Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Guesthouse Tzar Asen 3 stars

Tzar Asen Str. No.68, Centrum, 1463 Sofia, Bulgaria

#30 of 35 B&Bs and Inns in Sofia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 144 hotel reviews

5.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    4.8

  • Comfort

    4.6

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    4.6

  • Staff

    5.5

  • Value for money

    5.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    3.8
    Terrible accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was dark room in the corner of the corridor and no one was there. Had an office room but the people there looked like they live there because of the bed. Office room was dirty too. The man was in the bed and the women talking over the phone. She gave me a key for room one of 3 all together which was so dirty that when I saw it I wanted to run. Could not stay too long and found a hotel close by. I can believe the website can offer such accommodations

    Nothing was there I could like. Was dirty smelly and unpleasant. I would not pay more than 1€ to stay there. Surprised Booking.com would offer such a terrible accommodations. Looked like a place for homeless people but who rated 3 stars have not clue. I would give half star.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    3.8
    Uncomfortable and dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We forgot our perfume in the room when we came back next day to ask for it they said they hadnt seen anything, obviously they lied to us. Poor hygiene, i dont suggest this place to anyone.

    the good thing about the place is its location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    4.2
    I've paid for two nights but stay 1 night because it was very poor
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bed is without matres, just some kind of cover over the wood, no Wi-Fi, small toilet with shower connected to the sink but no space around, dirty and old pillows, very old, broken towels, single cover on double bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    I would recommend this homestay for young solo travelers on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Somewhat of a language barrier

    Location and price were great for a short trip. I stayed in a solo room, so it was nice to have privacy and the airconditioning was a major plus. I would recommend this homestay for young solo travelers on a budget. Everything central is within walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    5.4
    There were no internet during all my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no internet during all my stay. I had to go to cafe to use internet. Be careful. The owner claims it is not his fault. I don´t care if it is not his fault just get fixed. Besides. He charged me 40Ley when it was supposed to be 39Ley/night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    6.7
    Not bad place for last minute booking but a little overpriced
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms, and the guesthouse in general, need cosmetic repairs, at least. The furnishings are old and it creates the feeling of poor hygiene. The price is higher than it should for these conditions.

    The house is close to the National Palace of Culture and the center of Sofia where there are a lot of things to do. There are two restaurants nearby - at the same street. The room was quiet and a large window to the patio.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    5.8
    Sunny Sofia with its tricks
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was pretty little , all necessary things were included. But the bathroom was extremely small and old-equipped. The window view was really unpleasant.

    The most important thing I needed was a location - it was really great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    5.8
    Poor quality but location very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi up stairs was terrible, the standards from decades ago and significantly depreciated but was cleaned enough to be habitable. Long over due for a refurbish but there simply isn't the money.

    The location is the saving grace for this dire awful place

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    2.5
    Online photos of "UNDER-level guesthouse" are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Online photos of "UNDER-level guesthouse" are totally deceiving!! Place is dirty, old & falling in pieces.. Access from road & rooms are disgusting!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    4.6
    Worse than ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcoming was so rude! They didn't want to let me pay with debit or credit card but only cash. I had to insist for 30 mins. The bathroom is ridicolosly small and overall it was an extreme experience, a hostel would have been better

    Position

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    4.2
    Do not recommend
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean. Uncomfortable beds and pillows, old furniture. No hairdryer or fridge. The personnel and repairman were smoking inside and the cigarettes smell was getting in the room. Booked three nights and paid up front. Had to leave after the second night, and the owners refused to refund the money for the third night. My advise is to skip this place altogether, or if you have to stay there and for more than one night, dont pay upfront.

    The location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    2.5
    Simple nothing !
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't like to write down the same words like others because all the negative comments and critic cover my expectations ! And I agree with all of them for as an ultra bad choice of hotel or guest house whatever like ! I prefer to ask booking.com a little question ! Booking.com you are a huge company with great reputation ! How you accepting to have business with a junk hotel like that and get your company less trustful ? You have so many employers send someone to check the conditions there ! Thank you very much if you answer in advance !

    Simple nothing !!! Just a horrible

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    2.5
    It is a horrible, scary, dirty and destroyed place! Never go there!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the place is a complete scam!!! don't ever go there :( The host was entering in the bedroom uninvited, we didnt have a shower as they say on their ad + he shouted at us because we complained! It is a horrible, dirty and destroyed place

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    4.6
    Paying for the location but nothing else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole place looks like an abandon building.No lights at night to guide you through the garden to the entrance. The beds are very bad (mine had a whole in the middle so sleeping in one position was the only way). Is not particularly clean.The wifi is very slow, there is no signal at all if you are on the 3rd floor.

    The location is more than great! It's 1 minute walk to the heart of the capital.This is the reason why it's worth the money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Spartan rooms in an old house
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Spartan rooms in an old house

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    booked a twin room.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    booked a twin room. .received a double

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    value for money,especially for sofia
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    superb location,area with everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    2.5
    Never stay at this place again
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing no cable tv no air conditioning very filthy this place should not be rated 3 star

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.0
    Sketchy, don't go
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's very bad, just go to some of the other hotels nearby that are also cheap and better

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.3
    Good location, 5 minute walk to NDK metro station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was a little shabby, but reasonably clean

    Location, price was good for Sofia

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was not like what was pictured or promised! It was close to where we had to be and so we stayed or I would have left.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    4.6
    Not the best choice
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    all the rest..

    It is in the centre...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    2.9
    Nothing much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Didn't like this property at all. Very poor condition, terrible state of maintenance (the shower falls off the wall, the ventilation is non-existent, the room is stuffy, the entrance is very poor

    Nothing much. This must be one of the poorest accommodation options available anywhere on Booking.com. The property is very un-welcoming, the rooms are very old, stuffy, dusty and falling apart. This property should not be offered to travelers.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    8.8
    The location is perfect, right at the south end of Vitosha...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Doesn't have many amenities.

    The location is perfect, right at the south end of Vitosha road. Wifi worked great for me, bed is comfortable and room in clean. Plus, it had a small desk so I could work.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    5.0
    Nice envieonment.
    • Family with older children

    Poor room.

    Nice envieonment.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    4.2
    There were two small sheets on the bed in order to make one...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There were two small sheets on the bed in order to make one big sheet... Except of the floor all the other things were dirty

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: