Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sunset Resort 5 stars

219 Kniaz Boris 1 Str., 8201 Pomorie, Bulgaria

#12 of 29 hotels in Pomorie

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 174 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Paid WiFi

    3.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    The apartment was huge and cleaned every day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening entertainment is a bit repetitive and not very exciting.

    The apartment was huge and cleaned every day. Plenty of room by the pool and you could all ways get a table for each meal in one of the 4 restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.8
    Misleading information
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    When you book an apartment with Sea View, that means you must see the sea while their understanding is "direction to the sea" and your view may be other buildings of the hotel but this is see direction. As it happened to our reservation. Customer service has nothing to do with 5 start hotel but most likely 2 star hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    Very Poor Service of a 5 Star Resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very new and was not aware on how to hanldle any issues (very understandable) however the head staff hotel personnel who sat in the room (next to the reception counter) with the door open refused to address us and used the newly hired staff member to transmit her responses to us for the issues the newly hired staff member could not answer. Not sure what the cause was and I hope that all the newly hired staff members are not treated like this. When you pay for parking, you are then instructed to drive around the resort to see if you can find a parking spot. Also when you pay for the internet please check your modem (which could be damage, such was ours), have it inspected by someone who (not the newly hired staff member) knows what they are looking for that way the hotel maybe a little more understanding in crediting you back your payment for lack internet connection. And this was an all inclusive booking.

    The location was really nice, a 20 minutes walk to the city. The resort had the availability of 4 different swimming pools. The beach was a five minute walk behind the resort from your room. Very good variety of different dishes available from the buffet. Great cleanliness of the room. Room space was good for 3 guest, view was breathtaking, beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is very well located, there is direct access to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi access in the lobby is very poor. Hotel activities organized by the animator team are the same all days in a week. The hotel is lacking appropriate standard of night shows to entertain hotel guests.

    The hotel is very well located, there is direct access to the beach. There are several restaurants on site with good variety of food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.7
    Location and facilities excellent - resort management and some staff awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff, massively misunderstood the term 'hospitality' and missed many opportunities to make people spending their time and money in Sunset Resort feel welcome. We were generally delighted with the rooms and the food and facilities and of course the sea view was amazing but generally felt that the staff weren't happy for people to visit. The biggest shame was the staff's generally morose attitude. We were charged for WiFi which only worked in certain parts of the complex and was extortionate. We were charged for 50 euro's for two towels that were apparently reported 'lost' by my children by the cleaning staff, (they weren't!) and we were also charged for another 50 euros each for three towel passes, (total 250 euros). The manager we dealt with this was absolutely awfully and made no effort to resolve the situation in an amicable or friendly manner. She was in fact extremely rude and eventually quite threatening. I asked to speak to the general manager but was told she was out of the complex and when phoned wouldn't even speak to us. We informed them at the beginning of our stay that the door of the dishwasher in the apartment had come off and badly bruised my wife's foot, (it was held in by one screw) but even though it was reported to the head of housekeeping, no apology was made or again any sense of looking after or caring for visitors was given. The management of this beautiful complex leave a lot to desire and would benefit from some hospitality training. When compared with the outstanding service in both Northern and Southern Cyprus on the same vacation and in many, many areas around the world, the hotel management in this resort have an awful lot to learn. I don't believe they will though.

    Views, location, price, value, facilities, opportunities to relax and access to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Very nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell in the room. The furniture in the room it’s a little bit old. The coffee was not very good.

    The staff was nice and helpful. The food was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.0
    the activities in the hotel is good for family, specialy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    price is expensive compare other hotels in the same place

    the activities in the hotel is good for family, specialy kids and teens to meet friend from different countries . practice English .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    3.8
    Holiday from hell
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were horrible it’s like they had not been replaced since the hotel opened. The bathroom had no drainage and you would constantly stand in water. Before we even got to our holiday we had a death in the family the day before our holiday to start. My husbands father had passed. We could not go as scheduled we contacted sunset resort we were open to any option but they would not budge and help us out. So we lost 2 days and ended up going. On our first night we were going to dinner and our youngest daughter fell over and split her chin open really badly. She needed immediate medical attention. The hotel staff had no first aide training nor did they have a first aid kit or ice pack. I used my daughter shirt to hold the wound. Staff brought us a cold wine bottle to put on the wound to stop the bleeding. Thankfully another guest was there to aid us. The food was the same every day in every restaurant with only slight differences all 5 of us had the runs for the short amount of time we were there. The drinks are not real commercial soft drinks nor the juices it’s all powdered. Definitely not worth the money you pay. We got sick of the same food we went out to dinner and lunch in a near by town and after 2 nights we left we couldn’t handle the place anymore.

    Beautiful location but that’s about it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    4.6
    This is definitely not the right place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you are looking for a place for recreation and relaxation that offers delicious and healthy food (it should have been at a 5-star level), then this is definitely not the right place for you. That’s my opinion after my stay there. I think that the food, soft drinks and alcoholic beverages are not only way below the 5-star level, but also made me feel concerned about my health. I believe that this place is not for people with a sensitive stomach such as me. I felt extremely anxious about my health just after one sip (first and last) of a gin cocktail. I will never stay and dine at this complex again. It is also impossible to get any rest there, because it is so noisy during the day.

    The advantage of the complex is that you can communicate with the staff in English, German and Russian, but this cannot make up for the extremely poor quality of the food and the non-alcoholic and alcoholic beverages that are in plentiful supply but of extremely poor quality.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Excellent location, beach is free, few swimming pools, space...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one thing - Wine, included in the all inclusive lunch and dinner is very cheap.

    Excellent location, beach is free, few swimming pools, space for walking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Very comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that you are charged extra for the parking inside the hotel and for the umbrellas and sunbeds in the beach.

    Very comfortable room. The staff was very friendly. Very good breakfast. The outdoor swimming pools were ideal for kids. Very close by car to Burgas, Pomorie and Nessebar. Very good facilities. Activities are organised in a daily basis for every member of the family.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.7
    be ready to pay everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you are not an 'all inclusive' guest, you have to pay for every step you have taken. Pay for safe box, pay for beach sunbeds, pay for internet!!, pay for car parking area, pay pay pay pay! Also some of the staff in reception can speak English but not understand English (!). How come, they have 5 stars!

    The housekeeper staff and the staff in restaurants are very friendly and they are always helpful. The fish soup was wonderful in Mediterranean Restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    The whole complex is outstanding and beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the breakfast buffet has a wide selection, there is room for improvement. Especially the bacon. Also lack of toilets and showers near the beach and nearest one is by the pool which a bit of a walk. But that might be ok for some people. Overall it deserves a 4/5.

    The whole complex is outstanding and beautiful. Private beach and excellent pool! Staff are relatively friendly and welcoming. The rooms are very spacious and clean, the sea view rooms are amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    All in all a very nice hotel if you like all inclusive vacations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was good, but for a 5 star hotel it didnt quite make it! It was crowded and many people ate from the buffet. It was a bit messy and the quality was not what one expects from *****. Also, we were disappointed that we had to pay for internet and the fitness room. We stayed in other hotels in Bulgaria and it was always included in room price. The beach was disappointing. Dark sand, lots of black in it. We couldnt tell if it was dirty or mixed with tar or naturally that color? Not an inviting beach. We had spend 3 days in Varna prior where sand was beautiful. Beach looked a bit run down. If I stayed longer, I would be spending most of my time by the pool, which was very nice.

    Hotel is super clean and was very comfortable. Loved the pool and the outdoor spaces, all very well taken care of. Stuff was friendly and professional, able to communicate well in English. Great spa facilities and fitness room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.3
    Helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although it should have been 5* hotel, it was far away from that. Not that luxurious as I expected. The transfer car was dirty and pretty old one. When I got to the hotel late in the evening, the room was not ready.

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.8
    Pomorie nice place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very bad professionalism of the staff, very bad quality of food in the "French Restaurant", Receptionist not even aware of how to use the credit card machine and behaving rudely. WiFi is not complimentary, Safe is not complimentary, no business center there. Nothing to do with a 5 star hotel, not even a 4 star...

    Big Hotel with a lot of facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful, but the greatest experience could come with the all inclusive package.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Without the all inclusive package, I could not buy drinks everywhere, only at limited places. And I could not use the seats at the beach without it.

    The building is huge, and beautiful, looks like the biggest in that area. But you should book it with all inclusive, because without that, you cannot use the places at the beach, and you have to buy the drinks also because it is not included.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    Third year in a row so we must like it .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid wifi is hopeless and not worth paying for, the coffee is not great and not that much choice of drinks . It's a big resort made up of 6 buildings and not all are great if you want a quiet holiday .

    Third year in a row so we must like it . Comfy beds, choice of restaurants but mostly excellent location on the beach which is why we love it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.1
    5 star facilities, 3 star service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the staff not terribly friendly. The service, for a 5 star hotel, lacks polish. You're not shown to your table when entering the restaurant - it's a bit smash and grab - not many tables for 5 but lots of families of 3 or 4 sitting on the tables for 5!! The summer season hadn't officially started but there were guests in the hotel. Despite this none of the beach bars were open, the pool bars shut at 5pm on the dot despite there being lots of people still at the pool. We were not all inclusive and were unable to buy drinks from certain bars - meaning we had to go from the pool to the lobby for a drink. The pools were very cold, the lazy river shut for the first few days and then absolutely freezing. The breakfast was adequate - fresh omelette bar but pancakes and eggs left out under the hot plate - again in a 5 star hotel I would expect this to be freshly cooked. I think they need to decide if they're open to be open properly or not be open. I felt we were slightly an irritation before the season proper got under way. Also if you're not fully inclusive you have to pay for a sun lounger on the beach - which I think is appalling!!! You get one for "free" by the pools but not on the beach!! Also the equipment provided in the rooms is basic to say the least. No bread board or bread knife, no utensils at all (we had to buy a corkscrew!!). Literally 6 knives, forks and spoons. No tea spoons. 6 plates and bowls, a kettle and 1 saucepan. If you're planning on self catering - good luck!

    The hotel looks impressive - the lobby is amazing. The outside pools are clean and there are lots of sun beds and parasols. The spa and indoor pool was very nice and reasonably priced for the treatments. Our initial apartment was tiny - we couldn't open the wardrobe door as the bed was in the way, there was 1 bathroom/toilet for 5 of us and once the bed settee was out in the sitting room you couldn't walk past it to get to the balcony. We were moved to a 3 bedroom apartment when I mentioned this - but when you're booking if you're a family of 5, I recommend you'll need a 3 bed apartment - it has a master bedroom with an en-suite and s separate bathroom/loo for the kids! The beach is close and clean - water sports available - not too expensive but not cheap - about £10 per person for the "sofa" - its good fun. The water park is 3 minutes walk and whilst not cheap £20 per adult there were no queues so definitely good value for money. No lazy river or wave pool but the rest was good - good for younger kids 2.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    There is 50m from hotel to water (sea)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is 50m from hotel to water (sea) Entire resort is very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Great breakfast, clean and nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great breakfast, clean and nice hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice room, friendly staff, good Italian restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t great

    Nice room, friendly staff, good Italian restaurant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    We have stayed several times greAt place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed several times greAt place to stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    6.3
    Asia restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meditatrenian restaurant

    Asia restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    Don't drink anything (except mineral water!!) in this resort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee and other drinks were horrible, they didn't have fresh juice for breakfast.

    Our appartment was clean and the sea view was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    8.3
    loved the hotel and the hotel beach and all the facilities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Most of the staff were really rude! The bar staff acted like they didn't want to work there, some even mocking people.

    loved the hotel and the hotel beach and all the facilities available.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.6
    Location, own clean beach with sunbeds and umbrellas, spa,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Variety of food in restaurants is same every day (buffet), but still fresh and tasty.

    Location, own clean beach with sunbeds and umbrellas, spa, swimming pools, territory, terrace in the room with amazing sea-view

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    10
    Couldn't fault the place or the staff, awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couldn't fault the place or the staff, awesome! Definitely going back there... For longer next time

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    8.3
    Rooms are fab
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff can be dis-interested and look unhappy Food not 5 star by comparison to other 4 stars we have stayed in ...

    Rooms are fab Clean and efficient

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.5
    Pools were clean and facilities of the hotel were good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff were very rude and not friendly at all

    Pools were clean and facilities of the hotel were good

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Browse Sunset Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: