Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel & Restaurant The House 2 stars

4, Verila Str., Centrum, 1000 Sofia, Bulgaria

#124 of 179 hotels in Sofia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 697 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some/ Several, of the lamps did not work ! Some people like to read in bed !!

    A Realy great place for a group of 4-5 traveling with a car ! Probably the best in Central Sofia ! Privat parking, Great beds, Kitchen corner, and Cultural Palace Park, and the Walking street , just around the corner ! Great place .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower/toilet room was a bit weird. I’ve never seen anything like that before.

    Great staff. Excellent location. Secure free parking. Pleasantly surprised after a 7 hour drive. Would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - tiny, not so clean bathroom, - awful smell from the sewage system in the bathroom, - poor ventilation in the room (it was hard to dry anything)

    - good location in a small, quiet street, close to a metro station and Blv Vitosha, - small but well equipped room with comfortable beds,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dusty room ( the owner did a quick wash of the floor while we were waiting to enter the room), dirty toilet, dirty sheets ( don't know for how long they were there), the entrance to our room was from a near backyard, we did not have access to the main entrancr

    Near the city centre on a quiet street, helpful host ( helped us with the parking)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    unfortunately the structure is not clean well and many small details lack efficiency. I'm sorry because I see this hotel one with the most great potential.

    The House is a structure above the ordinary. it is in a great strategic position by any means of transport and anything you want to do in the city. the building has great dignity and can not be confused with hotels that are located all over the world. the rooms have been furnished with great taste, especially the best rooms on the first floor (in these years I have been in several rooms). it is an ideal place to be quiet even if it is in the center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location is super, metro station is 3 min walking, pedestrian Vitosha street is just around a corner. The hotel owner was very friendly and willing to help. I will defiantly come back, it is great value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room reeked of cigarette smoke, wasn't vacuumed after previous visitors. We had to ask the owner when we needed more shampoo or ran out of toiler paper.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel . Very welcoming and helpful staff . Very good breakfast . Excellent location , close to the Palace of Culture and the town center . Very nice little room . Cheap price fot the stay . Thank you very much !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine. Nothing on the negative side.

    Neat, clean and quiet place. Late checkin and especially parking on place is really useful in the city center. Something special about this hotel is it is based in an old history house which makes the big difference to the standard hotels which I personally try to avoid anymore because they are all the same and miss the cosiness and charm. Last but not least the staff was very friendly with a personal touch. Will come again definitely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of security in the room, doors did not lock properly. two of the rooms of the flat I had were open and there was a mess in there (rooms were not to be used but open to visit). Lack of security feeling which says a lot.

    Well situated

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unlike my previous stays, I was now given a small room on the ground floor without any views. Bathroom was tiny and the shower was on top of the sink and toilet, meaning to take a shower would result in a flooded bathroom. Therefore, the bathroom door was already rotten.

    Friendly staff and good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unlike my previous stays, I was now given a small room on the ground floor without any views. Bathroom was tiny and the shower was on top of the sink and toilet, meaning to take a shower would result in a flooded bathroom. Therefore, the bathroom door was already rotten.

    Friendly staff and great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I stayed in should be clean.

    Perfect location within 5 minutes walking distance to Vitosha Street which is the center of Sofia. Besides, NDK metro station is very near so you can use it easily. It is also cheaper than the nearby hotels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the worst experience ever. Hotel dirty and lacking in structure. In my reservation I said that I would have a welcome drink, but that did not happen. There was no place for the bath, room stinking and with a lot of dust. It was a disaster! Worst hotel I have gone

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located in the center of Sofia near all the main attractions, shops and restaurants. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and include everything needed for a great stay. I recommend it to other bookers.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have a great reputation for there food but their is closed during the off-season

    The owner and his family were so helpful and accommodating. They could not go out of their way to assist me with my needs and questions The location is awsome

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room wasn't ready at the time I specified we would reach there, they were not aware we had sent a note about pet travelling with us. Was disappointed with the cleanliness of the room.

    Excellent location, free parking and nice shower!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    near town just walk 10 min.near metro station walk 3 min.staff so good,nice and helpful.Room so big.will stay for next time vacation.Recommend to others.Value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are a bit dated but overall it is a quirky, uncomplicated place.

    It is a very practical place to stay. It has parking facility and it is close to Vitosha Boulevard. We have stayed here many times before and the price/quality ratio is good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is an old home repurposed and it shows. No central heating, just some old and noisy AC. Cleaning was not great either, it was generally dusty and old.

    Location is great and the staff is quite friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasnt clean, neither the toilet nor the floor.The wall paper was dirty ,the windows and the doors also .It was at the third floor and the access was up a derelict staircase.The manager was rude.It was so awful that we prefered to pay the penaldy and leave this place.

    Ευκολη προσβαση

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room's floor needed some more cleaning.

    Very friendly staff, responded to my emails quickly, arranged transfer to and from the airport during night hours and waited for my late night arrival. The room was wonderful, tasteful and very very warm. Very good and clean bathroom. Only two minutes away from Bulgaria sq and a few minutes more for the NDK metro station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment is very close to the center, ideally located for a stroll in a city. Small room but relatively clean and most importantly very comfortable. The room (number 3) has it's own entrance, separated from the main one. For heating, AC inverter is used. There was a small refrigerator and a kettle with cups and glasses.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located in the center of Sofia near all the main attractions, shops and restaurants. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and include everything needed for a great stay. I recommend it to other bookers.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell was terrible! Old cigarettes and damp, in the bathroom especially Cleanliness was poor- toilet and beds etc were clean but there was dust in the corners and damp in the bathroom Air con and TV are very old and noisy Carpet was thin and poorly secured Out of hours entrance was round the back through a dark car park WiFi didn't work in the rooms and the staff didn't seem concerned

    Good location near the centre, good sized rooms and bathrooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is an economic option to stay in Sofia, it is located near to the best area of the city. Looks like a familiar business and they are excellent hosts.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom okay, but the toilet seat was broken and there wasn't much hot water. We could only pay with cash.

    Nice and fairly clean rooms. Very nice location close to the city center and public transport. Friendly staff although they didn't speak that much English.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only issue I had was with poor internet speed that kept disconnecting.

    Located next to the NDK (Palace of Culture) and near the center of the city, surrounded by shops and restaurants, The House is a cozy boutique hotel that is great for a stopover as well as for a sightseeing trip. The room was spacious, clean and included amenities such as tv, fridge, kettle etc. Bathroom was large and clean. The decor was adequate. It is very quiet location although it is a one minute walk from Vitosha St. Would definitely stay again and recommend it to other travelers.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at hotel for 2 night. At the second day of our stay, someone has entered in the room and pretreated our things. We know that because we closed our luggage on specific way. Later, after that, we set a trap behind the door, we were gone out and when we came back later we saw that someone has entered in the room again. Trap behind the room was crashed. That was not hotel maid because nobody cleaned beds and removed towels for all our stay. Fortunately, nothing missed of our things, but definitely we didn't felt pleasant. Internet in the room was bad but at stairs beetwen floors was good.

    Excellent location and safe parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, simply a bed and bathroom but was definitely worth the money paid, excellent to simply use as a place to sleep between exploring the city.

    Excellent value for money, location was brilliant, right in the centre of Sofia. If you want cheap and cheerful this is the one

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    CLOSE TO CENTRE AND NEAR A PARK AND QUIET. GOOD SHOWER ROOM BUT NEEDED AIRING AND UNSURE OF SMALL FRIDGE AND JUG FOR HOT WATER IN CUPBOARD, COMFY BED. WAS MOVED TO OTHER BUILDING FOR REST OF STA AS ROOM WHEN ARRIVED NOT AVAILABLE, MAYBE MORE ECONOMY THAN OTHER ROOM BUT IT WAS OK

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can recommend this accomodation, good price for room in center close to Vitosha bulevuard (restaurants, bars). On the airport waited taxi for us from accomadation that was very nice. Cheap room just for sleep was it sufficient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait 20 minutes at the reception, and doing rounds with our car, because we were not served properly, we were not told how can we get inside later the night. I suppose that someone was just replacing occasionally the owner/regular receptionist (we got there at 9.P.M.), because the other morning the guy at the reception was nice to us.

    The room was big, with working Wi-fi and well equipped, spacious bathroom. They let us park there even 1 more hour after we have checked out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean, old stuffy house, the water from the tap stink.

    We had the upper floor only for us, lots of place. There was a conditionner inside and a o.k. wifi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than the bed and sheets, bedroom and bathroom were not clean and visibly dirty in some areas.

    Friendly staff. Good on site parking behind property. walkig distance from main attractions in city centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty carpet etc. Shelves not securely fixed in bathroom.

    Near to metro and the park. Easy to get to airport. Quirky house. Room had fridge and AC with wide opening window. Free secure parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very dirty. Floors had crumbs and dirt, the toilet seat was dirty, shower had hairballs stuck on the outside of the drain, everything except the beds was dirty. It takes quite an effort to get to the room if you have a luggage since the stairwell is very narrow.

    Check in was fast, but they insisted on cash money up front.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable rooms, great location, great staff. They organised a taxi for me for the early morning and even came to check on me when I was running late! Excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit dissapointed when we arrived little bit tired from the airport after 3h flight but the people where very nice and helpful

    I cannot say a lot of this hotel because they have an issue with the room and the brought us to other better hotel more in the center and more expensive that this one, the people were nice with us helping us with the luggage.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the cleanest. Kettle in room but no tea or coffee to make anything with. Room wasn't cleaned once during a weeks stay, sheets and towels not changed,

    Location was excellent. Nice air con. Rooms were spacious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is 4 floor house, my room looked as a big apartment. However, it was rather old furniture.

    Very friendly owner, helped with order taxi and and other logistics. Excellent location new central walking street of Sofia plus a good restaurant located opposite to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was the number 2.The dirtiest room we have ever booked via booking.com,even the shower was DIRTY. The small fridge was also filthy and the sheets spotted with stains. Not to mention the fact that the room was full of dampness/humidness. I wouldn't recommend it.

    the parking was convenient

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very old room. No room service at all. You just rent the room, thats it. At night, no reception staff, you have to enter using keys. Shower drain didnt work properly.

    AC was fine. Bed was confortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unpleasant smell from the toilet, shower that comes out of the wall ( wet bathroom floor), tiny sink.

    250 m from the metro station, proximity to main pedestrian street and all historical places.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was not clean and spiderwebs were hanging from the ceiling.Internet was not working properly in the room.

    The staff is really kind and helpful. Nice location and late check-in without extra fee.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The small stairs....and the way the windows close off !

    The large room and the facilities ( kettle, tea bags...), the large shower bathroom..... and most of all the perons dealing this hotel ( all of them very nice ) the breakfast lady speaks a very good english !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some instant coffee and teabags in the room. Water cooker and cups are present but no instant coffee, cream and teabags.

    The House is quite original. It really is an old city villa converted into a hotel, which gives it it's own charm. Narrow steep stairs to the room but absolutely manageable!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First day they told us that there is a mistake with our reservation so they put to a very bad and cold room!the heating didn't work and the wifi too!the bathroom had no shower!after we claimed they put extra heating and they told us not to pay for the next day!the next day they put tha room that we had reserved but the wifi was also very bad and in the bathroom there were small ants and the sampoo were too small only for one time!!

    It was very close to Vitosha street...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly Staff who speak excellent English.Comfortable beds. Lots of hot water.Fantastic location close to main shopping street & minutes from Metro Station. Lots of Bars & Restaurants to choose from. I would recommend Mr. Pizza directly opposite the hotel. They have an extensive menu & are moderately priced.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were minor things which others may complain about - missing light bulbs for example but, considering the really low price for a place in the heart of the City, then you'd have to be mean to find fault.

    So nice to sleep in a warm room in a comfortable bed during extreme Winter temperatures. Thank you to the owner for his hospitality & friendly welcome.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its not very clean at all !! When I open the fridge !! Ohh my god ,!!! The room had a terrible smell of tabacco !!! It is a pitty because be for the rest the place it great.

    The location is perfect. Very close of the metro station and the start point of free sofia tour. The staff is very frendly and they speak english

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Worrying moment on arrival when the guy who let me in suggested the bill would be twice what I had booked at. But this turned out to be fine. And my first ever 'free drink on arrival for geniuses' promised by booking.com somewhat predictably did not appear. Will see how that goes with later bookings.

    Room was nice and warm on a very cold January weekend in Sofia.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room they gave me was really old; they washed the floor in my room upon my arrival (which was at about 6pm); I felt unsafe since the door leading to my room was in the back of the main street (main entrance) so I slept with the lights on; there was no proper shower area, just a shower head installed and connected to the faucet so there's a tendency to flood the entire toilet or even the room's entrance.

    The place is really close to NDK metro station so it's so easy to find; close to shopping center and lots of restaurants around; bed was really comfy; and value for money.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had asked a double bed.They joined two singles smiling!! The blankets were for single beds... There was no room service,they never took out our garbage. We asked for toilet paper. There was only an aircondition for heat... We asked for clean glasses for a stay of 6 days We lasted five, every each day an other cockroach!!!

    They changed the broken toilet basket after we asked to do so.. They gave us an extra blanket which had holes as the existing one

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For all it matter, no channels in English on the tv. Cleanliness in rooms is a little dubious but mostly fine. I didn't date use the cups in bathroom, a partial (but adequate) clean was done each night. No hot water in the sink in the second night of my stay. No Genius free drink on arrival.

    Well positioned, a few mins from the metro, MDK and the main shopping street. Very friendly, helpful staff. Rooms well-priced. Beds comfortable. A reasonable restaurant and bar across the road. Offered free drinks with staff on a number of occasions while waiting for friend. 24 hour access.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room wasn't that clean - under the bed it was really dirty. If you have a big suitcase, it's a bit hard to get it upstairs.

    Comfortable bed, really good location, very nice service and warm shower

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you eant to sleep eith an insect you can choose this room easily. It was dirty and unconfortable. You should not think to choose this house absolutely!!!!!

    Hiç birşeyi

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dirty and had an awful smell that you couldn't breath. Cockroaches appeared during the night. The hotel looked abandoned. Don't go!!

    The owner was really heapful, but....

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our last 2 stays, we had breakfast included but this time it was not... not a big deal but should of checked the booking (not paid extra for breakfast before)

    We have stayed here 3 times now... great location..the room is large & comfortable. Sofia is a beautiful city, plenty of great places to eat, drink & explore...one of our favourite places, is the covered market (to have a beer & people watch) Everytime we go back to Sofia, we find something new. Will be returning again in a few months.. can't wait.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small wooden stairs, leading to the second floor, the floor is covered with a worn carpet, old house that smells unpleasant.

    Location is great! The bathroom is renovated! Spacious rooms!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very clean and comfortable. An unexpected upgrade was very welcome. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very close to the centre of Sofia but in a quiet neighborhood. Could not ask for more for an excellent price.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The object is nearly totally in ruins, it hasn't been refurbished since no body knows when. Cleaning is something that the owners and managers don't know and their payment system is not working, so I had to pay cash. I stayed for 4 days, and I was never changed the sheets on the bed, nor the towels.

    Location to the place of business for me was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn't great (smells coming from other bathrooms through the vent, whole room doubles as shower so everything gets wet, limited warm water). But for the price, tolerable.

    Great location, private parking behind the house, private entry to the rooms, cozy and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although it's renovated and it looks good in the pictures, in reality it looks poor and cheap. From details in the tiles of the bathroom, to the broken seat of the toilet, to the unlocked door that leads to an attic-like room full of old stuff. We've stayed in much better rooms for the same amount of money, both in Greece and in Romania. But compared to the competiotion in Sofia, it's tolerable.

    Clean sheets, clean bathroom, free upgrade to larger room on the 3rd floor and excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A pity the restaurant is no longer in operation.

    I had Avery large double room with fridge,TV air con and a kettle. Bathroom was large and modern while room was period except for the mod cons.Bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. Very close to metro and centre of Sofia. A great end to a wonderful holiday

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The girls at reception were very nice. We got a parking space right under our window, so we could keep an eye on the car. The apartment was great - clean, big, it had everything you needed. We were sorry we didn't spend more time there! The hotel is situated in probably one of the best places possible!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows are thin.but you can find extra one in the wardrobe.

    We stayed in a two single bedroom room. It's 1 minute close to a nice cafeterie to have breakfast and close to ndk and shopping street

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit dated (decor) but I find this quite charming. Some may not like. Personal taste really.

    We have stayed here before & still love this place. It's clean, very spacious. The staff are very friendly & happy to help. Excellent location, lovely breakfast. We will be coming back again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Located just five-minutes walk from the start of the pedestrian area on Vitosha Boulevard, it was easy to get from the hotel to anywhere in the centre of Sofia. A nice small hotel and excellent value.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Being a first timer in Bulgaria, I'm glad I picked this hotel. The owner is helpful, very friendly and makes sure everything is okay. The staff will answer any questions you'll have. Location is right at the center, so you won't have any problem. If you are on a budget, this is the hotel you might like to choose. They even let me leave my luggage at the hotel after checking out, so I could wander around easy until my late flight!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were dated, we stayed at the hotel with another couple there room was 3 times the size of ours the bathroom we had was a toilet with a hand held shower.

    The location was perfect, and the breakfast was very good the staff were helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom of the small room is not so comfortable.

    Very good location, there isn't far from the downtown. Very friendly, and helpful owner and staff. Good value for the money. There is parking place in a closed area. You can reach everything in short time from this place.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The room had only one window in the corner which made the room a bit gloomy - The stairs to the second floor is narrow. If you have a heavy luggage it is difficult to carry it upstairs

    - The staff is friendly and helpful - The room and the bathroom were quite big - The beds were comfortable - There was a kettle in the room - The breakfast was simple but anyway it was filling. - If you travel by car, free and safe private parking area is a very good bonus - Location of the hotel is very good. It is very 15 min. away by walk from the main attraction points in the center. It is also very close to Vitosha Boulvard which is a nice pedestrian street full of restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We took it with breakfast, so we wouldn't have to think where to eat in the morning before we leave Sofia, but it's not worth it. The food variety and quality was rather poor.

    The staff was helpful and friendly. The location is pretty good and the price is not big.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The halls and the stairs are very small. There was some bad smell in the halls. Cleanliness- next to the bed I found a hair pin that wasn't mine :/

    I liked the room. It was very big, with huge bathroom. The location is great. Private place for parking ( it wasn't actually a parking place)

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel & Restaurant The House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: