 2-2,5% more by using a higher exchange rate then normal. - the free toiletry consist in a small piece of soap and one towel. - those people barely understand a foreign language (except Russian). Luckily, I know a bit of Bulgarian.

    I liked: - the kindness of the ladies who work there. So many times they had to deal with claims from the clients, despite the fact that there are major differences between the description of the hotel and the reality and they really do a good job. - the kitchen had everything we needed (except the remote control for the air conditioning system). - the view. The panorama is quite impressive in the evenings.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    budget stay near the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    unfortunately, being winter, it was not a comfortable stay as the heating is done via AC and the room being quite spacious it felt cold. the mattress and bed sheets were not too cozy either. also the small bathroom (toilet + shower without a proper shower cabin) had a boiler for hot water so the room itself was not heated thus again quite cold when taking a shower.

    friendly lady at the reception, helped us with indications of places to eat; we were glad it was close to the center and that we had a reserved parking place vis-a-vis of the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.9
    it's worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was cold, the only source of heat is air conditioning. There is no shower cabin, the shower is mounted directly to the sink battery

    a very good location, close to the center, clean, beautiful view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    The lady at the reception was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The towels didn't seem clean at all and we were unable to use them. Luckily I have a small towel that I brought from home. And room temperature was a little bit chilly for beginning of December. Something strange about the room energy... Yes, it feels haunted.

    The lady at the reception was really nice. Interesting walls inside and atmosphere in the room. Nice view as well. (we stayed at -2, room no.3)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    6.7
    Great location, nice views... But, misleading photographs and room descriptions & appalling service
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible service... I booked a triple room with booking.com but on arrival was put into a straight double room of inferior quality to the room I had booked. The lady at reception told me the hotel was full and this was the only room available. I was extremely disappointed and asked how it could be possible when I had clearly booked a triple room some 4 weeks previously - and of course paid the higher price, more than for a double room. I chose triple as the photographs displayed a bigger brighter room and this was a special weekend for us. The receptionist told me all rooms in the hostel are the same..! I couldn't believe it and asked to speak with the owner. Eventually she telephoned the owners who were fantastic and immediately told me there was no problem at all and of course we could have the triple room.. It was very strange. I gave the phone to the lady who, after a brief conversation with the owner, quickly showed us to the actual room we were supposed to be in, without explanation... It was a very disappointing check in experience and really spoiled the beginning of our trip. Very poor service. There were a list of extras that were supposed to be in the room such as minibar, kettle, free toiletries, soundproofing etc that were not there. There was an empty fridge, dirty glasses, had to ask for a kettle and free toiletries were one miniature bar of soap...! Soundproofing was non existent, you can hear your neighbours blowing their nose! It is advertised that you can pay with credit card but this is not true. They only accept cash. I emailed the hostel before our stay to ask if there would be a charge for our small dog but they didn't bother to reply. And of course on leaving they added an extra charge. This should really be confirmed at time of booking. When I had to leave the hostel at check out to find a cash point in order pay, the owner waited and watched us outside the hostel, clearly thinking we would try to leave without paying! Disappointing.

    The room we were eventually put in was clean, bright and spacious with a view and a reasonable price. The photographs of the view on booking.com are a little misleading as they were taken from a room on a much higher level, our room although the view was pleasant, was lower down and therefore the view included the back of neighbours roofs!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.3
    Good location, friendly staff, nice for a short visits
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking can be used only in the evenings till 8:00 in the morning , after that you need to move your car.

    Very good location, 10 m walk from Tsarevets. There is amazing restaurant close by - Shtastliveca , the food is fabulous

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no coffee and tea making facilities in the room. You can go to reception and ask to use a small coffee machine but there is no milk. Small thing but still a suggestion for improving

    The room was spacious and comfortable. I had a view of the town. It was a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.8
    Nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking open air (free of charge) place across the street for guests is available at night time only (until 09.30 a.m.) afterwards the car to be moved to city parking (pay per hour). We do not know if parking is monitored/secured. The additional bed for a child was asked for beforehand, but personnel had no idea about it; bed was granted only after calling owners - thanks to them all OK. Free coffee was promised when booking, but we were told by staff that espresso machine is out of order, but it was fixed a bit later on - all OK. We left the hotel early a.m. and told that we will be back in 1-2 hours, we returned at 10.00 and could not use the shower already - the personnel rejected.

    Booked without prepayment. Small hotel. Clean and cosy rooms. Cooperative owners. Good view from the balcony. The hotel is located nearby to center. Free coffee at the reception, additional bed for a child had been granted. White walls, stones & wood "rural style". Mind the steep stairs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.9
    Cheap and convenient if staying in VT. Better than many hotels locally but no disabled access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    They should charge a deposit for kettle and hairdrier. This would discourage people from thieving. Put a shelf in the bathroom above the sink. Make sure all lights work and provide at least one bedside light for each bed. A clock would be nice (again, subject to deposit if worried about theft). Maybe some shampoo and conditioner (toiletries only soap). Need to be clear in advance if they want payment in cash, Or get a card reader!

    We stayed 7 days, with 2 days out to travel to the coast. This hostel is well decorated and very clean with awesome views across the Yantra river and not far (10mins on foot) from the centre of town. Veliko Tarnovo is the old capital of Bulgaria and is not easy to reach, the nearest airports (Sofia and Varna) both over 2 hours drive away. We flew to Sofia and then took a train, then a taxi to the property - a long trip. The property is not accessible by anyone with any degree of mobility issues, our room was down 2 very steep flights of stairs and there is no lift. The towels and toiletries were basic but adequate. On the plus side the beds were comfortable, the room large and airconditioning (temperatures outside in the high 30s) was excellent. Lighting was a bit poor: only one light near a bed and one of the main room lights, which were more like uplights and quite dim, did not work. TV was strictly bulgarian language but a good choice of bulgarian radio so OK. Shower/bathroom is a wetroom, I am not a fan of these but it all worked fine. There is a fridge and it worked which was helpful for storing wine/drinks. Downsides: nowhere to put stuff, e.g. no shelf in bathroom and very small basin. The booking.com info says there is a kettle and hairdrier in the room but there is not - according to the owner, guests steal them. We bought our own kettle and had to ask for the one hairdrier they appear to possess, not ideal. On last day I was told I had to pay cash as they were changing banks and they had no card reader. This would have been a problem if I had had no access to cash. They should make clear in advance if they require payment by cash. In summary, cheap and convenient if you are staying in VT. Better than many hotels in the area and a good breakfast can easily be found locally. Location is a major plus but the place cannot be used by disabled or mobility-challenged travellers.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    4.2
    i regret booking here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was a parking place...at the property there was no parking place.

    from pics there was a great view, from the property i was seeing a roof. a was disappointed, i booked this room for the view...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    Stay if you have nowhere else to go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    List of kinds of rooms is not very clear and it leaves you think that you've paid more. Especially after you see the price list behind the door in what is supposed to be the reception. Staff don't seem very professional and don't take any notice of the fact that on Booking.com I required a room with two separate beds and they allocated me a double bed after which there had to be a swap (by mere chance). They must be short of toilet rolls because they don't provide them when you're stay is longer.

    The view from the balcony may be good if you get a room from the upper floors.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    6.7
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff wasn't kind, the room didn't have hairdryer, no fridge, no iron , no parking space and I paid all of those when I booked my room on booking. Besides that I had to pay parking fee in the center for every hours, for 2 days. The bathroom was very small with no cabin shower. Bad experience.

    Near to the centre, clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didn't seem to work in our rooms.

    Great rooms and perfect location. The hotel is exactly as pictured, some rooms are even nicer. The view is good and the price just right.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Very well located property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very well located property. We were right in the heart of the city, walking distance from Tsaravets, great restaurants, and there is a fun cocktail bar right across the street called Tequila Bar. All around great stay. We loved this city, and Hotel Stambolov made things easy for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.2
    Overall this is a very good option. Comfortable and near best restaurants.
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed for the child could have been better. There is some noise from the highway, but it is because the echo in the mountains.

    Amazing view! Great bed for adults!! Air Conditioning. We were late 5 hours and staff was OK with it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.9
    We had problems with the parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had problems with the parking. We have noticed before we need a parking place, but they could only offer a parking place until 8:00 am. Therefore we had to wake up really early to look for a parking (Which was really complicated to find in Veliko Tarnovo)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Certainly will come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were exactly like in the pictures; and the morning coffee made our day. The staff was polite and easy to understand with. The view in the room was excellent; also citadel and other tourist objectives were close. It was a great holiday.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    A very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have prefer to pay with the card but i've been told to retreive the amount of cash from the ATM. So there is not posible to pay with the card. Hard to understand with the lady from reception, she did not knew english.

    The room looks amazing and the shower is very big. The beds are very confortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    3.8
    The view from one of the rooms and the kitchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The female boss of the property is extremely rude. The "bathroom" was dirty and horribly stinky, it's just a tiny cubicle consisting of a shower installed almost above a tiny sink. Basic facilities, need modernising. The staff tried to squeeze us in two rooms insisting that we could fit in, even though I had booked the place as a three-bedroom apartment and was paying for the whole place! (I suspect they had the intention to put someone else in the 3rd room to make more money as the 3 rooms can be rented separately with shared bathroom). We had to literally beg for toilet paper but were given one roll, the boss claiming that 2 rolls are given for 7 people, not 5 (?!). She insulted me when I wanted to pay by card (as stated in my booking confirmation!). She accused me of refusing the cleaning service as I had not left the the key (nobody ever asked me to leave it). She shouted at me and was extremely unpleasant and unapologetic, the worst experience I have ever had. Also, the apartment is on a main road, with a lot of noise and pollution. Most of the things on the list of facilities are non-existant. A huge disappointment and not worth the money.

    The view from one of the rooms and the kitchen

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.2
    Convenient-to-everything location, helpful hosts,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenient-to-everything location, helpful hosts, tricky-but-available parking, sprawling views, spacious rooms, one-of-a-kind character in this late 1800's building (skinny spiral staircase and original heavy iron front door with period latches, sweet!!!), renovated to accommodate present-day travelers, including shared kitchen, which was perfect for breakfast. I was somewhat worried about noise in one of our rooms facing the busy street below, but it was a non-issue. Air-conditioning was a lifesaver after we walked the Tsarevets fortress in 41°C/106°F. Great place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    access to the room somehow difficult due to the steep terrain.

    confortable beds, modern furniture and bathroom. close to the center and tourist attractions.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Excelent place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Comfortable beds, everything was very clean. The hotel has a good position where from you can visit all you want. Air conditioning works perfect and the view was great. The 2 ladies from reception were very kind and helpful. Thank you for all.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    6.7
    Good values for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stuff is not speaking English so it was not too easy to communicate. The balcony was kind of dangerous, we were affraid to step on this. There were no additional cover for the quilt, we asked for this but nobody understood what we needed.

    Good location and quite nice view out of the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel is well pleaced but hard to find from the street.

    Our room was cosy, clean and big. The personal is nice. They even wait us until late in the night. Parking space was offered upon request.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.2
    The bed was comfy and the hotel is not far from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no breakfast at the hotel. We would have agreed to pay more for a breakfast.

    The bed was comfy and the hotel is not far from the monuments and restaurants. The staff was very nice. The view was absolutely great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you have bulky luggage be warned that you have to climb the steps. This is not a place where an elevator can be installed.

    Definitely the best stay during my short trip to Bulgaria. Excellent location, helpful staff, private parking, bathroom worth of 4-star hotel. Nice cats behind the balcony as a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice view, beautiful room !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We appreciate when there is a kettle which was not the case, but you can have free coffee at the reception.

    Very nice view and beautiful room ! The hotel is perfectly situated to visit the city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    great big apartment, parking right in front of the hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since the appartment consists of 3 individual rooms, it would be great to also provide a key for the front door which would also lock the kitchen and bathroom. Talking about the bathroom, which is too much to say since there is a shower and sink small room and a separate rest room (which is good they're separate). A 2nd bathroom would have been great since the space accomodates a quite large number of people (7-8). Also, travelling with children takes extra time to get them ready to leave, so we checked out an hour too late. This made the owner litteraly walk in on us directly in our room telling us we are late for check-out! Have in mind the exchange rate, they over-charged us about 10 euro compared tothe price we initialy booked for!

    great big apartment, parking right in front of the hotel, great view/terrace

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    7.9
    Perfect to stay in Tarnovo
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect. Just in the midle of the city. Veliko Tarnovo doesnt have a city center like an ordinary city, but the hostel is just in the midle of the historical and cultutal sites. The buses to Arbanasi and to the Preobrazhenski monastery are just a few mts walking. The bus station south is about 20 min walking. The train station is quite fare away but you can take a taxi and its cost 4 levas . Dont get worry wen you look the front door. Its a bit dissapointed but when you get inside the rooms are perfect and with a wonderful wiew of the yantra river

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    2.5
    Terrible experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spoiled room, terrible bathroom and completely improfessional staff. There was an alful smell everywhere. Wanted to experience the old Veliko Tarnovo by staying in this hostel, however I sincerely regret it.

    Nothing positive.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    5.4
    Got s different room, didn't like them at all!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very disappointed. We booked a double room with a private bathroom and we got something completely different. They gave us a room in some kind of shared apt, a twin room with a shared bathroom. I don't mind, but I like to know what I am pating for. I don't understant why advertise a room, if you don't have it available anymore!! When I booked, I saw pictures of 'my' room, but it was a completely different one!! When I asked, the host (a woman) kept telling me in s broken english 'great, great for this money' and 'you booked last minute'. So what? This made us even more mad. But check out MUST be until 11 am. They have to clean the room probably to fool the next people. Plus: no wifi in the room!

    Location is the only good thing. But there are many others acommodations around....

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.3
    Beautiful view but unfriendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff almost didn't speak no foreign language, we tried English and Russian. One of the ladies did speak a little bit English but her attitude was quite cold and not too friendly. We stayed in different hotels in Bulgaria and met much more friendly hosting.

    Beautiful view from the window.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.3
    Lovely, convenient spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The description of the property wasn't accurate in that it states a shared kitchen is avaible. However, it transpired that the kitchen is part of the apartment and therefore not available to use unless you have booked the apartment. The description should be updated to reflect this as one of the main reasons I booked this property was because of the shared kitchen.

    The room was large and comfortable. Fresh coffee in the morning was a bonus! Good location for both the town and the fortress with great views from the balcony.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    The staff was nice and willing to assist us whenever needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was nice and willing to assist us whenever needed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, free parking. Nearby is a nice restaurant serving delicious traditional Bulgarian food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    The room was very nice and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing. everything was perfect

    The room was very nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.9
    good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    not enough parking places

    good wiew and good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine...

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Great view, central location, verry clean, value is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view, central location, verry clean, value is great!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.3
    Ok for one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty old equipment, uncomfortable bed and smell like in the basement.

    Nice and helpful staff, room looked clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful place!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful place!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    The outside gives no idea of what lies within
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Spotlessly clean and spacious room with fantastic views and at a bargain price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.1
    good
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    not enough parking places

    location and wiew

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice coffee each morning, off street parking, excellent location and view, and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.0
    It was very hard to communicate with the host, as she...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very hard to communicate with the host, as she didn't speak any English.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    The staff, the views, the comfort.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There's no laundry service, but there's a laundry very close, just that it doesnt work on Sunday.

    The staff, the views, the comfort...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, bargain price! Friendly staff, great little place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Will come back for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, central location, nice view, quiet room, large family room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Very comfortable apartment and excellent view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable apartment and excellent view! You really have the best view of Veliko Ternovo from the balcony!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Cozy warm quite..perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Great location and overall good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee/tea making facilities. TV aerial was loose and as such could only get a few channels.

    Good location, rooms in good overall condition.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Everything was much better than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Everything was much better than expected. The new years eve fireworks could be seen directly from our balcony. Excellent and strongly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Perfect place, stunning view, lots of space for a moderate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect place, stunning view, lots of space for a moderate price. The kitchen is equipped with everything needed. Recommend!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    strange stairs

    Clean, cozy and modern, functional and in the middle of town. Great views and close to everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing view from the room, free wifi, nice hosts, free coffee, central location, near restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.9
    NO PROBLEM WITH THE HOST ANLY PROBLEM IT WAS THAT AT 08.30 AM NEXT DAY WE MUST MOVE THE CAR FROM PAK
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE POSITION OF PROPERTY

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice and clean room, beautiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I suggest to not use the balcony, it's improvised. Insufficient parking places.

    Nice and clean room, beautiful view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Owners very helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking issues

    Owners very helpfull

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    Location, view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Rooms looked really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    In one of the rooms, the fridge smelled really bad. we couldn't use it, not even open it.

    Rooms looked really nice. Air conditioning worked great

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Stambolov traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: